DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-23 are pending.
Claims 5-21 and 23 are withdrawn from consideration.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 26 January 2026 was filed with the mailing date of the request for continued examination. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Objections and Rejections
The previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 stand.
New grounds of rejection are presented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Labunov et al. (SU 767239).
Regarding claims 1-2, 4 and 22, Labunov discloses an aluminum plating electrolyte (title) (= an electrolyte for forming an anodic oxide), the electrolyte comprising:
1-7 wt % citric acid [0001] (= citric acid, wherein the citric acid accounts for 3.0 wt% or more and 6.0 wt% or less based on 100 wt% of the electrolyte);
0.4 – 2 wt % sulfuric acid [0001] (= an additive wherein the additive comprises one or more selected from among tartaric acid, sulfuric acid, and sodium acetate, and wherein the additive accounts for 0.5 wt% or more and 4.0 wt% or less based on 100 wt% of the electrolyte. The concentration ranges of Labunov overlap with the claimed ranges therefore a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Generally, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (MPEP § 2144.05 II A). Regarding the claimed “without a porous layer” the phrase does not further materially limit the claimed electrolyte. The claim language is directed towards the intended use of the electrolyte. Regarding claim 4, sodium acetate is optionally present. Regarding claim 22, the produced result of using the claimed electrolyte does not further limit the claimed electrolyte.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Labunov et al. (SU 767239) in view of Harrington et al. (US 2002/0125143).
Regarding claim 3, Labunov discloses 1-7 wt % citric acid [0001] and 0.4 – 2 wt % sulfuric acid [0001]. Regarding the claimed sodium acetate, the claim includes a range including 0 wt% therefore the sodium acetate is optionally present.
Labunov fails to disclose the electrolyte comprising 1.0 wt% tartaric acid.
In the same or similar field of anodizing, Harrington discloses an electrolyte comprising citric acid and tartaric acid in an amount of 0.03 to about 10 wt% [0036]. Harrington discloses that the use of alpha-hydroxy group acids including citric acid and tartaric acid tend to produce highly hydration-resistant anodic aluminum oxide [0020].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce an electrolyte comprising tartaric acid because Harrington discloses the use of a combination of alpha-hydroxy group acids including citric acid and tartaric acid tend to produce highly hydration-resistant anodic aluminum oxide [0020].
Claim(s) 1-2, 4 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (KR 102468324).
Regarding claim 1, Yu discloses an electrolyte for forming an anodized coating layer [0022] (= an electrolyte for forming an anodic oxide film), the electrolyte comprising:
0.5 to 4 wt% citric acid [0025]-[0026] (= citric acid, wherein the citric acid accounts for 3.0 wt% or more and 6.0 wt% or less based on 100 wt% of the electrolyte); and
0.5 to 8 wt% sulfuric acid [0026] (= an additive, the additive comprises one or more selected from among tartaric acid, sulfuric acid, and sodium acetate, and the additive accounts for 0.5 wt% or more and 4.0 wt% or less based on 100 wt% of the electrolyte).
The ranges of Yu overlap the claimed ranges therefore a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Further, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 2, Yu discloses 0.5 to 8 wt% sulfuric acid [0026] which overlaps the claimed range therefore a prima facie case of obviousness exists (= wherein the electrolyte comprises 1.5 wt% or more and 2.5 wt% or less of one or more selected from among the tartaric acid, the sulfuric acid, and the sodium acetate).
Regarding claim 4, Yu discloses 0.5 to 4 wt% citric acid and 0.5 to 8 wt% sulfuric acid [0025]-[0026]. Although the range of Yu for citric acid lies outside the claimed range (6 wt%), it is close enough to the claimed range that one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the same or similar predictable result. Regarding the claimed sodium acetate, the claim includes a range including 0 wt% therefore the sodium acetate is optionally present.
Regarding claim 22, the instant claim does not appear to further limit the claimed electrolyte. The product produced by the use of the electrolyte does not further limit the claimed electrolyte.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (KR 102468324) in view of Harrington et al. (US 2002/0125143).
Regarding claim 3, Yu discloses 0.5 to 4 wt% citric acid and 0.5 to 8 wt% sulfuric acid [0025]-[0026]. Regarding the claimed sodium acetate, the claim includes a range including 0 wt% therefore the sodium acetate is optionally present.
Yu fails to disclose the electrolyte comprising 1.0 wt% tartaric acid.
In the same or similar field of anodizing, Harrington discloses an electrolyte comprising citric acid and tartaric acid in an amount of 0.03 to about 10 wt% [0036]. Harrington discloses that the use of alpha-hydroxy group acids including citric acid and tartaric acid tend to produce highly hydration-resistant anodic aluminum oxide [0020].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce an electrolyte comprising tartaric acid because Harrington discloses the use of a combination of alpha-hydroxy group acids including citric acid and tartaric acid tend to produce highly hydration-resistant anodic aluminum oxide [0020].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 26 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The claimed “without a porous layer” does not further limit the claimed electrolyte. The electrolyte is not limited by the product produced from using the electrolyte. Regarding the inclusion of oxalic acid and malic acid in the disclosure of Yu (page 8 of the response, see Table), the instant claims do not exclude additional elements of the claimed electrolyte. The instant claims utilize the transitional phrase “comprising” and therefore additional elements are not excluded.
Conclusion
/Stefanie S Wittenberg/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795