DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-18 in the reply filed on 09/04/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.03(a)). Therefore, Claims 19-20 have been withdrawn acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/01/25 has been entered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
3. The drawings filed on 03/31/25. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-6, 9, 17, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (Pub. No. 2003/0090673), in view of Olson (U.S. Pub. No. 2002/0186913), and further in view of O’Neill et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 6,946,647). Hereafter “Han”, “Olson”, “O’Neill”.
Regarding Claim(s) 1, Han teaches a polarization extinction ratio detector for a fiber device, (figure 1 is not different from a polarization extinction ratio detector), the detector comprising:
an adaptor for coupling the fiber device to the detector (Figure 1, light source 102, the birefringent polarization unit 105, detector 116. Paragraph [0026], Han discloses “The light may be delivered from the light source 102 to the birefringent polarization rotating unit 105 via an optical fiber … passes through the birefringent polarization rotating unit 105. Likewise, the light may be delivered from the birefringent polarization rotating unit 105 to the detector 116 via an optical fiber”. It is inherent that there must be an adaptor for coupling optical fiber of the fiber device to the birefringent polarization unit 105, and for coupling the optical fiber of the fiber device to the detector 116);
a polarizer that is rotatable with respect to the photodetector (figure 1, it is inherent that the birefringent polarization rotating unit 105 is rotatable with respect to the photodetector 116); and
at least one passive wide-area optical element ([0026], the collimating lens to create a collimated beam or the focusing lens for focusing the light from the birefringent polarization rotating unit 105 into the fiber, these lens are not different from passive wide-area optical elements);
wherein the photodetector, polarizer and at least one passive wide area optical element are positioned such that, when the fiber device is coupled to the detector, light output by any fiber of the fiber device follows an optical path through the polarizer and the at least one wide-area optical element to generate a beam that is focused on the photodetector (figure 1, detector 116, the birefringent polarization rotating unit 105, the collimating lens or the focusing lens, [0026], it is inherent that the light delivered from the light source 102 to the birefringent polarization rotating unit 105 via an optical fiber, and delivered from the birefringent polarization rotating unit 105 to the detector 116 via an optical fiber, must go through the collimating lens and the focusing lens. In other words, light output by any fiber of the fiber device follows an optical path through the polarizer 105 and at least one lens to generate a beam that is focused on the photodetector 116).
However, Han does not teach a multi-fiber, and a photodetector for converting light to an electrical signal.
Olson teaches a multi-fiber ([0002], lines 1-5; [0007, 0011]). Note: Olson also teaches an adaptor for coupling the multi-fiber device, Olson’s figure 1, multi-fiber chuck is not different from an adaptor for coupling the multi-fiber device. Olson also teaches rotatable polarizer, Olson’s figure 1, rotating the half-wave plate 108 is not different from rotatable polarizer; [0015], lines 15-21). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Han by having a multi-fiber; in order to implement inspection system with multiple optical fiber, ([0002], lines 1-5; [0007, 0011]).
Moreover, Han as modified by Olson, teaches the detector according to claim 1 as stated above except for a photodetector for converting light to an electrical signal. O’Neill discloses a photodetector for converting light to an electrical signal, (column 1, lines 57-58; Column 2, lines 15-18; Column 3, lines 15-18; Column 5, lines 51-53). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Han and Olson by having a photodetector for converting light to an electrical signal in order to process the signal by electronic device, (column 1, lines 57-58; Column 2, lines 15-18; Column 3, lines 15-18; Column 5, lines 51-53).
Regarding Claim(s) 2, Han as modified by Olson and O’Neill, teaches the detector according to claim 1 as stated above except for the at least one passive wide-area optical element comprises a plurality of passive wide-area optical elements. Han further teaches the at least one passive wide-area optical element comprises a plurality of passive wide-area optical elements ([0026], the collimating lens to create a collimated beam and the focusing lens for focusing the light is not different from a plurality of passive wide-area optical elements);
Regarding Claim(s) 3, Han as modified by Olson and O’Neill, teaches the detector according to claims 1, 2, as stated above except for the polarizer is positioned in the optical path between two of the plurality of passive wide-area optical elements. Han further teaches the polarizer is positioned in the optical path between two of the plurality of passive wide-area optical elements ([0026], the polarizer 105 is positioned in the optical path between two of the collimating lens and the focusing lens).
Regarding Claim(s) 4, Han as modified by Olson and O’Neill, teaches the detector according to claim 1 as stated above except for the polarizer is positioned in the optical path before each of the at least one passive wide-area optical element. Han further teaches the polarizer is positioned in the optical path before each of the at least one passive wide-area optical element (figure 1, [0026], the polarizer 105 is positioned in the optical path before each of the at least the focusing lens for focused the light from the birefringent polarization rotating unit 105 into the detector 116).
Regarding Claim(s) 5, Han as modified by Olson and O’Neill, teaches the detector according to claim 1 as stated above except for the polarizer is positioned in the optical path after each of the at least one passive wide-area optical element. Han further teaches the polarizer is positioned in the optical path after each of the at least one passive wide-area optical element (figure 1, [0026], the polarizer 105 is positioned in the optical path after each of the at least the collimating lens for collimated the light from light source 102 to the birefringent polarization rotating unit 105).
Regarding Claim(s) 6, Han as modified by Olson and O’Neill, teaches the detector according to claim 1 as stated above except for an axis of rotation of the polarizer is parallel to an optical axis of the multi-fiber device. Han further teaches an axis of rotation of the polarizer is parallel to an optical axis of the fiber device (Han’s figure 1 shows that axis of rotation of the polarizer 105 is an optical axis of the fiber device). (Note: Olson also teaches rotatable polarizer, (Olson’s figure 1, rotating axis of the half-wave plate 108 is parallel to an optical axis of the multi-fiber device; [0015], lines 15-21).
Regarding Claim(s) 9, Han as modified by Olson and O’Neill, teaches the detector according to claim 1 as stated above except for each of the at least one passive wide-area optical element is a light collecting lens. Han further teaches each of the at least one passive wide-area optical element is a light collecting lens ([0026], the collimating lens or the focusing lens is not different from passive wide-area optical element and both of them are light collecting lens);
Regarding Claim(s) 17, Han as modified by Olson and O’Neill, teaches the detector according to claim 1 as stated above except for the photodetector is a photodiode. Han further teaches a photodiode ([0028], lines 5-8).
7. Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (Pub. No. 2003/0090673), in view of Olson (U.S. Pub. No. 2002/0186913), and further in view of O’Neill et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 6,946,647), and further in view of Baueschmidt et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 12,386,270). Hereafter “Han”, “Olson”, “O’Neill”, “Baueschmidt ‘270”.
Regarding Claim(s) 7-8, Han as modified by Olson and O’Neill, teaches the detector according to claim 1 as stated above except for a motor coupled to the polarizer for driving the rotation of the polarizer, and the photodetector is mounted to a stationary shaft and the polarizer is mounted to a rotatable shaft of the motor that is concentric with the stationary shaft. Han further discloses the photodetector is mounted to a stationary shaft and the polarizer is mounted to a rotatable shaft (figure 1, detector 116 is stationary, and polarizer 105 is rotated. It is inherent that detector 116 must be mounted on a stationary shaft for not rotating, and polarizer 105 must be mounted on a rotatable shaft for rotating, and the rotatable shaft is concentric with the stationary shaft along the axis Z). Baueschmidt ‘270 teaches a motor coupled to the polarizer for driving the rotation of the polarizer, (figure 20, HWP 2029 is mounted on a motorized rotational mount, column 34, lines 1-6; Column 35, lines 8-13). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Han and Olson and O’Neill by having a motor coupled to the polarizer for driving the rotation of the polarizer in order to rotate the polarizer efficiently around the optical axis, (column 34, lines 1-6; Column 35, lines 8-13).
8. Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (Pub. No. 2003/0090673), in view of Olson (U.S. Pub. No. 2002/0186913), and further in view of O’Neill et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 6,946,647), and further in view of Chen (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0307506). Hereafter “Han”, “Olson”, “O’Neill”, “Chen”.
Regarding Claim(s) 10, Han as modified by Olson and O’Neill, teaches the detector according to claim 1 as stated above except for a pair of plano-aspherical lenses. Han further teaches a pair of lenses ([0026], the collimating lens and the focusing lens). Chen teaches a plano-aspherical lens ([0064, 0069, 0129, 0134, 0157, 0162, 0441]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Han and Olson and O’Neill by having plano-aspherical lenses in order to have sharper focus.
9. Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (Pub. No. 2003/0090673), in view of Olson (U.S. Pub. No. 2002/0186913), and further in view of O’Neill et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 6,946,647), and further in view of Adams et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0408637). Hereafter “Han”, “Olson”, “O’Neill”, “Adams”.
Regarding Claim(s) 11, Han as modified by Olson and O’Neill, teaches the detector according to claim 1 as stated above except for to generate the PER for a fiber of the multi-fiber device based on the electrical signal generated by the photodetector while that fiber is outputting light. Adams teaches to generate the PER for a fiber of the multi-fiber device based on the electrical signal generated by the photodetector while that fiber is outputting light (Abstract; [0006, 0023]; Figures 2A-2B). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Han and Olson and O’Neill by generating the PER for a fiber in order to control inherent polarization extinction ratio of the optical fiber when measuring a polarization extinction ratio during a measurement action, (Abstract; [0006, 0023]; Figures 2A-2B).
10. Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (Pub. No. 2003/0090673), in view of Olson (U.S. Pub. No. 2002/0186913), and further in view of O’Neill et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 6,946,647), and further in view of Adams et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0408637), and further in view of Bauerschmidt et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0063894). Hereafter “Han”, “Olson”, “O’Neill”, “Adams”, “Bauerschmidt ‘894”.
Regarding Claim(s) 14-15, Han as modified by Olson and O’Neill and Adams, teaches the detector according to claim 1 as stated above except for determining a polarization angle for the fiber based on the electrical signal generated by the photodetector while that fiber is outputting light, and an optical power measurement device. Bauerschmidt ‘894 determining a polarization angle for the fiber based on the electrical signal generated by the photodetector while that fiber is outputting light, and an optical power measurement device ([0276]. Note: obtaining a relationship between the angle of polarization and a power parameter is not different from determining a polarization angle for the fiber based on the power of electrical signal. Further, it is inherent that there is an optical power measurement device for measuring the power parameter). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Han and Olson and O’Neill and Adams by determining a polarization angle; in order to obtaining a relationship between the angle of polarization and a power parameter, ([0276]).
11. Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (Pub. No. 2003/0090673), in view of Olson (U.S. Pub. No. 2002/0186913), and further in view of O’Neill et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 6,946,647), and further in view of Kafri et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 4,854,708). Hereafter “Han”, “Olson”, “O’Neill”, “Kafri”.
Regarding Claim(s) 16, Han as modified by Olson and O’Neill, teaches the detector according to claim 1 as stated above except for a diverging lens positioned such that a collimated beam passes through the diverging lens before being passed through the polarizer and the at least one passive wide-angle optical element. Kafri teaches a diverging lens positioned such that a collimated beam passes through the diverging lens before being passed through the polarizer and the at least one passive wide-angle optical element (figure 1, lens 2 is not different from one passive wide-angle optical element; Column 2, lines 56-61). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Han and Olson and O’Neill by having a diverging lens positioned such that a collimated beam; in order produce the diverging beam, (Column 2, lines 56-61).
12. Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (Pub. No. 2003/0090673), in view of Olson (U.S. Pub. No. 2002/0186913), and further in view of O’Neill et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 6,946,647), and further in view of Leclerc et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0234767). Hereafter “Han”, “Olson”, “O’Neill”, “Leclerc”.
Regarding Claim(s) 18, Han as modified by Olson and O’Neill, teaches the detector according to claim 1 as stated above except for the adaptor is configured to receive a fiber array unit (FAU). Leclerc teaches the adaptor is configured to receive a fiber array unit ([0046-0048, 0059, 0061-0062]; figures 1A-C, 2A-C, 3A-C, multi-fiber array cable 100 is not different from a fiber array unit, connectors 102, 104 is not different from adaptor). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Han and Olson and O’Neill by having a fiber array unit; in order to have a specific a fiber array unit.
Allowable Subject Matter
13. Claims 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
14. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: there was no prior art found by the examiner that suggested modification or combination with the cited art so as to satisfy the combination of all the limitations in claim 12.
15. As claim 12, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious a polarization extinction ratio detector for a multi-fiber device, the detector comprising: an adaptor; a photodetector; a polarizer that is rotatable; wherein when the multi-fiber device is coupled to the detector, light output by any fiber of the multi-fiber device follows an optical path through the polarizer and the at least one wide-area optical element to generate a beam that is focused on the photodetector; further a measurement device configured to generate the PER for a fiber of the multi-fiber device based on the electrical signal generated by the photodetector while that fiber is outputting light; and wherein the polarizer is coupled to a trigger element that rotates with the polarizer and the rotation sensor is configured to detect when the trigger element is in a predetermined position and, in response to detecting that the trigger element is in the predetermined position, send a trigger signal to the measurement device which causes the measurement device to obtain a plurality of samples of the electrical signal; in combination with the rest of the limitations of claims 1 and 11 and 12.
Fax/Telephone Information
October 14, 2026
/Tri T Ton/
Primary Examiner Art Unit 2877