Response to Amendments
The amendment filed December 23rd, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-4, 7-11, 13 and 16 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have not overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed August 11th, 2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 8-9, 13 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1 line 8, “…stick, is…” should read “…stick is…”.
In claim 8 line 2, “…response to twisting…” should read “…response to the twisting…”.
In claim 8 lines 3-4, “…to control movement…” should read “…to control the movement…”.
In claim 9 lines 2-3, “…to control movement…” should read “…to control the movement…”.
Applicant is advised that should claim 1 be found allowable, claims 2 and 13 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
In claim 16 line 7, “…stick, is…” should read “…stick is…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-11, 13 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le Borloch (US 2018/0155008) in view of Scacchi et al. (US 2016/0229523) and Kang et al. (US 2023/0286645).
Regarding claim 1, Le Borloch ‘008 teaches (figures 1-7) a flight control system for an aircraft (10), the aircraft having a set of principle axes including a yaw axis (aircraft has yaw, roll and pitch axes), and the flight control system comprising:
a thrust lever (30) configured to control a thrust magnitude for the aircraft during flight, the thrust lever in the form of a control stick (clearly seen in figure 7) that is movable along a first direction to control the thrust magnitude (Para 0055, 0062, 0073, 0083; lever moves in forward/backward direction in the guide (58); lever (30) controls motors and the thrust produced by the motors),
but it is silent about the flight control system wherein the control stick is also configured to control movement of the aircraft about the yaw axis during flight and/or during taxiing, whereby a portion the control stick is configured to be twisted to control movement of the aircraft about the yaw axis.
Scacchi et al. ‘523 teaches (figure 6) a control stick (2) comprising a lever (17) provided at its free end with a handle (18) wherein the handle (18) is configured to be able to be pivoted/twisted with respect to the lever (17) to control the aircraft in relation to the yaw axis (Para 0114-0118).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Le Borloch ‘008 to incorporate the teachings of Scacchi et al. ‘523 to configure the flight control system wherein the control stick is also configured to control movement of the aircraft about the yaw axis during flight and/or during taxiing, whereby a portion the control stick is configured to be twisted to control movement of the aircraft about the yaw axis.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would enable pilots to control heading via control stick.
Le Borloch ‘008 further teaches (figures 1-7) the flight control system wherein the control stick comprises a control button (74) that can be manipulated to control the braking of the aircraft (Para 0087; button (74) controls airbrake)
but it is silent about the flight control system wherein the control stick comprises a control button as a finger operated stick or slider that can be manipulated to variably control braking of the aircraft.
Kang et al. ‘645 teaches (figures 1-4) an aircraft control input device including a cyclic control stick (1) comprising a first position/slider or stick (21) formed in a form that may be operated in an up-down direction, to input control command for the engine thrust of the aircraft when manipulated in the up-down direction and when the pilot wants to increase thrust, the first position (21) is manipulated upward using the pilot’s thumb to input a higher value of the thrust (Para 0038, 0046; first position/slider or stick (21) variably controls the thrust).
Kang et al. ‘645 further teaches fourth position (24) to input a brake control command through an operation of pressing the fourth position (24) wherein the fourth position (24) is formed such that the degree of brake use of the aircraft is adjusted according to the pressure with which the pilot presses the fourth position (24) i.e., variable braking (Para 0049) (first position/slider or stick (21) controls a variable i.e., engine thrust, and both engine thrust and braking are variables).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Le Borloch ‘008 to incorporate the teachings of Kang et al. ‘645 to configure the flight control system wherein the control stick comprises a control button as a finger operated stick or slider that can be manipulated to variably control braking of the aircraft
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would enable pilots to easily apply and control the magnitude of the braking.
Regarding claim 2, modified Le Borloch ‘008 teaches (figures 1-7) the flight control system wherein the control stick is constrained to move forward and backward along the first direction such that lateral movement of the control stick is prevented (Para 0083; guide (58) constrain the movement of the control stick).
Regarding claim 3, modified Le Borloch ‘008 teaches (figures 1-7) the flight control system wherein the control stick includes a handle, wherein the handle is configured to be twisted relative to the control stick to control movement of the aircraft about the yaw axis (as modified by Scacchi et al. ‘523).
Regarding claim 4, modified Le Borloch ‘008 teaches (figures 1-7) the flight control system wherein the control stick is twistable to control movement of the aircraft about the yaw axis (as modified by Scacchi et al. ‘523; handle portion of the control stick is twistable).
Regarding claim 7, modified Le Borloch ‘008 teaches (figures 1-7) the flight control system wherein the finger operated stick or slider is a first finger operated stick or slider for controlling braking on a first side of the aircraft (clearly seen in figure 7).
Regarding claim 8, modified Le Borloch ‘008 teaches (figures 1-7) the flight control system wherein the flight control system is configured, in response to the twisting movement of the thrust lever, to control the movement of the aircraft about the yaw axis by actuating rotation of a nosewheel of the aircraft (as modified by Scacchi et al. ‘523; handle portion of the control stick is twistable; rotation of a nosewheel move the aircraft during taxiing i.e., when an aircraft is on the ground).
Regarding claim 9, modified Le Borloch ‘008 teaches (figures 1-7) the flight control system wherein the flight control system is configured, in response to the twisting movement of the thrust lever, to control the movement of the aircraft about the yaw axis by actuating one or more flight control surfaces to control the yaw of the aircraft (as modified by Scacchi et al. ‘523; Para 0020; control order is applied to control surfaces of the aircraft so as to control the aircraft with respect to at least one corresponding piloting/yaw axis).
Regarding claim 10, modified Le Borloch ‘008 teaches (figures 1-7) an aircraft (10) including:
the flight control system as recited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, modified Le Borloch ‘008 teaches (figures 1-7) the aircraft wherein the aircraft is an airplane (Para 0054).
Regarding claim 13, modified Le Borloch ‘008 teaches (figures 1-7) the flight control system wherein the control stick is constrained to move forward and backward along the first direction such that lateral movement of the control stick is prevented (Para 0083; guide (58) constrain the movement of the control stick).
Regarding claim 16, Le Borloch ‘008 teaches (figures 1-7) a flight control system for an aircraft (10), the aircraft having a set of principle axes including a yaw axis (aircraft has yaw, roll and pitch axes), and the flight control system comprising:
a thrust lever (30) configured to control a thrust magnitude for the aircraft during flight, the thrust lever in the form of a control stick (clearly seen in figure 7) that is movable along a first direction to control the thrust magnitude (Para 0055, 0062, 0073, 0083; lever moves in forward/backward direction in the guide (58); lever (30) controls motors and the thrust produced by the motors),
but it is silent about the flight control system wherein the control stick is also configured to control movement of the aircraft about the yaw axis during flight and/or during taxiing, whereby a portion the control stick is configured to be twisted to control movement of the aircraft about the yaw axis.
Scacchi et al. ‘523 teaches (figure 6) a control stick (2) comprising a lever (17) provided at its free end with a handle (18) wherein the handle (18) is configured to be able to be pivoted/twisted with respect to the lever (17) to control the aircraft in relation to the yaw axis (Para 0114-0118).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Le Borloch ‘008 to incorporate the teachings of Scacchi et al. ‘523 to configure the flight control system wherein the control stick is also configured to control movement of the aircraft about the yaw axis during flight and/or during taxiing, whereby a portion the control stick is configured to be twisted to control movement of the aircraft about the yaw axis.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would enable pilots to control heading via control stick.
Le Borloch ‘008 further teaches (figures 1-7) the flight control system wherein the control stick comprises a control button (74) that can be manipulated to control braking of wheels of the aircraft (Para 0087; button (74) controls airbrake; airbrake during taxiing results in the braking the wheels of the aircraft)
but it is silent about the flight control system wherein the control stick comprises a control button as a finger operated stick or slider.
Kang et al. ‘645 teaches (figures 1-4) an aircraft control input device including a cyclic control stick (1) comprising a first position/slider or stick (21) formed in a form that may be operated in an up-down direction, to input control command for the engine thrust of the aircraft when manipulated in the up-down direction and when the pilot wants to increase thrust, the first position (21) is manipulated upward using the pilot’s thumb to input a higher value of the thrust (Para 0038, 0046; first position/slider or stick (21) controls a variable i.e., engine thrust, and both engine thrust and braking are variables)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Le Borloch ‘008 to incorporate the teachings of Kang et al. ‘645 to configure the flight control system wherein the control stick comprises a control button as a finger operated stick or slider.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would enable pilots to easily apply and control the magnitude of the braking.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed December 23rd, 2025, with respect to amended claim(s) 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made as explained in the rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASHESH DANGOL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642