Status of Claims
Claims 1-10 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-10 are objected to because of the following informality:
Claims 1, 9, and 10 recite the following underlining elements that have insufficient antecedent basis:
“a manufacturing condition generated by adapting a parameter item in the manufacturing condition of the first semiconductor manufacturing device to a parameter item in a manufacturing condition of the second semiconductor manufacturing device is transferred to the second semiconductor manufacturing device”.
Claims 1, 9, and 10 recite the following subject matter that is grammatically unclear with idiomatic errors:
“wherein when a specification of the first semiconductor manufacturing device and a specification of the second semiconductor manufacturing device are different from each other and the manufacturing condition of the first semiconductor manufacturing device is transferred to the second semiconductor manufacturing device, a manufacturing condition generated by adapting a parameter item in the manufacturing condition of the first semiconductor manufacturing device to a parameter item in a manufacturing condition of the second semiconductor manufacturing device is transferred to the second semiconductor manufacturing device” (claims 1 and 9).
“when a specification of the first semiconductor manufacturing device and a specification of the second semiconductor manufacturing device are different from each other and the manufacturing condition of the first semiconductor manufacturing device is transferred to the second semiconductor manufacturing device, transferring to the second semiconductor manufacturing device a manufacturing condition generated by adapting a parameter item in the manufacturing condition of the first semiconductor manufacturing device to a parameter item in a manufacturing condition of the second semiconductor manufacturing device” (claim 10).
Claims 2-8 are further objected for being dependent upon an objected base claim 1. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Ogawa (US-2003/0022396-A1).
With respect to claims 1, 9, and 10, Ogawa teaches a semiconductor device manufacturing system, a method, and a server (fig.3 teaches of an electric circuit arrangement of the semiconductor exposure apparatus 100 of fig.1, [0030]; an exposure apparatus which operates on the basis of a parameter file containing a set of parameters and a control method therefor, and a manufacturing method of manufacturing a semiconductor device using an exposure apparatus controlled by the control method, [0001]; The apparatus of the transfer source is not limited to an exposure apparatus. It may be a file server (file management apparatus) for managing recipes, [0037]) for transferring a manufacturing condition of a first semiconductor manufacturing device in a first base (manufacturing a semiconductor device using an exposure apparatus A, fig.4; ) to a second semiconductor manufacturing device in a second base (manufacturing a semiconductor device using an exposure apparatus B, fig.4) to process a sample by the second semiconductor manufacturing device (copy a recipe in an apparatus A to an apparatus B through an external medium (e.g., a floppy disk or MO) or a network and use the recipe in the apparatus B, parameter values in the copied recipe must be corrected (changed) in accordance with a function supported by the apparatus B or its components, fig.4 and [0031]),
wherein [[when1 (copy a recipe in an apparatus A to an apparatus B through…a network and use the recipe in the apparatus B, parameter values in the copied recipe must be corrected (changed) in accordance with a function supported by the apparatus B or its components, [0031]), a manufacturing condition generated by adapting a parameter item in the manufacturing condition of the first semiconductor manufacturing device to a parameter item in a manufacturing condition of the second semiconductor manufacturing device is transferred to the second semiconductor manufacturing device (when a recipe (parameter file) is to be copied to the semiconductor exposure apparatus 100 (corresponding to the apparatus B described above) through…[the] network, parameters are added or deleted (increased or decreased) to the original recipe by an automatic conversion tool 601 such that the recipe is adapted for the semiconductor exposure apparatus 100, thereby converting the parameter configuration, [0033]).
With respect to claim 2/1, Ogawa teaches wherein adapting a parameter item in the manufacturing condition of the first semiconductor manufacturing device to a parameter item in the manufacturing condition of the second semiconductor manufacturing device includes deleting, converting, or adding a parameter (when a recipe (parameter file) is to be copied to the semiconductor exposure apparatus 100 (corresponding to the apparatus B described above) through…[the] network, parameters are added or deleted (increased or decreased) to the original recipe by an automatic conversion tool 601 such that the recipe is adapted for the semiconductor exposure apparatus 100, thereby converting the parameter configuration, fig.5 and [0033]).
With respect to claim 3/2/12, Ogawa teaches wherein deleting the parameter is processing of deleting a parameter that is not used by the second semiconductor manufacturing device (The recipe in the apparatus A is formed from parameters 1 to 4, as indicated by a recipe 501 in FIG. 5, and values indicated in the recipe 501 are set. When this recipe is copied to the apparatus B, parameters are automatically deleted or added (increased or decreased), as indicated by a recipe 502, in correspondence with the software version in the apparatus B. In the recipe 502, parameter 4 is deleted, fig.5 and [0032]).
With respect to claim 4/2/13, Ogawa teaches wherein converting the parameter is processing of converting the parameter so as to satisfy a parameter range defined by the specification of the second semiconductor manufacturing device (the recipe is adapted for the semiconductor exposure apparatus 100, thereby converting the parameter configuration. After that, the recipe is automatically changed (corrected) on the basis of a configuration file 602…configuration file 602 shown in FIG. 6 describes that parameter 1 is corrected to "ON", parameter 2 is corrected to "OFF", and parameter is corrected [from 300] to "200", fig.5 and [0033]).
With respect to claim 5/2/14, Ogawa teaches wherein adding the parameter is processing of adding a new parameter when the new parameter is required in the second semiconductor manufacturing device (In the recipe 502, parameter 4 is deleted, and parameter 5 is added. A default value is given to added parameter 5. After that, the values of parameters 1 to 3 are manually rewritten using a recipe editor 503 or the like, as indicated by a recipe 504, fig.5 and [0032]).
With respect to claim 6/5/2/15, Ogawa teaches wherein a value of the new parameter is a preset initial value or a value calculated from another parameter (parameter 5 is added. A default value is given to added parameter 5, fig.5 and [0032]).
With respect to claim 7/1, Ogawa teaches comprising: a GUI for a user to input, when there is an unadaptable parameter, a value of the parameter (operation panel 103 used by operator to input various kinds of information to the semiconductor exposure apparatus, fig.1 and [0024]; The console unit 120 having the display 102, keyboard 104, and the like is used by the operator to supply to the main body CPU 321 various kinds of commands or parameters related to the operation of the exposure apparatus, fig.3 and [0030]).
With respect to claim 8/1, Ogawa teaches further comprising: a platform on which an application is mounted, wherein the application transfers the manufacturing condition of the first semiconductor manufacturing device in the first base to the second semiconductor manufacturing device in the second base (the electric circuit arrangement of the semiconductor exposure apparatus 100 shown in FIG. 1 and FIG.3 teaches a main body CPU 321 is incorporated in the EWS main body 106 to control the entire apparatus, [0030]).
Conclusion
The additional prior arts made of record and have not been relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as follows:
Kikuchi et al. (US-2009/0088997-A1) teaches a semiconductor device manufacturing system, a method, and a server (a recipe comparison system for an inspection device for semiconductor devices, fig.1) for transferring a manufacturing condition of a first semiconductor manufacturing device in a first base to a second semiconductor manufacturing device in a second base (recipe index table 130 of the storage device 113 of the A inspection device 100 is transferred to the storage device 120 of the recipe comparison control device 102. Further, a B recipe index table 133 in a storage device 117 of the B inspection device 101a is transferred to the storage device 120 of the recipe comparison control device 102. Similarly, index tables of the respective C inspection device 101b and D inspection device 101c are transferred to the storage device 120, [0035]) to process a sample by the second semiconductor manufacturing device (A inspection device 100 and B inspection device 101a, fig.1, are to inspect semiconductor devices in manufacturing plant, [0004]), wherein when a specification of the first
semiconductor manufacturing device and a specification of the second semiconductor manufacturing device are different from each other (recipe comparison control device 102 that controls of recipe comparison processing and multiple inspection devices, namely, an A inspection device 100, a B inspection device 101a, a C inspection device 101b, and a D inspection device 101c, [0027]; The recipe data differential detection section 172 [of control device 102] performs comparison of the A1 [master] recipe data 137 with the multiple pieces of recipe data 138a, 138b, and 138c, fig.1 and [0039]); and
Kin et al. (JP H11-345751-A).
/HIEN D KHUU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116 September 28, 2026
1 Conditional statement in a claim: if or when [“a specification of the first semiconductor manufacturing device and a specification of the second semiconductor manufacturing device are different” = TRUE] then [perform “the manufacturing condition of the first semiconductor manufacturing device is transferred to the second semiconductor manufacturing device”]. It is unclear if the conditional functional limitation is part of the claimed invention or not – raises a 112, 2nd issue unless both (condition = TRUE) and (condition = FALSE) are covered by the claim. Cf. In re Johnston, 435 F.3d. 1381, 1384 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (“[O]ptional elements do not narrow the claim because they can always be omitted.”). Based on such interpretation, the Examiner is not required to find the disclosure of a conditional step of { when a specification of the first semiconductor manufacturing device and a specification of the second semiconductor manufacturing device are different from each other and the manufacturing condition of the first semiconductor manufacturing device is transferred to the second semiconductor manufacturing device, a manufacturing condition generated by adapting a parameter item in the manufacturing condition of the first semiconductor manufacturing device to a parameter item in a manufacturing condition of the second semiconductor manufacturing device is transferred to the second semiconductor manufacturing device} in the prior art. See Ex Parte Gary M. Katz, 2011 WL 514314, *4 (BPAI 2011).
2 Claim 3 depends on claim 2 and claim 3 recites subject matter of “converting the parameter” that is recited in claim 2 as an alternative limitation [deleting, converting, or adding a parameter].
3 Claim 4 depends on claim 2 and claim 4 recites subject matter of “deleting the parameter” that is recited in claim 2 as an alternative limitation [deleting, converting, or adding a parameter].
4 Claim 5 depends on claim 2 and claim 5 recites subject matter of “adding the parameter” that is recited in claim 2 as an alternative limitation [deleting, converting, or adding a parameter].
5 Claim 6 depends on claim 5/2 and claim 6 recites subject matter of “adding the parameter…a new parameter” that is recited in claim 2 as an alternative limitation [deleting, converting, or adding a parameter].