DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
At least claims 2, 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1, 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12264864. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because at least claims 2, 17 are anticipated by at least claims 1, 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12264864.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-5, 7-11, 13, 15-18, 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Son (US 2013/0014536).
Regarding claim 2,
Referring to Figs. 23, 24, Son teaches an ice maker 400, 500 comprising: a first tray 110 configured to define a portion of an ice chamber (not labeled) for making ice; a second tray 120 configured to define the other portion of the ice chamber; and a heater 564, 565 configured to apply heat to the second tray during an ice making process, wherein the second tray comprises a convex part (see Fig. 23, wherein pin 363 forms a convex part, not labeled) that is convexly disposed toward an inside of the ice chamber (see Fig. 23), and wherein the heater is disposed outside of the convex part (e.g. outside of the ice chamber, see Fig. 24).
Regarding claim 3,
Son teaches wherein the first tray comprises an upper tray body configured to define an upper chamber that is the portion of the ice chamber, wherein the second tray comprises a lower tray body configured to define a lower chamber that is the other portion of the ice chamber, and wherein the lower tray body comprises the convex part in which a portion of a lower portion of the lower tray body is convex upward (see Figs. 23-24).
Regarding claim 4,
Son teaches wherein an output of the heater is configured to be adjusted during the ice making process (e.g. is capable of being adjusted to be at least on or off).
Regarding claim 5,
Son teaches while ice is formed in a section including the convex part, the convex part is configured to deform (e.g. capable of deforming), and the heater is configured to output a maximum output of the heater (e.g. capable of outputting a maximum).
Regarding claim 7,
Son teaches wherein, after the ice is completely made, the convex part is deformed to be convex toward an outside of the ice chamber.
Regarding claim 8,
Son teaches a support 560 configured to support the second tray, wherein the convex part is disposed to face an opening (e.g. water supply holes 114, see Fig. 6) of the support.
Regarding claim 9,
Son teaches wherein water supplied to the ice chamber does not have a spherical shape before the ice is made, and wherein, after the ice is completely made, the convex part moves toward the opening, and thus, spherical ice is made.
Regarding claim 10,
Son teaches wherein at least a portion of the heater is disposed outside the opening.
Regarding claim 11,
Son teaches wherein the at least a portion of the heater is disposed adjacent to the opening.
Regarding claim 13,
Son teaches wherein at least a portion of the heater is disposed to surround the opening.
Regarding claim 15,
Son teaches an ejector (e.g. the structure comprising at least elements 362) configured to press the second tray to separate the ice from the second tray, the ejector comprising an ejector body (not labeled) and an ejecting pin 362 protruding from the ejector body, wherein the ejector passes through the opening during an ice separating process.
Regarding claim 16,
The subject matter of claim 16 is directed towards essentially the same subject matter as claim 1 and has been addressed in the rejection of claim 15.
Regarding claims 17-18,
The subject matter of claims 17-18 are directed towards essentially the same subject matter as claims 11, 13 and has been addressed in the rejection of claims 11, 13.
Regarding claims 20, 21,
Son teaches a refrigerator comprising the ice maker of claims 2, 17 (see Figs. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 12, 14, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son.
Regarding claim 6,
Son does not teach wherein an amount of heat supplied to the second tray by the heater is varied but the examiner takes official notice that the use of, and advantages of, varied heaters would be well known to one of ordinary skill in the art; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify son with the motivation of, for example, minimizing the amount of heat energy consumed when achieving ice formation or separation goals.
Regarding claim 12,
Son does not teach wherein the convex part has a diameter less than a diameter of the opening.
However, it has been held that claims directed to (the size of) a specific element were held unpatentable over prior art elements because limitations relating to the size of the elements were not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art. Similarly, it has been held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (see MPEP 2144.04 IV A).
Regarding claim 14,
The subject matter of claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 12.
Regarding claim 19,
The subject matter of claims 19 is directed towards essentially the same subject matter as claims 12, 14 and has been addressed in the rejection of claims 12, 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Miller, Koo, Boarman, Lee, Son, Choi and Damikolas teach ice makers with heaters.
/Steve S TANENBAUM/Examiner, Art Unit 3763