Remarks
Applicants elected Species I (Claims 1-10, 19-20) without traverse on 8/3/26.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 8, 9, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)1 as being anticipated by Hu et al. (2020/0161769).
Regarding Claim 1, Hu et al. (2020/0161769) discloses a double slot antenna, comprising:
an antenna element (arms 9, 11) defining a reference plane (XY plane, annotated), the antenna element being partially enclosed (enclosed by two sides) by a metal frame (constituted by sides 4, 5) along the reference plane (XY plane);
an inner slot (annotated) defined within the antenna element (9, 11) along the reference plane (XY plane annotated); and
an outer slot (annotated) defined between the antenna element (9, 11) and a metal frame along the reference plane (XY plane);
wherein the metal frame comprises a notch (13) (paragraph [0069]).
Regarding Claim 2, Hu discloses the double slot antenna of claim 1, wherein the metal frame comprises a notch (13) such that the outer slot is not fully enclosed by the metal frame (since it has an opening thus it is not fully enclosed).
Regarding Claim 5, Hu discloses the double slot antenna of claim 1, wherein the outer slot (main slot area) is associated with a first frequency band (high band) (“the main slot 14 in a particular location in order to produce the best coverage of the mid and high frequency bands”, paragraph [0082]; “The antenna arrangement may be configured such that the second (11) and third conductor elements together operate in mid to high bands (paragraph [0041]) and the inner slot (inner slots along with ground plane 2) is associated with a second frequency band (low band) (“The interface, feeding, and switching circuits to tune for the multiple low bands of LTE are located on the ground plane 2”, paragraph [0094]).
Regarding Claim 8, Hu discloses the double slot antenna of claim 1, wherein the inner slot (inner slot 2) is fully enclosed by the antenna element (antenna element 2) along the reference plane (XY plane).
Regarding Claim 9, Hu discloses the double slot antenna of claim 1, wherein the inner slot (inner slot 1) is partially enclosed (since it has recess 3) by the antenna element (antenna element 1) along the reference plane (XY plane).
Regarding Claim 19, Hu et al. (2020/0161769) discloses a mobile computing device (laptop, paragraphs [0044], [0058], [0059], [0097]), comprising:
a metal frame (constituted by sides 4, 5);
an antenna element (arms 9, 11) defining a reference plane (XY plane, annotated), the antenna element (9, 11) being partially enclosed (enclosed by two sides) by the metal frame (constituted by sides 4, 5) along the reference plane (XY plane);
an inner slot (annotated below) defined within the antenna element (9, 11) along the reference plane (XY plane, annotated); and
an outer slot (annotated below) defined between the antenna element (9, 11) and a metal frame along the reference plane (XY plane);
wherein the metal frame (constituted by sides 4, 5) comprises a notch (13) (paragraph [0069]).
Regarding Claim 20, Hu discloses the mobile computing device of claim 19, wherein the mobile computing device comprises a laptop (paragraphs [0044], [0058], [0059], [0097]).
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 6, 7, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (2020/0161769).
Regarding Claim 3, as discussed above, Hu essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the double slot antenna of claim 2, wherein the notch has a width of about 1 mm to about 15 mm.
However, Hu discloses the entire assembly has a footprint of 6.5-7.5 mm in height.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in art to have acknowledged or realized that, according to the dimension of Figure 1, the width of notch 1 would have been shorter than 15mm when the height is just 6.5-7.5mm in order to fit within a casing in desired size or shape.
Regarding Claim 4, Hu discloses the double slot antenna of claim 1, further comprising: an impedance matching component (controlled matching circuit 19) operably coupled to the antenna element, the impedance matching component configured to provide impedance matching to the double slot antenna (impedance matching, paragraphs [0015], [0032], [0033], [0093]) but does not explicitly disclose the impedance matching component at least partially overlapping the inner slot.
However, it has been held that rearranging location merely involves routine skill in the art.
In reJapikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have rearranged or shifted the location of the impedance matching circuit to partially overlap the inner slot in order to fit with the casing in particular size or shape or optimize the space inside the circuit arrangement.
Regarding Claim 6, as discussed above, Hu discloses reliable 1.6-2.8 GHz response in the frequency bands, paragraph [0072] but does not explicitly disclose the double slot antenna of claim 5, wherein the first frequency band is 1700 MHz and the second frequency band is 2100 MHz.
Since Hu teaches the range of band frequency is from 1.6GHz to 2.8GHZ, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have tuned the first frequency band to 1.7GHz (or 1700MHz) and the second frequency band to 2.1GHz (or 2100MHz) in order to transmit or receive the signal in the desired frequency bands.
Regarding Claim 7, as discussed above, Hu discloses reliable 1.6-2.8 GHz response in the frequency bands, paragraph [0072] but does not explicitly disclose the double slot antenna of claim 6, wherein the outer slot is further associated with a third frequency band, the third frequency band being 2700 MHz.
Since Hu teaches the range of band frequency is from 1.6GHz to 2.8GHZ, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have tuned the third frequency band to 2.7GHz (2700MHz) in order to transmit or receive the signal in the desired frequency bands.
Regarding Claim 10, as discussed above, Hu essentially discloses WLAN antenna (paragraph [0097]) but does not explicitly disclose the double slot antenna of claim 1, wherein the antenna element is a WWAN antenna element.
However, Hu discloses his invention can be usable with WWAN (paragraphs [0060], [0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided WWAN antenna element in order to operate with the fast cellular data service.
Correspondence
/WILSON LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845