Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 9-13, 15-16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al (2024/0184382) hereinafter, Kim.
In regards to claim 1, Kim teaches an electronic device comprising (abstract) ([0016] In the touch input device according to an embodiment or another embodiment, the control unit may control the sensor unit to operate in one of a touch sensing mode, a stylus driving mode, and a stylus sensing mode.):
a sensor layer defining a sensing area (fig. 4 substrate 101-104), and a peripheral area adjacent to the sensing area, and comprising [0090]:
first electrodes in the sensing area, and arranged in a first direction (fig. 4 (101));
second electrodes in the sensing area, and arranged in a second direction crossing the first direction (fig. 4 (103));
third electrodes in the sensing area, and arranged in the first direction (fig. 4 (102));
first trace lines electrically connected to the first electrodes in one-to-one correspondence (fig. 5 color traces applying to 101);
second trace lines electrically connected to the second electrodes in one-to-one correspondence (fig 5 traces on right outside that are colored);
a first loop trace line electrically connected to the third electrodes (fig 6 first colored trace from pad to 102));
second loop trace lines electrically connected to the third electrodes (fig 6 traces on right outside that are colored((fig 6 second colored trace from pad to 102)); and
a third loop trace line electrically connected to one of the third electrodes(fig 5 traces on right outside that are colored (fig 6 third colored trace from pad to 102));
In regards to claim 15, Kim teaches an electronic device comprising: a sensor layer defining a sensing area, and a peripheral area adjacent to the sensing area, and comprising (fig. 4 area of 101-104)) [0090]:: first electrodes in the sensing area, and arranged in a first direction(fig. 4 (101)); second electrodes in the sensing area, and arranged in a second direction crossing the first direction (fig. 4 (103)) third electrodes in the sensing area, and arranged in the first direction(fig. 4 (102));; and trace lines electrically connected to the first electrodes, to the second electrodes, and to the third electrodes, and comprising: a first loop trace line connected to one end of one of the third electrodes (fig 6 first colored trace from pad to 102)); a second loop trace line connected to another end of the one of the third electrodes (fig 6 traces on right outside that are colored((fig 6 second colored trace from pad to 102)); and a third loop trace line connected to the one of the third electrodes(fig 6 third colored trace from pad to 102)).
In regards to claim 2, Kim teaches electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one of the third electrodes is closest to the peripheral area among the third electrodes, and is electrically connected to the first loop trace line and to one of the second loop trace lines (fig. 4 for example top 102 connected to first loop trace bottom loop trace).
In regards to claim 9, Kim teaches electronic device of claim 1, wherein a first portion of the third loop trace line is at the sensing area, and a second portion of the third loop trace line is at the peripheral area (fig. 6 part of trace extending into 102 and second portion outside sensing area).
In regards to claim 10, Kim teaches electronic device of claim 9, wherein the first portion of the third loop trace line overlaps at least one of the first electrodes (fig. 6 (trace overlaps 101 to extend into 102)).
In regards to claim 11, Kim teaches electronic device of claim 9, wherein the second portion of the third loop trace line is between the sensing area and the first loop trace line in plan view (fig. 6 view the far left colored traces as the third loop trace and the far right colored trace as the first loop trace has the third loop trace in between the sensing area and the first loop trace at the bend of the third loop trace).
In regards to claim 12, Kim teaches electronic device of claim 1, wherein the sensor layer further comprises: fourth electrodes in the sensing area, and arranged in the second direction; and an auxiliary trace line electrically connected to the fourth electrodes. (fig. 6 102s and fig. 7 10 channels, examiner is viewing the 4th channel as the fourth electrode and connecting trace as the auxiliary trace line).
In regards to claim 13, Kim teaches electronic device of claim 12, wherein the third loop trace line is between the auxiliary trace line and at least one of the second trace lines in plan view (fig. 6 colored traces extend up from map and curve, the third loop trace line is between the auxiliary trace line and at least one of the second trace lines)
In regards to claim 16, Kim teaches electronic device of claim 15, wherein the trace lines further comprises a fourth loop trace line connected to the one of the third electrodes (fig. 6 top loop connected to 102).
In regards to claim 20, Kim teaches electronic device of claim 15, wherein the trace lines further comprise a fourth loop trace line connected to another one of the third electrodes, and wherein the third loop trace line is separated from the fourth loop trace line with the sensing area therebetween in plan view.(fig. 6 third loop trace at the bottom and fourth loop is located at top).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-8 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kim et al (20200099245) hereinafter, Ruscher.
In regards to claim 3, Kim teaches electronic device of claim 2, further comprising a sensor driver configured to drive the sensor layer, and configured to selectively operate in a first mode for sensing a touch input [0049] or in a second mode for sensing a pen input, the second mode comprising a charging drive mode and a pen-sensing drive mode [0050-0051].
Kim fails to expressly teach a charging drive mode.
However, Ruscher teaches a charging drive mode (abstract) [005-0011], (fig. 10 1030).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Kim to further include a charging drive mode as taught by Ruscher in order to provide such that the user does not have to wait to charge the stylus before use [0003-005].
In regards to claim 4, Kim in view of Ruscher teaches electronic device of claim 3, wherein, in the charging drive mode, the sensor driver is configured to provide a signal to one of a first pad connected to the one of the second loop trace lines (fig. 6 pads at bottom that are colored), or Examiner notes because of the “or” operator only one limitation is necessary for the prior art to read upon the claim) a second pad connected to the third loop trace line, to the exclusion of the other one of the first pad or the second pad (fig. 7 charging of channels) Kim).
In regards to claim 5, Kim in view of Ruscher teaches electronic device of claim 3, wherein, in the charging drive mode, the sensor driver is configured to provide a signal to a first pad connected to the one of the second loop trace lines, and to a second pad connected to the third loop trace line (fig. 6 three colored pads and respective “traces” Kim).
In regards to claim 6, Kim in view of Ruscher teaches electronic device of claim 3, wherein the sensor layer further comprises a fourth loop trace line electrically connected to the one of the third electrodes (fig. 6 trace at top connecting 102s Kim)).
In regards to claim 7, Kim in view of Ruscher teaches electronic device of claim 6, wherein, in the charging drive mode, the sensor driver is configured to provide a signal to at least one of a first pad connected to the one of the second loop trace lines, a second pad connected to the third loop trace line, or a third pad connected to the fourth loop trace line (fig. 6 colored pads and fig. 7 corresponding charging) Kim.
In regards to claim 8, Kim in view of Ruscher teaches electronic device of claim 1, wherein the sensor layer further comprises a fourth loop trace line electrically connected to another one of the third electrodes (fig. 6 top part of lines connecting 102s)) Kim.
In regards to claim 17, Kim in view of Ruscher teaches electronic device of claim 15, see rational of claim 3, further comprising a sensor driver configured to drive the sensor layer, and configured to selectively operate in a first mode of sensing a touch input, [0049-0051] or a second mode of sensing a pen input, the second mode comprising a charging drive mode and a pen-sensing drive mode. [0049-0051]Kim (abstract) [005-0011], (fig. 10 1030) Ruscher.
In regards to claim 18, Kim in view of Ruscher teaches electronic device of claim 17, wherein, in the charging drive mode, the sensor driver is configured to provide a signal to one of a first pad connected to the second loop trace line (fig. 6 colored pads and signal applied), or Examiner notes because of the “or” operator only one limitation is necessary for the prior art to read upon the claim) a second pad connected to the third loop trace line, to the exclusion of the other one of the first pad or the second pad(fig. 7 charging of channels)Kim ).
In regards to claim 19, Kim in view of Ruscher teaches electronic device of claim 17, wherein, in the charging drive mode, the sensor driver is configured to provide a signal to a first pad connected to the second loop trace line, and to a second pad connected to the third loop trace line. (fig. 6 three colored pads and respective “traces” and fig. 7 signals Kim ).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GRANT SITTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622