DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malik (US 2019/0368035 A1) in view of Suzuki (US 2008/0241381 A1).
Claims 1, 3-4, 7-9:
Malik teaches a method for in-situ CVD/ALD interior process chamber coating to control contamination (abstract). The process includes:
(a) forming a protective film on a plurality of interior component of the process chamber such as amorphous silicon deposited from a silane [0021] (Fig. 2, step 204),
(b) dispose substrate in process chamber and process substrate [0022] (Fig. 2, steps 206,208), and
(c) remove substrate from chamber and remove protective film by a cleaning/etching process [0023] (Fig. 2, steps 210,212) using fluorine gas [0012].
Malik does not specifically state the substrate processing includes deposition of a nickel film.
However, Suzuki teaches a method for depositing a metal layer by vapor deposition [0019] wherein the precursor is Ni(CO)4 [0022] to deposit a nickel layer. The method further includes periodic cleaning of the chamber by a similar in-situ process to remove accumulated residue on the internal surfaces [0041].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of Malik and process the substrate in the manner described by Suzuki including using a nickel precursor to deposit a nickel layer. Suzuki teaches that such deposition processes benefit from periodic cleaning of the chamber and Malik adds that such periodic cleaning benefits from a protective film on the interior surfaces of the chamber. The combination results in deposition of a first amorphous silicon layer, followed by a nickel layer, that inherently reacts at the interface to form nickel silicide, and complete removal during subsequent cleaning.
Claim 2:
Nickel silicide is the natural result of an amorphous silicon protective layer and a nickel deposition process.
Claim 5:
The removal of the protective film can occur after a plurality of operations are performed [Malik 0018].
Claim 10:
The controller [Malik 0017] for implementing the method and the apparatus including gas supplier 118 (Malik, Fig. 1).
Claim 11:
Both Malik and Suzuki already teach the desire to remove the layers built up on the interior of the process chamber. Using a generic detection monitor to monitor and confirm removal would have been obvious automation of a known process.
Claim(s) 6, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malik (US 2019/0368035 A1) in view of Suzuki (US 2008/0241381 A1) in view of Kumakura (US 2022/0199371 A1).
Previously cited prior art is discussed above but does not teach coating with the nickel film in a state where there is no product substrate in the process chamber. However, Kumakura teaches a method for pre-coating a vapor deposition chamber where the precoating is a first film and a second film of different types [0065] such as a silicon and a metal [0072]. Both films are applied prior to introduction of the substrate (Fig. 2), where a dummy wafer is instead supplied [0052]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and apply a dual layer pre-coating comprising an amorphous silicon layer followed by a nickel layer. Kumakura states silicon layers and metal layers are suitable for the purpose of precoating the interior surfaces of a vapor deposition apparatus.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/26/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant makes a distinction between the protective film of Malik and the reaction layer of the instant invention that forms nickel silicide. The examiner maintains the position that the prior art combination renders this obvious by combining an amorphous silicon layer followed by exposure to nickel precursor at temperatures that cause formation of nickel silicide. In this way, the protective film of Malik is functioning in the same manner as Applicant’s description of a reaction layer.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEX A ROLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759