DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Applicant’s preliminary amendment filed on March 31, 2025. As set forth therein, claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 12, 14, 16-19, and 21 are amended and claim 20 is canceled. Claims 1-19 and 21 are pending.
Reissue Applications
For reissue applications filed before September 16, 2012, all references to 35 U.S.C. 251 and 37 CFR 1.172, 1.175, and 3.73 are to the law and rules in effect on September 15, 2012. Where specifically designated, these are “pre-AIA ” provisions.
For reissue applications filed on or after September 16, 2012, all references to 35 U.S.C. 251 and 37 CFR 1.172, 1.175, and 3.73 are to the current provisions.
Applicant is reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.178(b), to timely apprise the Office of any prior or concurrent proceeding in which Patent No. 11,622,290 is or was involved. These proceedings would include any trial before the Patent Trial and Appeal Board, interferences, reissues, reexaminations, supplemental examinations, and litigation.
Applicant is further reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.56, to timely apprise the Office of any information which is material to patentability of the claims under consideration in this reissue application.
These obligations rest with each individual associated with the filing and prosecution of this application for reissue. See also MPEP §§ 1404, 1442.01 and 1442.04.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 10, 12, 14, 16-19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. US Patent Pub. 2018/01993591 in view of Park et al. US Patent Pub. 2014/0328230.
Regarding claim 1:
A method performed by a network node associated with a cell in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
With reference to Figure 2C and paragraph [0100], Cao discloses a base station 283 having a coverage area 281 (cell) (see also paragraph [0088]). See the abstract which discloses that RRC signaling (wireless communication) is used to provide information from a base station to a user equipment. See also paragraph [0002].
selecting one or more candidate time-frequency resource locations for a common control channel [utilized in the cell];
Cao disclose that a base station grants uplink resources and an example of an uplink link resource is a set of time-frequency locations in an uplink OFDMA frame. See paragraph [0005]. See also paragraphs [0106] and [0112]. As set forth in paragraph [0120], the UE can be assigned time-frequency resource. Thus, the time-frequence resources are selected. See also paragraph [0317] which discloses that the time-frequency resources are transmitted via a common control channel.
generating resource location information identifying the one or more candidate time-frequency resource locations [selected] for the common control channel [utilized in the cell];
With reference to Figure 5A and paragraph [0330], predefined time-frequency locations of 20 CTU regions in each frame are indexed. Cao discloses that if the time-frequency location is known and if the UE knows the index, it can find the physical time and frequency location of the region to access. See also Table 6 and 7 and paragraph [0331]. As set forth above, the resource location information is for the common control channel since it is transmitted to the UE via the common control channel.
transmitting the resource location information to one or more user equipment (UE) [and/] or one or more other network nodes; and
Cao discloses in paragraph [0410] of the transmission by a network entity, a transmission resource assignment to a user equipment. Cao discloses that the resource assignment includes an index. See also paragraphs [0106] and [0317].
dynamically reconfigure a time slot configuration in use by one or more UEs by transmitting control signaling to the one or more UEs over the [selected time-frequency resource] common control channel,
As explained in paragraph [0351], the subframe/time location index of the resource allocation pattern may be shuffled to improve the time-frequency resource usage and/or communication efficiency, for example to maximize frequency diversity. Cao explains that by using an equation for the time-frequency assignment, the time slot may be shuffled (i.e. dynamically reconfigured). See paragraphs [0351-0354]. See paragraph [0452] which discloses that the update on the index can be transmitted through a common control channel. See also paragraph [0317].
wherein the control signaling comprises information about a slot format that is indicative of [whether a certain slot is uplink or downlink, and] which portion of a slot is reserved for uplink or downlink transmission.
Cao, as set forth above, discloses of uplink transmission information that is signaled to the user equipment. However, to the extent it is consider that the information is not indicative of which portion of a slot is reserved for uplink or downlink transmission, the Examiner finds that it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include this information.
For example, Park is directed to managing communications in an OFDMA communication network (see paragraph [0027]). Park further teaches of the transmission of control information (downlink control information) which is transmitted to the UE by the base station. See paragraph [0074]. As set forth in paragraph [0074], transport format and resource allocation information is transmitted with respect to individual UEs in a UE group. Park also discloses that the subframe includes two slots and that the slots may include difference number of symbols. With respect to Table 2 (paragraph [0066]-[0067]) and paragraph [0063], Park explains that each half-frame denotes both subframes reserved for downlink transmission and uplink transmission. See also paragraph [0073]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include uplink or downlink information which is reserved via the control signaling information as disclosed by Park. The Examiner finds that both Cao and Park pertain to LTE systems as well as the use of the OFDMA method and thus are both in the same field of endeavor. The Examiner finds that both Cao and Park discloses the transmission of DCI to UEs and the inclusion of information pertaining to slots. Cao also discloses of performing uplink and downlink communications. Therefore, it would have been predictable to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide information regarding which slots are reserved for uplink or downlink so that the UE will be able to be informed as to which slots are able for both uplink and downlink communications and to use that information for communicating with the base station. As explained by Park in paragraph [0026], the uplink and downlink information s allows UE to receive information from the base station via a downlink and transmit information via an uplink.
Regarding claim 2:
The method of claim 1, wherein the control signaling comprises an uplink opportunity indicator, the uplink opportunity indicator identifying a time period during which an uplink transmission opportunity exists for the one or more UEs.
As set forth in paragraphs [0331-0333], a frame represents a time period where a resource may start to repeat itself of change based on a predefined rule. Cao discloses that the UE may be able to access one or more grant free access opportunities every unit time. Thus, the UE receives an ‘uplink opportunity indicator’ which identifies a time period. See also paragraph [0115]
Regarding claim 3:
The method of claim 2, further comprising receiving a channel state indicator (CSI) report [and/]or scheduling request (SR) transmitted during the identified time period by at least one of the one or more UEs responsive to transmitting the control signaling comprising the uplink opportunity indicator.
As set forth in paragraph [0126], the UE can start to transmit data using grant-based transmissions by scheduling request (SR) and DCI signaling. See also paragraph [0127].
Regarding claim 10:
The method of claim 1, wherein the control signaling comprises multicast or broadcast signals.
Cao discloses that the control signaling comprises broadcast signals. See paragraph [0121], [0261] and [0317].
Regarding claim 12:
The method of claim 1, further comprising generating configuration information for the common control channel, the configuration information including values for a numerology, a periodicity, a modulation scheme, a payload size, a code rate, a multi-antenna scheme, [and/]or fallback values to be used as configuration information values where current configuration information is unavailable.
Cao in paragraph [0375] discloses that the message transmitted to the UE can include different numerology. In paragraph [0133], Cao discloses that the UL field defines the periodicity of the resource pattern. See also paragraph [0134]. In paragraph [0246], Cao discloses of a modulation and coding scheme that is implemented. See also paragraph [0047]. See paragraph [0253] which discloses the consideration of the payload size.
Regarding claim 14:
The method of claim 1, wherein the resource location information is transmitted to the one or more UEs via one or more system information blocks (SIBs), one or more master information blocks (MIBs), one or more master system information blocks (MSIBs), dedicated radio resource control (RRC) signaling, [and/]or media access control (MAC) signaling.
As set forth in paragraph [0009], the system information may be transmitted by the BS using RRC signaling.
Regarding claim 16:
The method of claim 1, wherein the resource location information identifies one or more control channel elements (CCEs), one or more resource element groups (REGs), [and/]or one or more resource elements (REs).
Cao in paragraph [0111] discloses that the search space location of DCI may be provided by an index of potential control channel elements (CCEs) in each subframe. As explained in paragraph [0112], the format may be a time-frequency region within which the UE should search for all CCEs.
In the alternative, the Examiner also finds that with reference to paragraph [0074] of Park, Park discloses that the resource allocation information is part of the PDCCH and that the PDCCH is transmitted as an aggregate of one or more consecutive control channel elements (CCEs) and that the CCE corresponds to a plurality of resource element groups. As set forth above in claim 1 ,both Cao and Park pertain to resource information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to identify a control channel element or a resource element group. As explained by Park, the CCEs is a logical allocation unit used to provide a coding rate based on a radio channel state to the PDCCH. Since both Cao and Park are directed to the same type of communication system, it would have been predictable for a person of ordinary skill in the art to identify CCEs since it provides information for the UE to use in communicating with the network.
Regarding claim 17:
The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more candidate time-frequency resource locations spans a plurality of slots [and/]or a plurality of transmission occurrences over the common control channel.
As set forth in paragraph [0136], the resource can span multiple slots. See also paragraph [0321-0322].
Regarding claim 18:
A method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
With reference to Figure 2a and paragraph [0094], Cao discloses an electronic device (user equipment) in communication with a base station. See Figure 2C which illustrates both the electronic device and the a base station within a wireless communication system. See also paragraphs [0095] and [0100]. See also paragraph [0002].
receiving resource location information from a network node, the resource location information identifying one or more candidate time-frequency resource locations [selected by the base station] for a common control channel [utilized in a cell];
Cao disclose that a base station grants uplink resources and an example of an uplink link resource is a set of time-frequency locations in an uplink OFDMA frame. See paragraph [0005]. See also paragraphs [0106] and [0112]. As set forth in paragraph [0120], the UE can be assigned time-frequency resource. See also paragraph [0317] which discloses that the time-frequency resources are transmitted via a common control channel to the UE and thus are received from a network node (base station). See also paragraphs [0106] and [0317]
monitoring the one or more [of the] candidate time-frequency resource locations for control signaling communicated over the common control channel; and
As set forth in paragraph [0127], the UE will monitor constantly the DCI signaling from the base station. See also paragraphs [0194] and [0297].
receiving the control signaling from the network node in one of the [selected] candidate time frequency resource locations; and
Cao discloses in paragraph [0410] of the transmission by a network entity, a transmission resource assignment to a user equipment. Cao discloses that the resource assignment includes an index. See also paragraphs [0106] and [0317]
dynamically reconfigure a time slot configuration responsive to the control signaling received from the network node on the common control channel [over the identified time-frequency resource],
As explained in paragraph [0351], the subframe/time location index of the resource allocation pattern may be shuffled to improve the time-frequency resource usage and/or communication efficiency, for example to maximize frequency diversity. Cao explains that by using an equation for the time-frequency assignment, the time slot may be shuffled (i.e. dynamically reconfigured). See paragraphs [0351-0354]. See paragraph [0452] which discloses that the update on the index can be transmitted through a common control channel. See also paragraph [0317].
wherein the control signaling comprises information about a slot format that is indicative of [whether a certain slot is uplink or downlink, and] which portion of a slot is reserved for uplink or downlink transmission.
Cao as set forth above discloses of uplink transmission information that is signaled to the user equipment. However, to the extent it is consider that the information is not indicative of which portion of a slot is reserved for uplink or downlink transmission, the Examiner finds that it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include this information.
For example, Park is directed to managing communications in an OFDMA communication network (see paragraph [0027]). Park further teaches of the transmission of control information (downlink control information) which is transmitted to the UE by the base station. See paragraph [0074]. As set forth in paragraph [0074], transport format and resource allocation information is transmitted with respect to individual UEs in a UE group. Park also discloses that the subframe includes two slots and that the slots may include difference number of symbols. With respect to Table 2 (paragraph [0066]-[0067]) and paragraph [0063], Park explains that each half-frame denotes both subframes reserved for downlink transmission and uplink transmission. See also paraph [0073]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include uplink or downlink information which is reserved via the control signaling information as disclosed by Park. The Examiner finds that both Cao and Park pertain to LTE systems as well as the use of the OFDMA method and thus are both in the same field of endeavor. The Examiner finds that both Cao and Park discloses the transmission of DCI to UEs and the inclusion of information pertaining to slots. Cao also discloses of performing uplink and downlink communications. Therefore, it would have been predictable to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide information regarding which slots are reserved for uplink or downlink so that the UE will be able to be informed as to which slots are able for both uplink and downlink communications and to use that information for communicating with the base station.
Regarding claim 19:
A network node associated with a cell in a wireless communication system, the network node comprising: processing circuitry; memory containing instructions executable by the processing circuitry whereby the network node is operative to:
With reference to Figure 2C and paragraph [0100], Cao discloses a base station 283 having a coverage area 281 (cell) (see also paragraph [0088]). See also the abstract which discloses that RRC signaling (wireless communication) is used to provide information from a base station to a user equipment. See also Figure 2B which discloses the base station (network node) comprises a processing unit and a memory. See paragraphs [0098] and [0482].
select[ing] one or more candidate time-frequency resource locations for a common control channel;
Cao disclose that a base station grants uplink resources and an example of an uplink link resource is a set of time-frequency locations in an uplink OFDMA frame. See paragraph [0005]. See also paragraphs [0106] and [0112]. As set forth in paragraph [0120], the UE can be assigned time-frequency resource. Thus, the time-frequence resources are selected. See also paragraph [0317] which discloses that the time-frequency resources are transmitted via a common control channel.
generate resource location information identifying the one or more candidate time-frequency resource locations [selected] for the common control channel [utilized in the cell];
With reference to Figure 5A and paragraph [0330], predefined time-frequency locations of 20 CTU regions in each frame are indexed. Cao discloses that if the time-frequency location is known and if the UE knows the index, it can find the physical time and frequency location of the region to access. See also Table 6 and 7 and paragraph [0331].
transmit the resource location information to one or more user equipment[, UE,]UE[and/]or one or more other network nodes; and
Cao discloses in paragraph [0410] of the transmission by a network entity, a transmission resource assignment to a user equipment. Cao discloses that the resource assignment includes an index. See also paragraphs [0106] and [0317]
dynamically reconfigure a time slot configuration in use by one or more UEs by transmitting control signaling to the one or more UEs over the [selected time-frequency resource] common control channel,
As explained in paragraph [0351], the subframe/time location index of the resource allocation pattern may be shuffled to improve the time-frequency resource usage and/or communication efficiency, for example to maximize frequency diversity. Cao explains that by using an equation for the time-frequency assignment, the time slot may be shuffled (i.e. dynamically reconfigured). See paragraphs [0351-0354]. See paragraph [0452] which discloses that the update on the index can be transmitted through a common control channel. See also paragraph [0317].
wherein the control signaling comprises information about a slot format that is indicative of [whether a certain slot is uplink or downlink, and] which portion of a slot is reserved for uplink or downlink transmission.
Cao as set forth above discloses of uplink transmission information that is signaled to the user equipment. However, to the extent it is consider that the information is not indicative of which portion of a slot is reserved for uplink or downlink transmission, the Examiner finds that it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include this information.
For example, Park is directed to managing communications in an OFDMA communication network (see paragraph [0027]). Park further teaches of the transmission of control information (downlink control information) which is transmitted to the UE by the base station. See paragraph [0074]. As set forth in paragraph [0074], transport format and resource allocation information is transmitted with respect to individual UEs in a UE group. Park also discloses that the subframe includes two slots and that the slots may include difference number of symbols. With respect to Table 2 (paragraph [0066]-[0067]) and paragraph [0063], Park explains that each half-frame denotes both subframes reserved for downlink transmission and uplink transmission. See also paraph [0073]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include uplink or downlink information which is reserved via the control signaling information as disclosed by Park. The Examiner finds that both Cao and Park pertain to LTE systems as well as the use of the OFDMA method and thus are both in the same field of endeavor. The Examiner finds that both Cao and Park discloses the transmission of DCI to UEs and the inclusion of information pertaining to slots. Cao also discloses of performing uplink and downlink communications. Therefore, it would have been predictable to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide information regarding which slots are reserved for uplink or downlink so that the UE will be able to be informed as to which slots are able for both uplink and downlink communications and to use that information for communicating with the base station.
Regarding claim 21:
A user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising: processing circuitry; memory containing instructions executable by the processing circuitry whereby the UE is operative to:
With reference to Figure 2a and paragraph [0094], Cao discloses an electronic device (user equipment) in communication with a base station. See Figure 2C which illustrates both the electronic device and the a base station within a wireless communication system. See also paragraphs [0095] and [0100]. As illustrated in Figure 2A, the UE includes both a processing unit and a memory. See also paragraph [0483]
receive resource location information from a network node, the resource location information identifying one or more candidate time-frequency resource locations [selected by the base station] for a common control channel [utilized in a cell];
Cao disclose that a base station grants uplink resources and an example of an uplink link resource is a set of time-frequency locations in an uplink OFDMA frame. See paragraph [0005]. See also paragraphs [0106] and [0112]. As set forth in paragraph [0120], the UE can be assigned time-frequency resource. See also paragraph [0317] which discloses that the time-frequency resources are transmitted via a common control channel to the UE and thus are received from a network node (base station). See also paragraphs [0106] and [0317]
monitor the one or more candidate time-frequency resource locations for control signaling communicated over the common control channel; [and]
As set forth in paragraph [0127], the UE will monitor constantly the DCI signaling from the base station. See also paragraphs [0194] and [0297].
receive the control signaling from the network node in one of the candidate time frequency resource locations; and
Cao discloses in paragraph [0410] of the transmission by a network entity, a transmission resource assignment to a user equipment. Cao discloses that the resource assignment includes an index. See also paragraphs [0106] and [0317]
dynamically reconfigure a time slot configuration [in use by the UE] responsive to the control signaling received from the network node on the common control channel [in one of the selected candidate time frequency resource locations],
As explained in paragraph [0351], the subframe/time location index of the resource allocation pattern may be shuffled to improve the time-frequency resource usage and/or communication efficiency, for example to maximize frequency diversity. Cao explains that by using an equation for the time-frequency assignment, the time slot may be shuffled (i.e. dynamically reconfigured). See paragraphs [0351-0354]. See paragraph [0452] which discloses that the update on the index can be transmitted through a common control channel. See also paragraph [0317].
wherein the control signaling comprises information about a slot format that is indicative of [whether a certain slot is uplink or downlink, and] which portion of a slot is reserved for uplink or downlink transmission.
Cao as set forth above discloses of uplink transmission information that is signaled to the user equipment. However, to the extent it is consider that the information is not indicative of which portion of a slot is reserved for uplink or downlink transmission, the Examiner finds that it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include this information.
For example, Park is directed to managing communications in an OFDMA communication network (see paragraph [0027]). Park further teaches of the transmission of control information (downlink control information) which is transmitted to the UE by the base station. See paragraph [0074]. As set forth in paragraph [0074], transport format and resource allocation information is transmitted with respect to individual UEs in a UE group. Park also discloses that the subframe includes two slots and that the slots may include difference number of symbols. With respect to Table 2 (paragraph [0066]-[0067]) and paragraph [0063], Park explains that each half-frame denotes both subframes reserved for downlink transmission and uplink transmission. See also paraph [0073]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include uplink or downlink information which is reserved via the control signaling information as disclosed by Park. The Examiner finds that both Cao and Park pertain to LTE systems as well as the use of the OFDMA method and thus are both in the same field of endeavor. The Examiner finds that both Cao and Park discloses the transmission of DCI to UEs and the inclusion of information pertaining to slots. Cao also discloses of performing uplink and downlink communications. Therefore, it would have been predictable to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide information regarding which slots are reserved for uplink or downlink so that the UE will be able to be informed as to which slots are able for both uplink and downlink communications and to use that information for communicating with the base station.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. US Patent Pub. 2018/0199359 in view of Park et al. US Patent Pub. 2014/0328230 and further in view of Cheng et al. US Patent Pub. 2015/0223245.
Regarding claim 4:
The method of claim 1, wherein the control signaling comprises a measurement opportunity indicator, the measurement opportunity indicator identifying a time period during which a UE measurement opportunity exists for the one or more UEs.
Cao does not specifically disclose that the control signaling comprises a measurement opportunity indicator which identifies a time period during which a UE measurement opportunity exits.
Nonetheless, Cheng discloses that it was known for a transmission to a UE to specify a time period between successive transmission which enables the UE to make resource measurements. See paragraph [0006]. See also paragraph [0039] where Cheng discloses that the time period includes multiple subframes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to identity a time period during which a UE measurement opportunity exists for the UE. As explained by Cheng, a specific time period is identified for allowing the UE to make measurements. As explained in paragraph [0063], it is beneficial for a UE to perform measurements based on the DRS signal since significant system gain can be achieved.
Regarding claim 5:
The method of claim 4, wherein the measurement opportunity indicator identifies the time period as one or more slots, one or more subframes, [and/]or one or more symbols.
As set forth above in claim 4, Cheng disclose the indication or a time period as multiple subframes. See paragraph [0039].
Regarding claim 6:
The method of claim 4, wherein the measurement opportunity indicator identifies one or more reference signals to be measured by a UE during the time period.
As set forth above in claim 4, Cheng discloses the UE measures radio resource management measurements. See paragraph [0039] which discloses the time period between successive common reference signals. As set forth in paragraph [0147] reference signals are used for measurements.
Regarding claim 8:
The method of claim 4, further comprising receiving one or more measurement reports from the one or more UEs responsive to transmitting the measurement opportunity indicator.
As set forth in paragraph [0059] of Cheng, measurement reports are received from the UE. See also paragraphs [0108] and [0138].
Claim(s) 7, 9, 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. US Patent Pub. 2018/0199359 in view of Park et al. US Patent Pub. 2014/0328230 and further in view of Lee et al. US Patent Pub. 2014/0242995.
Regarding claim 7:
The method of claim 1, wherein the control signaling comprises time- frequency resource location information, configuration information, [and/]or timing information corresponding to respective common control channels of one or more neighbor cells.
Cao does not specifically disclose where the signaling information comprises information corresponding to one or more neighbor cells.
Nonetheless Lee discloses that information provided to the mobile device can be information related to one or more neighboring cells as well as time/frequency resource locations of the neighboring cells. See paragraphs [0067-0069]. See also paragraph [0012].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive information corresponding to one or more neighbor cells. The Examiner notes that Cao already discloses of a plurality of base stations (see Figure 1 and paragraph [0087-0088] of Cao) and a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that there are neighboring cells. As explained in paragraph [0061] of Lee, this will help improve more accurate operations including monitoring and management operations.
Regarding claim 9:
The method of claim 1, wherein the control signaling comprises unicast signals transmitted to a single UE.
Cao as set forth in paragraph [0313] discloses of both multicast and broadcast signaling to the UEs. Cao does not specifically disclose of unicast signals.
Nonetheless, Lee discloses that the base stations can simultaneously transmits data streams for broadest service, multicast service and/or a unicast service. See paragraph [0005]
The Examiner finds that it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use unicast signals. As explained in paragraph [0122] of Cao, specific signals can be directed to a specific UE. Thus, by using unicast signals, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the base station can direct specific signals to the UE in embodiments where the information is directed to a specific UE. In addition, both Cao and Lee disclose of different methods to transmit communications including multicast, broadcast and multicast transmission. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that there are multiple ways to send transmissions from the base station to the user equipment including the use of unicast signals which are directed to a specific UE.
Regarding claim 11:
The method of claim 1: further comprising receiving a handover request message from a source network node requesting handover of a UE from the source network node to the network node; wherein transmitting the resource location information to one or more network nodes comprises transmitting the resource location information to the source network node responsive to receiving the handover request message.
Cao does not specifically disclose of receiving a handover request message.
Nonetheless, Lee discloses that the eNB (network node) transmits a handover request message to a corresponding UE which designates a target eNB (network node). See paragraph [0082]. As set forth in paragraph [0069], resource location information is transmitted.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to send a handover request message as disclosed by Lee. The Examiner finds that both Cao and Lee are directed to the same type of network and further it was well known in the art that UEs go travel from cell to cell with different network nodes. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to understand that the network of Cao would transmit handover messages when handover the UE from one base station to the next. As explained by Lee, the handover message can include further information pertaining to interference. Thus, it would have been obvious to include information whether such as interference or resource location information to the UE during a handover process so that the UE can improve its operations. Indeed, Cao with respect to Figure 1 already shows a single ED (UE) communicating with two base stations and thus clearly suggests that a handover between two neighboring cells would have been predictable to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 13:
The method of claim 7, further comprising: receiving a handover request message from a source network node requesting handover of a UE from the source network node to the network node; and transmitting the configuration information and the resource location information to the source network node responsive to receiving the handover request message.
Cao does not specifically disclose of receiving a handover request message.
Nonetheless, Lee discloses that the eNB (network node) transmits a handover request message to a corresponding UE which designates a target eNB (network node). See paragraph [0082]. As set forth in paragraph [0069], resource location information is transmitted.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to send a handover request message as disclosed by Lee. The Examiner finds that both Cao and Lee are directed to the same type of network and further it was well known in the art that UEs go travel from cell to cell with different network nodes. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to understand that the network of Cao would transmit handover messages when handover the UE from one base station to the next. As explained by Lee, the handover message can include further information pertaining to interference. Thus, it would have been obvious to include information whether such as interference or resource location information to the UE during a handover process so that the UE can improve its operations. Indeed, Cao with respect to Figure 1 already shows a single ED (UE) communicating with two base stations and thus clearly suggests that a handover between two neighboring cells would have been predictable to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. US Patent Pub. 2018/0199359 in view of Park et al. US Patent Pub. 2014/0328230 and further in view of Chen US Patent Pub. 2013/0039272
Regarding claim 15:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: adding a flag to downlink control information (DCI) message, the flag indicating whether control information has been transmitted by the network node in a slot; and transmitting the DCI message to the one or more UEs.
Cao does not specifically discloses of a flag indicating whether control information has been transmitted by the network node in a slot.
Nonetheless, Chen discloses that DCI information may include several indicators or flags and where the indicator includes resource assignment for time slots. See paragraph [0045].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a flag or an indicator to the DCI information of Cao which indicates that control information has been transmitted by the network node in a slot. As explained by Chen this helps improve data transmission. See paragraph [0060].
Conclusion
/Ovidio Escalante/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992
Conferees:
/MATTHEW E HENEGHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992 /M.F/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3992
1 The Examiner notes that Cao et al. US Patent Pub. 2018/0199359 claims priority to provisional application 62/444,210 which was filed on January 9, 2017. It is maintained that each citation relied upon is fully supported by the provisional application.