DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11, it recites that “the camera is positioned at an additional predetermined location relative to the light element”. It is unclear how one camera can be positioned in two different locations relative to the same light element. Specifically, claim 1 from which claim 11 depends already states that the camera is positioned at a predetermined location relative to the light element and claim 11 states that the camera is also positioned at an additional predetermined location relative to that same light element.
It seems that “the light element” in the above limitation is meant to refer to the “additional light element” introduced in claim 11 and not the “light element” introduced in claim 1. If so, this limitation should be changed to recite “the camera is positioned at an additional predetermined location relative to the additional light element”.
It should be noted that if this change is made, the limitation would be taught by Saad El Din as the light elements 16 on the left and right of camera 20 would read on the light element and the additional light element respectively. The camera being located to the right of the left light element and to the right of the right light element similar to rejected claim 12 (see below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zeng (US 2021/0347298 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zeng discloses
A vehicle (fig. 1) comprising:
a chassis (12; fig. 1);
a cab (21; fig. 1) coupled to the chassis;
a body (11; fig. 1) coupled to the chassis;
an integrated camera and light system including:
a fixture (Frame of the camera unit 400; fig. 1);
a light element (410; fig. 5) disposed within the fixture, the light element configured to emit a light; and
a camera (430; fig. 5) disposed within the fixture and positioned at a predetermined location relative to the light element, the camera configured to acquire image data, wherein the image data includes interference corresponding to the light emitted by the light element ([0067]); and
one or more processing circuits ([0067]; Digital image processing filter) configured to:
acquire the image data; and
process the image data to reduce or filter the interference in the image data based on the camera being positioned at the predetermined location relative to the light element ([0067]; Digital image processing filter filters out color or illumination from the lamp 410 so that the color or illumination does not interfere or prohibit the image sensor 435 from capturing useful images. Any interference of the color or illumination from the lamp is inherently at least partially based on the positional relationship between the lamp and the camera and therefore any processing performed to filter the interference will be “based on” the camera position.).
Regarding claim 2, Zeng discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, Zeng discloses, wherein:
the light element is configured to emit the light with one or more characteristics (color or illumination; [0067]); and the one or more processing circuits are configured to process the image data to reduce or filter the interference in the image data based on the one or more characteristics ([0067]).
Regarding claim 3, Zeng discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, Zeng discloses, wherein the integrated camera and light system includes a filter positioned between the light element and the camera, the filter configured to pre-filter the light emitted by the light element (The camera is encircled by a colored plastic collar to avoid light contamination; [0067]).
Regarding claim 4, Zeng discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, Zeng discloses, wherein the fixture defines:
a first aperture (Aperture defined by the outermost part of the frame shown in white in fig. 5) configured to receive the light element; and
a second aperture (Inner aperture defined by a layer (shown to be gray) below the lamp 410 where the camera 430 is located; fig. 5) configured to receive the camera such that the camera is positioned at the predetermined location relative to the light element.
Regarding claim 7, Zeng discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, Zeng discloses, further comprising a display (200; fig. 2), wherein the one or more processing circuits are configured to generate and provide, to the display, a display interface corresponding to the processed image data (The camera uses an image processing filter to filter out interference from the lamp. The filters ensure useful images from the image sensor are captured and sent to PLC interface 140; [0067]; The PLC interface 140 allows for the transfer of images to the display unit 200; fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Zeng discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, Zeng discloses, further comprising:
an auxiliary assembly (Rear part of the chassis 12 in fig. 1 where taillights are.) coupled to at least one of the chassis, the body, or the cab, the auxiliary assembly including an implement that facilities a function of the vehicle (The auxiliary assembly allows for brake lighting and tail lighting; [0031]);
wherein the fixture is an auxiliary fixture coupled to the auxiliary assembly (The fixture is for the tail light and is fixed to the back portion of the chassis; figs. 1, 5); and
wherein the one or more processing circuits (230; fig. 2) are configured to operate the implement to perform the function based on the processed image data (The controller 230 may use AI and video data from the camera units to generate brake engagement which would cause brake lights to light up; [0043], [0051]).
Regarding claim 10, Zeng discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, Zeng discloses, wherein the fixture is at least one of a headlight fixture coupled to a forward end of the cab or a taillight fixture coupled to a rearward end of the body (Taillight fixture; [0061]; fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng in view of Official Notice.
Regarding claim 5, Zeng discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, Zeng discloses, further comprising:
a first wire communicably coupling the light element to the one or more processing circuits (The power wire 151 connects the lamp ultimately to the display unit 200 which is part of the one or more processing circuits; fig. 2);
a second wire communicably coupling the camera to the one or more processing circuits (The power wire 143/data wire 134 connects the camera ultimately to the display unit 200 which is part of the one or more processing circuits; fig. 2); and
.
However, Zeng fails to explicitly disclose the wiring jacket. However, the examiner takes official notice of the fact that it was well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to provide this.
Zeng teaches two wires from two different sources connected to a common point. Providing two wires from different sources in the same wiring jacket when they are connected to a common point is well-known. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to improve Zeng by applying the technique of providing the wires of the lamp and the camera in the same wiring jacket to achieve the predictable result of keeping the wires organized.
Regarding 6, Zeng and Official Notice, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 5), however, Zeng fails to explicitly disclose the wiring jacket surrounds the portion of the first wire and second wire extending out of the fixture. However, the examiner takes official notice of the fact that it was well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to provide this.
Zeng teaches camera wires and lamp wires which are destined for the display unit 200. The wires are connected to a connector first and the connector which contains signals from both wires extends outside the fixture. Using a wiring jacket to keep two wires associated with one another together is well-known. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to replace the connector with a wiring jacket surrounding the wires to achieve the predictable result of connecting the camera and lamp to the display unit while keeping the wires organized.
Regarding claim 20, Zeng discloses
An integrated camera and light system for a vehicle, the integrated camera and light system comprising:
a fixture (fig. 4);
a light element (410; fig. 5) disposed within the fixture, the light element configured to emit a light;
a camera (430; fig. 5) disposed within the fixture and positioned at a predetermined location relative to the light element (Central location; figs. 4-5), the camera configured to acquire image data;
a filter positioned between the light element and the camera, the filter configured to filter the light emitted by the light element (The camera is encircled by a colored plastic collar to avoid light contamination; [0067]);
a first wire (451; fig. 4) communicably coupled to the light element, [a connector (450; figs. 4-5) connected to the first wire] extending out of the fixture;
a second wire (443; fig. 4) communicably coupled to the camera, [a connector (450; figs. 4-5) connected to the first wire] extending out of the fixture; and
.
However, Zeng fails to explicitly disclose that the first wire and second wire extend out of the fixture and are surrounded by a wiring jacket. However, the examiner takes official notice of the fact that it was well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to provide this.
Zeng teaches that the camera wire and the lamp wire are connected to a connector which extends out of the fixture so that both the camera and lamp can be connected to the display unit (fig. 2). Providing two wires from different sources in the same wiring jacket when they are connected to a common point is well-known. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to replace the connector with a wiring jacket surrounding the wires to achieve the predictable result of connecting the camera and lamp to the display unit while keeping the wires organized.
Claim(s) 8, 12-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng in view of Saad El Din et al. (US 12,305,846 B1) hereinafter referenced as Saad.
Regarding claim 8, Zeng discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however, Zeng, fails to explicitly disclose the fixture is a lightbar fixture configured to emit light with at least one of various patterns, various colors, various frequencies, or various brightnesses. However, the examiner maintains that it was well known in the art to provide this, as taught by Saad.
In a similar field of endeavor, Saad discloses wherein:
the fixture (12; fig. 1) is a lightbar fixture coupled to the cab (The lightbar 10 is mounted on the roof of an emergency vehicle which would be part of the cab; 2:34-35);
the light element is a lightbar light (16; fig. 1) configured to emit the light with at least one of various patterns, various colors, various frequencies, or various brightnesses (The LED light flashes which would include at least a high brightness and a low brightness; 2:41-42); and
the one or more processing circuits are configured to process the image data to reduce or filter the interference in the image data based on the at least one of the various patterns, the various colors, the various frequencies, or the various brightnesses (4:4-30; A digital signal processing suite is used to filter out flicker caused by the flashing LED lights.).
Zeng teaches an integrated camera and light wherein a processor filters out interference caused by the light in the images captured by the camera. Saad teaches an integrated camera and lightbar wherein a processor filters out interference caused by the light in images captured by the camera. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve Zeng by applying the technique of providing the integrated lightbar/camera of Saad to the vehicle of Zeng to achieve the predictable result of capturing high quality images for an emergency vehicle.
Regarding claim 12, Zeng discloses
A vehicle (fig. 1) comprising:
a chassis (12; fig. 1);
a body (11; fig. 1) coupled to the chassis;
an integrated camera and light system including:
a first light element (Lamp 410 of camera unit 400a; figs. 1, 5) configured to emit a light;
a second light element (Lamp 410 of camera unit 400b; figs. 1, 5) configured to emit a second light; and
camera (430; fig. 5) positioned at a first predetermined location relative to the first light element (Camera 430 of camera unit 400a is located at a position in the center of the first lamp 410; figs. 1, 5) and at a second predetermined location relative to the second light element (Camera 430 of camera unit 400a is located at a position to the left of the second lamp 410 of camera unit 400b; figs. 1, 5), the camera configured to acquire image data, wherein the image data includes first interference corresponding to the first light emitted by the first light element ([0067])
one or more processing circuits (Digital image processing filter; [0067]) configured to:
acquire the image data;
process the image data to reduce or filter the first interference in the image data based on the camera being positioned at the first predetermined location relative to the first light element ([0067]; Digital image processing filter filters out color or illumination from the lamp 410 so that the color or illumination does not interfere or prohibit the image sensor 435 from capturing useful images. Any interference of the color or illumination from the lamp is inherently at least partially based on the positional relationship between the lamp and the camera and therefore any processing performed to filter the interference will be “based on” the camera position.)
.
However, Zeng, fails to explicitly disclose that the image data includes interference from a second light source and the processor filters the interference from both the first and second light sources. However, the examiner maintains that it was well known in the art to provide this, as taught by Saad.
In a similar field of endeavor, Saad discloses
an integrated camera and light system including:
a first light element (Left LED 16; fig. 1) configured to emit a first light;
a second light element (Right LED 16; fig. 1) configured to emit a second light; and
a camera (14; fig. 1) positioned at a first predetermined location relative to the first light element (To the right of; fig. 1) and at a second predetermined location relative to the second light element (To the left of; fig. 1), the camera configured to acquire image data, wherein the image data includes first interference (Flicker; 4:4-30) corresponding to the first light emitted by the first light element and second interference (Flicker; 4:4-30) corresponding to the second light emitted by the second light element; and
one or more processing circuits (Digital signal processing suite; 4:16-17) configured to:
acquire the image data (4:4-30);
process the image data to reduce or filter the first interference in the image data based on the camera being positioned at the first predetermined location relative to the first light element (4:4-30; Flicker is filtered from both LED lights. Any interference from the left LED is inherently at least partially based on the positional relationship between the LED and the camera and therefore any processing performed to filter the interference will be “based on” the camera position.); and
process the image data to reduce or filter the second interference in the image data based on the camera being positioned at the second predetermined location relative to the second light element (4:4-30; Flicker is filtered from both LED lights. Any interference from the right LED is inherently at least partially based on the positional relationship between the LED and the camera and therefore any processing performed to filter the interference will be “based on” the camera position.).
Zeng teaches an integrated camera and light wherein a processor filters out interference caused by the light in the images captured by the camera. Saad teaches an integrated camera and lightbar wherein a processor filters out interference caused by the light in images captured by the camera. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve Zeng by applying the technique of providing the integrated lightbar/camera of Saad to the vehicle of Zeng to achieve the predictable result of capturing high quality images for an emergency vehicle.
Regarding claim 13, Zeng and Saad, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12), in addition, Saad discloses, wherein:
the integrated camera and light system includes a fixture (12; fig. 1) coupled to the body assembly (2:34-35); and
the first light element, the second light element, and the camera are disposed within the fixture (fig. 1).
Zeng teaches an integrated camera and light wherein a processor filters out interference caused by the light in the images captured by the camera. Saad teaches an integrated camera and lightbar wherein a processor filters out interference caused by the light in images captured by the camera. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve Zeng by applying the technique of providing the integrated lightbar/camera of Saad to the vehicle of Zeng to achieve the predictable result of capturing high quality images for an emergency vehicle.
Regarding claim 14, Zeng and Saad, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13), however, the combination fails to explicitly disclose the camera is equidistant from the first and second light elements. However, the examiner takes official notice of the fact that it was well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to provide this.
Saad teaches a camera which appears to be equidistant from a left and right light element in fig. 1 but does not explicitly state that the two distances are equal. Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device (Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984); MPEP 2144.04 IV. A.). In this case the resulting device in Saad is a camera which is between two lightbar lights wherein interference from the lights is filtered out by processing the images captured by the camera, which is the same result as the claimed invention. It should be noted that Applicant’s specification also states that the two distances do not have to be equal (see paragraph [0060]).
Regarding claim 15, Zeng and Saad, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13), in addition, Saad discloses, wherein the camera (20; fig. 1) is positioned between the first light element (16; fig. 1) and the second light element (16; fig. 1).
Zeng teaches an integrated camera and light wherein a processor filters out interference caused by the light in the images captured by the camera. Saad teaches an integrated camera and lightbar wherein a processor filters out interference caused by the light in images captured by the camera. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve Zeng by applying the technique of providing the integrated lightbar/camera of Saad to the vehicle of Zeng to achieve the predictable result of capturing high quality images for an emergency vehicle.
Regarding claim 16, Zeng and Saad, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13), in addition, Saad discloses, wherein the body assembly include a cab (The lightbar 10 is mounted on the roof of an emergency vehicle which would be part of the cab; 2:34-35), and wherein the fixture is a lightbar coupled to the cab (fig. 1).
Zeng teaches an integrated camera and light wherein a processor filters out interference caused by the light in the images captured by the camera. Saad teaches an integrated camera and lightbar wherein a processor filters out interference caused by the light in images captured by the camera. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve Zeng by applying the technique of providing the integrated lightbar/camera of Saad to the vehicle of Zeng to achieve the predictable result of capturing high quality images for an emergency vehicle.
Regarding claim 17, Zeng and Saad, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12), in addition, Saad discloses, wherein the integrated camera and light system includes at least one filter (The housing of the camera 20 can be considered a filter since is blocks light from reaching the image sensor of the camera by surrounding the camera.) positioned between the first light element and the camera and between the second light element and the camera, the at least one filter configured to pre-filter the first light emitted by the first light element and the second light emitted by the second light element.
Zeng teaches an integrated camera and light wherein a processor filters out interference caused by the light in the images captured by the camera. Saad teaches an integrated camera and lightbar wherein a processor filters out interference caused by the light in images captured by the camera. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve Zeng by applying the technique of providing the integrated lightbar/camera of Saad to the vehicle of Zeng to achieve the predictable result of capturing high quality images for an emergency vehicle.
Regarding claim 18, Zeng and Saad, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12), in addition, Zeng discloses, further comprising a display (200; fig. 2), wherein the one or more processing circuits are configured to generate and provide, to the display, a display interface corresponding to the processed image data (The camera uses an image processing filter to filter out interference from the lamp. The filters ensure useful images from the image sensor are captured and sent to PLC interface 140; [0067]; The PLC interface 140 allows for the transfer of images to the display unit 200; fig. 2. Video data from multiple cameras mounted on the vehicle are sent to the display; [0027]).
Regarding claim 19, Zeng and Saad, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12), in addition, Saad discloses, wherein:
the integrated camera and light system includes a fixture (Brackets; 2:36-44);
the first light element and the camera are disposed within the fixture (The brackets where the left light element and camera are mounted together can be considered “the fixture”.); and
the second light element is disposed outside of the fixture (As the right light element is not connected to the brackets mounting the left light element or the camera, it is considered to be outside the fixture.).
Zeng teaches an integrated camera and light wherein a processor filters out interference caused by the light in the images captured by the camera. Saad teaches an integrated camera and lightbar wherein a processor filters out interference caused by the light in images captured by the camera. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve Zeng by applying the technique of providing the integrated lightbar/camera of Saad to the vehicle of Zeng to achieve the predictable result of capturing high quality images for an emergency vehicle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Watano et al. (US 2023/0382289 A1) suppresses light from a headlight which interferes with a camera mounted integrally by controlling the headlight ([0088]; figs. 1-2).
Hou et al. (US 2022/0396328 A1) teaches an integrated light and camera wherein interference from the light on the camera is reduced due to the mechanical structure of the integrated device ([0104]; fig. 2).
Hanchett et al. (US 2023/0271545 A1) teaches an integrated light and camera wherein a coating or structure is used to prevent the light from interfering with the camera ([0017]; fig. 3).
Hanchett et al. (US 2023/0219484 A1) teaches an integrated lightbar and camera (fig. 12A).
Al-Dahle et al. (US 2019/0077299 A1) teaches an integrated lightbar and camera wherein interference of the light is mitigated ([0046]; fig. 2).
PAUL M. BERARDESCA
Examiner
Art Unit 2637
/PAUL M BERARDESCA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637 7/23/2026