DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the initial filing filed on January 29, 2025.
Claims 1-36 are cancelled.
Claims 37-51 are new.
Claims 37-51 are pending this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 1/29/2025, 4/11/2025, 5/28/2025, 8/15/2025, 11/05/2025, and 3/25/2026 has been acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 37-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rimini et al (US 2021/0195435 A1) in view of Bengtsson (US 2021/0231771 A1) and Jeon et al (US 2022/0256519A1).
Regarding Claim 37, Rimini teaches a method of operation by a User Equipment (UE) configured for operation with a wireless communication network, the method comprising [0061 for receive and measure power from the plurality of directional receive-beams]:
receiving restriction signaling in a particular listening direction [0060 for direction of each receive-beam is different than other beams in the plurality of receive-beams],
and complying with the received restriction signaling with respect to radar sensing by the UE in a transmission direction reciprocal to the particular listening direction [0066 for direction of the transmit beam is the same as the direction of the first receive-beam].
Rimini fails to explicitly teach directionally listening for restriction signaling, wherein each of one or more radio network nodes transmits restriction signaling in a corresponding transmit beam direction for each of one or more beam coverage areas associated with the radio network node, sensing using UE with respect to the beam coverage area; the received restriction signaling transmitted by a particular radio network node for a particular beam coverage area.
Bengtsson has a method of operating a wireless communication device includes performing at least one beam sweep (abstract) and teaches directionally listening for restriction signaling [0102 for control signal from base station to the UE],
wherein each of one or more radio network nodes transmits restriction signaling in a corresponding transmit beam direction for each of one or more beam coverage areas associated with the radio network node [0103 for transmit beam sweep of the DL pilot signals and a receive beam sweep],
sensing using UE with respect to the beam coverage area [0122 for spatial restriction in the radar probing direction];
the received restriction signaling transmitted by a particular radio network node for a particular beam coverage area [0101-0103 for communication on a wireless link].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the beam direction techniques, as disclosed by Rimini, further including the coverage calculations as taught by Bengtsson for the purpose to receive the DL pilot signals (Bengtsson, 0104).
Rimini fails to explicitly teach wherein the restriction signaling transmitted for each beam coverage area indicates which communication resources of the wireless communication network are allowed for radar sensing use by UEs, wherein, for each beam coverage area, the associated radio network node transmits a System Information Block (SIB) that conveys the restriction signaling, and wherein the receiving step comprises the UE receiving and successfully decoding the SIB transmitted by the particular radio network node for the particular beam coverage area.
Jeon teaches resources are configured, by frame/subframe/slot/symbol, for uplink communication components, downlink communication components (abstract) and teaches wherein the restriction signaling transmitted for each beam coverage area indicates which communication resources of the wireless communication network are allowed for radar sensing use by UEs [0413 for provide a number of such time patterns, and higher layer signaling such as SIB],
wherein, for each beam coverage area, the associated radio network node transmits a System Information Block (SIB) that conveys the restriction signaling [0413 for multiple time patterns can be configured to the UE. For example, the UE can be configured with two time patterns, with separate configuration for periodicity and other parameter],
and wherein the receiving step comprises the UE receiving and successfully decoding the SIB transmitted by the particular radio network node for the particular beam coverage area [0413 for can configure one of the time patterns to the UE. In another example, multiple time patterns can be configured to the UE].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the beam direction techniques, as disclosed by Rimini, further including the time pattern calculations as taught by Jeon for the purpose to accommodate a switching time between the radar module and the communication module (Jeon, 0413).
Regarding Claim 38, Rimini teaches the particular listening direction is defined by a directional reception sensitivity of the UE arising from reception beamforming by the UE [0060 for beam ID indicates direction].
Regarding Claim 39, Rimini fails to explicitly teach the UE has multiple antenna assemblies, each having a corresponding directionality relative to a current orientation of the UE, and wherein the particular listening direction is defined by the particular antenna assembly associated with the received restriction signaling.
Jeon teaches resources are configured, by frame/subframe/slot/symbol, for uplink communication components, downlink communication components (abstract) and teaches the UE has multiple antenna assemblies, each having a corresponding directionality relative to a current orientation of the UE, and wherein the particular listening direction is defined by the particular antenna assembly associated with the received restriction signaling [0404 for best beam of each antenna module for signal reception and transmission by the UE].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the beam direction techniques, as disclosed by Rimini, further including the time pattern calculations as taught by Jeon for the purpose to use multiple antenna modules simultaneously (Jeon, 0404).
Regarding Claim 40, Rimini fails to explicitly teach complying with the received restriction signaling comprises selecting only allowed communication resources for radar sensing by the UE in the reciprocal transmission direction.
Jeon teaches resources are configured, by frame/subframe/slot/symbol, for uplink communication components, downlink communication components (abstract) and teaches complying with the received restriction signaling comprises selecting only allowed communication resources for radar sensing by the UE in the reciprocal transmission direction [0417 for UE can be provided with “reserved” resources in a TDD DL/UL configuration].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the beam direction techniques, as disclosed by Rimini, further including the time pattern calculations as taught by Jeon for the purpose to use multiple antenna modules simultaneously (Jeon, 0404).
Regarding Claim 49, Rimini teaches a User Equipment (UE) configured for operation with a wireless communication network, wherein the UE comprises [0061 for receive and measure power from the plurality of directional receive-beams]:
communication interface circuitry [0087-0088];
and processing circuitry configured to: directionally listen for restriction signaling via the communication interface circuitry [0060-0061],
receive restriction signaling in a particular listening direction via the communication interface circuitry [0061],
and comply with the received restriction signaling with respect to radar sensing by the UE in a transmission direction reciprocal to the particular listening direction [0066 for ].
Rimini fails to explicitly teach wherein each of one or more radio network nodes transmits restriction signaling in a corresponding transmit beam direction for each of one or more beam coverage areas associated with the radio network node, radar sensing with respect to the beam coverage area; the received restriction signaling transmitted by a particular radio network node for a particular beam coverage area.
Bengtsson has a method of operating a wireless communication device includes performing at least one beam sweep (abstract) and teaches wherein each of one or more radio network nodes transmits restriction signaling [0102 for control signal from base station to the UE],
in a corresponding transmit beam direction for each of one or more beam coverage areas associated with the radio network node [0103 for transmit beam sweep of the DL pilot signals and a receive beam sweep],
radar sensing with respect to the beam coverage area [0122 for spatial restriction in the radar probing direction];
the received restriction signaling transmitted by a particular radio network node for a particular beam coverage area [0101-0103 for communication on a wireless link].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the beam direction techniques, as disclosed by Rimini, further including the coverage calculations as taught by Bengtsson for the purpose to receive the DL pilot signals (Bengtsson, 0104).
Rimini fails to explicitly teach and wherein the restriction signaling transmitted for each beam coverage area indicates which communication resources of the wireless communication network are allowed for radar sensing use by UEs, wherein, for each beam coverage area, the associated radio network node transmits a System Information Block (SIB) that conveys the restriction signaling, and wherein the restriction signaling received in the particular listening direction is based on the UE receiving and successfully decoding the SIB transmitted by the particular radio network node for the particular beam coverage area.
Jeon teaches resources are configured, by frame/subframe/slot/symbol, for uplink communication components, downlink communication components (abstract) and teaches and wherein the restriction signaling transmitted for each beam coverage area indicates which communication resources of the wireless communication network are allowed for radar sensing use by UEs [0413 for provide a number of such time patterns, and higher layer signaling such as SIB],
wherein, for each beam coverage area, the associated radio network node transmits a System Information Block (SIB) that conveys the restriction signaling [0413 for multiple time patterns can be configured to the UE. For example, the UE can be configured with two time patterns, with separate configuration for periodicity and other parameter],
and wherein the restriction signaling received in the particular listening direction is based on the UE receiving and successfully decoding the SIB transmitted by the particular radio network node for the particular beam coverage area [0413 for can configure one of the time patterns to the UE. In another example, multiple time patterns can be configured to the UE].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the beam direction techniques, as disclosed by Rimini, further including the time pattern calculations as taught by Jeon for the purpose to accommodate a switching time between the radar module and the communication module (Jeon, 0413).
Regarding Claim 50, Rimini teaches a radio network node configured for operation in a wireless communication network, wherein the radio network node comprises [0061 for receive and measure power from the plurality of directional receive-beams]:
communication interface circuitry [0087-0088];
and processing circuitry configured to [0060-0061]; and transmit, via the communication interface circuitry [0060-0061].
Rimini fails to explicitly teach generate restriction signaling for each of one or more beam coverage areas associated with the radio network node, radar sensing with respect to the beam coverage area; the restriction signaling for each beam coverage area via a transmit beam corresponding to the beam coverage area.
Bengtsson has a method of operating a wireless communication device includes performing at least one beam sweep (abstract) and teaches Bengtsson has a method of operating a wireless communication device includes performing at least one beam sweep (abstract) and teaches wherein each of one or more radio network nodes transmits restriction signaling [0102 for control signal from base station to the UE],
in a corresponding transmit beam direction for each of one or more beam coverage areas associated with the radio network node [0103 for transmit beam sweep of the DL pilot signals and a receive beam sweep],
radar sensing with respect to the beam coverage area [0122 for spatial restriction in the radar probing direction];
the restriction signaling for each beam coverage area via a transmit beam corresponding to the beam coverage area [0101-0103 for communication on a wireless link].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the beam direction techniques, as disclosed by Rimini, further including the coverage calculations as taught by Bengtsson for the purpose to receive the DL pilot signals (Bengtsson, 0104).
[0103 for transmit beam sweep of the DL pilot signals and a receive beam sweep],
radar sensing with respect to the beam coverage area [0122 for spatial restriction in the radar probing direction];
the received restriction signaling transmitted by a particular radio network node for a particular beam coverage area [0101-0103 for communication on a wireless link].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the beam direction techniques, as disclosed by Rimini, further including the coverage calculations as taught by Bengtsson for the purpose to receive the DL pilot signals (Bengtsson, 0104).
Rimini fails to explicitly teach the restriction signaling corresponding to each beam coverage area indicating which communication resources of the wireless communication network are allowed for radar sensing use by User Equipments (UEs), wherein the step of transmitting the restriction signaling for each beam coverage area comprises transmitting, for each beam coverage area, a corresponding System Information Block (SIB) that includes the restriction signaling.
Jeon teaches resources are configured, by frame/subframe/slot/symbol, for uplink communication components, downlink communication components (abstract) and teaches the restriction signaling corresponding to each beam coverage area indicating which communication resources of the wireless communication network are allowed for radar sensing use by User Equipments (UEs) [0413 for provide a number of such time patterns, and higher layer signaling such as SIB],
wherein the step of transmitting the restriction signaling for each beam coverage area comprises transmitting, for each beam coverage area, a corresponding System Information Block (SIB) that includes the restriction signaling [0413 for multiple time patterns can be configured to the UE. For example, the UE can be configured with two time patterns, with separate configuration for periodicity and other parameter].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the beam direction techniques, as disclosed by Rimini, further including the time pattern calculations as taught by Jeon for the purpose to accommodate a switching time between the radar module and the communication module (Jeon, 0413).
Regarding Claim 51, Rimini teaches the radio network node is a base station [0095 for using base station entities].
Claims 41-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rimini et al (US 2021/0195435 A1) in view of Bengtsson (US 2021/0231771 A1) and Jeon et al (US 2022/0256519 A1), as applied to Claim 37 above, and further in view of Islam et al (US 2018/0376438 A1).
Regarding Claim 41, Rimini fails to explicitly teach the restriction signaling transmitted for each beam coverage area includes first restriction signaling indicating the allowed communication resources for the beam coverage area.
Bengtsson has a method of operating a wireless communication device includes performing at least one beam sweep (abstract) and teaches the restriction signaling transmitted for each beam coverage area includes first restriction signaling indicating the allowed communication resources for the beam coverage area [0123 for transmit power restriction implies a low transmit-power threshold].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the beam direction techniques, as disclosed by Rimini, further including the coverage calculations as taught by Bengtsson for the purpose to receive the DL pilot signals (Bengtsson, 0104).
Rimini fails to explicitly teach and further includes second restriction signaling indicating the allowed communication resources for each of one or more neighboring beam coverage areas, and wherein the method further comprises the UE deciding whether to comply with the second restriction signaling received for each neighboring beam coverage area, in dependence on whether, with respect to the particular listening direction, the UE receives a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) or other reference signal transmission for the neighboring beam coverage area at or above a threshold received signal level.
Islam has devices for wireless communication (abstract) and teaches and further includes second restriction signaling indicating the allowed communication resources for each of one or more neighboring beam coverage areas [0111 for synchronization assistance information may include the cell IDs of cells that support translated SS block indices],
and wherein the method further comprises the UE deciding whether to comply with the second restriction signaling received for each neighboring beam coverage area, in dependence on whether [0110 for having a delay below a threshold the using indices for the UE],
with respect to the particular listening direction, the UE receives a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) or other reference signal transmission for the neighboring beam coverage area at or above a threshold received signal level [0110 for index of the second SS block received from neighbor base station may be equal to the index of a first SS block received from serving base station].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the beam direction techniques, as disclosed by Rimini, further including the UE indices calculations as taught by Islam for the purpose to translating or transferring the SS block indices (Islam, 0110).
Regarding Claim 42, Rimini teaches and wherein the method further comprises, with respect to the reciprocal transmission direction, the UE complying with the further restrictions for each such neighboring beam coverage area [0066 for elect a convenient directional transmit beam with low interference relative to other beams].
Rimini fails to explicitly teach the received restriction signaling comprises a System Information Block (SIB) that is received and successfully decoded by the UE, the SIB transmitted by the particular radio network node for the particular beam coverage area.
Jeon teaches resources are configured, by frame/subframe/slot/symbol, for uplink communication components, downlink communication components (abstract) and teaches the received restriction signaling comprises a System Information Block (SIB) that is received and successfully decoded by the UE, the SIB transmitted by the particular radio network node for the particular beam coverage area [0413 for specification can provide a number of such time patterns, and higher layer signaling such as SIB].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the beam direction techniques, as disclosed by Rimini, further including the time pattern calculations as taught by Jeon for the purpose to use multiple antenna modules simultaneously (Jeon, 0404).
Rimini fails to explicitly teach and wherein the SIB indicates further restriction information for each of one or more beam coverage areas neighboring to the particular beam coverage area, in dependence on whether, with respect to the particular listening direction, the UE receives a reference signal transmitted for the neighboring beam coverage area at or above a threshold received signal level [0113 for receive SS block with SS block measuring window].
Islam has devices for wireless communication (abstract) and teaches and wherein the SIB indicates further restriction information for each of one or more beam coverage areas neighboring to the particular beam coverage area [0098 for synchronization assistance information may include an SS block measurement window],
in dependence on whether, with respect to the particular listening direction, the UE receives a reference signal transmitted for the neighboring beam coverage area at or above a threshold received signal level [0113 for receive SS block with SS block measuring window].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the beam direction techniques, as disclosed by Rimini, further including the UE indices calculations as taught by Islam for the purpose to translating or transferring the SS block indices (Islam, 0110).
Claims 43-44 and 46-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Bengtsson (US 2021/0231771 A1) in view of Jeon et al (US 2022/0256519A1).
Regarding Claim 43, Bengtsson teaches method of operation by a radio network node of a wireless communication network, the method comprising [0102 for control signal in the wireless link]:
generating restriction signaling for each of one or more beam coverage areas associated with the radio network node [0102] for indicative of at least one radar-probing constraint to be applied to radar probing],
radar sensing with respect to the beam coverage area [0122 for spatial restriction in the radar probing direction];
and transmitting the restriction signaling for each beam coverage area via a transmit beam corresponding to the beam coverage area [0101-0103 for communication on a wireless link].
Bengtsson fails to explicitly teach the restriction signaling corresponding to each beam coverage area indicating which communication resources of the wireless communication network are allowed for radar sensing use by User Equipments (UEs), wherein the step of transmitting the restriction signaling for each beam coverage area comprises transmitting, for each beam coverage area, a corresponding System Information Block (SIB) that includes the restriction signaling.
Jeon teaches resources are configured, by frame/subframe/slot/symbol, for uplink communication components, downlink communication components (abstract) and teaches the restriction signaling corresponding to each beam coverage area indicating which communication resources of the wireless communication network are allowed for radar sensing use by User Equipments (UEs) [0413 for provide a number of such time patterns, and higher layer signaling such as SIB],
wherein the step of transmitting the restriction signaling for each beam coverage area comprises transmitting, for each beam coverage area, a corresponding System Information Block (SIB) that includes the restriction signaling [0413 for multiple time patterns can be configured to the UE. For example, the UE can be configured with two time patterns, with separate configuration for periodicity and other parameter].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the beam coverage techniques, as disclosed by Bengtsson, further including the time pattern calculations as taught by Jeon for the purpose to accommodate a switching time between the radar module and the communication module (Jeon, 0413).
Regarding Claim 44, Rimini fails to explicitly teach the step of transmitting the restriction signaling for each beam coverage area comprises repeatedly transmitting the restriction signaling for each one of the one or more beam coverage areas.
Jeon has resources are configured, by frame/subframe/slot/symbol, for uplink communication components, downlink communication components (abstract) and teaches the step of transmitting the restriction signaling for each beam coverage area comprises repeatedly transmitting the restriction signaling for each one of the one or more beam coverage areas [0413 for specification can provide a number of such time patterns, and higher layer signaling such as SIB].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the beam coverage techniques, as disclosed by Bengtsson further including the time pattern calculations as taught by Jeon for the purpose to use multiple antenna modules simultaneously (Jeon, 0404).
Regarding Claim 46, Bengtsson fails to explicitly teach the step of generating the restriction signaling comprises, with respect to a particular instance of transmitting the restriction signaling for a particular one of the one or more beam coverage areas, generating the restriction signaling based on a resource allocation corresponding to the particular beam coverage area.
Jeon has resources are configured, by frame/subframe/slot/symbol, for uplink communication components, downlink communication components (abstract) and teaches the step of generating the restriction signaling comprises, with respect to a particular instance of transmitting the restriction signaling for a particular one of the one or more beam coverage areas [0413 for specification can provide a number of such time patterns, and higher layer signaling such as SIB],
generating the restriction signaling based on a resource allocation corresponding to the particular beam coverage area [0413 for a first number of slots for radar followed by a second number of slots for communication].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the beam coverage techniques, as disclosed by Bengtsson further including the time pattern calculations as taught by Jeon for the purpose to use multiple antenna modules simultaneously (Jeon, 0404).
Regarding Claim 47, Bengtsson fails to explicitly teach the restriction signaling included in each SIB comprises first restriction signaling applicable to the corresponding beam coverage area, and second restriction signaling for each of one or more neighboring beam coverage areas.
Jeon has resources are configured, by frame/subframe/slot/symbol, for uplink. communication components, downlink communication components (abstract) and teaches the restriction signaling included in each SIB comprises first restriction signaling applicable to the corresponding beam coverage area, and second restriction signaling for each of one or more neighboring beam coverage areas.
Jeon has resources are configured, by frame/subframe/slot/symbol, for uplink [0413 for a first number of slots for radar followed by a second number of slots for communication].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the beam coverage techniques, as disclosed by Bengtsson further including the time pattern calculations as taught by Jeon for the purpose to use multiple antenna modules simultaneously (Jeon, 0404).
Claims 45 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Bengtsson (US 2021/0231771 A1) in view of Jeon et al (US 2022/0256519A1) as applied to claim 43 above, and further in view of Rimini (US 2021/0195435 A1).
Regarding Claim 45, Bengtsson teaches the one or more beam coverage areas comprises a plurality of beam coverage areas illuminated by the radio network node via transmit-beam sweeping [0103 for the base station having a transmit beam sweep]
Bengtsson fails to explicitly teach and wherein the step of repeatedly transmitting the restriction signaling for each beam coverage area comprises transmitting the restriction signaling for each beam coverage area in each beam sweep.
Rimini has techniques for radar management based on interference detected over an air interface (abstract) and teaches and wherein the step of repeatedly transmitting the restriction signaling for each beam coverage area comprises transmitting the restriction signaling for each beam coverage area in each beam sweep [0042 for SS blocks may be organized into SS bursts to support beam sweeping].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the beam coverage techniques, as disclosed by Bengtsson further including the SS block sweep calculations as taught by Rimini for the purpose to support beam sweeping (Rimini, 0042).
Regarding Claim 48, Bengtsson fails to explicitly teach transmitting a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) for each beam coverage area, wherein the SSB for each beam coverage area indicates a beam index corresponding to the beam coverage area and indicates at least one further beam index corresponding to the at least one neighboring beam-coverage area.
Rimini has techniques for radar management based on interference detected over an air interface (abstract) and teaches transmitting a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) for each beam coverage area [0042 for SS blocks may be organized into SS bursts to support beam sweeping],
wherein the SSB for each beam coverage area indicates a beam index corresponding to the beam coverage area and indicates at least one further beam index corresponding to the at least one neighboring beam-coverage area [0060 for using beam ID’s for the direction of the beam].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the beam coverage techniques, as disclosed by Bengtsson further including the SS block sweep calculations as taught by Rimini for the purpose to support beam sweeping (Rimini, 0042).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Akkarakaran et al (US 2018/0220448 A1) has uplink transmission by a user equipment (UE) in a system using beamforming.
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648