DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5,11, 14-16 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 6-13 and 17-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 7, 9-10, 15 and 17-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,289,289. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because conflicting claims are in a patent by the same inventive entity. Furthermore, where claims in the instant application are broader than the claims of the ‘ 289 patent, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to omit elements when the remaining elements perform as before. A person of ordinary skill could have arrived at the present claims by omitting the details of the ‘289 patent claims. See In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184, decided January 16, 1963 ("Omission of element and its function in combination is obvious expedient if remaining elements perform same function as before").
Instant application
‘289 patent
Claims 1, 12, 17 (claim 1 exemplary)
A method comprising:
receiving, by a processor and from a first device, a domain name system (DNS) resolution request for a uniform resource locator (URL) that comprises a first hostname;
based on receiving the DNS resolution request, retrieving, by the processor, first configuration data assigning the first hostname to a first hosted zone managed by a DNS server and linking the first hosted zone with a virtual private cloud;
determining, by the processor and based on the first configuration data, a DNS record linking the first hosted zone with an Internet Protocol (IP) address; and
providing, by the processor and in response to the DNS resolution request, the IP address to the first device.
Claims 2, 13, 18 (claim 2 exemplary)
The method of claim 1, further comprising generating the first configuration data.
Claim 6
The method of claim 2, wherein generating the first configuration data comprises: creating the first hosted zone; and linking the first hosted zone with the virtual private cloud.
Claim 7
The method of claim 6, wherein generating the first configuration data further comprises designating the virtual private cloud as being associated with creating DNS records.
Claim 8
The method of claim 6, wherein generating the first configuration data further comprises designating the virtual private cloud as being associated with responding to DNS record queries.
Claim 9
The method of claim 1, wherein the first configuration data comprises a name server (NS) record that assigns the first hostname to the IP address.
Claim 10
The method of claim 1, further comprising generating the first configuration data based on detecting a first DNS record in the first hosted zone, the first DNS record having a TXT type.
Claim 11
The method of claim 3, wherein generating the first configuration data further comprises, based on detecting the first DNS record:
retrieving, by the processor and based on detecting the first DNS record, a hostname database comprising a second hostname assigned to a second hosted zone managed by the DNS server;
determining, by the processor and by querying the hostname database, that the first hostname is available for use by the first hosted zone; and
generating, by the processor and based on determining that the first hostname is available for use by the first hosted zone, first DNS configuration data that assigns the first hostname to the first hosted zone.
Claims 1, 9, 17 (claim 1 exemplary)
A method comprising:
detecting, by a processor of a domain name system (DNS) server, a first text record in a first DNS record set, wherein: the first DNS record set is stored in a first hosted zone accessible by the DNS server, the first text record comprises a DNS record with a text (TXT) type, and the first text record requests assignment of a first hostname to the first hosted zone;
retrieving, by the processor and based on detecting the first text record, a hostname database comprising a second hostname assigned to a second hosted zone managed by the DNS server;
determining, by the processor and by querying the hostname database, that the first hostname is available for use by the first hosted zone; and
generating, by the processor and based on determining that the first hostname is available for use by the first hosted zone, first DNS configuration data that assigns the first hostname to the first hosted zone, wherein generating the first DNS configuration data comprises linking a virtual private cloud with the first hosted zone.
Claims 2, 10, 18 (claim 2 exemplary)
The method of claim 1, wherein the first DNS configuration data comprises a name server (NS) record that assigns the first hostname to an Internet Protocol (IP) address of the first hosted zone.
Claims 7, 15 (claim 7 exemplary)
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, to a first device, a DNS resolution request for a uniform resource locator (URL) that comprises the first hostname; and
based on the first DNS configuration data, returning a first IP address of the first hostname to the first device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-10, 12-13 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0351904 to Mizik et al. (“Mizik”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0114003 to Yao et al. (“Yao”).
As to claim 1, Mizik discloses a method (Mizik: fig 1-6) comprising:
receiving, by a processor and from a first device, a domain name system (DNS) resolution request for a uniform resource locator (URL) that comprises a first hostname (Mizik: fig 1-6, [0006-69]: fig 5-6 ... resolver engine 826 obtains DNS requests from devices of a VPC 810 ... determines a VPC identifier associated with the server 814 e.g., as included in the request or metadata associated with the request and obtain one or more rules established by an administrator of the identified VPC 810 (receiving, by a processor and from a first device, a domain name system (DNS) resolution request ...) ... for example a first rule may indicate that any DNS request for the domain name "customer.tld" (... for a uniform resource locator (URL) that comprises a first hostname) should be forwarded to a specific DNS server, such as the customer DNS server 852 or a private DNS resolver 812 of a given VPC 810 [0054]).
Mizik did not explicitly disclose based on receiving the DNS resolution request, retrieving, by the processor, first configuration data assigning the first hostname to a first hosted zone managed by a DNS server and linking the first hosted zone with a virtual private cloud.
Yao discloses disclose based on receiving the DNS resolution request, retrieving, by the processor, first configuration data assigning the first hostname to a first hosted zone managed by a DNS server and linking the first hosted zone with a virtual private cloud (Yao: fig 1-7, [0009-96]: ... customer may perform an action that will result in communications that need to be sent from the service provider VCN to the customer VCN over the RCE proxy, e.g., where DNS traffic is sent to the RCE proxy and for example, the customer may issue a "select" SQL statement that needs to be processed according to the DB link e.g., the SQL statement may require multiple tables to be joined from across the two VCNs and this results in a DNS query to be sent (based on receiving the DNS resolution request, retrieving, by the processor, first configuration data ...) [0052] ... a unique suffix is appended to the FQDN pertaining to the customer input. The DBLink code will append a unique suffix to the FQDN that customer has provided as the input ... e.g., an identifier for the customer database (see with [0052] above - based on receiving the DNS resolution request, retrieving, by the processor, first configuration data assigning the first hostname to a first hosted zone managed by a DNS server ...) [0053] ... first FQDN "pvtcoke.com", the FQDN may be modified to include a suffix that include the first identifier "dbl" and, thus, "pvtcoke.com" may be modified to become "pvtcoke.com. dbl.s" where the ".s" corresponds to any additional desired suffix information and the rightmost suffix "s", can be used by a service VCN resolver to bifurcate a DNS query and a service VCN resolver will forward the DNS query with "s" to a multi-tenant DNS resolver and which will be eventually resolved inside the customer's VCN where the PE resides (see with [0052-53] above - based on receiving the DNS resolution request, retrieving, by the processor, first configuration data assigning the first hostname to a first hosted zone managed by a DNS server ...) [0055]).
Mizik and Yao are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to VPCs/VCNs.
Before the effective filing date, for AIA , it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate strategies by Yao into the method by Mizik. The suggestion/motivation would have been to implement a multi-tenant DNS resolver for secure communications for a virtual cloud environment (Yao: [0009]).
Mizik and Yao further disclose determining, by the processor and based on the first configuration data, a DNS record linking the first hosted zone with an Internet Protocol (IP) address (Yao: fig 1-7, [0009-96]: ... management service sets up the private endpoint (PE) in the customer VCN may provide a DNS name, e.g., a fully qualified domain name (FQDN) for the PE (determining, by the processor and based on the first configuration data, a DNS record ...) in addition to or instead of a private IP address (...linking the first hosted zone with an Internet Protocol (IP) address) and network setup is configured for DNS so hosts can access the private endpoint using the FQDN and when a PE is set up for a resource, hosts within the VCN can use the private endpoint's FQDN or private IP address to access the resource (determining, by the processor and based on the first configuration data, a DNS record linking the first hosted zone with an Internet Protocol (IP) address) [0028-29];
Mizik: fig 1-6, [0006-69]: ... customer DNS server 852 returns a network address corresponding to the domain name of the original request ... and may successfully resolve a domain name into a network address (IP address) by use of a customer DNS server 852 based on handling rules established by an administrator of the VPC (determining, by the processor and based on the first configuration data ... linking the first hosted zone with an Internet Protocol (IP) address) ... adaptive DNS resolver 820 may continue to process DNS responses and query DNS servers until a network address responsive to the query of the server 814 is obtained and a network address is used herein as an example of a type of response provided by a DNS system, other response contents are possible, for example, a DNS response may include a TXT record (a text record), an SRV record, an MX record, or any other type of DNS resource record (... a DNS record linking the first hosted zone with an Internet Protocol (IP) address) [0063]); and
providing, by the processor and in response to the DNS resolution request, the IP address to the first device (Yao: fig 1-7, [0009-96]: ... private IP address e.g., IPv4 address and related information for addressing an instance (providing, by the processor and in response to the DNS resolution request, the IP address to the first device), for example, a hostname for DNS may be created and each VNIC has a primary private IP, and one can add and remove secondary private IPs [0023];
Mizik: fig 1-6, [0006-69]: ... customer DNS server 852 returns a network address corresponding to the domain name of the original request ... and may successfully resolve a domain name into a network address (IP address) by use of a customer DNS server 852 based on handling rules established by an administrator of the VPC (providing, by the processor and in response to the DNS resolution request, the IP address to the first device) ... adaptive DNS resolver 820 may continue to process DNS responses and query DNS servers until a network address responsive to the query of the server 814 is obtained and a network address is used herein as an example of a type of response provided by a DNS system, other response contents are possible, for example, a DNS response may include a TXT record (a text record), an SRV record, an MX record, or any other type of DNS resource record (providing, by the processor and in response to the DNS resolution request, the IP address to the first device) [0063]).
Same motivation applies as mentioned above to make the proposed modification.
As to claim 2, see similar rejection to claim 1 where the method is taught by the method.
As to claim 2, Mizik and Yao further disclose further comprising generating the first configuration data (Yao: fig 1-7, [0009-96]: Yao: fig 1-7, [0009-96]: ... customer may perform an action that will result in communications that need to be sent from the service provider VCN to the customer VCN over the RCE proxy, e.g., where DNS traffic is sent to the RCE proxy and for example, the customer may issue a "select" SQL statement that needs to be processed according to the DB link e.g., the SQL statement may require multiple tables to be joined from across the two VCNs and this results in a DNS query to be sent (generating the first configuration data) [0052] ... a unique suffix is appended to the FQDN pertaining to the customer input. The DBLink code will append a unique suffix to the FQDN that customer has provided as the input ... e.g., an identifier for the customer database (see with [0052] above - generating the first configuration data) [0053] ... first FQDN "pvtcoke.com", the FQDN may be modified to include a suffix that include the first identifier "dbl" and, thus, "pvtcoke.com" may be modified to become "pvtcoke.com. dbl.s" where the ".s" corresponds to any additional desired suffix information and the rightmost suffix "s", can be used by a service VCN resolver to bifurcate a DNS query and a service VCN resolver will forward the DNS query with "s" to a multi-tenant DNS resolver and which will be eventually resolved inside the customer's VCN where the PE resides (see with [0052-53] above - generating the first configuration data) [0055];
Mizik: fig 1-6, [0006-69]: ... rules may be provided by an administrator of the VPC 810 via a web interface, API, CLI, or other user interface provided by the rules interface (generating the first configuration data) ... example set of rules in shown in table 1 below (see table 1) [0057] ... as shown in table 1, each rule may be associated with a rule identifier (generating the first configuration data) and these rule identifiers may be unique among all VPCs 810 such that rules may be shared among VPCs 810 by use of the rule identifiers ... each rule my further include a domain, as well as an action to take when a DNS request to resolve that domain is received (generating the first configuration data) ... in practice, the DNS servers may be identifier for example by a network address of the DNS server (generating the first configuration data) ... illustrative examples of rules are shown in table 1 and variations are possible and contemplated ... for example, some embodiments may enable direct specification of a network address to which a domain should resolve e.g., resolve requests to "example.tld" to IP address "1.2.3.4" (generating the first configuration data) [0058]).
For motivation, see rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 6, see similar rejection to claims 1-2.
As to claim 6, Mizik and Yao further disclose creating the first hosted zone; and linking the first hosted zone with the virtual private cloud (Yao: fig 1-7, [0009-96]: ... management service sets up the private endpoint (PE) in the customer VCN may provide a DNS name, e.g., a fully qualified domain name (FQDN) for the PE (creating the first hosted zone ...) in addition to or instead of a private IP address (... and linking the first hosted zone with the virtual private cloud) and network setup is configured for DNS so hosts can access the private endpoint using the FQDN and when a PE is set up for a resource, hosts within the VCN can use the private endpoint's FQDN or private IP address to access the resource (creating the first hosted zone; and linking the first hosted zone with the virtual private cloud) [0028-29];
Mizik: fig 1-6, [0006-69]: ... customer DNS server 852 returns a network address corresponding to the domain name of the original request ... and may successfully resolve a domain name into a network address (IP address) by use of a customer DNS server 852 based on handling rules established by an administrator of the VPC (creating the first hosted zone; and linking the first hosted zone with the virtual private cloud) ... adaptive DNS resolver 820 may continue to process DNS responses and query DNS servers until a network address responsive to the query of the server 814 is obtained and a network address is used herein as an example of a type of response provided by a DNS system, other response contents are possible, for example, a DNS response may include a TXT record (a text record), an SRV record, an MX record, or any other type of DNS resource record (creating the first hosted zone; and linking the first hosted zone with the virtual private cloud) [0063]).
For motivation, see rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 7, see similar rejection to claims 1-2 and 6.
As to claim 7, Mizik and Yao further disclose wherein generating the first configuration data further comprises designating the virtual private cloud as being associated with creating DNS records (Mizik: fig 1-6, [0006-69]: ... process DNS requests from devices within a VPC according to VPC-associated rules will be described (generating the first configuration data further comprises designating the virtual private cloud as being associated with ...) [0064] ... adaptive DNS resolver 820 may continue to process DNS responses and query DNS servers until a network address responsive to the query of the server 814 is obtained and while a network address is used herein as an example of a type of response provided by a DNS system, other response contents are possible and, for example, a DNS response may include a TXT record (a text record), an SRV record, an MX record, or any other type of DNS resource record (see with [0064] above - generating the first configuration data further comprises designating the virtual private cloud as being associated with creating DNS records) [0063] ... with reference to fig 5a-b a set of illustrative interactions for adaptive resolution of DNS requests from servers 814 of a VPC 810 will be described and interactions between at (1), where the adaptive DNS resolver 820 obtains a set of resolution rules associated with a VPC 810 (see with [0063-64] above & table 1 - generating the first configuration data further comprises designating the virtual private cloud as being associated with creating DNS records) [0057]).
For motivation, see rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 8, see similar rejection to claims 1-2 and 6-7.
As to claim 8, Mizik and Yao further disclose wherein generating the first configuration data further comprises designating the virtual private cloud as being associated with responding to DNS record queries (Mizik: fig 1-6, [0006-69]: ... process DNS requests from devices within a VPC according to VPC-associated rules will be described (generating the first configuration data further comprises designating the virtual private cloud as being associated with ...) [0064] ... adaptive DNS resolver 820 may continue to process DNS responses and query DNS servers until a network address responsive to the query of the server 814 is obtained and while a network address is used herein as an example of a type of response provided by a DNS system, other response contents are possible and, for example, a DNS response may include a TXT record (a text record), an SRV record, an MX record, or any other type of DNS resource record (see with [0064] above - generating the first configuration data further comprises designating the virtual private cloud as being associated with responding to DNS record queries) [0063] ... with reference to fig 5a-b a set of illustrative interactions for adaptive resolution of DNS requests from servers 814 of a VPC 810 will be described and interactions between at (1), where the adaptive DNS resolver 820 obtains a set of resolution rules associated with a VPC 810 (see with [0063-64] above & table 1 - generating the first configuration data further comprises designating the virtual private cloud as being associated with responding to DNS record queries) [0057]).
For motivation, see rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 9, see similar rejection to claims 1-2 and 6-8.
As to claim 9, Mizik and Yao further disclose wherein the first configuration data comprises a name server (NS) record that assigns the first hostname to the IP address (Mizik: fig 1-6, [0006-69]: ... process DNS requests from devices within a VPC according to VPC-associated rules will be described (wherein the first configuration data comprises a name server (NS) record that assigns the first hostname to ...) [0064] ... adaptive DNS resolver 820 may continue to process DNS responses and query DNS servers until a network address responsive to the query of the server 814 is obtained (see with [0063] above - wherein the first configuration data comprises a name server (NS) record that assigns the first hostname to the IP address) [0063]).
For motivation, see rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 10, see similar rejection to claims 1-2 and 6-9.
As to claim 10, Mizik and Yao further disclose further comprising generating the first configuration data based on detecting a first DNS record in the first hosted zone, the first DNS record having a TXT type (Mizik: fig 1-6, [0006-69]: ... process DNS requests from devices within a VPC according to VPC-associated rules will be described (generating the first configuration data based on ...) [0064] ... adaptive DNS resolver 820 may continue to process DNS responses and query DNS servers until a network address responsive to the query of the server 814 is obtained and while a network address is used herein as an example of a type of response provided by a DNS system, other response contents are possible and, for example, a DNS response may include a TXT record (a text record), an SRV record, an MX record, or any other type of DNS resource record (see with [0064] above - generating the first configuration data based on detecting a first DNS record in the first hosted zone, the first DNS record having a TXT type) [0063] ... with reference to fig 5a-b a set of illustrative interactions for adaptive resolution of DNS requests from servers 814 of a VPC 810 will be described and interactions between at (1), where the adaptive DNS resolver 820 obtains a set of resolution rules associated with a VPC 810 (see with [0063-64] above & table 1 - generating the first configuration data based on detecting a first DNS record in the first hosted zone, the first DNS record having a TXT type) [0057]).
For motivation, see rejection of claim 1.
As to claims 12-13, see similar rejection to claims 1-2, respectively, where the system is taught by the method.
As to claims 17-18, see similar rejection to claims 1-2, respectively, where the system is taught by the method.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
A) US 20240378138 – Carlson
Different instances of a policy management system, in different clusters of a computing environment, can be configured differently for different purposes. Different policy databases, associated with the different instances of the policy management system, can store different sets of policy data that may be used or accessed during software testing or other operations via the different instances of the policy management system. A resolver can use a lookup table to track which instances of the policy management system are associated with corresponding instances of policy data. External services that access policy data during software tests and/or other operations can query the resolver to determine which instances of the policy management system to communicate with to access particular instances of policy data, such that the services can interact with differently-configured instances of the policy management system without the services themselves being reconfigured or changed
B) US 20250323973 – Starosta
Methods, systems, and apparatuses are described herein for management of a Domain Name System (DNS) system. The system comprises numerous improvements, many related to CNAME records of the DNS. A computing device may manage authentication for a DNS using shared authentication credentials of a first authentication framework. In this manner, a wide variety of users might authenticate themselves using a first framework and use authentication credentials for a second framework to access a DNS. The computing device may further protect DNS servers from Denial of Service (DOS) attacks by bifurcating read and write requests to a DNS to different servers, such that attacks on read requests do not affect all of the DNS. The computing device may further validate DNS requests using, for example, natural language processing to avoid typographical errors inadvertently creating DNS zones.
C) US 20250300958 – Wang
The present disclosure relates to the field of edge cloud technology, and discloses a domain name resolution method, a system, an apparatus, a device, and a medium for edge computing. The domain name resolution method includes: acquiring a first domain name resolution request forwarded by a virtual device through a network module; converting the first domain name resolution request into a second domain name resolution request, and sending the second domain name resolution request to an authoritative domain name system; and receiving a resolution result of the second domain name resolution request by the authoritative domain name system, and forwarding the resolution result to the virtual device through the network module.
D) US 20260032104 – Vallabhaneni
A computer-implemented method (CIM), according to one embodiment, includes creating virtual private endpoints (VPEs) for service endpoints for virtual private clouds (VPCs) of a cloud network, and creating, for the VPCs, buckets having names that include VPC identifiers (IDs). In response to receiving, from a first of the VPCs, a first query for a first of the service endpoints, a name included within the first query is caused to be used for parsing for one of the buckets, where the parsing identifies a first of the buckets. The CIM further includes causing a VPC ID to be extracted from the first bucket, and using the extracted VPC ID as context for resolving the first query.
E) US 20250220048 – Sundararajan
There is described herein a computer-implemented system and method for providing domain name system (DNS) over hypertext transfer protocol secure (HTTPS) (DoH) resolution for a domain, including forming a DoH query for an entity, comprising inserting an entity access token into a uniform resource identifier (URI) template; sending the DoH query to a DoH service; resolving the DoH query, comprising using the entity access token to determine an entity context policy for the DoH query; and returning a DoH response that enacts the entity context policy.
/JUNE SISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455