Detailed Action
Responsive to correspondence
This office action is in response to correspondence filed on 03/28/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 07/31/2025 was filed before the first action on the merits. This submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Accordingly, this has been fully considered by the Office.
Abstract
The abstract filed 03/28/2025 appears to be acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S Publication number 2014/0053554 A1 to TARTIBI et al. (TARTIBI).
Re: Claim 1:
TARTIBI discloses:
An electrical power generation and thermal battery system comprising:
a thermal storage system (See Figs.1-6: thermal storage system 11); and
a plurality of electrical power sources (See Figs.1-6: plurality of electrical power sources as explained in ¶0012, ¶0030 and ¶0037), wherein the plurality of electrical power sources comprises:
a photovoltaic system (See Figs.1-6: ¶0030: renewable energy source 14 include photo-voltaic cells); and
a concentrated solar power system (See Figs.1-6: ¶0012, ¶0037: concentrated solar power system) ;
wherein the thermal storage system (See Figs.1-6: thermal storage system 11) is configured to store thermal energy from an electrical power source (See Figs.1-6: plurality of electrical power sources as explained in ¶0012, ¶0030 and ¶0037) during a charging mode of the thermal storage system (See Figs.1-6: thermal storage system 11), and supply heat energy during a discharging mode of the thermal storage system (See Figs.1-6: heat energy is supplied to power plant/ steam turbine as shown in figure 6 and described).
Re: Claim 2:
TARTIBI discloses:
The electrical power generation and thermal battery system of claim 1, TARTIBI discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the concentrated solar power system comprises:
a heat exchange system (See Figs.1-6: ¶0040, ¶0042, ¶0044, ¶0045: heat exchange system HE as shown in figure 4 and heat exchanger 61 as shown in figure 6); and
an electricity generator (See Figs.1-6: ¶0045: electrical generator coupled to the turbine shaft converts the rotational energy into an electrical power output.
Re: Claim 5:
TARTIBI discloses:
The electrical power generation and thermal battery system of claim 1, TARTIBI discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the plurality of electrical power sources further comprises a wind power system (See Figs.1-6: ¶0030: the renewable energy source 14 include wind turbines).
Re: Claim 11:
TARTIBI discloses:
An electrical power generation and thermal battery system comprising:
a thermal storage system (See Figs.1-6: thermal storage system 11); and
a plurality of electrical power sources (See Figs.1-6: plurality of electrical power sources as explained in ¶0012, ¶0030 and ¶0037), wherein the plurality of electrical power sources comprises:
a wind power system (See Figs.1-6: ¶0030: the renewable energy source 14 include wind turbines); and
a concentrated solar power system (See Figs.1-6: ¶0012, ¶0037: concentrated solar power system);
wherein the thermal storage system (See Figs.1-6: thermal storage system 11) is configured to store thermal energy from an electrical power source (See Figs.1-6: plurality of electrical power sources as explained in ¶0012, ¶0030 and ¶0037) during a charging mode of the thermal storage system (See Figs.1-6: thermal storage system 11), and supply heat energy during a discharging mode of the thermal storage system (See Figs.1-6: heat energy is supplied to power plant/ steam turbine as shown in figure 6 and described).
Re: Claim 12:
TARTIBI discloses:
The electrical power generation and thermal battery system of claim 11, TARTIBI discloses all the limitations of claim 11, and wherein the concentrated solar power system comprises:
a heat exchange system (See Figs.1-6: ¶0040, ¶0042, ¶0044, ¶0045: heat exchange system HE as shown in figure 4 and heat exchanger 61 as shown in figure 6); and
an electricity generator (See Figs.1-6: ¶0045: electrical generator coupled to the turbine shaft converts the rotational energy into an electrical power output).
Allowable Subject Matter and Prior Art
Claims 3-4, 6-10 , 13-19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim and intervening claims, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim.
The combination of the features of dependent claims 3 and 13 with independent base claims 1 and 11 and intervening claims appears neither known from, nor rendered obvious by, the closest prior art of record, since none of the available prior art documents neither discloses nor suggests, the specific claim limitations of in these claims .
The dependent claims 4, 6-10 , 14-19 are allowable by virtue of their dependence on respective allowable claims 3 and 13 including limitations of base claim and intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SHAFIQ MIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
February 20, 2026