DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/2/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites, “determine, within the computer network, a change between the first activity and the second activity.” The examiner could not find support for determining a change between one activity and another. Fig. 4, for example, contains various determinations (i.e. branches) with only label 421 coming closest to such a limitation and is more simply labeled “Scan user Activity.” Following that label to the written description, [46]-[47] recites, “In some instances, when the system 100 determines at 405 that the user role and/ or business unit has not changed, the system 100 can scan the user activity as shown at 421. Thereafter, the system 100 determines if there are any entitlements that the user is not using at 425. In some instances when there are entitlements that the user is not using, the system 100 can suspend access to inactive entitlements and/or trigger a manual review process as shown at 427. In some instances when the system 100 determines at 425 that there are no entitlements the user is not using, the system 100 can determine if there are any changes in the system platform as shown at 429. In some instances, when there are changes in the system platform, for example, incoming data, changes of services, removing data, as shown at 431, the system 100 can suggest new entitlements to the user or automatically extend the new entitlements to the user if there is no policy indicating the opposite as shown at 433.” In sum and to reiterate, it is unclear to the examiner where a change between a first and second activity is determined.
This issue flows into the last limitation “generate, based on the change, a second electronic resource to the computer network,” as it is dependent on “the change.” In the examiner’s opinion, this is the more clear and glaring lack of written description. Where is a resource ever “generated” in the specification? And, more pointedly, generated based on a previously determined change? It seems to the examiner the specification supports determining when a new electronic resource is added to the network (see [5], [76], and [79] among others), but this and the other recitations are wholly different than “generate, based on the change, a second electronic resource to the computer network.”
Perhaps those portions of the specification loop back to simply a poor wording of the prior “determine” limitation, in that, essentially that limitation is attempting to claim something akin to determining a change to the computer network at a time between the first and second activities which is something the specification appears to support (i.e. the system will be looking for changes (e.g. an added resource) and such an event can occur between activities). But the final limitation still poses significant issues in scope and structure even with such a rewording because the examiner fails to see how, after determining, for example, a resource was added, it would lead to generating another resource (the same resource?).
Claims 8 and 15 recite similar limitations and are similarly rejected.
With regard to claims 2-7,9-14, and 16-20, they are rejected due to their dependency on the above rejected claims and the examiner advises their review as some rely/further narrow the above limitations that necessitated the rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (US Pub. No. 2016/0057150), hereafter, “Choi,” in view of Pulier et al (US Pat. 8,725,886), hereafter, “Pulier.”
As to claim Choi discloses an apparatus, comprising: a processor; and a non-transitory memory storing instructions which, when executed by the processor (Abstract), cause the processor to:
determine a first user entitlement associated with a user profile of a user to a computer network (Figs. 2, 3, labels 208, 308, and [0027], particularly, “In step 208, event analytics access provision 200 obtains user roles and attributes.” See also, [0045], particularly, “Steps 302 through 308 of event analytics access de-provision 300 operate similarly or in tandem to embodiments described above in FIG. 2 with regard to respective steps 202 through 210 (following decision 204, no branch) of event analytics access provision 200.”);
identify a first activity of the user within the computer network, wherein, in the first activity, the user has accessed a first electronic resource of the computer network based on the first user entitlement (Figs. 2, 3, labels 210, 310, and [0028], particularly, “In step 210, event analytics access provision 200 updates an audit event log and historical reference 122. The audit event log collects and saves security log entries across an organization and may contain information about actions that take place on a computer, computers, and/or network which can be correlated to a user id.” See also, [0026], particularly, “For example, an existing user id requests access to managed system 126. Upon entering a valid user id and password, access to the system is granted (i.e., user id exists, authentication and authorization criteria are met, and assigned role grants access to restricted resource).”);
analyze at least one of the user profile, the first user entitlement, or an entitlement authorization condition associated with the computer network to determine a second user entitlement (Fig. 2, label 224 and [0037], particularly, “In step 224, event analytics access provision 200 determines a recommended role for the failed user id from previous successful user id roles. In an embodiment, event analytics access provision 200 determines new roles for the failed user id through a comparison of the roles determined in step 214 above and the roles associated with the user with the successful user ids and shared attributes.” and Fig. 3, label 312 and [0048], particularly, “Additionally, event analytics access de-provision 300 queries historical reference 122 for audit event information associated with other user ids accessing managed system 126 as a reference for additional typical user id activity. Event analytics access de-provision 300 sorts the received audit event information based on similar roles and attributes as the user id associated with the audit event. In one embodiment, event analytics access de-provision 300 identifies a match within the received audit event information. In another embodiment, event analytics access de-provision 300 identifies audit events associated with similar roles and attributes. In an embodiment, event analytics access de-provision 300 organizes audit event information based on similar roles and attributes starting with the most to least similar attribute and/or role matches.”);
identify a second activity of the user within the computer network, wherein, in the second activity, the user has accessed the first electronic resource of the computer network based on the second user entitlement (Fig. 2, label 224 and [0037], particularly, “In step 224, event analytics access provision 200 determines a recommended role for the failed user id from previous successful user id roles. In an embodiment, event analytics access provision 200 determines new roles for the failed user id through a comparison of the roles determined in step 214 above and the roles associated with the user with the successful user ids and shared attributes.” And Fig. 3, label 308-312, see [0054]);
determine, within the computer network, a change between the first activity and the second activity (Fig. 2, label 224 and [0037], particularly, “In step 224, event analytics access provision 200 determines a recommended role for the failed user id from previous successful user id roles. In an embodiment, event analytics access provision 200 determines new roles for the failed user id through a comparison of the roles determined in step 214 above and the roles associated with the user with the successful user ids and shared attributes…For example, a new employee shares the same job title, manager, and department as a co-worker within historical reference 122 with access to managed system 126.” and Fig. 3, label 312-314, see [0054]); and
However Choi does not explicitly disclose generate, based on the change, a second electronic resource to the computer network.
But, Pulier discloses generate, based on a change, a second electronic resource to a computer network (column 9, lines 9-24; particularly, “If, in contrast, reprovisioning is needed, the provisioner 134 reassigning the provisioning environment 122 based on the reevaluation, as depicted at step 334, and control reverts to step 311 to establish a new provisioned environment 122 for the user. Reprovisioning may also involve modifying environment parameters 198 in the user profile, without changing the class 144.”)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Pulier and Choi in order to provide a system that can provision resources on demand to meet the changes of live systems.
As to claims 8 and 15, they are rejected by a similar rationale to that set forth in claim 1’s rejection.
As to claim 2, 9, and 16, the teachings of Choi and Pulier as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 1’s rejection further disclose the instructions further cause the processor to: revoke, from the user, an access to the first electronic resource of the computer network based on the second user entitlement when the user has not accessed the first electronic resource of the computer network based on the first user entitlement during a time greater than a predetermined time threshold value; and update the user profile to indicate that the user does not have access to the second user entitlement (Choi, [0032] and[0044]) .
As to claim 3, 10, and 17, the teachings of Choi and Pulier as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 1’s rejection further disclose to revoke the user with the access to the first electronic resource of the computer network is determined at least in part by an output of a probability inference network (Choi, [0044] and [0054]).
As to claim 4 and 11, the teachings of Choi and Pulier as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 1’s rejection further disclose the first electronic resource is at least one of a computer network service and computer network data (Choi, Abstract and [0002]-[0003]).
As to claim 5, 12, and 18, the teachings of Choi and Pulier as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 1’s rejection further disclose the instructions further cause the processor to: determine a new user entitlement associated with usage of the second electronic resource; and input, into an inference machine learning model, at least one of the first user entitlement or the second user entitlement, to determine when to provide the new user entitlement to the first user entitlement with an access to the second electronic resource of the computer network (Fig. 2, label 224 and [0037], particularly, “In step 224, event analytics access provision 200 determines a recommended role for the failed user id from previous successful user id roles. In an embodiment, event analytics access provision 200 determines new roles for the failed user id through a comparison of the roles determined in step 214 above and the roles associated with the user with the successful user ids and shared attributes…For example, a new employee shares the same job title, manager, and department as a co-worker within historical reference 122 with access to managed system 126.” and Fig. 3, label 312-314, see [0054]).
As to claim 6, 13, and 19, the teachings of Choi and Pulier as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 1’s rejection further disclose the determination to provide the new user entitlement to the first user entitlement is determined at least in part by an output of a probability inference network (Fig. 2, label 224 and [0037], particularly, “In step 224, event analytics access provision 200 determines a recommended role for the failed user id from previous successful user id roles. In an embodiment, event analytics access provision 200 determines new roles for the failed user id through a comparison of the roles determined in step 214 above and the roles associated with the user with the successful user ids and shared attributes…For example, a new employee shares the same job title, manager, and department as a co-worker within historical reference 122 with access to managed system 126.” and Fig. 3, label 312-314, see [0054]).
As to claim 7, 8, and 20, the teachings of Choi and Pulier as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 1’s rejection further disclose the second electronic resource is at least one of a computer network service and computer network data (Choi, Abstract and [0002]-[0003] and Pulier, column 9, lines 9-24).
Conclusion
/THOMAS J DAILEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458