DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,.794, 607 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims merely omit the “aerial vehicle” and propeller‑specific limitations while reciting the same multi‑battery, DC bus, DC‑DC converter, inverter, motor, and controller architecture with identical regeneration, voltage‑based control, and battery‑failure isolation functionality that Long already claims for electrically powered vehicles
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,.794, 607 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims merely omit the “aerial vehicle” and propeller‑specific limitations while reciting the same multi‑battery, DC bus, DC‑DC converter, inverter, motor, and controller architecture with identical regeneration, voltage‑based control, and battery‑failure isolation functionality that Long already claims for electrically powered vehicles.
Claims of Instant Application
Claims of US patent 11,794,607 B2
1. An electrically powered vehicle comprising: batteries; a common direct current (DC) bus; DC to DC converters, wherein each of the DC to DC converters is connected between an associated one of the batteries and the common DC bus and configured to transfer power between the associated one of the batteries and the common DC bus; motors ;inverter circuits, wherein each of the inverter circuits is connected between an associated one of the motors and the common DC bus; and a controller configured to control the DC to DC converters to regulate transfer of power between the batteries and the common DC bus, wherein the controller is configured to monitor each of the batteries for a failure condition indicative of an internal electrical fault within the battery and, in response to detecting the failure condition indicative of the internal electrical fault within of the battery, control the associated DC to DC converter to isolate the battery from the common DC bus.
1. An electrically powered aerial vehicle comprising: batteries; a common direct current (DC) bus; DC to DC converters, wherein each of the DC to DC converters is connected between an associated one of the batteries and the common DC bus and configured to transfer power between the associated one of the batteries and the common DC bus; motors; inverter circuits, wherein each of the inverter circuits is connected between an associated one of the motors and the common DC bus;
propellers, wherein each of the propellers is configured to propel the electrically powered aerial vehicle, and wherein each of the motors is drivingly coupled to a respective one of the propellers; and a controller configured to control the DC to DC converters to regulate transfer of power between the batteries and the common DC bus, wherein the controller is configured to monitor each of the batteries for a failure of the battery and, in response to detecting a failure of the battery, control the associated DC to DC converter to isolate the battery from the common DC bus.
Claims 2-7
Claims 2-7
8. An electrically powered vehicle comprising: batteries; a common direct current (DC) bus; DC to DC converters, wherein each of the DC to DC converters is connected between an associated one of the batteries and the common DC bus and configured to transfer power between the associated one of the batteries and the common DC bus; electric motors; inverter circuits, wherein each of the inverter circuits is connected between an associated one of the electric motors and the common DC bus; and a controller configured to monitor a voltage of the common DC bus and a voltage of each of the batteries and control the DC to DC converters to regulate transfer of power between the batteries and the common DC bus by the DC to DC converters based on the voltage of the common DC bus and the voltage of each battery of the batteries, and, when a voltage of one of the batteries is relatively higher than the voltages of the other batteries, the controller commands a corresponding one of the DC to DC converters to draw more power from that battery than from the other batteries to maintain the batteries at a similar state of charge.
8. An electrically powered aerial vehicle comprising: batteries; a common direct current (DC) bus;DC to DC converters, wherein each of the DC to DC converters is connected between an associated one of the batteries and the common DC bus and configured to transfer power between the associated one of the batteries and the common DC bus;electric motors; inverter circuits, wherein each of the inverter circuits is connected between an associated one of the electric motors and the common DC bus; propellers, wherein each of the propellers is configured to propel the electrically powered aerial vehicle, and wherein each of the electric motors is drivingly coupled to a respective one of the propellers; and a controller configured to monitor a voltage of the common DC bus and a voltage of each of the batteries and control the DC to DC converters to regulate transfer of power between the batteries and the common DC bus by the DC to DC converters based on the voltage of the common DC bus and the voltage of each of the batteries.
Claims 9-13
Claims 9-13
14. An electrically powered vehicle comprising: a first battery, a second battery, and a third battery; a common direct current (DC) bus; a first DC to DC converter connected between the first battery and the common DC bus and operable to transfer power from the first battery to the common DC bus and transfer power from the common DC bus to the first battery; a second DC to DC converter connected between the second battery and the common DC bus and operable to transfer power from the second battery to the common DC bus and transfer power from the common DC bus to the second battery; a third DC to DC converter connected between the third battery and the common DC bus and operable to transfer power from the third battery to the common DC bus and transfer power from the common DC bus to the third battery; wherein each of the first DC to DC converter, the second DC to DC converter, and the third DC to DC converter is configured to detect a regeneration event by monitoring a voltage potential on the common DC bus as compared to a voltage available at its associated battery, and to transfer power from the common DC bus to its associated battery when the voltage on the common DC bus exceeds a threshold voltage; a first electric motor, a second electric motor, a third electric motor; a first inverter connected between the first electric motor and the common DC bus, wherein the first inverter is operable to generate first motor drive currents from DC power received from the common DC bus and supply the first motor drive currents to the first electric motor, and wherein the first inverter is operable to generate first motor DC regeneration power from regeneration currents generated by the first electric motor and output the first motor DC regeneration power to the common DC bus; a second inverter connected between the second electric motor and the common DC bus, wherein the second inverter is operable to generate second motor drive currents from DC power received from the common DC bus and supply the second motor drive currents to the second electric motor, and wherein the second inverter is operable to generate second motor DC regeneration power from regeneration currents generated by the second electric motor and output the second motor DC regeneration power to the common DC bus; and a third inverter connected between the third electric motor and the common DC bus, wherein the third inverter is operable to generate third motor drive currents from DC power received from the common DC bus and supply the third motor drive currents to the third electric motor, and wherein the third inverter is operable to generate third motor DC regeneration power from regeneration currents generated by the third electric motor and output the third motor DC regeneration power to the common DC bus.
14. An electrically powered aerial vehicle comprising: a first battery, a second battery, and a third battery; a common direct current (DC) bus; a first DC to DC converter connected between the first battery and the common DC bus and operable to transfer power from the first battery to the common DC bus and transfer power from the common DC bus to the first battery; a second DC to DC converter connected between the second battery and the common DC bus and operable to transfer power from the second battery to the common DC bus and transfer power from the common DC bus to the second battery; a third DC to DC converter connected between the third battery and the common DC bus and operable to transfer power from the third battery to the common DC bus and transfer power from the common DC bus to the third battery; a first propeller, a second propeller, and a third propeller, wherein each of the first propeller, the second propeller, and the third propeller is configured to propel the electrically powered aerial vehicle; a first electric motor drivingly coupled with the first propeller;
a second electric motor drivingly coupled with the second propeller; a third electric motor drivingly coupled with the third propeller;
a first inverter connected between the first electric motor and the common DC bus, wherein the first inverter is operable to generate first motor drive currents from DC power received from the common DC bus and supply the first motor drive currents to the first electric motor, and wherein the first inverter is operable to generate first motor DC regeneration power from regeneration currents generated by the first electric motor and output the first motor DC regeneration power to the common DC bus;
a second inverter connected between the second electric motor and the common DC bus, wherein the second inverter is operable to generate second motor drive currents from DC power received from the common DC bus and supply the second motor drive currents to the second electric motor, and wherein the second inverter is operable to generate second motor DC regeneration power from regeneration currents generated by the second electric motor and output the second motor DC regeneration power to the common DC bus; and a third inverter connected between the third electric motor and the common DC bus, wherein the third inverter is operable to generate third motor drive currents from DC power received from the common DC bus and supply the third motor drive currents to the third electric motor, and wherein the third inverter is operable to generate third motor DC regeneration power from regeneration currents generated by the third electric motor and output the third motor DC regeneration power to the common DC bus.
Claims 15-20
Claims 15-20
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brabec (WO 2011/014597 A1) in view of Su (US 2008/0094013 A1) further in view of Boecker et al (2019/0092257 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Brabec teaches an electrically powered vehicle comprising: batteries [see Figs. 1-4; paras. 0004-0006, 0014-0015; elements 95, 100, 100a-100c; plurality of batteries in a vehicle electrical system]; a common direct current (DC) bus [see paras. 0014-0015; Figs. 2-4; element 150; system bus 150 corresponding to the claimed common DC bus]; DC to DC converters, wherein each of the DC to DC converters is connected between an associated one of the batteries and the common DC bus and configured to transfer power between the associated one of the batteries and the common DC bus [see Figs. 2-4; paras. 0014-0015, 0054-0063; elements 200, 200a-200c; respective bidirectional battery voltage converters transferring current between associated batteries and the system bus]; and a controller configured to control the DC to DC converters to regulate transfer of power between the batteries and the common DC bus [see paras. 0014-0015, 0064-0071; Fig. 4; controller 340; controller controlling the bidirectional battery voltage converters to regulate current supplied by the respective batteries].
Brabec further teaches that the bidirectional battery voltage converters permit the individual batteries to be charged from or discharged to the vehicle electrical system [see paras. 0054-0063; Figs. 2-4], and that a bidirectional battery voltage converter can be used in place of an electronic switch and operate as a switch to selectively couple or disconnect an individual battery from the vehicle electrical system [see para. 0063]. Brabec further teaches disabling an associated bidirectional battery voltage converter based on a monitored battery condition [see para. 0071].
However, Brabec does not expressly teach the claimed motors; inverter circuits, wherein each of the inverter circuits is connected between an associated one of the motors and the common DC bus.
In an analogous art, Su teaches motors and inverter circuits, wherein each of the inverter circuits is connected between an associated one of the motors and a common DC bus [see Figs. 2, 6A, 8; paras. 0028-0030, 0033, 0036; elements 22, 24, 26, 28, MG1-MG3; multiple electrical motor drive units connected to common DC bus 24, each motor drive unit including an inverter/converter and a multiphase motor/generator]. In particular, Su teaches three electrical motor drive units connected to a common DC bus, wherein each motor drive unit employs a three-phase inverter/converter and a respective three-phase motor/generator MG1, MG2, or MG3 [see para. 0033; Fig. 6A].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the plural inverter-driven motor architecture of Su in the vehicle electrical system of Brabec to provide multiple electrically driven motor units for vehicle propulsion, including four-wheel-drive operation as taught by Su.
The combination of Brabec and Su does not expressly teach wherein the controller is configured to monitor each battery of the batteries for a failure condition indicative of an internal electrical fault within the battery and, in response to detecting the failure condition indicative of the internal electrical fault within the battery, control the associated DC to DC converter to isolate the battery from the common DC bus.
In an analogous art, Boecker teaches monitoring individual batteries to detect an electrical fault associated with a particular battery and selectively isolating the battery associated with the detected fault [see Figs. 1-2; paras. 0022, 0034-0040; elements 202, 204, 210, 212-218, 220, 222]. Boecker expressly teaches that a battery fault may include a short circuit internal to a battery and that a “faulty battery” can correspond to a fault internal to a particular battery [see para. 0022]. Boecker further teaches current sensors associated with respective batteries 202 and 204, wherein when the current associated with a respective battery meets or exceeds a threshold, controller 210 controls the corresponding switches to isolate that battery [see paras. 0039-0040]. Boecker further teaches determining the location of a fault based on sensed current and selectively disconnecting the battery associated with the fault while maintaining the other battery connected [see paras. 0034-0036].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the battery-specific internal electrical fault detection and selective isolation control of Boecker in the vehicle electrical system of Brabec as modified by Su, such that, upon detecting a failure condition indicative of an internal electrical fault associated with a particular battery, the controller controls the bidirectional battery voltage converter associated with that battery to isolate the battery from the common DC bus, because Brabec teaches that its associated bidirectional battery voltage converter can be operated as a switch to disconnect the individual battery from the vehicle electrical system and can be disabled based on a monitored battery condition, thereby containing the electrical fault, protecting the common bus and remaining batteries, and allowing unaffected batteries to continue supplying electrical power.
Regarding Claim 7, combination of Brabec, Su and Boeker teach invention set forth above, Su further teaches wherein each of the motors is an AC motor [see (para. 0028); multiphase motor/generator, a multiphase motor is an AC motor].
Claim(s) 2-4, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brabec (WO 2011/014597 A1) in view of Su (US 2008/0094013 A1) in view of Boecker et al (2019/0092257 A1), further in view of Hiroe et al (US 2019/0225095 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Brabec, Su and Boeker teach the invention set forth above, Brabec teaches an electrically powered vehicle including batteries, a common DC bus, DC-DC converters connected between the batteries and the DC bus, and a controller configured to control the DC-DC converters to regulate transfer of power between the batteries and the common DC bus [see (para. 0015, 0017; Fig. 4); controller controlling bi-directional battery voltage converters… batteries connected via converters to a system bus].
However, Brabec does not expressly teach wherein the controller is configured to monitor a voltage of each of the batteries to monitor the battery for a failure of the battery.
In an analogous art, Hiroe teaches monitoring a voltage of each of the batteries, [see Hiroe (para. 0012, 0049); plural voltage sensors… detect a voltage corresponding to one of the plural electric power storage bodies… ECU receives detection values; Hiroe teaches monitoring voltages of individual battery packs]. Hiroe teaches that battery voltages are monitored and used for diagnosing abnormal conditions of the batteries.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the per-battery voltage monitoring of Hiroe in the invention of Brabec, Su and Boecker to monitor battery conditions indicative of failure, thereby improving reliability and fault detection with predictable results.
Regarding claim 3, combination of Brabec, Su, Boecker and Hiroe teach invention set forth above, Brabec further teaches wherein the controller is configured to control at least one of the DC to DC converters to transfer power from the common DC bus to at least one of the batteries based on a comparison between the voltage of the common DC bus and the voltage of the at least one of the batteries [see (para. 0015); bi-directional battery voltage converter… transferring current between the battery and the system bus]; Hiroe further teaches monitoring voltages of batteries and performing control based on detected voltage values, [see Hiroe (para. 0012, 0053); voltage sensors… detect voltage… ECU performs voltage diagnosis; voltage-based control].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the voltage-based control of Hiroe in the invention of Brabec, Su and Boecker to control power transfer of the DC-DC converters based on relative voltage conditions between the DC bus and the batteries, thereby achieving controlled charging behavior with predictable results.
Regarding claim 4, combination of Brabec, Su, Boecker and Hiroe teaches invention set forth above, Brabec further teaches wherein the controller is configured to control at least one of the DC to DC converters to transfer power from the common DC bus to at least one of the batteries [see (para. 0014-0015); bi-directional battery voltage converter… transferring current between the battery and the system bus] Su further teaches in response to at least one of the motors generating power during a regeneration event [see (para. 0004-0005; Fig. 2, Fig. 6A); the motor functions as a generator… converted to dc… to supply the H.V. dc bus]
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the regenerative power supply to the DC bus of Su in the invention of Brabec to transfer power from the DC bus to the batteries using DC-DC converters, thereby storing regenerated energy with predictable results.
Regarding claim 5, Brabec, Su and Boecker teach the invention set forth above, Brabec teaches an electrically powered vehicle including batteries, a common DC bus, DC-DC converters connected between the batteries and the DC bus, and a controller configured to control the DC-DC converters to regulate transfer of power between the batteries and the common DC bus [see (para. 0015; Fig. 4); controller controlling bi-directional battery voltage converters associated with batteries and a system bus].
However, Brabec does not expressly teach control circuits, wherein each of the DC to DC converters is associated with one of the control circuits… configured to monitor a voltage of the DC bus and transfer power… when the voltage… is greater than a threshold voltage… based on a voltage of the associated battery.
In an analogous art, Hiroe teaches monitoring voltage conditions and performing control based on detected voltage values, [see Hiroe (para. 0012, 0049, 0053); voltage sensors… detect voltage… ECU receives detection values… performs voltage diagnosis; voltage-based monitoring and control]. Hiroe teaches that control of battery operation is performed based on detected voltage conditions of battery packs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the voltage-based control of Hiroe in the invention of Brabec, Su and Boecker to control operation of DC-DC converters based on voltage conditions including threshold-based decisions, thereby improving control precision and system reliability with predictable results.
Regarding claim 6, combination of Brabec, Su, Boecker and Hiroe teach invention set forth above, Brabec further teaches wherein at least one of the control circuits is configured to transfer power from the DC bus to the associated battery [see (para. 0015); bi-directional battery voltage converter… transferring current between the battery and the system bus], thereby enabling transfer of power between the DC bus and the battery. Su further teaches when at least one of the motors generates electrical power during a regeneration event [see (para. 0005; Fig. 2, Fig. 6A); the motor functions as a generator… converted to dc… to supply the H.V. dc bus].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the regenerative power generation of Su in the invention of Brabec to transfer power from the DC bus to the battery during a regeneration event, thereby recovering regenerative energy and improving system efficiency with predictable results.
Claim(s) 8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brabec (WO 2011/014597 A1) in view of Su (US 2008/0094013 A1) further in view of Ishigaki et al. (2016/0282832 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Brabec teaches an electrically powered vehicle comprising: batteries [see Figs. 1-4; paras. 0004-0006, 0014-0015; elements 95, 100, 100a-100c; plurality of batteries in a vehicle electrical system]; a common direct current (DC) bus [see paras. 0014-0015; Figs. 2-4; element 150; system bus 150 corresponding to the claimed common DC bus]; DC to DC converters, wherein each of the DC to DC converters is connected between an associated one of the batteries and the common DC bus and configured to transfer power between the associated one of the batteries and the common DC bus [see Figs. 2-4; paras. 0014-0015, 0054-0063; elements 200, 200a-200c; respective bidirectional battery voltage converters transferring current between associated batteries and the system bus]; and a controller configured to monitor electrical conditions including voltage associated with the common DC bus and with each of the batteries, and to control the DC to DC converters to regulate transfer of power between the batteries and the common DC bus based on the monitored voltage conditions [see Figs. 2-4; paras. 0006, 0008, 0059, 0064-0071; controller 340; voltage sensing associated with the vehicle electrical system and respective batteries and controller-based control of the bidirectional battery voltage converters].
Brabec further teaches voltage sensing associated with its bidirectional battery voltage converters and teaches that the control system monitors the voltage of vehicle electrical system 150 [see paras. 0059, 0064-0067]. Brabec further teaches monitoring the voltage level of each battery and changing operating parameters of the corresponding bidirectional battery voltage converter based on the monitored battery condition [see paras. 0070-0071]. Brabec additionally teaches balancing the current supplied by the plurality of batteries by independently commanding the respective bidirectional battery voltage converters [see paras. 0068-0071]. In particular, controller 340 sends commands to the respective bidirectional converters based on operating parameters and controls the amount of current supplied by the individual batteries.
However, Brabec does not expressly teach electric motors; inverter circuits, wherein each of the inverter circuits is connected between an associated one of the electric motors and the common DC bus.
In an analogous art, Su teaches electric motors and inverter circuits, wherein each of the inverter circuits is connected between an associated one of the electric motors and a common DC bus [see Figs. 2, 6A, 8; paras. 0028-0030, 0033, 0036; elements 22, 24, 26, 28, MG1-MG3]. Specifically, Su teaches multiple electrical motor drive units 22 connected to common DC bus 24, wherein each motor drive unit includes an inverter/converter 26 and an associated multiphase motor/generator 28.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the plural inverter-driven motor architecture of Su in the vehicle electrical system of Brabec to provide multiple electrically driven motor units for vehicle propulsion.
The combination of Brabec and Su does not expressly teach when a voltage of one of the batteries is relatively higher than the voltages of the other batteries, the controller commands a corresponding one of the DC to DC converters to draw more power from that battery than from the other batteries to maintain the batteries at a similar state of charge.
In an analogous art, Ishigaki teaches controlling respective battery modules such that a relatively more highly charged battery supplies more power than the other batteries in order to reduce differences in the states of charge of the batteries [see Figs. 4, 13A-13B; paras. 0036-0038, 0042-0046, 0079-0082]. Ishigaki teaches a modular vehicle energy-management system having battery modules that include respective batteries, local controllers, and modular isolated DC-DC converters connected to an energy-management DC bus, wherein a central controller receives battery status information and manages the power output of the individual battery modules [see paras. 0036-0038, 0042-0046].
Ishigaki further teaches that the central controller receives battery-module status information including state of charge, output voltage, current, and output power, and generates respective voltage-power (V-P) maps for controlling the amount of power supplied by the individual battery modules [see paras. 0042-0046]. In particular, Ishigaki teaches that when one battery module is more highly charged than another battery module, the V-P map for the more highly charged battery module may specify that the more highly charged battery module output a higher quantity of power to the energy-management bus than the other battery modules [see para. 0044].
Ishigaki further teaches SOC balancing in which the battery modules have unequal states of charge and the battery module having the highest SOC is assigned a higher output power than the other battery modules, thereby causing that battery module to have a higher discharge rate than the other battery modules [see Figs. 13A-13B; paras. 0080-0082].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the battery-balancing control of Ishigaki in the vehicle electrical system of Brabec as modified by Su, such that when the monitored voltage of one battery is indicative of that battery being relatively more highly charged than the other batteries, the controller commands the corresponding bidirectional DC to DC converter to draw more power from that battery than from the other batteries, in order to reduce differences in battery state of charge and maintain the batteries at similar states of charge while distributing the vehicle electrical load among the respective batteries and their associated bidirectional DC to DC converters.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Brabec, Su, and Ishigaki teach the invention set forth above. Su further teaches a multiphase motor/generator [see (para. 0028); multiphase motor/generator; a multiphase motor is an alternating current motor].
Claim(s) 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brabec (WO 2011/014597 A1) in view of Su (US 2008/0094013 A1), in view of Ishigaki et al. (2016/0282832 A1), further in view of Hiroe et al (US 2019/0225095 A1).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Brabec, Su, and Ishigaki teaches the invention set forth above, Brabec further teaches bidirectional transfer of power between the DC bus and the batteries via DC-to-DC converters [see paras. 0014-0015; Figs. 2-4; elements 200, 200a-200c; bidirectional battery voltage converters transferring current between the batteries and the system bus].
However, the combination of Brabec, Su, and Ishigaki does not expressly teach wherein when the voltage of the common DC bus is greater than the voltage of at least one of the batteries, the controller commands at least one of the DC to DC converters to transfer power from the common DC bus to a respective one of the batteries.
In an analogous art, Hiroe teaches monitoring voltages of respective battery packs and performing control based on detected voltage values [see Fig. 1; paras. 0012, 0053, 0065-0066, 0085-0089; voltage sensors 81-86; monitoring unit 80; ECU 100]. In particular, Hiroe teaches that ECU 100 obtains the respective voltages V11 and V12 of battery packs 11 and 12 from monitoring unit 80 and determines the condition of the respective battery packs based on the monitored voltages [see paras. 0065-0066, 0085-0089]. Hiroe expressly performs the voltage diagnosis individually for each battery pack and identifies an abnormal battery when its terminal voltage falls outside the applicable range.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the per-battery voltage monitoring and voltage-based control of Hiroe in the vehicle electrical system of Brabec as modified by Su and Ishigaki, so that the controller uses monitored common-bus and battery voltage conditions to control the respective bidirectional DC-to-DC converter to transfer power from the common DC bus to a respective battery when the common DC-bus voltage is greater than the voltage of that battery, thereby providing controlled charging of the respective batteries based on available bus voltage with predictable results.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Brabec, Su, and Ishigaki teaches the invention set forth above, Brabec further teaches respective bidirectional DC-to-DC converters associated with the individual batteries and teaches that a bidirectional battery voltage converter can operate as a switch to selectively couple or decouple an individual battery from the vehicle electrical system [see Fig. 4; paras. 0054-0063; elements 100a-100c, 200a-200c]. Thus, Brabec teaches using the respective DC-to-DC converter associated with an individual battery to isolate that battery from the common DC bus.
However, the combination of Brabec, Su, and Ishigaki does not expressly teach wherein the controller is configured to monitor each of the batteries for a failure of the battery and, in response to detecting a failed battery among the batteries, control the respective DC-to-DC converter that is coupled to the failed battery to isolate the failed battery from the common DC bus.
In an analogous art, Hiroe teaches monitoring respective batteries for failure and, in response to detecting an abnormal battery, selectively electrically disconnecting the abnormal battery from the remainder of the electrical system [see Fig. 1; paras. 0012, 0016, 0049, 0065-0066, 0085-0096; voltage sensors 81-86; monitoring unit 80; ECU 100; switching relays R1-R3]. In particular, Hiroe teaches individually monitoring battery voltages, identifying an abnormal battery whose voltage falls outside a specified range, and electrically disconnecting the identified abnormal battery pack.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the battery failure monitoring and selective isolation control of Hiroe in the vehicle electrical system of Brabec as modified by Su and Ishigaki, such that upon detection of a failed battery, the controller controls Brabec's respective bidirectional DC-to-DC converter coupled to that failed battery to isolate the failed battery from the common DC bus, thereby preventing the failed battery from adversely affecting the remaining electrical system and improving system reliability and fault tolerance with predictable results.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Brabec, Su, and Ishigaki teaches the invention set forth above, Brabec further teaches DC-to-DC converters transferring power between the DC bus and the batteries and control of the respective converters [see Figs. 2-4; paras. 0014-0015, 0054-0063; elements 200, 200a-200c; bidirectional battery voltage converters transferring current between respective batteries and the system bus].
However, Brabec, Su, and Ishigaki do not expressly teach wherein each of the DC to DC converters includes a control circuit configured to monitor a voltage of the common DC bus and to transfer power to a respective battery from the common DC bus when a voltage of the common DC bus is greater than a threshold voltage.
In an analogous art, Hiroe teaches monitoring voltage conditions and performing control based on detected voltage values and threshold conditions [see Fig. 1; paras. 0012, 0049, 0053, 0065-0066, 0085-0096; voltage sensors 81-86; monitoring unit 80; ECU 100]. Hiroe teaches obtaining detected voltage values and performing voltage diagnosis and control based on whether monitored voltage values satisfy predetermined ranges or thresholds. For example, Hiroe determines whether individual battery voltages fall within specified ranges and performs control based on the resulting voltage determination.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the voltage-based monitoring and control of Hiroe in the vehicle electrical system of Brabec as modified by Su and Ishigaki to implement control circuits associated with the respective bidirectional DC-to-DC converters that control bus-to-battery power transfer based on threshold voltage conditions of the DC bus, thereby improving control precision and system reliability with predictable results.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Brabec, Su, Ishigaki, and Hiroe teaches the invention set forth above, Brabec further teaches DC-to-DC converters connected between respective batteries and the DC bus and capable of selectively coupling and decoupling the respective batteries from the vehicle electrical system [see Figs. 2-4; paras. 0014-0015, 0054-0063; elements 200, 200a-200c].
Hiroe further teaches wherein, in response to detecting a failed battery among the batteries, the control system controls a switching device associated with the failed battery to isolate the failed battery from the remainder of the electrical system [see Fig. 1; paras. 0012, 0016, 0065-0066, 0085-0096; voltage sensors 81-86; monitoring unit 80; ECU 100; switching relays R1-R3]. Hiroe teaches individually diagnosing the battery packs and identifying an abnormal battery based on the monitored battery voltage.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the fault detection and isolation control of Hiroe in the vehicle electrical system of Brabec as modified by Su and Ishigaki, such that upon detection of a failed battery, the control circuit commands the respective bidirectional DC-to-DC converter associated with the failed battery to isolate the failed battery from the common DC bus, thereby improving system reliability and fault tolerance with predictable results.
Claim(s) 14, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brabec (WO 2011/014597 A1) in view of Su (US 2008/0094013 A1) further in view of Kim et al. (2017/0025891 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Brabec teaches an electrically powered vehicle including a first battery, a second battery, and a third battery, e.g., auxiliary batteries 100a-100c; a common DC bus, i.e., vehicle electrical system/system bus 150; and respective first, second, and third bidirectional DC-to-DC converters 200a-200c, wherein each converter is associated with a respective battery and connected between the respective battery and system bus 150, and is operable to transfer power between the respective battery and the system bus [see Fig. 4; paras. 0054-0060, 0069-0071]. Brabec's converter 200 employs controlled switching of an inductor-based bidirectional converter circuit to transfer electrical energy between a battery and the vehicle electrical system. Figure 4 specifically depicts three batteries 100a-100c and respective converters 200a-200c coupled to the common vehicle electrical system/system bus.
However, Brabec does not expressly teach a first electric motor, a second electric motor, and a third electric motor and respective first, second, and third inverter circuits connected between the respective motors and the common DC bus, wherein each inverter is operable both to generate motor drive currents from DC power received from the common DC bus and to generate motor DC regeneration power from regeneration currents generated by its respective motor and output the regeneration power to the common DC bus.
In an analogous art, Su teaches three electrical motor drive units connected to a common DC bus, wherein each motor drive unit includes a three-phase inverter/converter and a respective motor/generator MG1, MG2, or MG3 [see Fig. 6A; para. 0033]. Su further teaches that, during vehicle operation, a motor functions as a generator driven by the vehicle inertia during deceleration and produces AC electrical energy which is converted to DC by the power converter and supplied to the high-voltage DC bus [see para. 0005]. Thus, Su teaches inverter/converter circuits operable both to drive respective motor/generators and to return motor-generated DC regeneration power to the common DC bus.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Brabec's vehicle electrical system to include Su's plurality of motor/generator drive units and associated inverter/converter circuits connected to the common DC bus, in order to provide multiple electrically driven propulsion units and to recover energy generated during vehicle deceleration by returning that energy to the common DC bus.
The combination of Brabec and Su does not expressly teach wherein each of the first DC to DC converter, the second DC to DC converter, and the third DC to DC converter is configured to detect a regeneration event by monitoring a voltage potential on the common DC bus as compared to a voltage available at its associated battery, and to transfer power from the common DC bus to its associated battery when the voltage on the common DC bus exceeds a threshold voltage.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches monitoring a DC-bus voltage and a battery voltage and controlling a bidirectional battery switching circuit based on the relative values of the DC-bus voltage and battery voltage [see Figs. 2-5; paras. 0024-0025, 0032-0033, 0048-0050, 0056-0059]. Kim teaches that when DC-bus voltage is greater than battery voltage, the controller operates MOSFETs 202 and 204 of switching circuit 104 so that the battery is charged from the DC bus at a controlled current. Kim expressly explains that the condition in which DC-bus voltage is higher than battery voltage causes the battery to charge. Kim further teaches charging control using a battery-voltage reference in conjunction with the DC-bus and battery-voltage conditions [see paras. 0037-0039, 0044, 0051-0052, 0059]. Kim is relied upon for the relative DC-bus/battery-voltage monitoring and responsive charging-control technique, not for teaching that its MOSFET switching circuit is itself the claimed DC-to-DC converter and not for expressly teaching detection of a motor regeneration event.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply Kim's relative common-DC-bus-voltage and associated-battery-voltage monitoring and responsive charging control to each of the battery-associated bidirectional DC-to-DC converters of Brabec in the vehicle electrical system as modified by Su. In the resulting system, Su's motor/generators return regenerative electrical power to the common DC bus during deceleration. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that such regenerative input produces a common-bus voltage condition relative to one or more associated batteries that can be monitored using Kim's relative-voltage control technique. Applying that technique to Brabec's respective battery converters would cause the corresponding converter to transfer available power from the common DC bus to its associated battery when the applicable bus/battery voltage condition is satisfied, thereby recovering regenerative energy for battery charging and managing the common DC bus voltage.
Re Claim 18, Combination of Brabec, Su and Kim teaches invention set forth above, Brabec further teaches wherein the controller is configured to control the first DC to DC converter to transfer power from the common DC bus to the first battery [see Brabec (para. 0015); bi-directional battery voltage converter… transferring current between the battery and the system bus; Brabec teaches transfer of power between the DC bus and the battery]; Su further teaches when the first electric motor generates electrical power during a regeneration event [see Su (para. 0005; Fig. 2, Fig. 6A); the motor functions as a generator… converted to dc… to supply the H.V. dc bus; Su teaches regenerative power supplied to the DC bus]. Regenerative power is supplied to the DC bus (Su) and transferred to the battery via the DC-DC converter (Brabec).
Re Claim 20, Combination of Brabec, Su and Kim teaches invention set forth above, Su further teaches, wherein each of the first electric motor, the second electric motor, and the third electric motor is an alternating current motor [see (para. 0028); multiphase motor/generator; Su teaches AC motors] A multiphase motor is an alternating current motor.
Claim(s) 15-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brabec (WO 2011/014597 A1) in view of Su (US 2008/0094013 A1), in view of Kim et al. (2017/0025891 A1), further in view of Hiroe et al (US 2019/0225095 A1).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Brabec, Su and Kim teach the invention set forth above, Brabec further teaches a controller configured to control DC-DC converters to regulate transfer of power between batteries and a system bus [see Brabec (para. 0014-0015, Fig. 4); controller controlling bi-directional battery voltage converters associated with batteries and a system bus].
However, the combination does not expressly teach the controller configured to monitor a voltage of the common DC bus and a voltage of each of the batteries.
In an analogous art, Hiroe teaches monitoring voltages of battery packs and performing control based on detected voltage values [see Hiroe (para. 0012, 0049, 0053); plural voltage sensors detect a voltage corresponding to one of the plural electric power storage bodies… ECU receives detection values… performs voltage diagnosis; Hiroe teaches monitoring battery voltages and performing control based on detected values].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the voltage-based monitoring and control of Hiroe in the invention of Brabec, Su and KIim to monitor battery voltages and apply voltage-based control to regulate power transfer in the DC bus system, thereby improving control accuracy and system reliability with predictable results.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Brabec, Su, Kim and Hireo teach the invention set forth above, Brabec further teaches bidirectional transfer of power between the DC bus and the battery via a DC-DC converter [see Brabec (para. 0014-0015); bi-directional battery voltage converter transferring current between the battery and the system bus].
However, Brabec doesn’t expressly teach controlling the DC-DC converter to transfer power from the DC bus to the battery in response to the DC bus voltage being greater than the battery voltage.
Hiroe further teaches voltage-based control decisions for battery operation based on detected voltage values [see Hiroe (para. 0012, 0053); voltage sensors detect voltage… ECU performs voltage diagnosis; Hiroe teaches control based on detected voltage values].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the voltage-based control logic of Hiroe in the invention of Brabec, su and Kim to control the DC-DC converter to transfer power from the DC bus to the battery in response to a voltage condition indicating charging should occur, thereby achieving controlled charging behavior with predictable results.
Re Claim 17, combination of Brabec, Su, Kim and Hireo teach the invention set forth above, combination doesn’t expressly teach wherein: the controller is configured to monitor the voltage of the first battery for a failure of the first battery; and in response to detecting a failure of the first battery, the controller controls the first DC to DC converter to isolate the first battery from the common DC bus.
Hireo further teaches monitoring battery voltages and disconnecting an abnormal battery pack [see Hiroe (para. 0012, 0016, 0049, 0096); plural voltage sensors detect a voltage corresponding to one of the plural electric power storage bodies… abnormal electric power storage body whose voltage does not fall within a specified range… ECU performs voltage diagnosis… the ECU may electrically disconnect the determined battery pack from the main relay device; Hiroe teaches monitoring battery voltages and disconnecting an abnormal battery pack].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the battery voltage monitoring and selective disconnection control of Hiroe in the invention of Brabec, Su and Kim to monitor the first battery for conditions indicative of failure and isolate the first battery from the DC bus, thereby improving reliability and preventing damage with predictable results.
Re Claim 19, combination of Brabec, Su, Kim and Hireo teach the invention set forth above, combination doesn’t expressly teach wherein the controller is configured to detect a failure of the first battery and in response isolate the first battery from the common DC bus.
Hiroe further teaches detecting abnormal battery conditions based on voltage and disconnecting an abnormal battery pack [see Hiroe (para. 0016, 0049, 0096); abnormal electric power storage body whose voltage does not fall within a specified range… ECU performs voltage diagnosis… the ECU may electrically disconnect the determined battery pack from the main relay device; Hiroe teaches detecting abnormal battery conditions based on voltage and disconnecting an abnormal battery pack].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the fault detection and disconnection control of Hiroe in the invention of Brabec, Su, and Kim to detect a failure of the first battery and isolate the battery from the DC bus, thereby improving system reliability and fault tolerance with predictable results.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AQEEL H BUKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/Menatoallah Youssef/ SPE, Art Unit 2836