DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the original application filed on 04/02/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,652,890 (US 11652890 B1, hereinafter “Patent 1”), claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,936,742 (US 11936742 B2, hereinafter “Patent 2”), and claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,294,628 (US 12294628 B2, hereinafter “Patent 3”). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of the instant application are broader in every aspect than the corresponding claims of Patent 1 (US 11652890 B1), Patent 2 (11936742 B2), and Patent 3 (12294628 B2) and are therefore anticipated by claims 1-18 of Patent 1 (US 11652890 B1), claims 1-20 of Patent 2 (11936742 B2), and claims 1-20 of Patent 3 (12294628 B2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fallows (US 9462089 B1, hereinafter “Fallows”).
Regarding claim 1 (and similarly claims 9 and 17), Fallows discloses:
A method for establishing communications between proxy servers, the method comprising:
establishing, by a proxy supernode, a network connection to an exit proxy, wherein the proxy supernode and exit proxy are within a service provider infrastructure (WebSocket gateway establishing connection with client, edge gateway, and server, Fallows: Col. 3 lines 56-67, Col. 4 lines 1-61);
receiving, by the proxy supernode, a request from the exit proxy to upgrade the network connection between the proxy supernode and the exit proxy, wherein the request includes identification of a WebSocket protocol (receiving upgrade request including specification of supported subprotocols for upgrading HTTP/HTTPS connection to WebSocket connection, Fallows: Col. 8 lines 44-67, Col. 9 lines 1-13); and
in response to the request, returning, by the proxy supernode, a response code to the exit proxy, wherein the response code establishes a WebSocket communication channel between the proxy supernode and exit proxy (sending response including selected WebSocket connection options and upgrading HTTP/HTTPS connection to WebSocket connection based on upgrade request, Fallows: Col. 11 lines 5-31, Col. 16 lines 12-26).
Regarding claim 2, Fallows teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Fallows further discloses:
wherein the response code is an HTTP 101 switching protocol response code (HTTP/1.1 101 Switching Protocol response, Fallows: Col. 11 lines 5-31).
Regarding claim 3, Fallows teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Fallows further discloses:
wherein the request to upgrade the network connection comprises a GET request (upgrade request including GET request, Fallows: Col. 10 lines 4-17).
Regarding claim 4, Fallows teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Fallows further discloses:
receiving, by the proxy supernode, a data request originating from a client device, wherein the data request includes a URL of a target server (receiving from client application data including location addresses associated with data source and destination, Fallows: Col. 22 lines 36-67, Col. 23 lines 1-18);
generating, by the proxy supernode, a WebSocket message including the data request (encoding data into WebSocket message, Fallows: Col. 23 lines 19-46); and
transmitting, by the proxy supernode via the WebSocket communication channel, the WebSocket message to the exit node (sending WebSocket message via WebSocket connection channel, Fallows: Col. 23 lines 19-46).
Regarding claim 5, Fallows teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 4 above.
Fallows further discloses:
receiving, by the proxy supernode via the WebSocket communication channel, a second WebSocket message from the exit node, wherein the second WebSocket message includes content from the target server (receiving WebSocket message via WebSocket connection channel, Fallows: Col. 22 lines 36-67, Col. 23 lines 1-46); and
forwarding, by the proxy supernode, the second WebSocket message to a proxy gateway in connection with the client device (forwarding WebSocket message via WebSocket connection channel, Fallows: Col. 22 lines 36-67, Col. 23 lines 1-46).
Regarding claim 6, Fallows teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 4 above.
Fallows further discloses:
receiving, by the proxy supernode via the WebSocket communication channel, metadata from the exit proxy comprising at least one of: an operating system configuration, a battery level, a network type, a unique identifier (ID), an internet protocol (IP) address, or a geolocation (receiving data including identifiers and IP addresses via WebSocket connection, Fallows: Col. 22 lines 36-67, Col. 23 lines 1-18).
Regarding claim 7, Fallows teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 6 above.
Fallows further discloses:
wherein the proxy supernode transmits the WebSocket message to the exit node based on the metadata (sending WebSocket message based on data, Fallows: Col. 23 lines 19-46).
Regarding claim 8, Fallows teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Fallows further discloses:
wherein the WebSocket communication channel is configured to support bidirectional and full-duplex communication between the proxy supernode and the exit proxy (establishing bi-directional, full-duplex WebSocket connection communication channel, Fallows: Col. 2 lines 47-51, Col. 3 lines 56-67, Col. 4 lines 1-61, Col. 16 lines 12-26).
Regarding claims 10-16 and 18-20, it does not teach or further define over the limitations in claims 2-8. Therefore, claims 10-16 and 18-20 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claims 2-8 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: Fallows (US 9723069 B1: Redistributing a Connection), Bouazizi (US 2015/0271233 A1: Method and Apparatus for Dash Streaming Using HTTP Streaming), Dice et al. (US 2020/0099961 A1: Networked Video Management System), Kubota (US 2017/0064003 A1: Session Control Method and Computer-Readable Storage Medium Storing Computer Program), Deshpande (US 2019/0069028 A1: Event Registration and Notification), and Surtani et al. (US 2012/0246190 A1: System and Method for Performing Object Relational Mapping for a Data Grid).
In the case of amendments, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/GIL H. LEE/
Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2446