Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,291,082. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cited claims include all features of the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spies et al (US 2022/0307500) in view of Kagawa et al (US 11,097,592).
Regarding claim 1, Spies discloses (a plurality of embodiments of Spies are applied here at claim 1, refer to figures 4 and 10-12 unless otherwise noted) a compression module (33) for a vehicle, the compression module comprising:
a compression unit (27 and alternatively being further inclusive of central housing 22 and motor housing 20) configured to compress a refrigerant introduced into the compression unit;
a controller (either or both of inverter 23 and motor 20) having a first surface separably assembled to the compression unit to control the compression unit; and
an accumulator unit (“refrigerant collector” 15 alone or with inner heat exchanger 1) separably mounted on a second surface of the controller in a direction opposite to the compression unit, the accumulator unit being configured to supply the refrigerant to the compression unit in a gaseous state.
Spies discloses connection between said units (for example see seals 12 at figures 16-19) but lacks specific connection means such as the mounting guiders/grooves and protrusions forming a slidable connection. Kagawa discloses mounting guiders (32) of a compressor unit (10) protruding toward the control unit (30) to define mounting grooves in one surface (the recesses about the guiders form grooves) on which the control unit is mounted; the control unit comprises mounting protrusions (33) corresponding to the mounting guiders; wherein the protrusions are slidably coupled to the mounting grooves (the action of installing 33 onto 32 includes sliding). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Spies with guiders and protrusions as is taught by Kagawa in order to index the parts relative to each other aiding correct assembly.
Regarding claim 3, Spies discloses the accumulator unit (15) has a heat exchange unit (1) provided on one surface that is in close contact with the controller (20). The examiner notes further that the breadth of “heat exchange unit” allows for any element of the accumulator unit to read thereon. The universe tends towards homogeneity as dictated by the second law of thermodynamics; heat from the controller is passed to the accumulator unit, necessarily.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spies et al (US 2022/0307500), in view of Kagawa et al (US 11,097,592), and in view of Imura et al (US 2017/0127566).
Regarding claim 2, Spies discloses the compression module of claim 1, but lacks heat dissipation plates between the respective units. Imura discloses a compressor module including a compression unit and control unit and further providing a heat dissipation plate (13, 31, or 32) so that the control unit is cooled by the refrigerant passing through the compression unit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Spies with the heat dissipation plates at both sides of the control unit in order to dissipate heat from the control unit thereby preventing damage due to overheating.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as well as overcoming the double patenting rejection discussed above.
Claims 5-9 depend from claim 4.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Spies et al (US 2022/0307500), Kagawa et al (US 11,097,592), and Imura et al (US 2017/0127566) are regarded as the closest prior art of record. The references as laid out above provide for heat exchange between an accumulator and a control unit, however; they lack, whether alone or in combination with any other known reference, the heat exchange unit as described.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rech et al (US 10,700,471) connection means for electronic controller
Inoue (US 9,851,131) compressor connection
Nacewicz et al (US 5,170,307) mounting apparatus for controller
/CHRISTOPHER R ZERPHEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799