Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 26, 28, 33, 34, and 37 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 35-40 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12277001. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations are substantially the same except the patent is directed to a method whereas the instant application is directed to an apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-24, 27, and 29-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trim et al. US 20220066499 in view of Chakraborty et al. US 20230316090.
Regarding claim 21, 20220066499 Trim teaches
generating, by the configured trained machine learning model, overclocking parameters based on a current configuration and workload characteristics of the processing device [0076—" In this example, CPU clock management program 200 recommends to underclock or overclock one or more cores of the mobile using the articulated information about the mobile device and an estimation of the machine learning algorithm model with respect to anticipated events and workloads based on an application access pattern of a user and corresponding application requirements.”]; and
adjusting one or more operating characteristics of at least one component of the processing device based on the overclocking parameters [0081—" In step 214, CPU clock management program 200 modifies the CPU clock speed of the core of the user equipment.”]
Chakraborty teaches, but Trim does not teach A method, at a processing device,
comprising:
responsive to sending metadata associated with at least one trained machine learning model to an external processing system [0046—" At transmission 306, the federated learning client device 102 sends model update data to the federated learning server 108.”], obtaining updated metadata for the at least one trained machine learning model from the external processing system [0049—" At transmission 310, the federated learning server 108 sends global model data”];
configuring the at least one trained machine learning model based on the updated metadata [0050—" At block 312, the federated learning client device 102 trains its local model based on global model data received at transmission 310 and local training data at the federated learning client device 102”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the teachings of Trim and Chakraborty because they are both directed to training machine learning models. Chakraborty improves on Trim by teaching federated learning which is a distributed approach that helps with the issue of client device capability limitations (because training is federated) and also mitigates data privacy concerns in many cases [0005].
Regarding claim 22, Trim teaches collecting system profiling data comprising one or more of:
compute unit utilization, bandwidth utilization, cache behavior, or system temperature [0076—"Various embodiments of the present invention include a mechanism to infer the dynamic insights about resource requirements and utilization of user equipment and recommend changes to processing clock cycles for certain cores based on articulated workload insights and forecasting. In one embodiment, CPU clock management program 200 utilizes situational insight from collected data of user device 120 to determine a recommended CPU clock speed for a core of user device 120. For example, CPU clock management program 200 uses dynamic insight about hardware and software services utilization of a mobile device”]; and
using the system profiling data as input to the configured trained machine learning model [0076—"In this example, CPU clock management program 200 recommends to underclock or overclock one or more cores of the mobile using the articulated information about the mobile device and an estimation of the machine learning algorithm model “].
Regarding claim 23, Chakraborty teaches wherein the trained machine learning model comprises a neural network having a neural network architecture configuration that includes one or more of pooling parameters, kernel parameters weights, or layer parameters [0035].
Regarding claim 24, Trim teaches wherein generating the overclocking parameters comprises: pre-processing input data by performing normalization of floating point values or one-hot encoding of categorical features; and generating the overclocking parameters by providing the pre-processed input data as input to the configured trained machine learning model [0074-0075].
Regarding claim 27, Chakraborty wherein obtaining the updated metadata further comprises: responsive to sending local training data collected at the processing device to the external processing system, obtaining the updated metadata, wherein the updated metadata is based on the local training data and training data obtained from one or more other processing devices [0050—" At block 312, the federated learning client device 102 trains its local model based on global model data received at transmission 310 and local training data at the federated learning client device 102” and 0039—"Further, the federated learning server 108 may aggregate any training metadata from a plurality of federated learning client devices”].
Regarding claim 29, Chakraborty teaches training, locally at the processing device, at least one initial machine learning model based on local training data; and generating the metadata associated with the at least one trained machine learning model based on the locally trained at least one initial machine learning model [0027—" For example, the client device 102A comes with an initial machine learning model instance 106A and 0028—" However, the client device 102A may be willing or permitted to share its local model updates 107A, such as updates to model weights and parameters, with the federated learning server 108. Similarly, the client devices 102B and 102C may use their respective local machine learning model instances 106B and 106C in the same manner and also share their respective local model updates 107B and 107C with the federated learning server 108 “].
Regarding claim 30, Trim and Chakraborty teach this claim according to the reasoning in claim 21.
Regarding claim 31, Trim teaches this claim according to the reasoning for claim 24.
Claim(s) 25 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trim et al. US 20220066499 in view of Chakraborty et al. US 20230316090 in further view of Yan et al. US 2022/0113757.
Regarding claim 25, Yan teaches wherein generating the overclocking parameters comprises: optimizing the overclocking parameters with respect to one or more of system stability, power consumption of the processing device, processing performance of the processing device, or performance-per-watt of the processing device [0024].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the teachings of Trim and Chakraborty with Yan because Yan takes into consideration stability and power limits of the processor. This prevents damage and ensures proper operation of the processor.
Regarding claim 32, Trim and Chakraborty in further view of Yan teach this claim according to the reasoning for claim 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 35-36 and 38-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yan US 2022/0113757.
Regarding claim 35, Yan teaches A processing device, comprising: overclocking circuitry comprising an inference engine configured to: obtain one or more overclocking parameters provided through a graphical user interface [0025-“user input”];generate a first output based on the one or more overclocking parameters and a current configuration of the processing device, the first output comprising a first set of overclocking parameters; and an execution unit configured to adjust one or more operating characteristics of at least one component of the processing device based on the first set of overclocking parameters [0026].
Regarding claim 36, Yan teaches wherein the inference engine is further configured to: select a machine learning model based on at least one of the one or more user- specified overclocking parameters or the current configuration of the processing device; and generate the first output using the selected machine learning model [0026].
Regarding claim 38, Yan teaches wherein the inference engine is configured to generate the first output by: obtaining an input representing the current configuration of the processing device, the input comprising one or more of system- related configuration information, workload characteristic information, or hardware specifications for the processing device; and inferring the first set of overclocking parameters based on the input [0025].
Regarding claim 39, Yan teaches wherein the inference engine is further configured to: responsive to the current configuration of the processing device having changed to a different configuration, generate a second output based on the user-specified input and the different configuration, the second output comprising a second set of overclocking parameters different from the first set of overclocking parameters; and adjust the one or more operating characteristics of the at least one component of the processing device based on the second set of overclocking parameters [0025—User input can provide updated parameters when configuration is changed].
Regarding claim 40, Yan teaches wherein the inference engine is configured to generate the first output by: configuring a neural network based on overclocking parameters and the current configuration of the processing device; and generate the first output using the neural network [0026—" For instance, for each trial of the experiment, the clock rate tuning circuitry 112 executes the optimization model to select a core voltage value for the processing unit 102 that is within the minimum and maximum core voltage range defined by the user input(s) and that is expected to be an optimal core voltage value based on the training (i.e., current training) of the optimization model.”.]
Conclusion
/JAWEED A ABBASZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2176