DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1, 2, and 10 objected to because of the following informalities: The term “the battery” lacks proper antecedent basis. The claims initially recite “batteries”, and later recite “each of the batteries,” but subsequently refer to “the battery” without clear antecedent linkage. It is unclear whether “the battery” refers to one of the batteries, each battery individually, or a particular battery.
For clarity it is suggested that term “the battery” is changed to “one of the batteries” or “a battery”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,.794, 607 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims merely omit the “aerial vehicle” and propeller‑specific limitations while reciting the same multi‑battery, DC bus, DC‑DC converter, inverter, motor, and controller architecture with identical regeneration, voltage‑based control, and battery‑failure isolation functionality that Long already claims for electrically powered vehicles.
Claims of Instant Application
Claims of US patent 11,794,607 B2
1. An electrically powered vehicle comprising: batteries; a common direct current (DC) bus; DC to DC converters, wherein each of the DC to DC converters is connected between an associated one of the batteries and the common DC bus and configured to transfer power between the associated one of the batteries and the common DC bus; motors ;inverter circuits, wherein each of the inverter circuits is connected between an associated one of the motors and the common DC bus; and a controller configured to control the DC to DC converters to regulate transfer of power between the batteries and the common DC bus, wherein the controller is configured to monitor each of the batteries for a failure of the battery and, in response to detecting a failure of the battery, control the associated DC to DC converter to isolate the battery from the common DC bus.
1. An electrically powered aerial vehicle comprising: batteries; a common direct current (DC) bus; DC to DC converters, wherein each of the DC to DC converters is connected between an associated one of the batteries and the common DC bus and configured to transfer power between the associated one of the batteries and the common DC bus; motors; inverter circuits, wherein each of the inverter circuits is connected between an associated one of the motors and the common DC bus;
propellers, wherein each of the propellers is configured to propel the electrically powered aerial vehicle, and wherein each of the motors is drivingly coupled to a respective one of the propellers; and a controller configured to control the DC to DC converters to regulate transfer of power between the batteries and the common DC bus, wherein the controller is configured to monitor each of the batteries for a failure of the battery and, in response to detecting a failure of the battery, control the associated DC to DC converter to isolate the battery from the common DC bus.
Claims 2-7
Claims 2-7
8. An electrically powered vehicle comprising: batteries; a common direct current (DC) bus; DC to DC converters, wherein each of the DC to DC converters is connected between an associated one of the batteries and the common DC bus and configured to transfer power between the associated one of the batteries and the common DC bus; electric motors; inverter circuits, wherein each of the inverter circuits is connected between an associated one of the electric motors and the common DC bus; and a controller configured to monitor a voltage of the common DC bus and a voltage of each of the batteries and control the DC to DC converters to regulate transfer of power between the batteries and the common DC bus by the DC to DC converters based on the voltage of the common DC bus and the voltage of each of the batteries.
8. An electrically powered aerial vehicle comprising: batteries; a common direct current (DC) bus;DC to DC converters, wherein each of the DC to DC converters is connected between an associated one of the batteries and the common DC bus and configured to transfer power between the associated one of the batteries and the common DC bus;electric motors; inverter circuits, wherein each of the inverter circuits is connected between an associated one of the electric motors and the common DC bus; propellers, wherein each of the propellers is configured to propel the electrically powered aerial vehicle, and wherein each of the electric motors is drivingly coupled to a respective one of the propellers; and a controller configured to monitor a voltage of the common DC bus and a voltage of each of the batteries and control the DC to DC converters to regulate transfer of power between the batteries and the common DC bus by the DC to DC converters based on the voltage of the common DC bus and the voltage of each of the batteries.
14. An electrically powered vehicle comprising: a first battery, a second battery, and a third battery; a common direct current (DC) bus; a first DC to DC converter connected between the first battery and the common DC bus and operable to transfer power from the first battery to the common DC bus and transfer power from the common DC bus to the first battery; a second DC to DC converter connected between the second battery and the common DC bus and operable to transfer power from the second battery to the common DC bus and transfer power from the common DC bus to the second battery; a third DC to DC converter connected between the third battery and the common DC bus and operable to transfer power from the third battery to the common DC bus and transfer power from the common DC bus to the third battery; a first electric motor, a second electric motor, a third electric motor; a first inverter connected between the first electric motor and the common DC bus, wherein the first inverter is operable to generate first motor drive currents from DC power received from the common DC bus and supply the first motor drive currents to the first electric motor, and wherein the first inverter is operable to generate first motor DC regeneration power from regeneration currents generated by the first electric motor and output the first motor DC regeneration power to the common DC bus; a second inverter connected between the second electric motor and the common DC bus, wherein the second inverter is operable to generate second motor drive currents from DC power received from the common DC bus and supply the second motor drive currents to the second electric motor, and wherein the second inverter is operable to generate second motor DC regeneration power from regeneration currents generated by the second electric motor and output the second motor DC regeneration power to the common DC bus; and a third inverter connected between the third electric motor and the common DC bus, wherein the third inverter is operable to generate third motor drive currents from DC power received from the common DC bus and supply the third motor drive currents to the third electric motor, and wherein the third inverter is operable to generate third motor DC regeneration power from regeneration currents generated by the third electric motor and output the third motor DC regeneration power to the common DC bus.
14. An electrically powered aerial vehicle comprising: a first battery, a second battery, and a third battery; a common direct current (DC) bus; a first DC to DC converter connected between the first battery and the common DC bus and operable to transfer power from the first battery to the common DC bus and transfer power from the common DC bus to the first battery; a second DC to DC converter connected between the second battery and the common DC bus and operable to transfer power from the second battery to the common DC bus and transfer power from the common DC bus to the second battery; a third DC to DC converter connected between the third battery and the common DC bus and operable to transfer power from the third battery to the common DC bus and transfer power from the common DC bus to the third battery; a first propeller, a second propeller, and a third propeller, wherein each of the first propeller, the second propeller, and the third propeller is configured to propel the electrically powered aerial vehicle; a first electric motor drivingly coupled with the first propeller;
a second electric motor drivingly coupled with the second propeller; a third electric motor drivingly coupled with the third propeller;
a first inverter connected between the first electric motor and the common DC bus, wherein the first inverter is operable to generate first motor drive currents from DC power received from the common DC bus and supply the first motor drive currents to the first electric motor, and wherein the first inverter is operable to generate first motor DC regeneration power from regeneration currents generated by the first electric motor and output the first motor DC regeneration power to the common DC bus;
a second inverter connected between the second electric motor and the common DC bus, wherein the second inverter is operable to generate second motor drive currents from DC power received from the common DC bus and supply the second motor drive currents to the second electric motor, and wherein the second inverter is operable to generate second motor DC regeneration power from regeneration currents generated by the second electric motor and output the second motor DC regeneration power to the common DC bus; and a third inverter connected between the third electric motor and the common DC bus, wherein the third inverter is operable to generate third motor drive currents from DC power received from the common DC bus and supply the third motor drive currents to the third electric motor, and wherein the third inverter is operable to generate third motor DC regeneration power from regeneration currents generated by the third electric motor and output the third motor DC regeneration power to the common DC bus.
Claims 15-20
Claims 15-20
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brabec (WO 2011/014597 A1) in view of Su (US 2008/0094013 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Brabec teaches an electrically powered vehicle [see (para. 0004); electrical energy from a power source… used in one or more batteries of the vehicle; vehicle electrical system context; Brabec teaches a vehicle electrical system]; comprising: a first battery, a second battery, and a third battery [see Brabec (para. 0004, Fig. 4, elements 100a-c); plurality of batteries…; Brabec teaches multiple battery units, and Fig. 4 illustrates battery units 100a-c, which reasonably suggests three or more batteries]; a common direct current (DC) bus; [see Brabec (para. 0015); system bus…; Brabec teaches a DC system bus supplying electrical loads and coupled to the batteries]; a first DC to DC converter connected between the first battery and the common DC bus and operable to transfer power from the first battery to the common DC bus and transfer power from the common DC bus to the first battery; [see Brabec (para. 0014, 0015 Fig. 4, elements 100a, 200a); bi-directional battery voltage converter…; a bi-directional converter transferring current between the battery and the system bus]; a second DC to DC converter connected between the second battery and the common DC bus and operable to transfer power from the second battery to the common DC bus and transfer power from the common DC bus to the second battery; [see Brabec (para. 0014, 0015 Fig. 4, elements 100b, 200b); bi-directional battery voltage converter…; a bi-directional converter transferring current between the battery and the system bus]; a third DC to DC converter connected between the third battery and the common DC bus and operable to transfer power from the third battery to the common DC bus and transfer power from the common DC bus to the third battery; [see Brabec (para. 0014, Fig. 4, elements 100c, 200c); bi-directional battery voltage converter…; a bi-directional converter transferring current between the battery and the system bus].
Brabec doesn’t expressly teach a first electric motor, a second electric motor, a third electric motor; a first inverter connected between the first electric motor and the common DC bus, wherein the first inverter is operable to generate first motor drive currents from DC power received from the common DC bus and supply the first motor drive currents to the first electric motor, and wherein the first inverter is operable to generate first motor DC regeneration power from regeneration currents generated by the first electric motor and output the first motor DC regeneration power to the common DC bus; a second inverter connected between the second electric motor and the common DC bus, wherein the second inverter is operable to generate second motor drive currents from DC power received from the common DC bus and supply the second motor drive currents to the second electric motor, and wherein the second inverter is operable to generate second motor DC regeneration power from regeneration currents generated by the second electric motor and output the second motor DC regeneration power to the common DC bus; and a third inverter connected between the third electric motor and the common DC bus, wherein the third inverter is operable to generate third motor drive currents from DC power received from the common DC bus and supply the third motor drive currents to the third electric motor, and wherein the third inverter is operable to generate third motor DC regeneration power from regeneration currents generated by the third electric motor and output the third motor DC regeneration power to the common DC bus.
In an analogous art Su teaches a first electric motor, a second electric motor, a third electric motor; [see Su (22, 28 fig.2, para. 0004-0005 0028); multiple electrical motor drive units… each motor drive unit employs an inverter/converter and a multiphase motor/generator; Su teaches a plurality of motor drive units, each including a motor, and a plurality reasonably includes at least three motors]; a first inverter connected between the first electric motor and the common DC bus, wherein the first inverter is operable to generate first motor drive currents from DC power received from the common DC bus and supply the first motor drive currents to the first electric motor, and wherein the first inverter is operable to generate first motor DC regeneration power from regeneration currents generated by the first electric motor and output the first motor DC regeneration power to the common DC bus [see Su ( 22, 24, 26, 28 Fig. 2, Fig. 6A, para 0004-0005, 0028); the motor functions as a generator and produces an ac voltage, which is converted to dc… to supply the H.V. dc bus; Su teaches regeneration of electrical power from the motor back to the DC bus via the inverter]; a second inverter connected between the second electric motor and the common DC bus, wherein the second inverter is operable to generate second motor drive currents from DC power received from the common DC bus and supply the second motor drive currents to the second electric motor, and wherein the second inverter is operable to generate second motor DC regeneration power from regeneration currents generated by the second electric motor and output the second motor DC regeneration power to the common DC bus; [see Su ( 22, 24, 26, 28 Fig. 2, Fig. 6A, para 0004-0005, 0028) multiple electrical motor drive units… each motor drive unit employs an inverter/converter and a multiphase motor/generator; Su teaches multiple inverter-motor units having the same structure and functionality]; and a third inverter connected between the third electric motor and the common DC bus, wherein the third inverter is operable to generate third motor drive currents from DC power received from the common DC bus and supply the third motor drive currents to the third electric motor, and wherein the third inverter is operable to generate third motor DC regeneration power from regeneration currents generated by the third electric motor and output the third motor DC regeneration power to the common DC bus [see (para. 0028); multiple electrical motor drive units… each motor drive unit employs an inverter/converter and a multiphase motor/generator; Su teaches multiple inverter-motor units having the same structure and functionality].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the plural inverter-driven motor architecture of Su in the invention of Brabec to enable distribution of power from multiple batteries to multiple propulsion loads and to recover regenerative energy to the common DC bus, thereby improving system scalability and energy efficiency with predictable results
Re Claim 18, Combination of Brabec and Su teaches invention set forth above, Brabec further teaches wherein the controller is configured to control the first DC to DC converter to transfer power from the common DC bus to the first battery [see Brabec (para. 0015); bi-directional battery voltage converter… transferring current between the battery and the system bus; Brabec teaches transfer of power between the DC bus and the battery]; Su further teaches when the first electric motor generates electrical power during a regeneration event [see Su (para. 0005; Fig. 2, Fig. 6A); the motor functions as a generator… converted to dc… to supply the H.V. dc bus; Su teaches regenerative power supplied to the DC bus]. Regenerative power is supplied to the DC bus (Su) and transferred to the battery via the DC-DC converter (Brabec).
Re Claim 20, Combination of Brabec and Su teaches invention set forth above, Su further teaches, wherein each of the first electric motor, the second electric motor, and the third electric motor is an alternating current motor [see (para. 0028); multiphase motor/generator; Su teaches AC motors] A multiphase motor is an alternating current motor.
Claim(s) 1-13, 15-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brabec (WO 2011/014597 A1) in view of Su (US 2008/0094013 A1) further in view of Hiroe et al (US 2019/0225095 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Brabec teaches an electrically powered vehicle comprising: batteries [see (para. 0004, 0017-0019 fig.4); one or more batteries of the vehicle… plurality of batteries… auxiliary battery module including a first auxiliary battery and a second auxiliary battery; Brabec teaches multiple batteries in a vehicle electrical system]; a common direct current (DC) bus [see (para. 0014-0015) system bus… current supplied to an electrical load connected to the system bus… batteries transferring current to the system bus; Brabec teaches a common DC bus distributing electrical power]; DC to DC converters, wherein each of the DC to DC converters is connected between an associated one of the batteries and the common DC bus and configured to transfer power between the associated one of the batteries and the common DC bus [see (para. 0014-0015); bi-directional battery voltage converter electrically coupled to each battery… transferring current between the battery and the system bus… second converter transferring current between second battery and system bus; Brabec teaches per-battery DC-DC converters connected to the DC bus]; and a controller configured to control the DC to DC converters to regulate transfer of power between the batteries and the common DC bus [see (para. 0014-0015); controller controlling… converters such that currents are equal portions of load current… controlling transfer of current between batteries and system bus; Brabec teaches regulation of power transfer via controller].
Brabec doesn’t expressly teach motors; inverter circuits, wherein each of the inverter circuits is connected between an associated one of the motors and the common DC bus.
In an analogous art Su teaches motors [see (22, 26, 28 fig.2, 6A para. 0004-0005, 0028) a drive unit typically consists of a power inverter/converter and a motor… multiple electrical drive units can be used; Su teaches a plurality of motors in a vehicle system]; inverter circuits, wherein each of the inverter circuits is connected between an associated one of the motors and the common DC bus; [see (Abstract, 22, 24, 26, 28 Fig. 2, 6A, para 0028); power inverter/converter electrically connected across a dc bus… multiphase motor/generator… connected to inverter/converter; Su teaches inverter circuits connected between motors and a common DC bus].
Brabec teaches a multi-battery system with DC-DC converters supplying a common DC bus and a controller regulating current distribution. Su teaches multiple inverter-driven motor units connected to a common DC bus in an electrically powered vehicle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the plural inverter-driven motor architecture of Su in the invention of Brabec to enable distribution of electrical power from multiple batteries to multiple propulsion loads, thereby improving scalability and load management with predictable results.
The combination of Brabec and Su does not expressly teach wherein the controller is configured to monitor each of the batteries for a failure of the battery and, in response to detecting a failure of the battery, control the associated DC to DC converter to isolate the battery from the common DC bus.
In an analogous art, Hiroe teaches monitoring battery voltages and disconnecting an abnormal battery pack, [see Hiroe (para. 0012, 0016, 0049, 0096); plural voltage sensors… detect a voltage corresponding to one of the plural electric power storage bodies… abnormal electric power storage body whose voltage does not fall within a specified range… ECU… performs voltage diagnosis… the ECU may electrically disconnect the determined battery pack from the main relay device; Hiroe teaches voltage monitoring and selective disconnection of a battery pack].
Hiroe teaches that battery packs are monitored using voltage sensors, abnormal battery packs are identified based on voltage conditions, and the ECU disconnects the determined battery pack from the system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the battery voltage monitoring and selective disconnection control of Hiroe in the invention of Brabec in view of Su to monitor each battery and isolate a battery from the DC bus upon detection of abnormal operation, thereby improving reliability and preventing damage with predictable results.
Regarding claim 8, Brabec teaches an electrically powered vehicle comprising: batteries [see (para. 0004, 0017); one or more batteries of the vehicle… auxiliary battery module including a first auxiliary battery and a second auxiliary battery; Brabec teaches multiple batteries]; a common direct current (DC) bus; [see (para. 0014-0015); a system bus… current supplied to an electrical load connected to the system bus; Brabec teaches a common DC bus distributing power] DC to DC converters, wherein each of the DC to DC converters is connected between an associated one of the batteries and the common DC bus and configured to transfer power between the associated one of the batteries and the common DC bus [see (para. 00014, 0015); a first bi-directional battery voltage converter… transferring current between the first battery and the system bus… a second bi-directional battery voltage converter… transferring current between the second battery and the system bus; Brabec teaches DC-DC converters between batteries and the DC bus];
Brabec doesn’t expressly teach electric motors; inverter circuits, wherein each of the inverter circuits is connected between an associated one of the electric motors and the common DC bus;
In an analogous art Su teaches electric motors [see (para. 0004-0005, 0028, Fig. 2); multiple electrical motor drive units 22… each motor drive unit employs… a multiphase motor/generator 28; Su teaches a plurality of electric motors]; inverter circuits, wherein each of the inverter circuits is connected between an associated one of the electric motors and the common DC bus; [see (para. 0004-0005, 0028, Fig. 2, Fig. 6A); multiple electrical motor drive units 22… all connected to a common dc bus 24… each motor drive unit employs an inverter/converter 26 and a multiphase motor/generator 28; Su teaches inverter circuits between motors and the DC bus].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the inverter-driven motor architecture of Su in the invention of Brabec to drive electric motors from a common DC bus, thereby enabling distribution of electrical power from multiple batteries to propulsion loads with predictable results.
Brabec further teaches a controller configured to control the DC to DC converters to regulate transfer of power between the batteries and the common DC bus, [see Brabec (para. 0014-0015); controller regulating current transfer between batteries and the system bus].
However, combination Brabec and Su does not expressly teach monitoring a voltage of the common DC bus and a voltage of each of the batteries and controlling the DC-DC converters based on those voltages.
In an analogous art, Hiroe teaches monitoring voltages of battery packs and performing control based on detected voltages, [see Hiroe (para. 0012, 0049, 0053); plural voltage sensors… detect a voltage corresponding to one of the plural electric power storage bodies… ECU receives detection values… performs voltage diagnosis; Hiroe teaches per-battery voltage monitoring and controller-based control]. Hiroe teaches that the ECU performs control based on detected voltage values.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the voltage monitoring and control logic of Hiroe in the invention of Brabec in view of Su to control DC-DC converter operation based on voltages of the batteries and system, thereby improving control accuracy and reliability of the multi-battery system with predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, Brabec, Su and Hiroe teach the invention set forth above, Brabec teaches an electrically powered vehicle including batteries, a common DC bus, DC-DC converters connected between the batteries and the DC bus, and a controller configured to control the DC-DC converters to regulate transfer of power between the batteries and the common DC bus [see (para. 0015, 0017; Fig. 4); controller controlling bi-directional battery voltage converters… batteries connected via converters to a system bus].
However, Brabec does not expressly teach wherein the controller is configured to monitor a voltage of each of the batteries to monitor the battery for a failure of the battery.
In an analogous art, Hiroe teaches monitoring a voltage of each of the batteries, [see Hiroe (para. 0012, 0049); plural voltage sensors… detect a voltage corresponding to one of the plural electric power storage bodies… ECU receives detection values; Hiroe teaches monitoring voltages of individual battery packs]. Hiroe teaches that battery voltages are monitored and used for diagnosing abnormal conditions of the batteries.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the per-battery voltage monitoring of Hiroe in the invention of Brabec in view of Su to monitor battery conditions indicative of failure, thereby improving reliability and fault detection with predictable results.
Re Claim 3, combination of Brabec, Su and Hiroe teach invention set forth above, Brabec further teaches wherein the controller is configured to control at least one of the DC to DC converters to transfer power from the common DC bus to at least one of the batteries based on a comparison between the voltage of the common DC bus and the voltage of the at least one of the batteries [see (para. 0015); bi-directional battery voltage converter… transferring current between the battery and the system bus];
Hiroe further teaches monitoring voltages of batteries and performing control based on detected voltage values, [see Hiroe (para. 0012, 0053); voltage sensors… detect voltage… ECU performs voltage diagnosis; voltage-based control].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the voltage-based control of Hiroe in the invention of Brabec in view of Su to control power transfer of the DC-DC converters based on relative voltage conditions between the DC bus and the batteries, thereby achieving controlled charging behavior with predictable results.
Re Claim 4, combination of Brabec, Su, and Hiroe teaches invention set forth above, Brabec further teaches wherein the controller is configured to control at least one of the DC to DC converters to transfer power from the common DC bus to at least one of the batteries [see (para. 0014-0015); bi-directional battery voltage converter… transferring current between the battery and the system bus] Su further teaches in response to at least one of the motors generating power during a regeneration event [see (para. 0004-0005; Fig. 2, Fig. 6A); the motor functions as a generator… converted to dc… to supply the H.V. dc bus]
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the regenerative power supply to the DC bus of Su in the invention of Brabec to transfer power from the DC bus to the batteries using DC-DC converters, thereby storing regenerated energy with predictable results.
Regarding claim 5, Brabec, Su and Hiroe teach the invention set forth above, Brabec teaches an electrically powered vehicle including batteries, a common DC bus, DC-DC converters connected between the batteries and the DC bus, and a controller configured to control the DC-DC converters to regulate transfer of power between the batteries and the common DC bus [see (para. 0015; Fig. 4); controller controlling bi-directional battery voltage converters associated with batteries and a system bus].
However, Brabec does not expressly teach control circuits, wherein each of the DC to DC converters is associated with one of the control circuits… configured to monitor a voltage of the DC bus and transfer power… when the voltage… is greater than a threshold voltage… based on a voltage of the associated battery.
In an analogous art, Hiroe teaches monitoring voltage conditions and performing control based on detected voltage values, [see Hiroe (para. 0012, 0049, 0053); voltage sensors… detect voltage… ECU receives detection values… performs voltage diagnosis; voltage-based monitoring and control]. Hiroe teaches that control of battery operation is performed based on detected voltage conditions of battery packs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the voltage-based control of Hiroe in the invention of Brabec in view of Su to control operation of DC-DC converters based on voltage conditions including threshold-based decisions, thereby improving control precision and system reliability with predictable results.
Re Claim 6, combination of Brabec, Su and Hiroe teach invention set forth above, Brabec further teaches wherein at least one of the control circuits is configured to transfer power from the DC bus to the associated battery [see (para. 0015); bi-directional battery voltage converter… transferring current between the battery and the system bus], thereby enabling transfer of power between the DC bus and the battery. Su further teaches when at least one of the motors generates electrical power during a regeneration event [see (para. 0005; Fig. 2, Fig. 6A); the motor functions as a generator… converted to dc… to supply the H.V. dc bus].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the regenerative power generation of Su in the invention of Brabec to transfer power from the DC bus to the battery during a regeneration event, thereby recovering regenerative energy and improving system efficiency with predictable results.
Re Claim 7, combination of Brabec, Su and Hiroe teach invention set forth above, Su further teaches wherein each of the motors is an AC motor [see (para. 0028); multiphase motor/generator, a multiphase motor is an AC motor].
Re Claim 9, the combination of Brabec, Su, and Hiroe teach the invention set forth above, Brabec further teaches bidirectional transfer of power between the DC bus and the batteries via DC-DC converters, [see Brabec (para. 0014-0015); bi-directional battery voltage converter… transferring current between the battery and the system bus; transfer between DC bus and batteries]; Hiroe further teaches monitoring voltages of battery packs and performing control based on detected voltage values, [see Hiroe (para. 0012, 0053); voltage sensors… detect voltage… ECU performs voltage diagnosis; Hiroe teahes control based on detected voltage values].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the voltage-based control of Hiroe in the invention of Brabec in view of Su to command transfer of power from the DC bus to a battery when the DC bus voltage exceeds the battery voltage, thereby achieving controlled charging behavior with predictable results.
Re Claim 10, the combination of Brabec, Su, and Hiroe teach the invention set forth above, Hiroe further teaches wherein the controller is configured to monitor each of the batteries for a failure of the battery; and in response to detecting a failed battery among the batteries, the controller controls the respective DC to DC converter of the DC to DC converters that is coupled to the failed battery to isolate the failed battery from the common DC bus. [see Hiroe (para. 0012, 0016, 0049, 0096); plural voltage sensors… detect a voltage corresponding to one of the plural electric power storage bodies… abnormal electric power storage body whose voltage does not fall within a specified range… ECU… performs voltage diagnosis… the ECU may electrically disconnect the determined battery pack from the main relay device; Hiroe monitoring battery voltages and disconnecting an abnormal battery pack].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the battery monitoring and selective disconnection control of Hiroe in the invention of Brabec in view of Su to monitor each battery for conditions indicative of failure and isolate a failed battery from the DC bus, thereby improving reliability and preventing damage with predictable results.
Re Claim 11, the combination of Brabec, Su, and Hiroe teach the invention set forth above, Brabec further teaches Brabec teaches DC-DC converters transferring power between the DC bus and batteries under control of a controller [see Brabec (para. 0014-0015); controller controlling converters… transferring current between batteries and the system bus]. Hiroe teaches monitoring voltages and performing control based on detected voltage values [see Hiroe (para. 0012, 0049, 0053); voltage sensors… detect voltage… ECU receives detection values… performs voltage diagnosis; Hiroe teaches voltage-based monitoring and control].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the voltage-based control of Hiroe in the invention of Brabec in view of Su to implement control circuits associated with DC-DC converters that transfer power based on threshold voltage conditions of the DC bus, thereby improving control precision and system reliability with predictable results.
Re Claim 12, the combination of Brabec, Su, and Hiroe teach the invention set forth above, Brabec further teaches DC-DC converters connected between batteries and the DC bus [see Brabec (para. 0014-0015); converters transferring current between batteries and system bus]. Hiroe further teaches wherein, in response to detecting a failed battery among the batteries, the control circuit commands the respective DC to DC converter of the DC to DC converters that is coupled to the failed battery to isolate the failed battery from the common DC bus [see Hiroe (para. 0012, 0016, 0096); abnormal battery identified and disconnected from system; Hiroe teaching monitoring battery voltages and disconnecting an abnormal battery pack]
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the fault detection and isolation control of Hiroe in the invention of Brabec in view of Su to command a converter-associated control circuit to isolate a failed battery from the DC bus, thereby improving system reliability and fault tolerance with predictable results.
Re Claim 13, the combination of Brabec, Su, and Hiroe teach the invention set forth above. Su further teaches a multiphase motor/generator [see (para. 0028); multiphase motor/generator; a multiphase motor is an alternating current motor].
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Brabec and Su teach the invention set forth above, Brabec further teaches a controller configured to control DC-DC converters to regulate transfer of power between batteries and a system bus [see Brabec (para. 0014-0015, Fig. 4); controller controlling bi-directional battery voltage converters associated with batteries and a system bus].
However, the combination does not expressly teach the controller configured to monitor a voltage of the common DC bus and a voltage of each of the batteries.
In an analogous art, Hiroe teaches monitoring voltages of battery packs and performing control based on detected voltage values [see Hiroe (para. 0012, 0049, 0053); plural voltage sensors detect a voltage corresponding to one of the plural electric power storage bodies… ECU receives detection values… performs voltage diagnosis; Hiroe teaches monitoring battery voltages and performing control based on detected values].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the voltage-based monitoring and control of Hiroe in the invention of Brabec in view of Su to monitor battery voltages and apply voltage-based control to regulate power transfer in the DC bus system, thereby improving control accuracy and system reliability with predictable results.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Brabec, Su and Hireo teach the invention set forth above, Brabec further teaches bidirectional transfer of power between the DC bus and the battery via a DC-DC converter [see Brabec (para. 0014-0015); bi-directional battery voltage converter transferring current between the battery and the system bus].
However, Brabec doesn’t expressly teach controlling the DC-DC converter to transfer power from the DC bus to the battery in response to the DC bus voltage being greater than the battery voltage.
Hiroe further teaches voltage-based control decisions for battery operation based on detected voltage values [see Hiroe (para. 0012, 0053); voltage sensors detect voltage… ECU performs voltage diagnosis; Hiroe teaches control based on detected voltage values].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the voltage-based control logic of Hiroe in the invention of Brabec in view of Su to control the DC-DC converter to transfer power from the DC bus to the battery in response to a voltage condition indicating charging should occur, thereby achieving controlled charging behavior with predictable results.
Re Claim 17, combination of Brabec, Su and Hireo teach the invention set forth above, combination doesn’t expressly teach wherein: the controller is configured to monitor the voltage of the first battery for a failure of the first battery; and in response to detecting a failure of the first battery, the controller controls the first DC to DC converter to isolate the first battery from the common DC bus.
Hireo further teaches monitoring battery voltages and disconnecting an abnormal battery pack [see Hiroe (para. 0012, 0016, 0049, 0096); plural voltage sensors detect a voltage corresponding to one of the plural electric power storage bodies… abnormal electric power storage body whose voltage does not fall within a specified range… ECU performs voltage diagnosis… the ECU may electrically disconnect the determined battery pack from the main relay device; Hiroe teaches monitoring battery voltages and disconnecting an abnormal battery pack].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the battery voltage monitoring and selective disconnection control of Hiroe in the invention of Brabec in view of Su to monitor the first battery for conditions indicative of failure and isolate the first battery from the DC bus, thereby improving reliability and preventing damage with predictable results.
Re Claim 19, combination of Brabec, Su and Hireo teach the invention set forth above, combination doesn’t expressly teach wherein the controller is configured to detect a failure of the first battery and in response isolate the first battery from the common DC bus.
Hiroe further teaches detecting abnormal battery conditions based on voltage and disconnecting an abnormal battery pack [see Hiroe (para. 0016, 0049, 0096); abnormal electric power storage body whose voltage does not fall within a specified range… ECU performs voltage diagnosis… the ECU may electrically disconnect the determined battery pack from the main relay device; Hiroe teaches detecting abnormal battery conditions based on voltage and disconnecting an abnormal battery pack].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the fault detection and disconnection control of Hiroe in the invention of Brabec in view of Su to detect a failure of the first battery and isolate the battery from the DC bus, thereby improving system reliability and fault tolerance with predictable results.
Conclusion
/AQEEL H BUKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2836