DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 4, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7-12, and 14-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,293,795 (reference patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following:
Regarding claims 1-2: Claim 1 of the reference patent teaches the subject matter of these claims.
Regarding claims 3-7: Claims 2-5 and 7 of the reference patent teaches, respectively, the subject matter of these claims.
Regarding claims 8-9: Claim 8 of the reference patent teaches the subject matter of these claims.
Regarding claims 3-7: Claims 9-12, and 14 of the reference patent teaches, respectively, the subject matter of these claims.
Regarding claims 15-16: Claim 15 of the reference patent teaches the subject matter of these claims.
Regarding claims 17-20: Claims 16-19 of the reference patent teaches, respectively, the subject matter of these claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1: The only embodiment or embodiments supported in the specification are for an indirect and in part dependence of retiring the first block and the second block on determining that the first block fails the program verification check (FIG. 3, for example), wherein a plurality of other events or conditions need to be met, that may not be met, to cause the first block and second block to be retired. In other words, an embodiment, wherein the first block and the second block are retired immediately and solely in response to determining that the first block fails the program verification check, was NOT disclosed in the specification.
Essential events other than just the determining that the first block fails the program verification check, such as a criterion being satisfied in 330 of FIG. 3 and a failure verification operation being performed on the second block in 340A of FIG. 3 that identifies the second block as a bad block, need to happen before retiring the first block and the second block.
Hence, the claim is broader than the specification since its breadth includes at least one embodiment that was NOT disclosed or supported in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 2-14 depend on claim 1.
One possible way to overcome the rejection is to change “responsive to” to “responsive in part to”.
Regarding claim 8: The only embodiment or embodiments supported in the specification are for an indirect and in part dependence of retiring the first block and the second block on determining that the first block fails the program verification check (FIG. 3, for example), wherein a plurality of other events or conditions need to be met, that may not be met, to cause the first block and second block to be retired. In other words, an embodiment, wherein the first block and the second block are retired immediately and solely in response to determining that the first block fails the program verification check, was NOT disclosed in the specification.
Essential events other than just the determining that the first block fails the program verification check, such as a criterion being satisfied in 330 of FIG. 3 and a failure verification operation being performed on the second block in 340A of FIG. 3 that identifies the second block as a bad block, need to happen before retiring the first block and the second block.
Hence, the claim is broader than the specification since its breadth includes at least one embodiment that was NOT disclosed or supported in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 9-14 depend on claim 8.
One possible way to overcome the rejection is to change “responsive to” to “responsive in part to”.
Regarding claim 15: The only embodiment or embodiments supported in the specification are for an indirect and in part dependence of retiring the first block and the second block on determining that the first block fails the program verification check (FIG. 3, for example), wherein a plurality of other events or conditions need to be met, that may not be met, to cause the first block and second block to be retired. In other words, an embodiment, wherein the first block and the second block are retired immediately and solely in response to determining that the first block fails the program verification check, was NOT disclosed in the specification.
Essential events other than just the determining that the first block fails the program verification check, such as a criterion being satisfied in 330 of FIG. 3 and a failure verification operation being performed on the second block in 340A of FIG. 3 that identifies the second block as a bad block, need to happen before retiring the first block and the second block.
Hence, the claim is broader than the specification since its breadth includes at least one embodiment that was NOT disclosed or supported in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 16-20 depend on claim 15.
One possible way to overcome the rejection is to change “responsive to” to “responsive in part to”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2022/0392556 A1) in view of Murai et al. (US 2023/0268013 A1).
Regarding claim 1: Yang (FIG. 1, FIG. 2, FIG. 8A-B; [0062-0085]) teaches a system comprising:
a memory device (memory device 100 in FIG. 2; [0062]); and
a processing device (memory controller 122 in FIG. 2 or Host 140 in FIG. 2), operatively coupled with the memory device, to perform operations comprising:
performing a set of write operations (a multi-plane programming operation; [0038]) on a first block in a first plane of the memory device and on a second block in a second plane of the memory device (plane 0 and plane 1 in FIG. 8B, for example).
Yan does not specifically teach:
performing a program verification check on the first block; and
responsive to determining that the first block fails the program verification check, retiring the first block and the second block.
Murai ([0031]) teaches, in prior art systems, executing a multi-plane programming operation, wherein failure of the programming process in one plane causes other planes to fail, and consequently retiring blocks in other planes, which may cause good blocks to be retired.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Murai into Yan in a manner such that a program verification check on a first block would be performed to determine whether the programming process was successful or a failure; and responsive to determining that the first block fails the program verification check, both the first block and the second block would be retired. The motivation to do so would have been to use a prior art technique, wherein a failure of the programming process in a first block in a first plane would cause a second block of a second plane to be retired even though it may be a good block.
Regarding claim 8: Yang (FIG. 1, FIG. 2, FIG. 8A-B; [0062-0085]) teaches a method comprising:
performing, by a processing device, a set of write operations on a first block in a first plane (a block in Plane 0 of FIG. 8B) of a memory device (memory device 100 in FIG. 2; [0062]) and on a second block in a second plane (a block in Plane 0 of FIG. 8B) of the memory device.
Yan does not specifically teach:
performing a program verification check on the first block; and
responsive to determining that the first block fails the program verification check, retiring the first block and the second block.
Murai ([0031]) teaches, in prior art systems, executing a multi-plane programming operation, wherein failure of the programming process in one plane causes other planes to fail, and consequently retiring blocks in other planes, which may cause good blocks to be retired.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Murai into Yan in a manner such that a program verification check on a first block would be performed to determine whether the programming process was successful or a failure; and responsive to determining that the first block fails the program verification check, both the first block and the second block would be retired. The motivation to do so would have been to use a prior art technique, wherein a failure of the programming process in a first block in a first plane would cause a second block of a second plane to be retired even though it may be a good block.
Regarding claim 15: Yang (FIG. 1, FIG. 2, FIG. 8A-B; [0062-0085]) teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions ([0048-0050]) that, when executed by a processing device, cause the processing device to perform operations comprising:
performing a set of write operations on a first block in a first plane (a block in Plane 0 of FIG. 8B) of a memory device (memory device 100 in FIG. 2; [0062]) and on a second block in a second plane (a block in Plane 0 of FIG. 8B) of the memory device;
Yang does not specifically teach:
performing a program verification check on the first block; and
responsive to determining that the first block fails the program verification check, retiring the first block and the second block.
Murai ([0031]) teaches, in prior art systems, executing a multi-plane programming operation, wherein failure of the programming process in one plane causes other planes to fail, and consequently retiring blocks in other planes, which may cause good blocks to be retired.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Murai into Yan in a manner such that a program verification check on a first block would be performed to determine whether the programming process was successful or a failure; and responsive to determining that the first block fails the program verification check, both the first block and the second block would be retired. The motivation to do so would have been to use a prior art technique, wherein a failure of the programming process in a first block in a first plane would cause a second block of a second plane to be retired even though it may be a good block.
Conclusion
JAY W. RADKE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2827
/JAY W. RADKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2827