DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to preliminary amendments received on 2/23/2026. Claims 1-3, 14, 18-20 and 22 have been amended. A complete action on the merits of claims 1-22 follows below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Independent Claims 1, 14 and 20 recite the limitation “a proximal end adapted for a user”. It is at most unclear what is meant by a proximal end adapted for a user. For analysis, it is interpreted to have some sort of a handle adapted for a user to hold or control; however, clarification and appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “a plurality of distal tips that each includes a corresponding different preformed-shaped electrode, wherein each of the plurality of distal tips is connectable at the distal end”. It is at most unclear how the plurality of distal tips are related to the “distal end adapted for introduction in a patient” and “a flexible electrode located at the distal end” and how each of the plurality of distal tips is connectable at the distal end and if they are also coupled to the electrode or if the claim is further reciting a plurality of electrodes. Clarification and appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-13, 15-19 and 21-22 are rejected due to dependency over a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-2 and 4-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Azamian (US Pub. No. 2016/0128767) in view of Franke (US Pub. No. 2020/0188660).
Regarding Claim 1, Azamian teaches an apparatus for ablating tissue (Fig. 11), comprising:
a catheter 1105 having a proximal end adapted for a user (to be held/guided by a user) and a distal end adapted for introduction in a patient (the distal end shown in Fig. 11); and
a cured hydrogel located at the distal end, wherein the cured hydrogel forms at least a portion of a flexible electrode (electrode 1110 coated by hydrogel 1115, [0227]-[0228]; “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985); therefore, although the curing process is not disclosed by Azamian for the hydrogel to be applied to the electrode, since the hydrogel is provided on the tip of the electrode as a coating, examiner takes the position that either the coating has been cured over the electrode or in alternative, in view of the teachings of Franke, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the current invention to coat the electrode by a curing process in order to create a flexible tip electrode, see [0968] of Franke; furthermore, Azamian teaches “suitable adhesion means (e.g., UV cured adhesives…)” in [0246] directed to adhering flange 9006 of the inflation manifold 9003).
Regarding Claim 2, Azamian teaches wherein the flexible electrode is retractable in a lumen provided at the distal end (by the use of a guide extension catheter such as 10120 shown in Fig. 102, the flexible electrode is retractable in a lumen of the guide catheter provided at the distal end).
Regarding Claim 4, Azamian teaches wherein the flexible electrode is coverable by a sheath provided at the distal end (by the use of a guide extension catheter such as 10120 shown in Fig. 102, the flexible electrode is coverable by a sheath (the guide catheter) provided at the distal end).
Regarding Claim 5, Azamian teaches wherein at least a portion of the cured hydrogel is conductive ([0228]).
Regarding Claim 6, Azamian teaches wherein the proximal end includes a connector electrically coupled to the flexible electrode and the connector is capable of being connected to an electric generator (similar to the embodiment of Fig. 104, the proximal end of the catheter is coupled to a generator 10405 to supply RF energy to electrode 1110, [0218]-[0219], [0254]).
Regarding Claim 7, Azamian teaches wherein the cured hydrogel is conductive ([0228]).
Regarding Claim 8, Azamian teaches wherein the flexible electrode is made by curing hydrogel around a tubular electrode located in a mold (by curing hydrogel 1115 around a tubular electrode 1110, Fig. 11).
Regarding Claim 9, Azamian teaches wherein the flexible electrode is made by curing hydrogel around a tubular solid electrode centrally located in a mold (by curing hydrogel 1115 around a tubular electrode 1110, Fig. 11).
Regarding Claim 10, Azamian teaches wherein the flexible electrode is configured to deliver bipolar RF ablation (“least one electrode may comprise one or more monopolar electrodes or one or more bipolar electrode pairs” [0047]).
Regarding Claim 11, Azamian teaches wherein the flexible electrode has a sponge-like texture, with an aerated network, or a combination of a continuous structure and a sponge-like structure (“the hydrogel coating 1115 on the ablation electrode 1110 may absorb water from the surrounding tissues” [0228] therefore, examiner takes the position that since the hydrogel coating is configured to absorb water, it must have a sponge-like texture and thus is a combination of a continuous structure and a sponge-like structure).
Regarding Claim 12, Azamian in view of Franke teaches wherein the flexible electrode is deformable (“advantage of curing the electrode inside the body is to adapt to any anatomy of interest and, for specific mixtures, retain the ability to deform mechanically” [0573] of Franke).
Regarding Claim 13, Azamian teaches further comprising a steering mechanism controllable with the proximal end (“the RF ablation catheter comprises an actuatable (e.g., steerable, articulatable, expandable) distal tip configured to maintain sufficient contact pressure of the at least one electrode against the inner wall of the hepatic artery branch” [0033], also see [0171] and [0174]).
Regarding Claim 14, Azamian teaches a system for ablating tissue, comprising:
a surgical instrument (Fig. 11) including: a catheter 1105 having a proximal end adapted for a user (to be held/guided by a user) and a distal end adapted for introduction in a patient (the distal end shown in Fig. 11); and
a flexible electrode located at the distal end, wherein the flexible electrode is formed from a cured hydrogel formed on a solid electrode (electrode 1110 coated by hydrogel 1115, [0227]-[0228]; “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985); therefore, although the curing process is not disclosed by Azamian for the hydrogel to be applied to the electrode, since the hydrogel is provided on the tip of the electrode as a coating, examiner takes the position that either the coating has been cured over the electrode or in alternative, in view of the teachings of Franke, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the current invention to coat the electrode by a curing process in order to create a flexible tip electrode, see [0968] of Franke; furthermore, Azamian teaches “suitable adhesion means (e.g., UV cured adhesives…)” in [0246] directed to adhering flange 9006 of the inflation manifold 9003); and
an electric generator connected to the flexible electrode (similar to the embodiment of Fig. 104, the proximal end of the catheter is coupled to a generator 10405 to supply RF energy to electrode 1110, [0218]-[0219], [0254]).
Regarding Claim 15, Azamian teaches wherein at least a portion of the cured hydrogel is conductive ([0228]).
Regarding Claim 16, Azamian teaches wherein the cured hydrogel is conductive ([0228]).
Regarding Claim 17, Azamian in view of Franke teaches wherein the flexible electrode is deformable (“advantage of curing the electrode inside the body is to adapt to any anatomy of interest and, for specific mixtures, retain the ability to deform mechanically” [0573] of Franke).
Regarding Claim 18, Azamian teaches further comprising a plurality of distal tips that each includes a corresponding different preformed-shaped electrode, wherein each of the plurality of distal tips is connectable at the distal end (see the 112 rejection above as it is unclear how the plurality of distal tips claimed here is related to the instrument of claim 14! Azamian teaches the use of multiple electrodes, thus multiple tips in “a radiofrequency (RF) ablation catheter comprising one or more electrodes” [0027] and “The at least one electrode may comprise a plurality of electrodes configured to deliver thermal energy to multiple locations within the hepatic artery branch simultaneously or sequentially” [0048] such as in Fig. 3 [0135], Fig. 27A-B “If multiple electrodes or other treatment members are used, the multiple members may be spaced at various positions along the length and/or circumference of the expandable element, thereby facilitating treatment at multiple locations (simultaneously or separately)” [0104], Figs. 48A-B, Fig. 79 and Fig. 106).
Regarding Claim 19, Azamian teaches wherein each of the plurality of distal tips is retractible in a lumen provided at the distal end or coverable by a sheath provided at the distal end (by the use of a guide extension catheter such as 10120 shown in Fig. 102, the distal end and thus multiple distal tips are retractable in a lumen of the guide catheter provided at the distal end).
Regarding Claim 20, Azamian teaches a method of ablating tissue (“cardiac ablation procedures” [0376]), comprising:
providing an apparatus including: a catheter 1105 having a proximal end adapted for a user (to be held/guided by a user) and a distal end adapted for introduction in a patient (the distal end shown in Fig. 11); and
a flexible electrode 1115 located at the distal end, wherein the flexible electrode is formed from a [cured] hydrogel formed on a solid electrode 1110 (“hydrogel that swells when exposed to tissues” [0226] and “the hydrogel coating 1115 on the ablation electrode 1110 may absorb water from the surrounding tissues and blood” [0228]; thereby the electrode is flexible); introducing the catheter in a patient (Fig. 11); contacting a target tissue of the patient with the flexible electrode (similar to contacting the tissue with electrode 1420 in Fig. 14B); and ablating the target tissue ([0218]-[0223] and [0227]-[0228]);
Although Azamian teaches the flexible electrode is formed from a hydrogel formed on a solid electrode in Fig. 11 and [0227]-[0228] and “suitable adhesion means (e.g., UV cured adhesives…)” in [0246] directed to adhering flange 9006 of the inflation manifold 9003, does not teach the cured process to adhere the hydrogel coating to the electrode.
In the same field of invention, Franke teaches curing hydrogel from a liquid phase to mold and conform to a solid phase ([0179], [0182], [0187], [0670], [0711], [0823] and [0968]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the current invention to coat the electrode by a curing process in order to create a flexible tip electrode configured to conform/mold to the surrounding area such as the solid electrode 1110 of Azamian in Fig. 11.
Regarding Claim 21, Azamian teaches wherein the target tissue is cardiac tissue (“cardiac ablation procedures” [0376]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azamian in view of Franke as applied above and further in view of Tu (US Patent No. 6,231,570).
Regarding Claim 3, Azamian teaches advancing the catheter and thereby the distal tip/electrode to the target area through a guide catheter; however, does not specifically teach wherein the flexible electrode is retractable using a plunger mechanism connected to the proximal end.
In the same field of ablation catheter invention, Tu teaches retracting and advancing a distal tip out of a catheter with a “push-pull plunger of the push-pull mechanism which is quantifiable and controllable” Col. 3, ll. 36-38.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the current invention to use a similar push/pull plunger in order to better control the retraction/advancement of the distal tip out of the guide catheter of Azamian as a plunger mechanism is a known advance/retraction mechanism used in the art.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azamian in view of Franke as applied above and further in view of Harlev (US Pub. No. 2020/0205890).
Regarding Claim 22, Azamian teaches cardiac ablation procedures; however, does not specifically teach wherein the target tissue is a genesis of errant and abnormal heartbeats.
In the same field of invention, Harlev teaches the use of a flexible electrode for cardiac ablation to treat arrhythmia (abnormal heartbeat) [0087], [0135] and [0149].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the current invention to use the instrument of Azamian in cardiac ablation to treat arrhythmia since it is known in the art to use a flexible electrode for such cardiac ablation in order to create better lesions in view of the teachings of Harlev.
Conclusion
/KHADIJEH A VAHDAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794