DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 20 (Fig. 20) in the reply filed on 03/13/2026 is acknowledged, the applicant asserting that Species 20 (Fig. 20) reads on claims 1-20, and that claims 8-9, and 11-14 are generic to all species. The traversal is on the ground(s) that, the “Applicant respectfully notes that each of the indicated species relates to initiator for a perforating gun. Thus, Applicant believes that all species can be searched within the same class and subclass. The Examiner has not provided any explanation or evidence of why any of these species would require a different field of search, and instead merely presents a conclusory statement without any factual findings in support of such a conclusion. Accordingly, it is believed that there is no undue or serious burden and, on this basis, Applicant respectfully requests the Examiner to withdraw the restriction requirement”. This is not found persuasive because the search for the species as claimed is not limited to an initiator head configured for a perforating gun in E21B 43/1185 but extends to explosive initiator heads with printed circuit boards, F42B 3/10, 3/195, 3/198, and potentially in other technology areas such as blasting and safety systems in automotives, in sealed electronic housings for shock/vibration environments, molded or potted electronics using silicone/epoxy encapsulation, and a myriad of other potential technology areas. Searching for all the Species would require the formulation of species-specific search queries and/or the prior art applicable to one species would not likely be applicable to another species.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 19 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species (Species 22, Fig. 22), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 03/13/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 3, in line 2, it is unclear whether the “hole therethrough” refers to the “hole therethrough” previously recited in claim 2, line 2, or to a different hole?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EITSCHBERGER et al. (US 2022/0307330 A1).
Regarding claim 1, EITSCHBERGER et al. disclose an initiator head (Figs. 1, 14 and 16) comprising a housing 201 including: a first housing piece 240 defining an interior chamber; and a second housing piece 230 covering the interior chamber; a circuit board 210 supported in the interior chamber; an insulating material 606, 706 (Figs. 14, 16) provided in the interior chamber and covering the circuit board 210; and a line-in terminal 212 coupled to the circuit board.
Regarding claim 2, EITSCHBERGER et al. disclose that the housing defines a hole therethrough (Figs. 1, 14 and 16) in fluid communication with the interior chamber; and the hole is defined in the second housing piece 230 (in the center of the second housing for accessing the line-in terminal 212; Figs. 1, 14 and 16).
Regarding claim 3, EITSCHBERGER et al. disclose that the housing defines a hole therethrough in fluid communication with the interior chamber; and the second housing piece 230 includes a plate 232, the plate defining the hole therethrough (Figs. 1, 14 and 16).
Regarding claim 4, EITSCHBERGER et al. disclose that the first housing piece 240 includes: a base 242; and a wall extending upwardly from an outer periphery of the base 242, the plate 232 of the second housing piece 230 being engaged with the wall of the first housing piece 240 (Figs. 1, 14 and 16).
Regarding claim 5, EITSCHBERGER et al. disclose that the plate 232 of the second housing piece 230 is parallel with and axially spaced from the base 242 of the first housing piece 240.
Regarding claim 7, EITSCHBERGER et al. disclose that the housing 201, 230 defines a hole therethrough in fluid communication with the interior chamber; and the hole defines a central axis therethrough, the central axis being perpendicular to a plane defined by the circuit board (Figs. 1, 14 and 16).
Regarding claim 8, EITSCHBERGER et al. disclose an initiator head 200 comprising: a first housing piece 240; a circuit board 210 supported on the first housing piece; a line-in terminal 212 coupled to the circuit board 210; and a second housing piece 230 in contact with and covering a top surface of the circuit board; wherein the circuit board 210 is positioned between the first housing piece 240 and the second housing piece 230 (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, EITSCHBERGER et al. disclose that the first housing piece 240 includes: a base 242; and a wall extending away from an outer periphery of the base 242 (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, EITSCHBERGER et al. disclose that the circuit board 210 is supported by a ledge of the first housing piece 240 in spaced relation from the base 242 (Fig. 14).
Regarding claim 11, EITSCHBERGER et al. disclose that the line-in terminal 212 is exposed through an opening in the second housing piece 230 (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, EITSCHBERGER et al. disclose that the second housing piece 230 is engaged with and conforms to the wall of the first housing piece 240 and the circuit board 210.
Regarding claim 14, EITSCHBERGER et al. disclose the second housing piece 230 may comprise an insulating material (see paragraph [0039] – the housing 201 may be formed of an insulating material).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EITSCHBERGER et al. (US 2022/0307330 A1).
EITSCHBERGER et al. disclose an initiator head (Figs. 1, 14 and 16) comprising a housing 201 including: a first housing piece 240 defining an interior chamber; and a second housing piece 230 covering the interior chamber; a circuit board 210 supported in the interior chamber; an insulating material 606, 706 (Figs. 14, 16) provided in the interior chamber and covering the circuit board 210; and a line-in terminal 212 coupled to the circuit board.
Regarding claim 6, EITSCHBERGER et al. do not disclose that the insulating material 606, 706 (Figs. 14, 16) comprises silicone or epoxy. To form the EITSCHBERGER et al. insulating material of silicone or epoxy would have been an obvious material for a POSITA to try before the effective filing date of the invention, the motivation being to avail of the workability of silicone or epoxy prior to curing.
Regarding claim 13, EITSCHBERGER et al. disclose that the housing 201 (pieces 240 and 230) may be formed of an insulating material (see paragraph [0039]), but does not specifically disclose that the second housing piece 230 is fabricated from a softer material than the first housing piece. To form the second housing piece from a softer material than the first housing piece would have been obvious to a POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention, the motivation being to ease the press-fit securement of second piece 230 within the first piece 240.
Double Patenting
Claims 15-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,287,182 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 15-18 of the instant application are anticipated by or obvious in view of claims 1-3 of the ‘182 patent.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. see the attached PTO-FORM 892.
/JAMES S BERGIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641