DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 of US Application No. 19/095,766, filed on 03/31/2025, are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 11-13, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura (US 2020/0319075 A1, “Nakamura”).
Regarding claims 1, Nakamura discloses filter-degradation estimating device or vehicle air conditioner and teaches:
A system for monitoring a filter state of a heating, ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) system in a vehicle, the system comprising: (The invention is directed towards a filter monitoring system for a vehicle air conditioner – See at least abstract; Further the system contains a ventilation system and a heating system – See at least ¶ [0048]-[0049])
a blower configured to suck and blow air from outside the vehicle; (The blower 16 draws the outside air and the inside air as ventilation air into the air conditioner case 10 by rotating a motor – See at least ¶ [0048])
an outside air temperature sensor configured to determine a temperature of the air from outside the vehicle sucked by the blower; (The air conditioner 2 in this embodiment includes an outside air temperature sensor 32 and an inside air temperature sensor 34 that are respectively detect the temperature of the outside air and the temperature of the inside air – See at least ¶ [0055])
an evaporator temperature sensor configured to determine a temperature of an evaporator; and (The evaporator 20 includes an evaporator temperature sensor 36 to detect a temperature of the evaporator 20 (hereinafter referred as an evaporator temperature). The evaporator temperature sensor 36 corresponds to an evaporator temperature detecting section. The evaporator temperature 36 also corresponds to a second temperature sensor – See at least ¶ [0056])
a controller configured to: (The air conditioner ECU 40 is an electronic control device to control the air conditioner 2 based on the outside air temperature, the inside air temperature, and the evaporator temperature respectively detected by the temperature sensors 32, 34, and 36, and control conditions such as the target temperature made by a user with the operational section 44 – See at least ¶ [0058])
control operation of the blower; (Specifically, the air conditioner ECU 40 executes various control processes including a switching control of the inside/outside air switching door 12, a rotation control of the blower 16, an operation control of the compressor 22, and a temperature control of the ventilation air by the air mix door 18 – See at least ¶ [0060])
analyze and determine a state of a filter (The CPU executes the programs stored in the ROM or the memory 42, and the air conditioner ECU 40 thereby executes the filter-degradation estimation process shown in FIG. 3 other than the above-mentioned controls – See at least ¶ [0066] and ¶ [0072]-[0076]) based on temperature information determined by the outside air temperature sensor and the evaporator temperature sensor, (When the compressor 22 is determined to be operated in S110, the process proceeds to S120. In S120, the evaporator temperature is sampled several times with intervals based on detecting signals of the evaporator temperature sensor 36. In following S130, a temperature change rate per unit time of the evaporator 20 (hereinafter referred as an evaporator temperature change rate or actual change-rate) is calculated based on the evaporator temperatures sampled in S120. Next, in S140, the evaporator temperature change rate in the normal filter 14 that is not clogged up is calculated as a standard change rate (i.e., an expected change-rate) based on the temperature of the intake air, operation levels of the blower 16 and the compressor 22 such as a rotation speed of the blower 16 and the rotation speed of the compressor 22. The air conditioner ECU 40 calculates the expected change-rate per unit time of the evaporator temperature based on the air temperature and operation levels of the blower and the compressor by using predetermined data corresponding to a properly functioning filter – See at least ¶ [0068]- [0069]) the air from outside the vehicle sucked by the blower sequentially passing through the filter (The air conditioner case 10 includes a filter 14 and a blower 16. The filter 14 cleans air conveyed to the vehicle cabin by removing dusts of the outside air and the inside air that are selectively drawn into the air conditioner case 10 through the inside/outside air switching door 12. The blower 16 draws the outside air and the inside air into the air conditioner case 10 through the filter 14 – See at least ¶ [0047]) and around the evaporator; and (The blower 16 draws the outside air and the inside air as ventilation air into the air conditioner case 10 by rotating a motor. The ventilation air drawn by the blower 16 is cooled and dehumidified in an evaporator 20, and conveyed toward the vehicle cabin – See at least ¶ [0048])
determine a filter replacement time based on the state of the filter. (the degradation degrees calculated when the compressor 22 is operated is successively stored in the memory 42, and with the past data of the degradation degree stored in the memory 42, the degradation trend of the filter 14 is calculated with predetermined intervals. In addition, the past data of the degradation trend are used to estimate the replacement period of the filter 14. Thus, even if the degradation trend of the filter 14 varies depending on seasons and operating environments, the replacement period of the filter 14 can be estimated according to the change of the degradation trend. Thus, the users can be informed about the replacement period of the filter 14 more accurately – See at least ¶ [0090]-[0091])
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Nakamura further teaches:
an information output device (The air conditioner ECU 40 is also in electrical connection with an operational section 44 with which a user makes various settings such as a target temperature in the vehicle cabin, and a display 46 to display operation states of the air conditioner 2, and the like – See at least ¶ [0057]) configured to output filter state information comprising filter replacement request information when the controller determines that a current state of the filter corresponds to the filter replacement time. (when the degradation degree of the filter 14 is determined to be out of the acceptable range at S160, the air conditioner ECU 40 determines that the filter 14 needs to be replaced, and the process proceeds to S170. In S170, the air conditioner ECU 40 outputs a signal indicating degradation of the filter. That is, an icon or a message to advice a user to replace the filter 14 is displayed on the display 46, and the user is thereby informed about the degradation of the filter 14 – See at least ¶ [0075])
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Nakamura further teaches:
wherein the filter replacement request information is information providing guidance on how to replace the filter, requesting filter replacement, or warning of a need for filter replacement. (when the degradation degree of the filter 14 is determined to be out of the acceptable range at S160, the air conditioner ECU 40 determines that the filter 14 needs to be replaced, and the process proceeds to S170. In S170, the air conditioner ECU 40 outputs a signal indicating degradation of the filter. That is, an icon or a message to advice a user to replace the filter 14 is displayed on the display 46, and the user is thereby informed about the degradation of the filter 14 – See at least ¶ [0075]; Examiner notes that the icon or message is warning of a need for filter replacement.)
Regarding claim 11, Nakamura discloses filter-degradation estimating device or vehicle air conditioner and teaches:
A method for monitoring a filter state of a heating, ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) system in a vehicle, the method comprising: (The invention is directed towards a filter monitoring method for a vehicle air conditioner – See at least abstract and Fig. 3; Further the system contains a ventilation system and a heating system – See at least ¶ [0048]-[0049])
initiating, by a controller, a filter checking mode; (The CPU executes the programs stored in the ROM or the memory 42, and the air conditioner ECU 40 thereby executes the filter-degradation estimation process shown in FIG. 3 other than the above-mentioned controls – See at least ¶ [0066])
operating, by the controller, a blower to suck and blow outside air based on the filter checking mode being initiated; (The blower 16 draws the outside air and the inside air as ventilation air into the air conditioner case 10 by rotating a motor – See at least ¶ [0048])
obtaining, by the controller, temperature information through an outside air temperature sensor configured to determine a temperature of the outside air sucked by the blower (The air conditioner 2 in this embodiment includes an outside air temperature sensor 32 and an inside air temperature sensor 34 that are respectively detect the temperature of the outside air and the temperature of the inside air – See at least ¶ [0055]) and an evaporator temperature sensor configured to determine a temperature of an evaporator, (The evaporator 20 includes an evaporator temperature sensor 36 to detect a temperature of the evaporator 20 (hereinafter referred as an evaporator temperature). The evaporator temperature sensor 36 corresponds to an evaporator temperature detecting section. The evaporator temperature 36 also corresponds to a second temperature sensor – See at least ¶ [0056]) based on the sucked outside air sequentially passing through a filter (The air conditioner case 10 includes a filter 14 and a blower 16. The filter 14 cleans air conveyed to the vehicle cabin by removing dusts of the outside air and the inside air that are selectively drawn into the air conditioner case 10 through the inside/outside air switching door 12. The blower 16 draws the outside air and the inside air into the air conditioner case 10 through the filter 14 – See at least ¶ [0047]) and around the evaporator; (The blower 16 draws the outside air and the inside air as ventilation air into the air conditioner case 10 by rotating a motor. The ventilation air drawn by the blower 16 is cooled and dehumidified in an evaporator 20, and conveyed toward the vehicle cabin – See at least ¶ [0048])
analyzing, by the controller, a state of the filter (The CPU executes the programs stored in the ROM or the memory 42, and the air conditioner ECU 40 thereby executes the filter-degradation estimation process shown in FIG. 3 other than the above-mentioned controls – See at least ¶ [0066] and ¶ [0072]-[0076]) based on the obtained temperature information; and (When the compressor 22 is determined to be operated in S110, the process proceeds to S120. In S120, the evaporator temperature is sampled several times with intervals based on detecting signals of the evaporator temperature sensor 36. In following S130, a temperature change rate per unit time of the evaporator 20 (hereinafter referred as an evaporator temperature change rate or actual change-rate) is calculated based on the evaporator temperatures sampled in S120. Next, in S140, the evaporator temperature change rate in the normal filter 14 that is not clogged up is calculated as a standard change rate (i.e., an expected change-rate) based on the temperature of the intake air, operation levels of the blower 16 and the compressor 22 such as a rotation speed of the blower 16 and the rotation speed of the compressor 22. The air conditioner ECU 40 calculates the expected change-rate per unit time of the evaporator temperature based on the air temperature and operation levels of the blower and the compressor by using predetermined data corresponding to a properly functioning filter – See at least ¶ [0068]- [0069])
determining, by the controller, a filter replacement time based on the state of the filter. (the degradation degrees calculated when the compressor 22 is operated is successively stored in the memory 42, and with the past data of the degradation degree stored in the memory 42, the degradation trend of the filter 14 is calculated with predetermined intervals. In addition, the past data of the degradation trend are used to estimate the replacement period of the filter 14. Thus, even if the degradation trend of the filter 14 varies depending on seasons and operating environments, the replacement period of the filter 14 can be estimated according to the change of the degradation trend. Thus, the users can be informed about the replacement period of the filter 14 more accurately – See at least ¶ [0090]-[0091])
Regarding claim 18, Nakamura further teaches:
when the outside air sucked by the blower sequentially passes through the filter (The air conditioner case 10 includes a filter 14 and a blower 16. The filter 14 cleans air conveyed to the vehicle cabin by removing dusts of the outside air and the inside air that are selectively drawn into the air conditioner case 10 through the inside/outside air switching door 12. The blower 16 draws the outside air and the inside air into the air conditioner case 10 through the filter 14 – See at least ¶ [0047]) and around the evaporator, (The blower 16 draws the outside air and the inside air as ventilation air into the air conditioner case 10 by rotating a motor. The ventilation air drawn by the blower 16 is cooled and dehumidified in an evaporator 20, and conveyed toward the vehicle cabin – See at least ¶ [0048]) the controller is set to obtain information representing the state of the filter based on: (The air conditioner ECU 40 is an electronic control device to control the air conditioner 2 based on the outside air temperature, the inside air temperature, and the evaporator temperature respectively detected by the temperature sensors 32, 34, and 36, and control conditions such as the target temperature made by a user with the operational section 44 – See at least ¶ [0058])
an initial evaporator temperature determined by the evaporator temperature sensor when the filter checking mode is initiated; (Specifically, as shown in FIGS. 2A, 2B, the air conditioner ECU 40 commands a drive instruction of the compressor 22 to turn on the compressor 22 when the evaporator temperature reaches the maximum temperature T2 during stopping the compressor 22 – See at least ¶ [0062]; Here the filter checking mode does not occur until the compressor is turned on. The compressor is activated when a maximum evaporator temperature T2 is reached. T2 is thus the initial evaporator temperature when the filter checking mode is initiated.)
a convergence temperature that is an evaporator temperature, determined by the evaporator temperature sensor, which no longer varies after variation from the initial evaporator temperature; (When the evaporator temperature decreases to the minimum temperature T1 by the operation of the compressor 22, the air conditioner ECU 40 withdraws the drive instruction of the compressor 22 to turn off the compressor 22 – See at least ¶ [0062]; Here the minimum evaporator temperature t1 is a convergence temperature.)
a convergence time taken for the evaporator temperature determined by the evaporator temperature sensor to reach the convergence temperature after varying from the initial evaporator temperature; and (In S120, the evaporator temperature is sampled several times with intervals based on detecting signals of the evaporator temperature sensor 36. In following S130, a temperature change rate per unit time of the evaporator 20 (hereinafter referred as an evaporator temperature change rate or actual change-rate) is calculated based on the evaporator temperatures sampled in S120 – See at least ¶ [0068] and Fig. 2 and Fig. 3)
an outside air temperature determined by the outside temperature sensor; and (Next, in S140, the evaporator temperature change rate in the normal filter 14 that is not clogged up is calculated as a standard change rate (i.e., an expected change-rate) based on the temperature of the intake air, operation levels of the blower 16 and the compressor 22 such as a rotation speed of the blower 16 and the rotation speed of the compressor 22. The air conditioner ECU 40 calculates the expected change - rate per unit time of the evaporator temperature based on the air temperature and operation levels of the blower and the compressor by using predetermined data corresponding to a properly functioning filter – See at least ¶ [0069])
the controller is configured to determine the filter replacement time based on the obtained information representing the state of the filter. (Next, in S160, the air conditioner ECU 40 deter mines whether the degradation degree of the filter 14 calculated at S150 falls within a predetermined acceptable range…when the degradation degree of the filter 14 is determined to be out of the acceptable range at S160, the air conditioner ECU 40 determines that the filter 14 needs to be replaced, and the process proceeds to S170. In S170, the air conditioner ECU 40 outputs a signal indicating degradation of the filter – See at least ¶ [0074]-[0075])
Regarding claim 19, Nakamura further teaches:
the controller is configured to determine, as the information representing the state of the filter, a thermal time constant (τ) at a time when the evaporator temperature reaches the convergence temperature after varying from the initial evaporator temperature under a current outside temperature condition, based on the initial evaporator temperature, the convergence temperature, the convergence time, and the outside air temperature; and (Specifically, as shown in FIGS. 2A, 2B, the air conditioner ECU 40 commands a drive instruction of the compressor 22 to turn on the compressor 22 when the evaporator temperature reaches the maximum temperature T2 during stopping the compressor 22. When the evaporator temperature decreases to the minimum temperature T1 by the operation of the compressor 22, the air conditioner ECU 40 withdraws the drive instruction of the compressor 22 to turn off the compressor 22. As shown in FIGS . 2A, 2B, a change rate dT per unit time of the evaporator temperature in driving the compressor 22 is larger in a degraded filter 14 with clogged than in a normal filter 14 without degradation. When the filter 14 is clogged up, the amount of air drawn into the air conditioner case 10 by the rotation of the blower 16 is reduced, thereby reducing an amount of heat in the intake air released to the evaporator 20. That is, when the filter 14 is clogged up, the evaporator 20 is cooled more rapidly by operating the compressor 22 than in normal. The air conditioner ECU 40 calculates the temperature change rate dT per unit time of the evaporator 20 during operating the compressor 22, compares the temperature change rate dT with a standard temperature change rate of the filter 14 in normal, and predicts the degradation degree of the filter 14 – See at least ¶ [0062]-[0065])
the controller is configured to determine that a current state of the filter corresponds to the filter replacement time when the thermal time constant satisfies a predetermined value. (The evaporator temperature change rate and the standard change rate are calculated at S130 and S140, and a difference therebetween is calculated in S150. The difference may be calculated by subtracting the evaporator temperature change rate from the standard change rate, That is, the air conditioner ECU 40 calculates a degradation degree of the filter by comparing the actual change-rate to the expected change rate. In S150, the calculated difference is stored in the memory 42 as a degradation degree indicating a degree of clogging up in the filter 14 – See at least ¶ [0073]; when the degradation degree of the filter 14 is determined to be out of the acceptable range at S160, the air conditioner ECU 40 determines that the filter 14 needs to be replaced, and the process proceeds to S170. In S170, the air conditioner ECU 40 outputs a signal indicating degradation of the filter – See at least ¶ [0075])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 5, 7-9, 14, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura, as applied to claims 1 and 11, and in further view of Karas et al. (US 10, 363, 510 B1, “Karas”).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Nakamura further teaches:
the controller is configured to enter a filter checking mode; and (As shown in FIG. 3, in the filter-degradation estimation process, the air conditioner ECU 40 determines whether the compressor 22 is operated by the operation control of the compressor 22 in S110…When the compressor 22 is determined to be operated in S110, the process proceeds to S120. In S120, the evaporator temperature is sampled several times with intervals based on detecting signals of the evaporator temperature sensor 36 – See at least ¶ [0067]-[0068])
the controller is configured to analyze the state of the filter (The CPU executes the programs stored in the ROM or the memory 42, and the air conditioner ECU 40 thereby executes the filter-degradation estimation process shown in FIG. 3 other than the above-mentioned controls – See at least ¶ [0066] and ¶ [0072]-[0076]) based on temperature information determined by the outside air temperature sensor (When the compressor 22 is determined to be operated in S110, the process proceeds to S120. In S120, the evaporator temperature is sampled several times with intervals based on detecting signals of the evaporator temperature sensor 36. In following S130, a temperature change rate per unit time of the evaporator 20 (hereinafter referred as an evaporator temperature change rate or actual change-rate) is calculated based on the evaporator temperatures sampled in S120. Next, in S140, the evaporator temperature change rate in the normal filter 14 that is not clogged up is calculated as a standard change rate (i.e., an expected change-rate) based on the temperature of the intake air, operation levels of the blower 16 and the compressor 22 such as a rotation speed of the blower 16 and the rotation speed of the compressor 22. The air conditioner ECU 40 calculates the expected change-rate per unit time of the evaporator temperature based on the air temperature and operation levels of the blower and the compressor by using predetermined data corresponding to a properly functioning filter – See at least ¶ [0068]- [0069]) and the evaporator temperature sensor (The blower 16 draws the outside air and the inside air as ventilation air into the air conditioner case 10 by rotating a motor. The ventilation air drawn by the blower 16 is cooled and dehumidified in an evaporator 20, and conveyed toward the vehicle cabin – See at least ¶ [0048]) when the controller enters the filter checking mode and operates the blower (The air conditioner case 10 includes a filter 14 and a blower 16. The filter 14 cleans air conveyed to the vehicle cabin by removing dusts of the outside air and the inside air that are selectively drawn into the air conditioner case 10 through the inside/outside air switching door 12. The blower 16 draws the outside air and the inside air into the air conditioner case 10 through the filter 14 – See at least ¶ [0047]) [].
Nakamura does not explicitly teach when the controller enters the filter checking mode and operates the blower upon ignition-off of the vehicle. However, Karas discloses climate control filter monitoring system and method of monitoring the useful life of a climate control system filter and teaches:
when the controller enters the filter checking mode and operates the blower upon ignition-off of the vehicle. (Optionally, the method may include the step of executing the testing only after determining, by the control module 12, that the ignition state of the motor vehicle incorporating the climate control system filter 16 is OFF. Toward this end, the controller 28 is adapted to receive ignition state data from the ignition state monitoring device 62 – See at least Col. 6, ln. 40-43; Examiner notes that the testing includes filter checking utilizing the blower – See at least Col. 5, ln. 8-15)
In summary, Nakamura teaches wherein: the controller is configured to enter a filter checking mode; and the controller is configured to analyze the state of the filter based on temperature information determined by the outside air temperature sensor and the evaporator temperature sensor when the controller enters the filter checking mode and operates the blower. Nakamura does not explicitly teach the engine state when the filter testing occurs. However, Karas discloses a climate control filter monitoring system and method of monitoring the useful life of a climate control filter and teaches that the filter testing occurs when the ignition is in the OFF state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the filter-degradation estimating device for vehicular air conditioner of Nakamura to provide for the climate control filter monitoring system and method of monitoring the useful life of a climate control system filter, as taught in Karas, to detect a missing filter which could cause damage to climate control systems. (At Col. 7, ln. 21-23)
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Nakamura does not explicitly teach, but Karas further teaches:
wherein the controller is configured to analyze the state of the filter when the controller enters the filter checking mode and operates the blower upon ignition-off of the vehicle (Optionally, the method may include the step of executing the testing only after determining, by the control module 12, that the ignition state of the motor vehicle incorporating the climate control system filter 16 is OFF. Toward this end, the controller 28 is adapted to receive ignition state data from the ignition state monitoring device 62 – See at least Col. 6, ln. 40-43) and controls an HVAC mode to be a full outside air mode. (The climate control filter monitoring system 10 includes a control module 12 adapted or configured to periodically set a climate control system 14 to a filter test configuration and indicate when the climate control system filter 16 needs changing or cleaning. As illustrated in Fig. 1, the climate control system filter 16 extends across the intake manifold 18 of the climate control 14 (a) upstream from the blower wheel 20 and blower motor 22 that drives the blower wheel and (b) downstream from the plurality of fresh/recirculating air doors 24a-24c that control the intake of air by the climate control system. More particularly, the fresh/recirculating air doors 24a and 24b 55 may be opened to provide for recirculation of air through the passenger compartment of the motor vehicle while airflow control door 24c may be opened to allow for the intake of fresh air into the climate control system 14 through the fresh air inlet duct 26 – See at least Col. 3, ln. 40-60; The filter test configuration is established by a particular positioning of the various fresh/recirculating air doors 24a-24c and operating mode control doors 38a-38c of the climate control system 14 as well as a particular setting for the blower motor 22 of the blower wheel 20 – See at least Col. 5, ln. 8-9)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the filter-degradation estimating device for vehicular air conditioner of Nakamura to provide for the climate control filter monitoring system and method of monitoring the useful life of a climate control system filter, as taught in Karas, to detect a missing filter which could cause damage to climate control systems. (At Col. 7, ln. 21-23)
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Nakamura does not explicitly teach, but Karas further teaches:
wherein the controller is configured to operate the blower when a state of charge (SoC) of a battery of the vehicle satisfies a predetermined SoC when the controller enters the filter checking mode. (the method may include the step of executing the testing only after determining, by the control module 12, the battery (not shown) of the motor vehicle incorporating the climate control system filter 16 has a charge greater than a predetermined value – See at least Col. 6, ln. 29-32)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the filter-degradation estimating device for vehicular air conditioner of Nakamura to provide for the climate control filter monitoring system and method of monitoring the useful life of a climate control system filter, as taught in Karas, to detect a missing filter which could cause damage to climate control systems. (At Col. 7, ln. 21-23)
Regarding claim 8, Nakamura further teaches:
when the controller enters the filter checking mode (As shown in FIG. 3, in the filter-degradation estimation process, the air conditioner ECU 40 determines whether the compressor 22 is operated by the operation control of the compressor 22 in S110…When the compressor 22 is determined to be operated in S110, the process proceeds to S120. In S120, the evaporator temperature is sampled several times with intervals based on detecting signals of the evaporator temperature sensor 36 – See at least ¶ [0067]-[0068]) such that the air from outside the vehicle sucked by the blower sequentially passes through the filter (The air conditioner case 10 includes a filter 14 and a blower 16. The filter 14 cleans air conveyed to the vehicle cabin by removing dusts of the outside air and the inside air that are selectively drawn into the air conditioner case 10 through the inside/outside air switching door 12. The blower 16 draws the outside air and the inside air into the air conditioner case 10 through the filter 14 – See at least ¶ [0047]) and around the evaporator, (The blower 16 draws the outside air and the inside air as ventilation air into the air conditioner case 10 by rotating a motor. The ventilation air drawn by the blower 16 is cooled and dehumidified in an evaporator 20, and conveyed toward the vehicle cabin – See at least ¶ [0048]) the controller obtains information representing the state of the filter based on: (The air conditioner ECU 40 is an electronic control device to control the air conditioner 2 based on the outside air temperature, the inside air temperature, and the evaporator temperature respectively detected by the temperature sensors 32, 34, and 36, and control conditions such as the target temperature made by a user with the operational section 44 – See at least ¶ [0058])
an initial evaporator temperature determined by the evaporator temperature sensor when the filter checking mode is initiated; (Specifically, as shown in FIGS. 2A, 2B, the air conditioner ECU 40 commands a drive instruction of the compressor 22 to turn on the compressor 22 when the evaporator temperature reaches the maximum temperature T2 during stopping the compressor 22 – See at least ¶ [0062]; Here the filter checking mode does not occur until the compressor is turned on. The compressor is activated when a maximum evaporator temperature T2 is reached. T2 is thus the initial evaporator temperature when the filter checking mode is initiated.)
a convergence temperature that is an evaporator temperature, determined by the evaporator temperature sensor, which no longer varies after variation from the initial evaporator temperature; (When the evaporator temperature decreases to the minimum temperature T1 by the operation of the compressor 22, the air conditioner ECU 40 withdraws the drive instruction of the compressor 22 to turn off the compressor 22 – See at least ¶ [0062]; Here the minimum evaporator temperature t1 is a convergence temperature.)
a convergence time taken for the evaporator temperature determined by the evaporator temperature sensor to reach the convergence temperature after varying from the initial evaporator temperature; and (In S120, the evaporator temperature is sampled several times with intervals based on detecting signals of the evaporator temperature sensor 36. In following S130, a temperature change rate per unit time of the evaporator 20 (hereinafter referred as an evaporator temperature change rate or actual change-rate) is calculated based on the evaporator temperatures sampled in S120 – See at least ¶ [0068] and Fig. 2 and Fig. 3)
an outside air temperature determined by the outside temperature sensor; and (Next, in S140, the evaporator temperature change rate in the normal filter 14 that is not clogged up is calculated as a standard change rate (i.e. an expected change-rate) based on the temperature of the intake air, operation levels of the blower 16 and the compressor 22 such as a rotation speed of the blower 16 and the rotation speed of the compressor 22. The air conditioner ECU 40 calculates the expected change-rate per unit time of the evaporator temperature based on the air temperature and operation levels of the blower and the compressor by using predetermined data corresponding to a properly functioning filter – See at least ¶ [0069])
the controller is configured to determine the filter replacement time based on the obtained information representing the state of the filter. (Next, in S160, the air conditioner ECU 40 deter mines whether the degradation degree of the filter 14 calculated at S150 falls within a predetermined acceptable range…when the degradation degree of the filter 14 is determined to be out of the acceptable range at S160, the air conditioner ECU 40 determines that the filter 14 needs to be replaced, and the process proceeds to S170. In S170, the air conditioner ECU 40 outputs a signal indicating degradation of the filter – See at least ¶ [0074]-[0075])
Regarding claim 9, Nakamura further teaches:
the controller is configured to determine, as the information representing the state of the filter, a thermal time constant (τ) at a time when the evaporator temperature reaches the convergence temperature after varying from the initial evaporator temperature under a current outside temperature condition, based on the initial evaporator temperature, the convergence temperature, the convergence time, and the outside air temperature; and (Specifically, as shown in FIGS. 2A, 2B, the air conditioner ECU 40 commands a drive instruction of the compressor 22 to turn on the compressor 22 when the evaporator temperature reaches the maximum temperature T2 during stopping the compressor 22. When the evaporator temperature decreases to the minimum temperature T1 by the operation of the compressor 22, the air conditioner ECU 40 withdraws the drive instruction of the compressor 22 to turn off the compressor 22. As shown in FIGS . 2A , 2B , a change rate dT per unit time of the evaporator temperature in driving the compressor 22 is larger in a degraded filter 14 with clogged than in a normal filter 14 without degradation. When the filter 14 is clogged up, the amount of air drawn into the air conditioner case 10 by the rotation of the blower 16 is reduced , thereby reducing an amount of heat in the intake air released to the evaporator 20. That is, when the filter 14 is clogged up, the evaporator 20 is cooled more rapidly by operating the compressor 22 than in normal. The air conditioner ECU 40 calculates the temperature change rate dT per unit time of the evaporator 20 during operating the compressor 22, compares the temperature change rate dT with a standard temperature change rate of the filter 14 in normal, and predicts the degradation degree of the filter 14 – See at least ¶ [0062]-[0065])
the controller is configured to determine that a current state of the filter corresponds to the filter replacement time when the thermal time constant satisfies a predetermined value. (The evaporator temperature change rate and the standard change rate are calculated at S130 and S140, and a difference therebetween is calculated in S150. The difference may be calculated by subtracting the evaporator temperature change rate from the standard change rate, That is, the air conditioner ECU 40 calculates a degradation degree of the filter by comparing the actual change-rate to the expected change rate. In S150, the calculated difference is stored in the memory 42 as a degradation degree indicating a degree of clogging up in the filter 14 – See at least ¶ [0073]; when the degradation degree of the filter 14 is determined to be out of the acceptable range at S160, the air conditioner ECU 40 determines that the filter 14 needs to be replaced, and the process proceeds to S170. In S170, the air conditioner ECU 40 outputs a signal indicating degradation of the filter – See at least ¶ [0075])
Claim(s) 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura in view of Karas, as applied to claims 4 and 14, and in further view of Corvetteforum.com (is afterblow already enabled?, “CorvetteForum”).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, the combination of Nakamura and Karas does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to enter the filter checking mode only when heating or cooling has been performed before ignition-off of the vehicle. However, CorvetteForum discloses an afterblow process and teaches:
wherein the controller is configured to enter the filter checking mode only when heating or cooling has been performed before ignition-off of the vehicle. (After the HVAC control module has been programmed for afterblow, the following conditions must be met for afterblow to operate:•The engine has been turned OFF for at least 30 minutes.•The ambient air temperature is at least 21°C (70°F).•The A/C compressor operated for more than 2 minutes before shut down.•The system voltage is at least 12 volts.Once the above conditions have been met, the following sequence of events will occur: 1. The blower motor will RUN for 20 seconds. 2. The blower motor will be OFF for 10 minutes. 3. The blower motor will RUN for an additional 20 seconds.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the filter-degradation estimating device for vehicular air conditioner of Nakamura and Karas to provide for the afterblow process, as taught in CorvetteForum, to reduce the amount of microbial growth that can create undesirable odors. (At CorvetteForum pg. 1)
Claim(s) 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura in view of Karas, as applied to claims 4 and 14, and in further view of Bahrami (Transient Heat Conduction, “Bahrami”).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, the combination of Nakamura and Karas does not explicitly teach determining the thermal time constant based on Expression 1. However, Bahrami discloses transient heat conduction lumped system analysis and teaches:
wherein the thermal time constant is determined based on the initial evaporation temperature, the convergence temperature, the convergence time, and the outside air temperature in accordance with Expression 1 as follows: [Expression 1]
where, “τ” represents the thermal time constant, “Tout” represents the outside air temperature, “TEVA” represents the initial evaporator temperature, “Ttime” represents the convergence temperature, and “∆Time” represents the convergence time. (the time required for a junction to reach T may be found using the following equation:
)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the filter-degradation estimating device for vehicular air conditioner of Nakamura and Karas to provide for the transient heat conduction lumped system analysis, as taught in Bahrami, because lumped system analysis approximation provides a great convenience in heat transfer analysis. (At Col. 7, ln. 21-23)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Han (US 2023/0145923 A1) discloses a vehicle and control method thereof and teaches performing an afterblow operation for preventing odor and mold growth in an air conditioner of the vehicle 10 by drying an air vent using an air conditioner motor. (¶ [0114])
/CHASE L COOLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3662