DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,863,818. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are a broader version of the patented invention.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,289,493. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are a broader version of the patented invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-11, 13, 15-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tofigh et al. (hereinafter ‘Tofigh’, Patent No. 10,820,045 (prior publication, US 2017/0332142) in view of Thomas et al. (hereinafter ‘Thomas’, Pub. No. 2018/0295400).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15, Tofigh teaches a computer system (108, 106.1 or 102, Fig. 1) (with corresponding method and non-transitory computer-readable medium) the computer system comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to perform operations (Fig. 13; col. 10 lines 7-67) comprising:
encoding, by the at least one processor, an image of a video stream to produce an encoded video frame (102 and 114, Fig. 1; additionally, col. 2 lines 37-43; col. 5 lines 5-14, where if decoding is need, there was a corresponding encoding);
defining, by the at least one processor, metadata for the encoded video frame (col. 3 lines 53-62; col. 5 lines 5-50);
correlating, by the at least one processor, the metadata to the encoded video frame (col. 3 lines 53-62; col. 5 lines 5-50); and
placing, by the at least one processor, the encoded video frame correlated to the metadata in a frame queue (col. 4 lines 17-40).
On the other hand, Tofigh does not explicitly teach
wherein the metadata describes a location, a shape, and one or more boundaries corresponding to a substitution region of the encoded video frame.
However, in an analogous art, Thomas teaches a system for enhancing a region of interest (ROI) in video frames (i.e. enhancing color, increasing resolution to local pixels), including blurring or hiding faces, substituting objects, inserting visual information, etc. ([0084]; [0085]). Thomas teaches having metadata that describes the location, shape and boundaries where the substitution/enhancement needs to happen at a frame level on a video ([0040]; [0048]; [0084]-[0085]; [0089]; [0118]). The metadata is transmitted to the video receiving equipment for performing the changes at the specified sections/parts of the frame(s) as metadata (manifest file) ([0039]; [0046]-[0049]). The metadata file uses XML as shown on the different examples ([0114]; [0124]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tofigh’s invention with Thomas’ feature of using metadata describing location, shape and one or more boundaries corresponding to a substitution region of the encoded video frame for the benefit of enabling efficient enhancement of regions of interest.
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, Tofigh and Thomas teach wherein encoding the image of the video stream to produce the encoded video frame includes:
adding, by the one or more processors, an identifier to the encoded video frame (Tofigh: col. 3 lines 53-62; col. 5 lines 5-50).
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17, Tofigh and Thomas teach wherein the metadata includes one or more instructions for altering the encoded video frame (Tofigh: col. 3 lines 53-62; col. 5 lines 5-50).
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18, Tofigh and Thomas teach wherein the metadata includes the substitution image for a region less than an entirety of the encoded video frame (Tofigh: col. 3 lines 53-62; col. 5 lines 5-50).
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 20, Tofigh and Thomas teach the computer-implemented method further comprising:
decompressing, by the one or more processors, the substitution image (Tofigh: col. 3 lines 53-62; col. 5 lines 5-50, where the image is enhanced through less compression); and
substituting, by the one or more processors, the substitution region with the decompressed substitution image (Tofigh: col. 3 lines 53-62; col. 5 lines 5-50).
Claim(s) 5, 7, 12, 14 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tofigh et al. (hereinafter ‘Tofigh’, Patent No. 10,820,045) in view of Thomas et al. (hereinafter ‘Thomas’, Pub. No. 2018/0295400) in further view of Gordon et al. (hereinafter ‘Gordon’, Pub. No. 2008/0170622).
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 19, Tofigh and Thomas teach all the limitations of the claims they depend on. On the other hand, they do not explicitly teach
wherein the substitution region includes one or more discontinuous sub-regions.
However, in an analogous art, Gordon teaches a system that substitutes portions of frames based on playlist information which maps regions to the frames ([0046]; [0074]; [0085]-[0088]). The playlist is an XML format ([0049]). Gordon teaches that the playlist maps contiguous and non-contiguous areas of the frame ([0065]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tofigh and Thomas’ invention with Gordon’s feature of mapping discontinuous regions of the frame for the benefit of allowing multiple substitutions on the frame and easily locating independent areas.
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Tofigh and Thomas teach all the limitations of the claims they depend on. On the other hand, they do not explicitly teach wherein substituting the decompressed substitution image includes:
overwriting, by the one or more processors, at least one pixel of the region with a pixel corresponding to the decompressed substitution image.
However, in an analogous art, Gordon teaches a system that substitutes portions of frames based on playlist information which maps regions to the frames ([0046]; [0074]; [0085]-[0088]). The playlist is an XML format ([0049]). Gordon teaches that the playlist maps contiguous and non-contiguous areas of the frame ([0065]). Additionally, Gordon allows filling the areas with the pixels of the substituting element and extrapolating pixel values if they are not exactly the same size as the substituted area ([0090]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tofigh and Thomas’ invention with Gordon’s feature of overwriting (replacing/filling/extrapolating) pixels of the region with a pixel of the substituting element for the benefit of displaying the substituting element with its own pixel values and avoid distortions.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMAR S PARRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421