DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 120 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/01/25 has been acknowledged and considered by the examiner.
Examiner Comment
The examiner recommends filing a written authorization for Internet communication in response to the present action. Doing so permits the USPTO to communicate with Applicant using Internet email to schedule interviews or discuss other aspects of the application. Without a written authorization in place, the USPTO will not respond via Internet email to any Internet correspondence which contains information subject to the confidentiality requirement as set forth in 35 U.S.C. 122. The preferred method of providing authorization is by filing form PTO/SB/439, available at: https://www.uspto.gov/patent/forms/forms. See MPEP § 502.03 for other methods of providing written authorization.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,294,620 (Patent ‘620). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each for the reasons noted below.
In the chart below, the examiner is utilizing claim 1 (independent claims 8 and 14 are similar in scope) of the instant application, as exemplary, with independent claim 1 (independent claims 8 and 14 are similar in scope) of the Patent '620.
Instant Application 19/097032
Patent No. 12,294,620
Claim 1: A method comprising:
transmitting a code for display on a first mobile device and a second mobile device;
obtaining first image data from the first mobile device and second image data from the second mobile device; and
transferring a communication session from the first mobile device to the second mobile device when the first image data and the second image data match the code.
Claim 1: A method comprising:
enabling a communication session over a first communication channel between a first mobile device and a client device;
transmitting a code for display on the first mobile device and a second mobile device;
comparing, to the code, first image data received from the first mobile device and second image data received from the second mobile device; and
transferring the communication session to a second communication channel when the first image data and the second image data match the code.
As shown above, the comparison between claims 1, 8 and 14 of the instant Application and the claims 1, 8 and 14 of the Patent reveals that Patent claims 1, 8 and 14 are simply a species of the broader genus claims 1, 8 and 14 of the instant Application.
For example, the instant limitation “obtaining first image data from the first mobile device and second image data from the second mobile device” is broader than the Patent limitation “comparing, to the code, first image data received from the first mobile device and second image data received from the second mobile device” (emphasis added). Said differently, while the instant limitation broadly obtains the first image data and second image data, the Patent more specifically receives, i.e. obtains, the first image data and second image data to compare it to the code.
Further, dependent claims 2-7, 9-13 and 15-20 of instant Application are the same as dependent claims 2-7, 9-13 and 15-20 of the Patent ‘620.
Hence, claims 1-20 of the instant Application is generic to the species of the invention covered by claims 1-20 of the Patent. Thus, the broader generic invention is anticipated by the narrower species of the Patent. Without a terminal disclaimer, the species claims preclude issuance of the generic application. See In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, the limitation “receive a request from the second mobile device to transfer the communication session to the second mobile device” is recited. However, in claim 8, from which claim 10 depends, the limitation “a server configured to…transfer a communication session from the first mobile device to the second mobile device when the first image data and the second image data match the code” is recited. In other words, the server has already transferred the communication session to the second mobile device.
Therefore, in claim 10, it is unclear why the server would receive a request from the second mobile device to transfer the communication session to the second mobile device when the communication session has already been transferred based on first image data and second image data matching the code as recited in claim 8.
For purposes of applying prior art, the examiner interprets the limitation of claim 10 to occur before the “transfer a communication session…” limitation in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 7, 8, 11, 14, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Youssefian et al. (U.S. 2014/0208384 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 14, Youssefian discloses a method comprising:
transmitting a code for display on a first mobile device and a second mobile device (see Youssefian; paragraphs 0012, 0076, 0079 and 0082; Youssefian discloses both a primary device, such as a sales associate smartphone, i.e. “a first mobile device, and a secondary device, such as the sales associate’s colleague’s device, i.e. “a second mobile device”, acquiring an authentication code from the device pairing server, i.e. “transmitting a code…”. The code can be viewed, i.e. “…for display”);
obtaining first image data from the first mobile device and second image data from the second mobile device (see Youssefian; paragraphs 0012, 0076 and 0082; Youssefian discloses both the primary device and the secondary device receiving the authentication code and the code being a QR code that can be scanned, i.e. “obtaining first image data…and second image data”. The sales associate wants to transfer the session to his colleague. In other words, the sales associate and the colleague receive the authentication code on their devices, in which an image is obtained from the scanning of the authentication code, e.g. QR code, by the devices); and
transferring a communication session from the first mobile device to the second mobile device when the first image data and the second image data match the code (see Youssefian; paragraphs 0012, 0076 and 0082; Youssefian discloses both the primary device, such as the sales associate device, i.e. “first mobile device”, and colleague’s device, i.e. “second mobile device”, acquiring the same authentication code. The sales associate may completely transfer a data share session, i.e. “transferring a communication session”, to the colleague using the authentication code and drop out of the session. The authentication code being a QR code that can be scanned, such as, the sale associate and colleague do a QR code scan. In other words, the sales associate device and the colleague’s device scan the same authentication code, e.g. QR code, and as such, the “first image data and the second image data” from the scanned code are the same, i.e. “match the code”, so that the session is completely transferred).
Further, Youssefian discloses the additional limitations of claim 8, a server (see Youssefian; paragraphs 0010 and 0011; Youssefian discloses a device pairing server).
Further, Youssefian discloses the additional limitations of claim 14, a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations (see Youssefian; paragraph 0018; Youssefian discloses a non-transitory processor readable medium storing code representing instructions to cause a processor to pair at least two micro-processing devices ).
Regarding claim 4, Youssefian discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above, and further Youssefian clearly discloses wherein the code is an image that includes an embedded code (see Youssefian; paragraphs 0012 and 0076; Youssefian discloses both the primary device and the secondary device receiving the authentication code and the code being a QR code, i.e. “an embedded code”).
Regarding claims 7 and 20, Youssefian discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 14, as discussed above, and further Youssefian clearly discloses wherein the code is a quick response (QR) code associated with the communication session over a first communication channel (see Youssefian; paragraphs 0012, 0076 and 0175; Youssefian discloses both the primary device and the secondary device receiving the authentication code and the code being a QR code, i.e. “an embedded code”. The information is sent and received via a communication channel).
Regarding claim 11, Youssefian discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above, and further Youssefian clearly discloses wherein the code includes an embedded pre-authentication code (see Youssefian; paragraphs 0070 and 0076; Youssefian discloses a QR code, i.e. “embedded…”, including the unique authentication code, i.e. “pre-authentication code”).
Regarding claim 17, Youssefian discloses all the limitations of claim 14, as discussed above, and further Youssefian clearly discloses wherein the code is embedded in an image (see Youssefian; paragraphs 0012 and 0076; Youssefian discloses both the primary device and the secondary device receiving the authentication code and the code being a QR code, i.e. “code is embedded in an image”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 5, 6, 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youssefian et al. (U.S. 2014/0208384 A1) in view of Krishnakumar et al. (U.S. 2013/0212289 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Youssefian discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Youssefian does not explicitly disclose transmitting a request to the first mobile device to confirm a transfer of the communication session from a first communication channel to a second communication channel.
In analogous art, Krishnakumar discloses transmitting a request to the first mobile device to confirm a transfer of the communication session from a first communication channel to a second communication channel (see Krishnakumar; paragraphs 0011, 0025 and 0034; Krishnakumar discloses a communication session on a first communication channel and transfer of the communication session to a second communication channel, i.e. “…from a first communication channel to a second communication channel”. In particular, the transfer is a continuation of a communication session between a desktop PC, which can be a mobile computer used as desktop replacement, i.e. “first mobile device”, and another mobile device. The PC is provided a popup, i.e. “transmitting a request to the first mobile device…”, to allow a user to start the transfer process, i.e. “to confirm a transfer…”).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Youssefian and Krishnakumar because they both disclose features of transferring a data/communication session, and as such, are within the same environment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the feature of confirmation of a transfer as taught by Krishnakumar into the system of Youssefian in order to provide the benefit of efficiency by allowing an ongoing communication session to be transferred or saved for a later time (see Krishnakumar; paragraph 0027).
Regarding claim 3, Youssefian discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Youssefian does not explicitly disclose transmitting a pop-up notification request to the first mobile device to confirm a transfer of the communication session from a first communication channel to a second communication channel; and receiving a response that indicates that the transfer is confirmed.
In analogous art, Krishnakumar discloses transmitting a pop-up notification request to the first mobile device to confirm a transfer of the communication session from a first communication channel to a second communication channel (see Krishnakumar; paragraphs 0011, 0025 and 0034; Krishnakumar discloses a communication session on a first communication channel and transfer of the communication session to a second communication channel, i.e. “…from a first communication channel to a second communication channel”. In particular, the transfer is a continuation of a communication session between a desktop PC, which can be a mobile computer used as desktop replacement, i.e. “first mobile device”, and another mobile device. The PC is provided a popup, i.e. “transmitting a pop-up notification request to the first mobile device…”, to allow a user to start the transfer process, i.e. “to confirm a transfer…”); and
receiving a response that indicates that the transfer is confirmed (see Krishnakumar; paragraph 0034; Krishnakumar discloses providing the popup to the user and upon a command, i.e. “receiving a response that indicates…”, from the user, starting the transfer process, i.e. “…the transfer is confirmed”).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Youssefian and Krishnakumar because they both disclose features of transferring a data/communication session, and as such, are within the same environment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the feature of confirmation of a transfer as taught by Krishnakumar into the system of Youssefian in order to provide the benefit of efficiency by allowing an ongoing communication session to be transferred or saved for a later time (see Krishnakumar; paragraph 0027).
Regarding claims 5 and 9, Youssefian discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 8, as discussed above. And while Youssefian discloses an input mechanism such as a barcode scanner (see Youssefian; paragraph 0096), Youssefian does not explicitly disclose wherein the code is a bar code associated with the communication session over a first communication channel.
In analogous art, Krishnakumar discloses wherein the code is a bar code associated with the communication session over a first communication channel (see Krishnakumar; paragraph 0034; Krishnakumar discloses information associated with the communication session. The information being encoded in an information-bearing display, such as, a barcode, i.e. “a bar code associated with the communication session”).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Youssefian and Krishnakumar because they both disclose features of transferring a data/communication session, and as such, are within the same environment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the feature of a barcode associated with the transfer of a communication session as taught by Krishnakumar into the system of Youssefian in order to provide the benefit of scalability by allowing the code that is scanned by the sales associate to not only be a QR code that is associated with the device pairing (see Youssefian; paragraphs 0012 and 0076) but also a barcode in the case the sales associated device has a barcode scanner (see Youssefian; paragraph 0096).
Regarding claim 6, Youssefian discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Youssefian does not explicitly disclose transmitting a pop-up notification request to the first mobile device and a client device to confirm a transfer of the communication session from a first communication channel to a second communication channel; and receiving a first response from the first mobile device and a second response from the client device that each indicate that the transfer is confirmed.
In analogous art, Krishnakumar discloses transmitting a pop-up notification request to the first mobile device and a client device to confirm a transfer of the communication session from a first communication channel to a second communication channel (see Krishnakumar; paragraphs 0011, 0025 and 0034; Krishnakumar discloses a communication session on a first communication channel and transfer of the communication session to a second communication channel, i.e. “…from a first communication channel to a second communication channel”. In particular, the transfer is a continuation of a communication session between a desktop PC, which can be a mobile computer used as desktop replacement, i.e. “first mobile device”, and another mobile device. The PC is provided a popup, i.e. “transmitting a pop-up notification request to the first mobile device…”, to allow a user to start the transfer process, i.e. “to confirm a transfer…”); and
receiving a first response from the first mobile device and a second response from the client device that each indicate that the transfer is confirmed (see Krishnakumar; paragraph 0034; Krishnakumar discloses providing the popup to the user and upon a command, i.e. “receiving a response that indicates…”, from the user, starting the transfer process, i.e. “…the transfer is confirmed”).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Youssefian and Krishnakumar because they both disclose features of transferring a data/communication session, and as such, are within the same environment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the feature of confirmation of a transfer as taught by Krishnakumar into the system of Youssefian in order to provide the benefit of efficiency by allowing an ongoing communication session to be transferred or saved for a later time (see Krishnakumar; paragraph 0027).
Regarding claim 18, Youssefian discloses all the limitations of claim 14, as discussed above. And while Youssefian discloses an input mechanism such as a barcode scanner (see Youssefian; paragraph 0096), Youssefian does not explicitly disclose wherein the code is a bar code.
In analogous art, Krishnakumar discloses wherein the code is a bar code (see Krishnakumar; paragraph 0034; Krishnakumar discloses information associated with the communication session. The information being encoded in an information-bearing display, such as, a barcode, i.e. “a bar code”).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Youssefian and Krishnakumar because they both disclose features of transferring a data/communication session, and as such, are within the same environment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the feature of a barcode associated with the transfer of a communication session as taught by Krishnakumar into the system of Youssefian in order to provide the benefit of scalability by allowing the code that is scanned by the sales associate to not only be a QR code that is associated with the device pairing (see Youssefian; paragraphs 0012 and 0076) but also a barcode in the case the sales associated device has a barcode scanner (see Youssefian; paragraph 0096).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youssefian et al. (U.S. 2014/0208384 A1) in view of Jiang et al. (U.S. 2016/0057123 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Youssefian discloses all the limitations of claim 8, as discussed above. Youssefian does not explicitly disclose wherein the server is further configured to: receive a request from the second mobile device to transfer the communication session to the second mobile device.
In analogous art, Jiang discloses wherein the server is further configured to: receive a request from the second mobile device to transfer the communication session to the second mobile device (see Jiang; paragraph 0032; Jiang discloses a mobile device, i.e. “second mobile device”, requests for a session to be migrated to the mobile device, i.e. “transfer the communication session to the second mobile device”).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Youssefian and Jiang because they both disclose features of transferring a data/communication session, and as such, are within the same environment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the feature of a second device requesting a key for migration of a session as taught by Jiang into the system of Youssefian in order to provide the benefit of efficiency and convenience by not having a user to log out of a session in order to have the session on a different device, thus preventing losing any state information and data that may not have been saved (see Jiang; paragraph 0005).
Claims 12, 13, 15, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youssefian et al. (U.S. 2014/0208384 A1) in view of Paluch (U.S. 2012/0290952 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Youssefian discloses all the limitations of claim 8, as discussed above. Youssefian does not explicitly disclose wherein the server is further configured to: transmit a chat message request to the first mobile device to confirm a transfer of the communication session from a first communication channel to a second communication channel.
In analogous art, Paluch discloses wherein the server is further configured to: transmit a chat message request to the first mobile device to confirm a transfer of the communication session from a first communication channel to a second communication channel (see Paluch; paragraphs 0101, 0104 and Figure 17; Paluch discloses prompting the transfer of a chat session from a current device to another device. Further, a chat message stating “Chat with Jill transferred from television” can be displayed, i.e. “…confirm a transfer of the communication session”).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Youssefian and Paluch because they both disclose features of transferring a data/communication session, and as such, are within the same environment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the feature of confirmation of a transfer as taught by Paluch into the system of Youssefian in order to provide the benefit of efficiency by allowing the server to update information so that the target device receives all messages for the chat session and not the current device (see Paluch; paragraphs 0101 and 0102).
Regarding claim 13, Youssefian discloses all the limitations of claim 8, as discussed above. Youssefian does not explicitly disclose wherein the server is further configured to: transmit a chat message request to the first mobile device to confirm a transfer of the communication session from a first communication channel to a second communication channel; and receive a response that indicates that the transfer is confirmed.
In analogous art, Paluch discloses wherein the server is further configured to: transmit a chat message request to the first mobile device to confirm a transfer of the communication session from a first communication channel to a second communication channel (see Paluch; paragraphs 0101, 0104 and Figure 17; Paluch discloses prompting the transfer of a chat session from a current device to another device. Further, a chat message stating “Chat with Jill transferred from television” can be displayed, i.e. “…confirm a transfer of the communication session”); and
receive a response that indicates that the transfer is confirmed (see Paluch; paragraph 0101; Paluch discloses prompting to confirm the transfer of the chat session and confirming the transfer, i.e. “a response that indicates that the transfer is confirmed”).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Youssefian and Paluch because they both disclose features of transferring a data/communication session, and as such, are within the same environment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the feature of confirmation of a transfer as taught by Paluch into the system of Youssefian in order to provide the benefit of efficiency by allowing the server to update information so that the target device receives all messages for the chat session and not the current device (see Paluch; paragraphs 0101 and 0102).
Regarding claim 15, Youssefian discloses all the limitations of claim 8, as discussed above. Youssefian does not explicitly disclose transmitting a short messaging service (SMS) request to the first mobile device to confirm a transfer of the communication session from a first communication channel to a second communication channel.
In analogous art, Paluch discloses transmitting a short messaging service (SMS) request to the first mobile device to confirm a transfer of the communication session from a first communication channel to a second communication channel (see Paluch; paragraphs 0025, 0101, 0104 and Figure 17; Paluch discloses prompting the transfer of a chat session from a current device to another device. Further, a chat message stating “Chat with Jill transferred from television” can be displayed, i.e. “…confirm a transfer of the communication session”. Further, the network used may be a cellular or wireless network. As such, the chat message is sent/received over a cellular/wireless network, and as such, the chat message is a SMS message, i.e. “transmitting a short messaging service (SMS) request”).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Youssefian and Paluch because they both disclose features of transferring a data/communication session, and as such, are within the same environment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the feature of confirmation of a transfer as taught by Paluch into the system of Youssefian in order to provide the benefit of efficiency by allowing the server to update information so that the target device receives all messages for the chat session and not the current device (see Paluch; paragraphs 0101 and 0102).
Regarding claim 16, Youssefian discloses all the limitations of claim 8, as discussed above. Youssefian does not explicitly disclose transmitting a short messaging service (SMS) request to the first mobile device to obtain a confirmation of a transfer of the communication session from a first communication channel to a second communication channel; and receiving a response that indicates that the transfer is confirmed.
In analogous art, Paluch discloses transmitting a short messaging service (SMS) request to the first mobile device to obtain a confirmation of a transfer of the communication session from a first communication channel to a second communication channel (see Paluch; paragraphs 0025, 0101, 0104 and Figure 17; Paluch discloses prompting the transfer of a chat session from a current device to another device. Further, a chat message stating “Chat with Jill transferred from television” can be displayed, i.e. “…confirm a transfer of the communication session”. Further, the network used may be a cellular or wireless network. As such, the chat message is sent/received over a cellular/wireless network, and as such, the chat message is a SMS message, i.e. “transmitting a short messaging service (SMS) request”); and
receiving a response that indicates that the transfer is confirmed (see Paluch; paragraph 0101; Paluch discloses prompting to confirm the transfer of the chat session and confirming the transfer, i.e. “a response that indicates that the transfer is confirmed”).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Youssefian and Paluch because they both disclose features of transferring a data/communication session, and as such, are within the same environment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the feature of confirmation of a transfer as taught by Paluch into the system of Youssefian in order to provide the benefit of efficiency by allowing the server to update information so that the target device receives all messages for the chat session and not the current device (see Paluch; paragraphs 0101 and 0102).
Regarding claim 19, Youssefian discloses all the limitations of claim 8, as discussed above. Youssefian does not explicitly disclose transmitting a short messaging service (SMS) request to the first mobile device and a client device to confirm a transfer of the communication session from a first communication channel to a second communication channel; and receiving a first response from the first mobile device and a second response from the client device that each indicate that the transfer is confirmed.
In analogous art, Paluch discloses transmitting a short messaging service (SMS) request to the first mobile device and a client device to confirm a transfer of the communication session from a first communication channel to a second communication channel (see Paluch; paragraphs 0025, 0101, 0104 and Figure 17; Paluch discloses prompting the transfer of a chat session from a current device to another device. Further, a chat message stating “Chat with Jill transferred from television” can be displayed, i.e. “…confirm a transfer of the communication session”. Further, the network used may be a cellular or wireless network. As such, the chat message is sent/received over a cellular/wireless network, and as such, the chat message is a SMS message, i.e. “transmitting a short messaging service (SMS) request”); and
receiving a first response from the first mobile device and a second response from the client device that each indicate that the transfer is confirmed (see Paluch; paragraph 0101; Paluch discloses prompting to confirm the transfer of the chat session and confirming the transfer, i.e. “a response that indicates that the transfer is confirmed”).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Youssefian and Paluch because they both disclose features of transferring a data/communication session, and as such, are within the same environment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the feature of confirmation of a transfer as taught by Paluch into the system of Youssefian in order to provide the benefit of efficiency by allowing the server to update information so that the target device receives all messages for the chat session and not the current device (see Paluch; paragraphs 0101 and 0102).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Fusenig (U.S. 2018/0109517 A1) discloses transmitting a verification code to both the primary device and the secondary device.
Armstrong et al. (U.S. 2022/0398289 A1) discloses a second device scanning a QR code with the first device.
Meganathan et al. (U.S. 2019/0104161 A1) discloses a mobile device can match a QR code to a third device.
Fisi et al. (U.S. 11,962,655 B1) discloses a communication switching from one or more user devices and communication channels.
/A.A.C/Examiner, Art Unit 2458 08/20/26
/UMAR CHEEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2458