DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-15) in the reply filed on September 21, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 9-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nunomura et al. (U.S. 2013/0247937).
Referring to Figures 1-12 and paragraphs [0064]-[0154], Nunomura et al. discloses a substrate processing apparatus comprising: a plurality of substrate supports 21a, 21b capable of supporting at least one substrate (Fig. 1, par.[0075]); a processing container 101 in which the plurality of substrate supports is individually loaded and the substrate supported by the substrate supports is processed (Figs. 1 & 7, par.[0081]); a gas supplier 171, 172 configured to supply a film forming gas for depositing a film and a cleaning gas 174 removing the deposited film into the processing container (Fig. 5, pars.[0047]-[0049],[0082]-[0085]); a memory 207 that stores a cumulative value of a thickness of the deposited film of each of the processing container and two or more of the plurality of substrate supports (Fig. 6, par.[0074], [0133]-[0134]); and a controller 200 configured to control the gas supplier to perform a cleaning process of the processing container and the two or more of the plurality of substrate supports (pars.[0069],[013]-[0137]), wherein the cleaning process is performed in a case where the cumulative value of the processing container is greater than or equal to a threshold value defined in advance and (par.[0141]), wherein the cleaning process including: allocating a cleaning time of the processing container defined in advance for each of the two or more of the plurality of substrate supports on a basis of the cumulative values of each of the plurality of substrate supports 21a, 21b (par.[0144]); taking each of the two or more of the plurality of substrate supports into the processing container (par.[0131]); supplying the cleaning gas to remove the deposited film in accordance with cleaning times allocated for each of the two or more of the plurality of substrate supports (pars.[0091]-[0092],[0133]); and, taking each of the two or more of the plurality of substrate supports from the processing container (Figs. 7f-7i).
Nunomura et al. teach cleaning the processing container and a plurality of substrate supports; however, Nunomura et al. is silent on cleaning two or more of the plurality of substrate supports but yet it is still obvious. Hence, although Nunomura et al. did not disclose two or more plurality of substrate supports, the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (MPEP 2144.04V1B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Nunomura et al. with cleaning two or more of the plurality of substrate supports since it is an obvious design change of duplication of parts that would increase cleaning output.
With respect to claim 2, the substrate processing apparatus of Nunomura et al. further includes wherein the cleaning times of the respective plurality of substrate supports 21a, 21b are proportional to the cumulative values of the substrate supports (pars.[0141]-[0148]).
With respect to claim 3, the substrate processing apparatus of Nunomura et al. further comprising: a monitor (i.e. monitoring program and controller 201) that monitors the cumulative value of the processing container, wherein the monitor transmits a cleaning signal to the controller in a case where the cumulative value is greater than or equal to the threshold value (par.[0141]).
With respect to claim 4, the substrate processing apparatus of Nunomura et al. further comprising an operator 206 (i.e. user) capable of setting the threshold value of the processing container, wherein the monitor compares the threshold value set with the cumulative value of the processing container (pars.[0073], [0141]).
With respect to claim 5, the substrate processing apparatus of Nunomura et al. further includes wherein the monitor (i.e. monitoring program and controller 201) determines whether the cumulative value of the processing container is greater than or equal to the threshold value when processing of the substrate ends (par.[0141]).
With respect to claim 9, the substrate processing apparatus of Nunomura et al. further includes wherein the controller 201 is configured to be controllable to perform notification (i.e. alarm) of the cumulative value as notification information in a case where the cumulative value of the processing container exceeds the threshold value (pars.[0141]-[0145]).
With respect to claim 10, the substrate processing apparatus of Nunomura et al. further includes wherein the memory 207 is capable of storing the notification information (i.e. alarm, pars. [0141]-[0145]).
With respect to claim 11, the substrate processing apparatus of Nunomura et al. further comprising a display 206 capable of displaying the notification information, wherein the notification information is displayed on the display (par.[0073]).
With respect to claim 12, the substrate processing apparatus of Nunomura et al. further includes wherein in a case where the cleaning processing is to be executed, in a case where the substrate is supported by the substrate support 21a, 21b, the controller 201 performs discharging of the substrate before loading the substrate support into the processing container (par.[0099]).
With respect to claim 13, the substrate processing apparatus of Nunomura et al. further includes wherein the memory 207 clears the cumulative value stored in the memory after the cleaning processing ends (pars. [0074], [0076], [0093]).
With respect to claim 14, the substrate processing apparatus of Nunomura et al. further includes wherein clearing of the cumulative value is performed for the processing container 101 and the substrate supports 21a, 21b to which the cleaning processing is performed (pars. [0074], [0076], [0093]).
With respect to claim 15, the substrate processing apparatus of Nunomura et al. further includes wherein when the controller 201 executes the cleaning processing, in a case where the cumulative value of the substrate support 21a, 2ab has not been changed after being cleared, the controller skips the cleaning processing for the substrate support (pars. [0074], [0076], [0093]).
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nunomura et al. (U.S. 2013/0247937) in view of Inoshima (U.S. 2016/0211157).
The teachings of Nunomura et al. have been discussed above.
Nunomura et al. fail to teach a calculator that calculates the cleaning times of the respective substrate supports, wherein the controller requests the calculator to calculate the cleaning times of the respective substrate supports in a case where the controller determines to start the cleaning processing.
Referring to Figure 5 and paragraphs [0086], [0141], [0143], and [0144], Inoshima teach a substrate processing apparatus having a calculator and a controller for determining (i.e. calculating) when to start the cleaning process of the substrate supports in order to improve accuracy and efficiency in a continuous mode cleaning operation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the controller of Nunomura et al. to include a calculator that calculates the cleaning times of the respective substrate supports as taught by Inoshima in order to improve accuracy and efficiency in a continuous mode cleaning operation. The resulting apparatus of Nunomura et al. in view of Inoshima would yield a calculator that calculates the cleaning times of the respective substrate supports, wherein the controller requests the calculator to calculate the cleaning times of the respective substrate supports in a case where the controller determines to start the cleaning processing.
With respect to claim 7, the substrate processing apparatus of Nunomura et al. in view of Inoshima further includes wherein the calculator calculates the cleaning times of the respective substrate supports on a basis of the cleaning time of the processing container and the cumulative values of the substrate supports (Inoshima-pars. [0086], [0141], [0143], and [0144]).
With respect to claim 8, the substrate processing apparatus of Nunomura et al. in view of Inoshima further includes wherein the controller 11 performs execution control of the cleaning processing on a basis of a calculation result by the calculator (Inoshima-pars. [0086], [0141], [0143], and [0144]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Okada et al.’994, Goto et al.’053, Monden’963, Yamazaki’260, Takano et al.’604, Nishiura et al.’630, Sakai et al.’600, Ozaki’93, Harada et al.’609, Itatani et al.’633, Oikawa et al.’421, Kim et al.’000, Kameda et al.’560 teach a controller configured to control the gas supplier to perform a cleaning process of the processing container and the two or more of the plurality of substrate supports.
/Michelle CROWELL/ Examiner, Art Unit 1716 /RAM N KACKAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716