DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0089938 (hereinafter Cheng) in view of US 2022/0046600 (hereinafter Hosseini).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15, Cheng teaches method comprising: receiving, by a first wireless device from a base station, a message comprising configuration parameters of a resource pool for one or more first sidelink transmissions (FIG. 4, 410; FIG. 5, 510: details SL-U configuration; LBT configuration); determining, based on a channel access priority class (CAPC) value of the one or more first sidelink transmissions, a first quantity of consecutive time slots, that are within a duration of a maximum channel occupancy time (COT), for a multi-consecutive slots transmission (MCSt) of the one or more first sidelink transmissions (FIG. 2, 200, 211, 212, 220a, 220b: details MCSt from UE1 having slot N+1 slot N+2 within COT… SL-U transceiving with enhancements… Multiple candidate starting symbols… MSCt resources reservation… CAPC and PQI mapping), wherein: the first quantity of consecutive time slots comprises a set of interlaced resource blocks (RBs) in a frequency domain in the resource pool (FIG. 3: details slots having PSCCH, PSSCH, G, CPE, AGC, as set of interlaced RBs; frequency bands, as in frequency domain); and the duration of the maximum COT is associated with the CAPC value (FIG. 2, 200, 211, 212, 220a, 220b; [0038]: details maximum COT… based on a CAPC value of the SL transceiving); selecting one or more resources, in the resource pool, comprising the first quantity of consecutive time slots for the MCSt of the one or more first sidelink transmissions (FIG. 9, 901: applying one or more resource selection rules to reserve MSCt resources for a SL transceiving); transmitting, to a second wireless device and via the one or more resources, the one or more first sidelink transmissions (FIG. 9, 903: performing SL transceiving with the selected MSCt resources).
Cheng does not explicitly teach receiving, from a third wireless device and via the one or more resources, a second sidelink transmission after transmitting the one or more first sidelink transmissions.
However, Hosseini teaches receiving, from a third wireless device and via the one or more resources (FIG. 7; [0074]-[0082]: details resource selection window), a second sidelink transmission after transmitting the one or more first sidelink transmissions (FIG. 8, 810, 804; [0082]-[0116]: details receive from the first UE SL resource information after transmitting second request).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cheng to incorporate the teachings of Hosseini and include receiving, from a third wireless device and via the one or more resources, a second sidelink transmission after transmitting the one or more first sidelink transmissions of Hosseini with Cheng. Doing so would minimize risk of collisions and sidelink resource inefficiency (Hosseini, at paragraph [0081]).
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, Cheng teaches wherein the message comprises at least one of: a medium access control control element (MAC CE); or a downlink control information (DCI) ([0025]: (pre-)configuration signaling can be transmitted via SIB and/or (PC5-) RRC and/or (PC5-) MAC-CE and/or DCI).
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17, Cheng teaches wherein a sidelink bandwidth part (BWP), comprising the resource pool, is on a shared spectrum with a plurality of radio access technologies (RATs) (FIG. 4, 401; preconfigured per BWP, as sidelink bandwidth part; preconfigured per system, as shared spectrum with RATs).
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18, Cheng teaches wherein the resource pool comprises one or more resource block (RB) sets ([0037]: details per RB set).
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 19, Cheng teaches wherein an RB set of the one or more RB sets indicates a set of contiguous RBs in a frequency domain for performing a listen-before-talk (LBT) based channel access procedure (FIG. 3, 211, 212, 331, 332: details slots N N+1 N+2, as contiguous RBs; frequency bands… LBT start and end, as in frequency domain).
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 20, Cheng teaches wherein the message comprises a radio resource control (RRC) message ([0025]: (pre-)configuration signaling can be transmitted via SIB and/or (PC5-) RRC and/or (PC5-) MAC-CE and/or DCI).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Cheng teaches wherein the selecting is based on at least one of: a resource selection procedure in the resource pool; or a first priority of the one or more first sidelink transmissions (FIG. 9, 901: applying one or more resource selection rules to reserve MSCt resources for a SL transceiving).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant alleges that the Office Action does not identify any resources in Hosseini that maps to “one or more resources” selected by, transmitted on, and received on by a UE. Examiner notes that the rejections are based on a combination of references. For example, Hosseini reference details the resources received by a UE as detailed in the 103 rejections. For example, Cheng reference details the resource selected and transmitted by a UE as detailed in the 103 rejections.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Cheng in view of Hosseini teaches requesting UE receiving the sidelink resource information via resources that the requesting UE itself selected because Hosseini teaches the “one or more resource” and Cheng teaches the selecting step as indicated above.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., requesting UE receiving the sidelink resource information via resources that the requesting UE itself selected) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant also alleges that referencing paragraphs 74-116 for the rejection of “receiving, from a third wireless device and via the one or more resources, a second sidelink transmission after transmitting the one or more first sidelink transmissions” are obfuscatory and onerous. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim limitation of “receiving, from a third wireless device and via the one or more resources, a second sidelink transmission after transmitting the one or more first sidelink transmissions” is rejected based on Figures 7 and 8 as indicated. For example, Fig. 8, 810 and 804 teaches “receiving a second sidelink transmission after transmitting the one or more first sidelink transmissions” and Fig. 7 teaches “from a third wireless device and via the one or more resources”. Paragraphs 74-82 are the corresponding paragraphs to Fig. 7 and paragraphs 82-116 are the corresponding paragraphs to Fig. 8. They are provided for the ease of understanding the portions of the figures. Thus, the parts of the prior art relied upon are clearly designated and the pertinence is clearly explained.
Moreover, Applicant alleges that Hosseini does not show the “one or more resources” in this limitation is selected resources. This is not persuasive because the limitation does not explicitly recite any selection of resources of the second sidelink transmission. It merely recites “receiving… via one or more resources, a second sidelink transmission…” which is equivalent to the resource associated with the resource selection window of Hosseini. Examiner suggests that the Applicant explicitly recites the selection process for the resource utilized for receiving the second sidelink transmission from a third wireless device and distinguish from the prior art.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASPER KWOH/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2415