Claims 1-20 are currently under review.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/27/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: typographic errors. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1, lines 3-4: “where content is displayed, and configured to display an image in the first area and the second area by referring to a memory where a gain value is stored;”
Claim 1, line 6: “area or at least a part of the second area around the first region and”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6, 10-12, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu (Pub. No.: US 2016/0063954 A1) and Hirotsune (Pub. No.: US 2019/0306384 A1).
With respect to Claim 1, Ryu teaches a display system (figs. 1 & 3) comprising: a display device (fig. 3, item 200; first display device) including a first area where a fixed pattern (fig. 8, item S) is displayed and a second area (fig. 8, location outside of item S such as item 421) where content is displayed (¶156-157), and configured to display an image in the first area and the second area by referring to a memory where a gain value is stored (¶190-191; ¶306; ¶404); a camera (fig. 29; ¶286, camera on mobile device taking a picture of the TV; ¶290; ¶335) configured to generate a captured image by capturing at least a part of the first area or at least a part of the second area around the first region and capturing an image of the display device that displays a high-grayscale image (¶204, the TV has Blue, Red, Green, and White pixels therefore high-grayscale images are displayed), and a host (fig. 28, controller of the second display device) configured to receive the captured image.
Although Ryu mentions that the camera is on an external device such as a mobile phone, Ryu does not explicitly teach and a host configured to receive the captured image and update the gain value based on a luminance difference between the first area and the second area.
Hirotsune teaches a display system (figs. 1-2, item 10; ¶35) comprising: a display device (figs. 1-2, item 20; ¶37) including a first area (fig. 5A, area of the panel exhibiting unevenness; ¶71) and a second area (fig. 5A, area of panel that has more uniform luminance distribution), and configured to display an image in the first area and the second area by referring to a memory (fig. 2, item 23; ¶40; ¶63, correction coefficient) where a gain value is stored; a camera (figs. 1-2, item 30; ¶43) configured to generate a captured image by capturing at least a part of the first area or at least a part of the second area around the first area and capturing an image of the display device that displays a high-grayscale image (¶39, “each of the plurality of pixels has subpixels (RBG subpixels) that emit red, green, and blue colors” – therefore displays a high-grayscale image); and a host (figs. 1-2, item 40; ¶46; ¶66) configured to receive the captured image and update the gain value based on a luminance difference between the first area and the second area (¶46).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display system of Ryu, to comprise a host configured to receive the captured image and update the gain value based on a luminance difference between the first area and the second area, as taught by Hirotsune so as to provide a means to improve image quality (¶7).
With respect to Claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated, Ryu does not teach wherein the host includes: an image output unit configured to output first image data corresponding to the image; a luminance analyzer configured to generate an updated gain value by receiving the captured image and detecting the luminance difference between the first area and the second area; and a gain update unit configured to write an updated gain value to the display device.
Hirotsune teaches a display system (figs. 1-2, item 10; ¶35) comprising: a display device (figs. 1-2, item 20; ¶37) including a first area (fig. 5A, area of the panel exhibiting unevenness; ¶71) and a second area (fig. 5A, area of panel that has more uniform luminance distribution), and configured to display an image in the first area and the second area by referring to a memory (fig. 2, item 23; ¶40; ¶63, correction coefficient) where a gain value is stored; a camera (figs. 1-2, item 30; ¶43) configured to generate a captured image by capturing at least a part of the first area or at least a part of the second area around the first area and capturing an image of the display device that displays a high-grayscale image (¶39, “each of the plurality of pixels has subpixels (RBG subpixels) that emit red, green, and blue colors” – therefore displays a high-grayscale image); and a host (figs. 1-2, item 40; ¶46; ¶66) configured to receive the captured image and update the gain value based on a luminance difference between the first area and the second area (¶46); wherein the host (fig. 2, item 40) includes: an image output unit (fig. 2, item 45) configured to output first image data corresponding to the image (¶62-63); a luminance analyzer configured to generate an updated gain value by receiving the captured image and detecting the luminance difference between the first area and the second area (¶60-62); and a gain update unit (fig. 2, item 45) configured to write an updated gain value to the display device (¶63).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display system of Ryu, wherein the host includes: an image output unit configured to output first image data corresponding to the image; a luminance analyzer configured to generate an updated gain value by receiving the captured image and detecting the luminance difference between the first area and the second area; and a gain update unit configured to write an updated gain value to the display device, as taught by Hirotsune so as to provide a means to improve image quality (¶7).
With respect to Claim 6, claim 1 is incorporated, Ryu teaches wherein the camera captures an image of the display device on an opposite side of the display device (fig. 28, the second display device is on an opposite side of the first display device since it is facing it).
With respect to Claim 10, claim 1 is incorporated, Ryu does not mention wherein a gain value for each color is stored in the memory.
Hirotsune teaches a display system (figs. 1-2, item 10; ¶35) comprising: a display device (figs. 1-2, item 20; ¶37) including a first area (fig. 5A, area of the panel exhibiting unevenness; ¶71) and a second area (fig. 5A, area of panel that has more uniform luminance distribution), and configured to display an image in the first area and the second area by referring to a memory (fig. 2, item 23; ¶40; ¶63, correction coefficient) where a gain value is stored; a camera (figs. 1-2, item 30; ¶43) configured to generate a captured image by capturing at least a part of the first area or at least a part of the second area around the first area and capturing an image of the display device that displays a high-grayscale image (¶39, “each of the plurality of pixels has subpixels (RBG subpixels) that emit red, green, and blue colors” – therefore displays a high-grayscale image); and a host (figs. 1-2, item 40; ¶46; ¶66) configured to receive the captured image and update the gain value based on a luminance difference between the first area and the second area (¶46); wherein a gain value for each color is stored in the memory (¶186).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display system of Ryu, wherein a gain value for each color is stored in the memory, as taught by Hirotsune so as to provide a means to improve image quality (¶7).
With respect to Claim 11, Ryu teaches a method (fig. 21; ¶286) of driving a display system (figs. 1 & 3), the driving method comprising: displaying a high-grayscale image by a display device (¶288, “An image sticking removal process according to an exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure may be performed in accordance with a predetermined order with respect to each of the R/G/B/W light-emitting diodes, which are equipped to the display unit of the first display device”, the TV has Blue, Red, Green, and White pixels therefore high-grayscale images are displayed – the high-grayscale image is the displayed application that is being executed); capturing an image of the display device by a camera (fig. 21, item S603; ¶290); receiving, by a host (¶890, the second display device is the host), an image captured by the camera.
Although Ryu teaches a display system comprising a display device (fig. 3, item 200; first display device) including a first area where a fixed pattern (fig. 8, item S) is displayed and a second area (fig. 8, location outside of item S such as item 421) where content is displayed (¶156-157), and configured to display an image in the first area and the second area by referring to a memory where a gain value is stored (¶190-191; ¶306; ¶404), Ryu does not teach comparing luminance between a first area and a second area from the captured image received by the host; and updating, by the host, gain values of each color of the display device based on a comparison result.
Hirotsune teaches a method (fig. 13; ¶165) of driving a display system (figs. 1-2, item 10; ¶35) the display system comprising: a display device (figs. 1-2, item 20; ¶37) including a first area (fig. 5A, area of the panel exhibiting unevenness; ¶71) and a second area (fig. 5A, area of panel that has more uniform luminance distribution), and configured to display an image in the first area and the second area by referring to a memory (fig. 2, item 23; ¶40; ¶63, correction coefficient) where a gain value is stored; a camera (figs. 1-2, item 30; ¶43) configured to generate a captured image by capturing at least a part of the first area or at least a part of the second area around the first area and capturing an image of the display device that displays a high-grayscale image (¶39, “each of the plurality of pixels has subpixels (RBG subpixels) that emit red, green, and blue colors” – therefore displays a high-grayscale image); and a host (figs. 1-2, item 40; ¶46; ¶66) configured to receive the captured image and update the gain value based on a luminance difference between the first area and the second area (¶46), the driving method comprising: displaying a high-grayscale image by a display device (¶166); capturing an image of the display device by a camera (¶167); receiving, by a host, an image captured by the camera (fig. 9, item 143 receives the image; ¶168); comparing luminance between a first area and a second area from the captured image received by the host (¶168); and updating, by the host, gain values of each color of the display device based on a comparison result (¶46; ¶84; ¶86; ¶93; ¶161).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Ryu, to comprise comparing luminance between a first area and a second area from the captured image received by the host; and updating, by the host, gain values of each color of the display device based on a comparison result, as taught by Hirotsune so as to provide a means to improve image quality (¶7).
With respect to Claim 12, claim 11 is incorporated, Ryu teaches wherein the capturing of the image of the display device by the camera includes capturing an image of the display device by the camera on an opposite side of the display device (fig. 28, the second display device is on an opposite side of the first display device since it is facing it).
With respect to Claim 15, claim 11 is incorporated, Ryu teaches wherein in the displaying of the high-grayscale image by the camera, the display device displays a white-grayscale image (¶195, “the display unit 240 may also be configured by including at least one of a Blue light-emitting diode, a Red light-emitting diode, and a Green light-emitting diode and a White light-emitting diode”; ¶288).
With respect to Claim 16, claim 11 is incorporated, Ryu teaches wherein the first area is an area in which a fixed pattern (fig. 8, item S) is displayed, and the second area (fig. 8, location outside of item S such as item 421) is an area in which content is displayed (¶156-157).
Claims 3-5 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu and Hirotsune as applied to claims 2 and 11 above, and further in view of Lee (Pub. No.: US 2022/0208090).
With respect to Claim 3, claim 2 is incorporated, Ryu and Hirotsune combined do not mention wherein the luminance analyzer sets luminance of the second area as a reference luminance, and compares luminance of the first area with the reference luminance.
Lee teaches a display system (fig. 1 & 9; ¶42) comprising: a display device (fig. 1, item PAN; fig. 9, item PAN; ¶42) including a first area (fig. 10, item X1 or X2) and a second area (fig. 10, S1 or S2 – area surrounding X1 or X2), and configured to display an image in the first area and the second area by referring to a memory where a gain value is stored (¶70; ¶79; ¶110-111); a camera (fig. 9, item 190) configured to generate a captured image by capturing at least a part of the first region or at least a part of the second area around the first area (¶109) and capturing an image of the display device that displays a high-grayscale image (¶53, “the sub pixel SP can include White sub pixel, the Red sub pixel, the Green sub pixel, and the Blue sub pixel. The White sub pixel, the Red sub pixel, the Green sub pixel, and the Blue sub pixel can be formed in the same area or can be formed in different areas” – by having white, red, green, and blue sub pixels, a high-grayscale image can be displayed on the display panel that is captured by the camera); and a deterioration compensating unit (figs. 1 & 4, item 150; ¶80, “in case where the organic light emitting display device 1 is adapted to electronic mobile apparatus such as a smart phone or tablet PC, the look-up table is updated in the repair shop or the dealer shop having the luminance measuring camera”) comprising a luminance analyzer (¶88) configured to generate an updated gain value by receiving the captured image and detecting the luminance difference between the first area and the second area (¶90-91); wherein the luminance analyzer sets luminance of the second area as a reference luminance, and compares luminance of the first area with the reference luminance (¶109).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined display system of Ryu and Hirotsune, to substitute the deterioration compensating unit of Lee into that of Ryu and Hirotsune resulting in wherein the luminance analyzer sets luminance of the second area as a reference luminance, and compares luminance of the first area with the reference luminance, as taught by Lee so as to provide a display device capable of improving the efficiency of image compensation by measuring the luminance of an actual image and updating a lookup table (¶6).
With respect to Claim 4, claim 3 is incorporated, Ryu and Hirotsune combined do not teach wherein the luminance analyzer determines that the gain value of the display device is insufficiently compensated when the luminance of the first area is lower than the reference luminance, and sets a gain value greater than the gain value as the updated gain value.
Lee teaches a display system (fig. 1 & 9; ¶42) comprising: a display device (fig. 1, item PAN; fig. 9, item PAN; ¶42) including a first area (fig. 10, item X1 or X2) and a second area (fig. 10, S1 or S2 – area surrounding X1 or X2), and configured to display an image in the first area and the second area by referring to a memory where a gain value is stored (¶70; ¶79; ¶110-111); a camera (fig. 9, item 190) configured to generate a captured image by capturing at least a part of the first region or at least a part of the second area around the first area (¶109) and capturing an image of the display device that displays a high-grayscale image (¶53, “the sub pixel SP can include White sub pixel, the Red sub pixel, the Green sub pixel, and the Blue sub pixel. The White sub pixel, the Red sub pixel, the Green sub pixel, and the Blue sub pixel can be formed in the same area or can be formed in different areas” – by having white, red, green, and blue sub pixels, a high-grayscale image can be displayed on the display panel that is captured by the camera); and a deterioration compensating unit (figs. 1 & 4, item 150; ¶80, “in case where the organic light emitting display device 1 is adapted to electronic mobile apparatus such as a smart phone or tablet PC, the look-up table is updated in the repair shop or the dealer shop having the luminance measuring camera”) comprising a luminance analyzer (¶88) configured to generate an updated gain value by receiving the captured image and detecting the luminance difference between the first area and the second area (¶90-91); wherein the luminance analyzer sets luminance of the second area as a reference luminance, and compares luminance of the first area with the reference luminance (¶109); wherein the luminance analyzer determines that the gain value of the display device is insufficiently compensated when the luminance of the first area is lower than the reference luminance, and sets a gain value greater than the gain value as the updated gain value (fig. 11; ¶128-129).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined display system of Ryu and Hirotsune, to substitute the deterioration compensating unit of Lee into that of Ryu and Hirotsune resulting in wherein the luminance analyzer determines that the gain value of the display device is insufficiently compensated when the luminance of the first area is lower than the reference luminance, and sets a gain value greater than the gain value as the updated gain value, as taught by Lee so as to provide a display device capable of improving the efficiency of image compensation by measuring the luminance of an actual image and updating a lookup table (¶6).
With respect to Claim 5, claim 3 is incorporated, Ryu and Hirotsune combined do not teach wherein the luminance analyzer determines that the gain value of the display device is excessively compensated when the luminance of the first area is higher than the reference luminance, and sets a gain value less than the gain value as the updated gain value.
Lee teaches a display system (fig. 1 & 9; ¶42) comprising: a display device (fig. 1, item PAN; fig. 9, item PAN; ¶42) including a first area (fig. 10, item X1 or X2) and a second area (fig. 10, S1 or S2 – area surrounding X1 or X2), and configured to display an image in the first area and the second area by referring to a memory where a gain value is stored (¶70; ¶79; ¶110-111); a camera (fig. 9, item 190) configured to generate a captured image by capturing at least a part of the first region or at least a part of the second area around the first area (¶109) and capturing an image of the display device that displays a high-grayscale image (¶53, “the sub pixel SP can include White sub pixel, the Red sub pixel, the Green sub pixel, and the Blue sub pixel. The White sub pixel, the Red sub pixel, the Green sub pixel, and the Blue sub pixel can be formed in the same area or can be formed in different areas” – by having white, red, green, and blue sub pixels, a high-grayscale image can be displayed on the display panel that is captured by the camera); and a deterioration compensating unit (figs. 1 & 4, item 150; ¶80, “in case where the organic light emitting display device 1 is adapted to electronic mobile apparatus such as a smart phone or tablet PC, the look-up table is updated in the repair shop or the dealer shop having the luminance measuring camera”) comprising a luminance analyzer (¶88) configured to generate an updated gain value by receiving the captured image and detecting the luminance difference between the first area and the second area (¶90-91); wherein the luminance analyzer sets luminance of the second area as a reference luminance, and compares luminance of the first area with the reference luminance (¶109).
Although Lee does not explicitly teach wherein the luminance analyzer determines that the gain value of the display device is excessively compensated when the luminance of the first area is higher than the reference luminance, and sets a gain value less than the gain value as the updated gain value, Lee teaches that wherein the luminance analyzer determines that the gain value of the display device is insufficiently compensated when the luminance of the first area is lower than the reference luminance, and sets a gain value greater than the gain value as the updated gain value (fig. 11; ¶128-129). Since the technique to increase the luminance in an area that is lower than a reference area is by setting a gain value to be greater than the current gain value as the updated gain value, then it is obvious for the opposite to be true which is in order to decrease the luminance in an area that is greater than a reference area by setting a gain value to be less than the current gain value as the updated gain value.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined display system of Ryu and Hirotsune, to substitute the deterioration compensating unit of Lee into that of Ryu and Hirotsune resulting in wherein the luminance analyzer determines that the gain value of the display device is excessively compensated when the luminance of the first area is higher than the reference luminance, and sets a gain value less than the gain value as the updated gain value, as taught by Lee so as to provide a display device capable of improving the efficiency of image compensation by measuring the luminance of an actual image and updating a lookup table (¶6).
With respect to Claim 18, claim 11 is incorporated, Ryu and Hirotsune combined do not teach wherein in the comparing of the luminance between the first area and the second area from the captured image received by the host, the host sets luminance of the second area as a reference luminance and compares luminance of the first area with the reference luminance.
Lee teaches a method (fig. 8; ¶101) of driving a display system (fig. 1 & 9; ¶42), the display system comprising: a display device (fig. 1, item PAN; fig. 9, item PAN; ¶42) including a first area (fig. 10, item X1 or X2) and a second area (fig. 10, S1 or S2 – area surrounding X1 or X2), and configured to display an image in the first area and the second area by referring to a memory where a gain value is stored (¶70; ¶79; ¶110-111); a camera (fig. 9, item 190) configured to generate a captured image by capturing at least a part of the first region or at least a part of the second area around the first area (¶109) and capturing an image of the display device that displays a high-grayscale image (¶53, “the sub pixel SP can include White sub pixel, the Red sub pixel, the Green sub pixel, and the Blue sub pixel. The White sub pixel, the Red sub pixel, the Green sub pixel, and the Blue sub pixel can be formed in the same area or can be formed in different areas” – by having white, red, green, and blue sub pixels, a high-grayscale image can be displayed on the display panel that is captured by the camera); and a deterioration compensating unit (figs. 1 & 4, item 150; ¶80, “in case where the organic light emitting display device 1 is adapted to electronic mobile apparatus such as a smart phone or tablet PC, the look-up table is updated in the repair shop or the dealer shop having the luminance measuring camera”) comprising a luminance analyzer (¶88) configured to generate an updated gain value by receiving the captured image and detecting the luminance difference between the first area and the second area (¶90-91); wherein the luminance analyzer sets luminance of the second area as a reference luminance, and compares luminance of the first area with the reference luminance (¶109); wherein the driving method comprises: capturing an image of the display device by a camera (fig. 8; ¶105); receiving, by the deterioration compensating unit (fig. 4, item 150), an image captured by the camera (¶105); comparing luminance between a first area and a second area from the captured image received by the deterioration compensating unit (fig. 8, item S104; ¶126); and updating, by the deterioration compensating unit, gain values of each color of the display device based on a comparison result (fig. 8, S105-S107; ¶126; ¶130).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined method of Ryu and Hirotsune, to substitute the deterioration compensating unit of Lee into that of Ryu and Hirotsune resulting in wherein in the comparing of the luminance between the first area and the second area from the captured image received by the host, the host sets luminance of the second area as a reference luminance and compares luminance of the first area with the reference luminance, as taught by Lee so as to provide a display device capable of improving the efficiency of image compensation by measuring the luminance of an actual image and updating a lookup table (¶6).
With respect to Claim 19, claim 18 is incorporated, Ryu and Hirotsune combined do not teach wherein when the luminance of the first area is lower than the reference luminance, the host determines that one of the gain values of each color of the display device is insufficiently compensated, and sets a gain value greater than the one of the gain values as an updated gain value.
Lee teaches a method (fig. 8; ¶101) of driving a display system (fig. 1 & 9; ¶42), the display system comprising: a display device (fig. 1, item PAN; fig. 9, item PAN; ¶42) including a first area (fig. 10, item X1 or X2) and a second area (fig. 10, S1 or S2 – area surrounding X1 or X2), and configured to display an image in the first area and the second area by referring to a memory where a gain value is stored (¶70; ¶79; ¶110-111); a camera (fig. 9, item 190) configured to generate a captured image by capturing at least a part of the first region or at least a part of the second area around the first area (¶109) and capturing an image of the display device that displays a high-grayscale image (¶53, “the sub pixel SP can include White sub pixel, the Red sub pixel, the Green sub pixel, and the Blue sub pixel. The White sub pixel, the Red sub pixel, the Green sub pixel, and the Blue sub pixel can be formed in the same area or can be formed in different areas” – by having white, red, green, and blue sub pixels, a high-grayscale image can be displayed on the display panel that is captured by the camera); and a deterioration compensating unit (figs. 1 & 4, item 150; ¶80, “in case where the organic light emitting display device 1 is adapted to electronic mobile apparatus such as a smart phone or tablet PC, the look-up table is updated in the repair shop or the dealer shop having the luminance measuring camera”) comprising a luminance analyzer (¶88) configured to generate an updated gain value by receiving the captured image and detecting the luminance difference between the first area and the second area (¶90-91); wherein the luminance analyzer sets luminance of the second area as a reference luminance, and compares luminance of the first area with the reference luminance (¶109); wherein the driving method comprises: capturing an image of the display device by a camera (fig. 8; ¶105); receiving, by the deterioration compensating unit (fig. 4, item 150), an image captured by the camera (¶105); comparing luminance between a first area and a second area from the captured image received by the deterioration compensating unit (fig. 8, item S104; ¶126); and updating, by the deterioration compensating unit, gain values of each color of the display device based on a comparison result (fig. 8, S105-S107; ¶126; ¶130); wherein when the luminance of the first area is lower than the reference luminance, the host determines that one of the gain values of each color of the display device is insufficiently compensated, and sets a gain value greater than the one of the gain values as an updated gain value (fig. 11; ¶128-129).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined method of Ryu and Hirotsune, to substitute the deterioration compensating unit of Lee into that of Ryu and Hirotsune resulting in wherein when the luminance of the first area is lower than the reference luminance, the host determines that one of the gain values of each color of the display device is insufficiently compensated, and sets a gain value greater than the one of the gain values as an updated gain value, as taught by Lee so as to provide a display device capable of improving the efficiency of image compensation by measuring the luminance of an actual image and updating a lookup table (¶6).
With respect to Claim 20, claim 18 is incorporated, Ryu and Hirotsune combined do not teach wherein when the luminance of the first area is higher than the reference luminance, the host determines that one of the gain values of each color of the display device is excessively compensated, and sets a gain value less than the one of the gain values as an updated gain value.
Lee teaches a method (fig. 8; ¶101) of driving a display system (fig. 1 & 9; ¶42), the display system comprising: a display device (fig. 1, item PAN; fig. 9, item PAN; ¶42) including a first area (fig. 10, item X1 or X2) and a second area (fig. 10, S1 or S2 – area surrounding X1 or X2), and configured to display an image in the first area and the second area by referring to a memory where a gain value is stored (¶70; ¶79; ¶110-111); a camera (fig. 9, item 190) configured to generate a captured image by capturing at least a part of the first region or at least a part of the second area around the first area (¶109) and capturing an image of the display device that displays a high-grayscale image (¶53, “the sub pixel SP can include White sub pixel, the Red sub pixel, the Green sub pixel, and the Blue sub pixel. The White sub pixel, the Red sub pixel, the Green sub pixel, and the Blue sub pixel can be formed in the same area or can be formed in different areas” – by having white, red, green, and blue sub pixels, a high-grayscale image can be displayed on the display panel that is captured by the camera); and a deterioration compensating unit (figs. 1 & 4, item 150; ¶80, “in case where the organic light emitting display device 1 is adapted to electronic mobile apparatus such as a smart phone or tablet PC, the look-up table is updated in the repair shop or the dealer shop having the luminance measuring camera”) comprising a luminance analyzer (¶88) configured to generate an updated gain value by receiving the captured image and detecting the luminance difference between the first area and the second area (¶90-91); wherein the luminance analyzer sets luminance of the second area as a reference luminance, and compares luminance of the first area with the reference luminance (¶109); wherein the driving method comprises: capturing an image of the display device by a camera (fig. 8; ¶105); receiving, by the deterioration compensating unit (fig. 4, item 150), an image captured by the camera (¶105); comparing luminance between a first area and a second area from the captured image received by the deterioration compensating unit (fig. 8, item S104; ¶126); and updating, by the deterioration compensating unit, gain values of each color of the display device based on a comparison result (fig. 8, S105-S107; ¶126; ¶130); wherein when the luminance of the first area is lower than the reference luminance, the host determines that one of the gain values of each color of the display device is insufficiently compensated, and sets a gain value greater than the one of the gain values as an updated gain value (fig. 11; ¶128-129).
Although Lee does not explicitly teach wherein the luminance analyzer determines that the gain value of the display device is excessively compensated when the luminance of the first area is higher than the reference luminance, and sets a gain value less than the gain value as the updated gain value, Lee teaches that wherein the luminance analyzer determines that the gain value of the display device is insufficiently compensated when the luminance of the first area is lower than the reference luminance, and sets a gain value greater than the gain value as the updated gain value (fig. 11; ¶128-129). Since the technique to increase the luminance in an area that is lower than a reference area is by setting a gain value to be greater than the current gain value as the updated gain value, then it is obvious for the opposite to be true which is in order to decrease the luminance in an area that is greater than a reference area by setting a gain value to be less than the current gain value as the updated gain value.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined method of Ryu and Hirotsune, to substitute the deterioration compensating unit of Lee into that of Ryu and Hirotsune resulting in wherein when the luminance of the first area is lower than the reference luminance, the host determines that one of the gain values of each color of the display device is insufficiently compensated, and sets a gain value greater than the one of the gain values as an updated gain value, as taught by Lee so as to provide a display device capable of improving the efficiency of image compensation by measuring the luminance of an actual image and updating a lookup table (¶6).
Claims 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu and Hirotsune as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Choi et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0180679 A1) hereinafter referred to as Choi.
With respect to Claim 9, claim 1 is incorporated, Ryu and Hirotsune combined do not teach wherein the fixed pattern includes at least one of a time icon, a communication state icon, and a temperature icon.
Choi teaches a display device (fig. 1, item 100; ¶20) including a first area (fig. 1, item 110; ¶21) where a fixed pattern is displayed and a second area (fig. 1, item 120/ area surrounding items 110a, 110b, item 110c, 110d, and 110e) where content is displayed, and configured to display an image in the first region and the second region by referring to a memory (fig. 1, item 131; ¶20) where a gain value is stored (¶28, “The stored data may be data that describes a difference, over time, of the temperature, brightness, or both, of pixels in the region 110 from the initial pixel calibration to the current pixel calibration. In some implementations, this data may include a pixel gain and offset that may be applied to a current pixel calibration curve in order to achieve a match of the current pixel calibration curve to an average pixel calibration curve as measured on a scale of luminesce versus grays.”); wherein the fixed pattern includes at least one of a time icon and a communication state icon (fig. 1; ¶22).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined display system of Ryu and Hirotsune, wherein the fixed pattern includes at least one of a time icon, a communication state icon, and a temperature icon, as taught by Choi, so as to minimize the effect of image retention is a static area (¶19).
With respect to Claim 17, claim 16 is incorporated, Ryu and Hirotsune combined do not teach wherein the fixed pattern includes at least one of a time icon, a communication state icon, and a temperature icon.
Choi teaches a method (fig. 2; item 200; ¶34) of calibrating a display device (fig. 1, item 100; ¶20), the display device including a first area (fig. 1, item 110; ¶21) where a fixed pattern is displayed and a second area (fig. 1, item 120/ area surrounding items 110a, 110b, item 110c, 110d, and 110e) where content is displayed, and configured to display an image in the first region and the second region by referring to a memory (fig. 1, item 131; ¶20) where a gain value is stored (¶28, “The stored data may be data that describes a difference, over time, of the temperature, brightness, or both, of pixels in the region 110 from the initial pixel calibration to the current pixel calibration. In some implementations, this data may include a pixel gain and offset that may be applied to a current pixel calibration curve in order to achieve a match of the current pixel calibration curve to an average pixel calibration curve as measured on a scale of luminesce versus grays.”); wherein the fixed pattern includes at least one of a time icon and a communication state icon (fig. 1; ¶22).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined method of Ryu and Hirotsune, wherein the fixed pattern includes at least one of a time icon, a communication state icon, and a temperature icon, as taught by Choi, so as to minimize the effect of image retention is a static area (¶19).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 and 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: With respect to claim 7 none of the prior art teaches the display system further includes: a mirror positioned on an opposite side of the display device and the camera; and a darkroom surrounding the display device, the camera, and the mirror, and the camera captures an image of the display device reflected on the mirror within the darkroom including all the base limitations. With respect to claim 13, none of the prior art teaches a method wherein the capturing of the image of the display device by the camera includes: disposing a mirror on an opposite side of the display device by the host; unfolding a darkroom surrounding the mirror and the display device by the host; and capturing, by the camera, an image of the display device reflected in the mirror within the darkroom including all the base limitations.
Conclusion
/DONNA V Bocar/Examiner, Art Unit 2621