Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 9-13, 15-16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (2024/0184382) hereinafter, Kim in view of Kim et al (20240231532) hereinafter, Kim2,
In regards to claim 1, Kim teaches an electronic device comprising (abstract) ([0016] In the touch input device according to an embodiment or another embodiment, the control unit may control the sensor unit to operate in one of a touch sensing mode, a stylus driving mode, and a stylus sensing mode.):
a sensor layer defining a sensing area (fig. 4 substrate 101-104), and a peripheral area adjacent to the sensing area, and comprising [0090]:
first electrodes in the sensing area, and arranged in a first direction (fig. 4 (101));
second electrodes in the sensing area, and arranged in a second direction crossing the first direction (fig. 4 (103));
third electrodes in the sensing area, and arranged in the first direction (fig. 4 (102));
first trace lines electrically connected to the first electrodes in one-to-one correspondence (fig. 5 color traces applying to 101);
second trace lines electrically connected to the second electrodes in one-to-one correspondence (fig 5 traces on right outside that are colored);
a first loop trace line electrically connected to the third electrodes (fig 6 first colored trace from pad to 102));
second loop trace lines electrically connected to the third electrodes (fig 6 traces on right outside that are colored((fig 6 second colored trace from pad to 102)); and
a third loop trace line electrically connected to one of the third electrodes(fig 5 traces on right outside that are colored (fig 6 third colored trace from pad to 102));
Kim fails to teach wherein the one of the third electrodes comprises a first end connected to the first loop trace line and a second end connected to one of the second loop trace lines, and wherein the third loop trace line is connected to a portion of the one of the third electrodes between the first end and the second end.
However, Kim2 teaches wherein the one of the third electrodes comprises a first end connected to the first loop trace line (fig. 16 top line) and a second end connected to one of the second loop trace lines (fig. 16 At3), and wherein the third loop trace line is connected to a portion of the one of the third electrodes between the first end and the second end (fig. 16 Art or signal) (fig. 18 multiple connections and fig. 36 [225-0245, 404-410].Examiner notes the top trace is commonly connected which similarly acts a shorting bar.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Kim to further include wherein the one of the third electrodes comprises a first end connected to the first loop trace line and a second end connected to one of the second loop trace lines, and wherein the third loop trace line is connected to a portion of the one of the third electrodes between the first end and the second end as taught by Kim2 in order to provide more loops and as a result a constant field can be provided to the stylus [230] and drive the stylus using conductive patterns [413]
In regards to claim 15, Kim teaches an electronic device comprising: a sensor layer defining a sensing area, and a peripheral area adjacent to the sensing area, and comprising (fig. 4 area of 101-104)) [0090]:: first electrodes in the sensing area, and arranged in a first direction(fig. 4 (101)); second electrodes in the sensing area, and arranged in a second direction crossing the first direction (fig. 4 (103)) third electrodes in the sensing area, and arranged in the first direction(fig. 4 (102));; and trace lines electrically connected to the first electrodes, to the second electrodes, and to the third electrodes, and comprising: a first loop trace line connected to a first end of one of the third electrodes (fig 6 first colored trace from pad to 102));
Kim fails to teach a second loop trace line connected to a second end of the two or more of the third electrodes.
However, Kim2 teaches a second loop trace line connected to a second end of the two or more of the third electrodes. (fig. 16 Art/ground or signal at one end while the other end is a shorting bar ) [225-0245] (fig. 18 multiple connections and fig. 36 [404-410]..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Kim to further include wherein the one of the third electrodes comprises a first end connected to the first loop trace line and a second end connected to one of the second loop trace lines, and wherein the third loop trace line is connected to a portion of the one of the third electrodes between the first end and the second end as taught by Kim2 in order to provide more loops and as a result a constant field can be provided to the stylus [230] and drive the stylus using conductive patterns [413]
Therefore, Kim in view of Kim2 teaches a second loop trace line connected to another end of the one of the third electrodes (fig 6 traces on right outside that are colored((fig 6 second colored trace from pad to 102))Kim; and a third loop trace line connected to the one of the third electrodes(fig 6 third colored trace from pad to 102)).Kim and (fig. 16 Art or signal in middle at bottom) Kim2
In regards to claim 2, Kim in view of Kim2 teaches electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one of the third electrodes is closest to the peripheral area among the third electrodes, and is electrically connected to the first loop trace line and to one of the second loop trace lines (fig. 4 for example top 102 connected to first loop trace bottom loop trace) Kim.
In regards to claim 9, Kim in view of Kim2 teaches electronic device of claim 1, wherein a first portion of the third loop trace line is at the sensing area, and a second portion of the third loop trace line is at the peripheral area (fig. 6 part of trace extending into 102 and second portion outside sensing area) Kim.
In regards to claim 10, Kim in view of Kim2 teaches electronic device of claim 9, wherein the first portion of the third loop trace line overlaps at least one of the first electrodes (fig. 6 (trace overlaps 101 to extend into 102)). Kim
In regards to claim 11, Kim in view of Kim2 teaches electronic device of claim 9, wherein the second portion of the third loop trace line is between the sensing area and the first loop trace line in plan view (fig. 6 view the far left colored traces as the third loop trace and the far right colored trace as the first loop trace has the third loop trace in between the sensing area and the first loop trace at the bend of the third loop trace Kim).
In regards to claim 12, Kim in view of Kim2 teaches electronic device of claim 1, wherein the sensor layer further comprises: fourth electrodes in the sensing area, and arranged in the second direction; and an auxiliary trace line electrically connected to the fourth electrodes. (fig. 6 102s and fig. 7 10 channels, examiner is viewing the 4th channel as the fourth electrode and connecting trace as the auxiliary trace line) Kim.
In regards to claim 13, Kim in view of Kim2, teaches electronic device of claim 12, wherein the third loop trace line is between the auxiliary trace line and at least one of the second trace lines in plan view (fig. 6 colored traces extend up from map and curve, the third loop trace line is between the auxiliary trace line and at least one of the second trace lines) Kim
In regards to claim 16, Kim in view of Kim2, teaches electronic device of claim 15, wherein the trace lines further comprises a fourth loop trace line connected to the one of the third electrodes (fig. 6 top loop connected to 102). Kim
In regards to claim 20, Kim in view of Kim2 teaches electronic device of claim 15, wherein the trace lines further comprise a fourth loop trace line connected to another one of the third electrodes, and wherein the third loop trace line is separated from the fourth loop trace line with the sensing area therebetween in plan view.(fig. 6 third loop trace at the bottom and fourth loop is located at top). Kim
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) ) 1-2, 9-13, 15-16 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Examiner notes the current claim language currently claims labeling for structure. Examiner believes tying the operation to the structure would better place the application in condition for allowance. Examiner is open to an interview if Applicant believes it would help expedite prosecution.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3-8 and 14,17-19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GRANT SITTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622