DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
At page 7, the Application states the claim objections to claims 11, 13 and 19 have been addressed based upon the most recent claim amendments. Upon review, the most recent claim amendments do appear to overcome the previous claim objections, and therefore said objections have been withdrawn.
At pages 10-13, the Applicant argues with respect to the most recent claim amendments to independent claim 11 and further recites that the prior art of record, namely Baldwin, fails to appropriately teach or suggest, “a backup power center electrically coupled to the backup busway and the plurality of servers, wherein the backup power center is configured to supply a backup output DC voltage to the plurality of servers if the power center fails,” as the Applicant contends that Baldwin discloses “a power center that uses only a single busway (labeled 116 in Fig. 1 and 206 in Fig. 2 of Baldwin) to supply power to the plurality of servers… the system of Baldwin does not allow power to flow through the plurality of servers if the busway 116/206 of Baldwin fails.”.
In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s arguments. First, the Applicant argues that Baldwin fails to disclose the claimed “backup busway” because Baldwin’s busway is identified as element 116 and, according to the Applicant, element 116 cannot correspond to the claimed backup busway as Baldwin “uses on a single busway”. The Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because the rejection does not identify element 116 as the claimed backup busway, nor the first busway.
As illustrated within Fig. 1, Baldwin discloses a DC power distribution system having redundant source-side power distribution arrangements. In particular, Fig. 1 shows respective distribution panels 102 receiving power from the source side of the system, with respective rectifiers 104 and energy storage systems 108 providing DC power to the downstream DC distribution system. At paragraphs 0028-0035, Baldwin discloses that normal utility power and generator power may be supplied to the distribution panels 102, that the rectifiers 104 provide DC power to the collector busses 106, and that the energy storage systems 108 provide emergency DC power upon a loss of AC power to the rectifiers. Thus, the first source-side distribution arrangement constitutes a power center (read on by the first iteration of distribution panels 102, rectifiers 104, and energy storage systems 108), while the redundant second source-side distribution arrangement constitutes a backup power center (read on by the second iteration of distribution panels 102, rectifiers 104, and energy storage systems 108 as shown within Fig. 1).
Baldwin further discloses that its power pathway may comprise “a modular busway system or wire and conduit with panel boards” and that the power pathway “may enable growth and permit redundant DC sources at critical loads” (see paragraph 0025). Accordingly, the claimed “busway” is not limited to the particular component designated as busway 116 in Baldwin, but rather the claimed busway is read on by the respective power distribution paths supplying the respective distribution panels 102 of the redundant source side arrangements (first and second iterations of distribution panels 102 with rectifiers 104 and energy storage systems 108). The first power distribution path corresponds to the source side input pathway to the first iteration of distribution panels 102 with rectifiers 104 and energy storage systems 108, thereby reading on “a first busway” while the second power distribution path corresponds to the source side input pathway for the redundant second source side arrangement (the second iteration of distribution panels 102 with rectifiers 104 and energy storage systems 108) thereby reading on “a backup busway”.
This interpretation is consistent with Fig. 1, in which the respective source-side arrangements are provided for supplying the downstream DC distribution system, and with Fig. 2. Thus, Baldwin discloses a redundant power distribution architecture having multiple source-side power paths for providing power to the same servers/loads. Baldwin further highlights that the system is intended to operate in order to provide “rapid emergency DC power” upon loss of AC power to the rectifiers (see, at least, paragraph 0033). Accordingly, the redundant source side arrangement is configured to provide backup DC power to the servers when the primary power source becomes unavailable.
Therefore, the examiner believes Baldwin teaches the claimed backup power center (read on by the second iteration of the distribution panels 102 with rectifiers 104 and energy storage systems 108) electrically coupled to a backup busway (read on by the source input pathway into the second iteration of distribution panels 102) and configured to supply a backup output DC voltage to the plurality of servers if the power center fails (read on by the redundant operations of the second iteration of the distribution panels 102 with rectifiers 104 and energy storage systems 108). This backup power center, read on by the second iteration as discussed above, is redundant to the first power center, read on by the first iteration as discussed above, and therefore would provide backup power to the downstream DC distribution system if the first power center or its associated power path failed or became unavailable. This interpretation is consistent with Baldwin’s disclosure that its pathway may comprises a “modular busway system or wire and conduit” and may “permit redundant DC sources at critical loads” (see paragraph 0025). It is also consistent with Baldwin’s disclosure that the energy storage systems provide “rapid emergency DC power” upon loss of AC power to the rectifiers (see, at least, paragraph 0033). Thus, Baldwin’s redundant second distribution panel arrangement and its associated input power path teach a backup power center coupled to a backup busway and configured to provide backup DC power to the critical loads upon failure or unavailability of the first power center. The examiner further notes that, as currently presented, independent claim 11 narratively defines the backup power center operations (i.e., configured to, followed by “if”). That is, as currently presented, the claim fails to positively recite the means or structure in which a power center failure is to be determined, communicated, etc. but rather presents a broadly recited hypothetical scenario/circumstance under which a backup power center may become utilized.
For these reasons, inter alia, the examiner believes the prior art of record remains pertinent with respect to the most recent claim amendments. An updated action is presented below to address the most recent claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-13, and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldwin et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2011/0148213) in view of Clerc et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2025/0287547).
Regarding Claim 11:
Baldwin et al. discloses a power system (Fig. 1, power distribution system 100) comprising: a first busway (Fig. 1, busway provided into a first iteration of distribution panels 102 and their related discussion); a power center (Fig. 1, distribution panels 102, plurality of rectifiers 104, energy storage systems 108, servers, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraph 0033) comprising: a distribution panel configured to receive an input AC voltage from the first busway (Fig. 1, distribution panels 102 receiving AC input as shown, and their related discussion); an AC converter configured to receive the input AC voltage from the distribution panel and convert the input AC voltage into the output DC voltage (Fig. 1, distribution panels 102, plurality of rectifiers 104, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraph 0033 which discloses the rectifiers 104 receive the input AC voltage from the distribution panels to convert the AC voltage into 250 volts DC to 600 volts DC); and a battery (Fig. 1, energy storage systems 108 and their related discussion) configured to: receive power from the AC converter (Fig. 1, energy storage systems 108, rectifiers 104, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraph 0033. Rectifiers 104 responsible for converting the received AC power input into a usable DC output provided along collector bus 106 to feed energy storage systems 108); store the output DC voltage (Fig. 1, energy storage systems 108 and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraph 0033 which discloses the energy storage systems 108 are connected to collector busses 106 for provision of the output DC voltage by rectifiers 104. See also paragraph 0043 which further highlights the energy storage systems 108 being utilized for bi-directional stabilization of the DC power pathway); and release an output DC voltage to a plurality of servers (Fig. 1, energy storage systems 108, collector busses 106, servers, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraph 0033 which discloses the energy storage systems 108 may provide DC power to the collector busses 106, which is then fed to servers, or various downstream circuitry, through distribution bus 110); a backup busway (Fig. 1, busway provided into a second iteration of distribution panels 102 with rectifiers 104 and energy storage systems 108 and their related discussion); and a backup power center (Fig. 1, second iteration of distribution panels 102 with rectifiers 104 and energy storage systems 108, and their related discussion) electrically coupled to the backup busway (Fig. 1, busway provided into a second iteration of distribution panels 102 with rectifiers 104 and energy storage systems 108 and their related discussion), wherein the backup power center is configured to supply a backup output DC voltage to the plurality of servers if the power center fails (Fig. 1, second iteration of distribution panels 102, plurality of rectifiers 104, energy storage systems 108 as shown, and their related discussion; the second iteration capable of supplying voltage to the respective busway 116 to be delivered to the servers or downstream components as necessary, thereby enabling a redundant power system architecture, as further highlighted within Fig. 2 and discussed throughout the application. See, for example, paragraphs 0025-0028, 0033-0035, etc.). While Baldwin discloses a distribution panel, Baldwin fails to teach a tap off box.
However, Clerc et al. discloses a tap off box configured to receive the input AC voltage from a first busway (Fig. 2, tap-off boxes 208 and their related discussion; see, at least, Abstract, paragraphs 0001-0005, 0035, etc. which disclose one or more tap-off boxes 208 connected to the respective bus bars to receive power from the high-power conductors of the associated bus bars). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Baldwin to utilize a tap-off box for receiving and outputting an input AC voltage, as taught within Clerc, to facilitate efficient power distribution along various points within a power distribution system without interrupting the main power line.
Regarding Claim 12:
Modified Baldwin teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 11. Modified Baldwin, in further view of Baldwin, discloses wherein the input AC voltage is equal to or less than 600 V (see, at least, paragraph 0033 which discloses the input AC voltage is approximately 277 to 480 volts).
Regarding Claim 13:
Modified Baldwin teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 11. Modified Baldwin, in further view of Baldwin, discloses wherein the plurality of servers are powered by the output DC voltage from the battery without an intermediate DC to AC conversion step (see, at least, paragraph 0033 which discloses the DC power output from energy storage systems 108 is provided to collector busses 106 and further fed to distribution bus 110 to feed power “directly to servers”).
Regarding Claim 15:
Modified Baldwin teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 11. While Baldwin discloses feeding power to various equipment, Modified Baldwin fails to teach wherein the power center delivers power to a cooling distribution unit.
However, Clerc discloses wherein the power center delivers power to a cooling distribution unit (Fig. 2, barrels with cooling fluid immersion system 250, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0028-0035, etc. which disclose the utilization of a cooling distribution unit, read on by the cooling fluid immersion system 250, as well as the tap-off boxes 208 being connected to the respective equipment with requisite cabling such as cables 214 as shown). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Modified Baldwin to incorporate a cooling distribution unit, as taught within Clerc, so as to operate the respective data center in a proper manner, as the incorporation of cooling units within data centers play a critical role in maintaining optimal operating conditions for servers and network equipment by managing temperature, humidity, etc. thereby improving overall efficiency, performance, and reliability.
Regarding Claim 16:
Modified Baldwin teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 15. The cooling system of Clerc is shown as being powered via power cables 210, via a power source. Such data center cooling systems are conventionally powered by AC facility power, as would have been understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. However, Baldwin teaches distributing DC power via a DC bus to downstream components. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to power the cooling system using the DC bus Baldwin as an alternative to conventional AC power, since DC power distribution in data centers is known to provide efficiency and integration advantages. Accordingly, the cooling system would have been capable of being powered by either AC or DC power depending on system design considerations. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to deliver AC voltage as providing either AC voltage or DC voltage to a respective load would have been obvious to try as there is a finite number of voltages capable of being provided (AC or DC) both yielding predictable results. Stated another way, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that electrical loads in data center environments, including cooling systems, may be powered using a limited number of well-known power distribution schemes, including AC power and DC power. These approaches were both well understood in the art and represent a finite set of identified, predictable solutions for delivering electrical power to such loads. Supplying power from an AC or DC source would have been obvious to try and would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding Claim 17:
Modified Baldwin teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 15. Modified Baldwin, in further view of Baldwin, discloses wherein the power comprises a DC voltage (see, at least, paragraph 0033 which discloses DC power from the distribution bus 110 is delivered to equipment attached. That is, the respective cooling distribution unit, as taught within Clerc, would be receiving DC power from the distribution bus 110, as a downstream component).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldwin et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2011/0148213) in view of Clerc et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2025/0287547) and in further view of Liu et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0368219).
Regarding Claim 14:
Modified Baldwin teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 11. Modified Baldwin fails to teach wherein the AC converter comprises a solid-state transformer.
However, Liu et al. discloses the AC converter comprises a solid-state transformer (Fig. 6, power module 100-1 comprising cells 10 which form an SST, and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0003-0004, 0053-0054, etc. which disclose it is well-known in the art for an AC converter to comprise an SST, which are commonly used as a one-way power system for data centers.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Modified Baldwin to realize the AC converter as comprising a solid-state transformer, as taught within Liu, as the utilization of a solid-state transformer provides a small volume and light weight as well as facilitating a one-way power system (see, at least, paragraphs 0003-0004).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH N INGE/Examiner, Art Unit 2836