Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 12 and 19, the recitation "the outermost layer" lacks clear antecedent basis; the element previously introduced is "at least one radially outermost outer layer." Further, the subsequent recitations "the intermediate layer" and "the outer layer" are definite, singular references to elements introduced as "at least one intermediate layer" and "at least one radially outermost outer layer," respectively; where more than one such layer is present, as the "at least one" language permits, it is unclear which layer is referenced. Further, the recitation "which corresponds to the first partial amount" (and the parallel recitations for the third and fourth partial amounts) renders the claims indefinite because the metes and bounds of "corresponds to" are unclear; it cannot be determined whether correspondence requires an equal number of partial strands, a corresponding radial arrangement, or some other relationship. For purposes of examination, and consistent with the specification (see, e.g., page 4, describing partial amounts each comprising an equal quantity of partial strands), "corresponds to" is interpreted as "is equal in number to."
Regarding claim 18, the recitation "wherein the winding corresponds to at least one first partial winding and/or a second partial winding" renders the claim indefinite because the metes and bounds of the winding "corresponding to" a partial winding are unclear; it cannot be determined what structural relationship, if any, is required between the claimed winding and the recited partial winding(s), nor how "at least one first" partial winding relates to "a second" partial winding. It is additionally noted that, to the extent the claim merely re-labels the winding of claim 12 as a partial winding, it is unclear whether the claim further limits claim 12; clarification is required. See 35 U.S.C. 112(d).
Regarding claim 20, the recitation "comprises three windings" renders the claim indefinite because claim 19 recites "a winding," and it is unclear whether the three recited windings are inclusive of, or in addition to, the winding of claim 19, and whether each of the three windings must possess the partial-amount structure recited in claim 19.
Regarding claim 22, the recitation "arranged in a motor vehicle" renders the claim indefinite because claim 21 previously recites "a motor vehicle," and it is unclear whether the motor vehicle of claim 22 is the same as, or different from, the motor vehicle of claim 21.
Claims 13-18 are rejected for inheriting the indefiniteness of claim 12, and claims 21-22 are rejected for inheriting the indefiniteness of claim 19, from which they respectively depend. See MPEP § 2173.05(g).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12, 13, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by REUTER(WO2019/072471A1); citations herein are to the EPO machine translation of record).
Regarding claim 12, Reuter teaches a winding for a component of an electric machine (¶[0002], ¶[0008]; Fig. 1a; stator winding 4),
wherein the component comprises an annular lamination stack with a plurality of axially extending slots through the annular lamination stack configured to receive partial strands of the winding in a plurality of radially adjacently arranged winding layers(¶[0008]-¶[0009]; Fig. 2; circular cylindrical laminated core 2 with regularly arranged slots 3 parallel to the axis of rotation, e.g. 72 slots ¶[0047], receiving hairpin connecting wires 20 in multiple radially adjacent layers ¶[0011]),
wherein the winding layers comprise at least one radially outermost outer layer(¶[0070]; Figs. 8a,8c; layer 1, radially outermost),
a radially innermost inner layer(¶[0070]; Figs. 8a,8c; layer 6, radially innermost),
at least one intermediate layer arranged adjacent the outermost layer(¶[0021], ¶[0070]; Figs. 8a,8c; layer 2, directly adjacent layer 1 within the first double layer),
and a further intermediate layer arranged adjacent the inner layer(¶[0070]; Figs. 8a,8c; layer 5, adjacent layer 6 within the third double layer),
wherein a first partial amount of the partial strands of the winding is guided through the inner layer and the further intermediate layer(¶[0066], ¶[0070]; Figs. 8a; arc 50 consisting only of connecting wires arranged in the fifth and sixth layers);
a second partial amount of the partial strands of the winding, which corresponds to the first partial amount, is guided through the intermediate layer and the outer layer(¶[0066], ¶[0070]; Figs. 4, 8a; arc 29 consisting only of connecting wires arranged in the first and second layers; all arcs of the winding have the same length and the same number of connecting wires ¶[0053], ¶[0055], satisfying "corresponds to" as interpreted above);
a third partial amount of the partial strands of the winding, which corresponds to the first partial amount and the second partial amount, is guided through the outer layer and intermediate layer(¶[0073]; the final arc of sub-strand 9, of equal length, arranged in the second and first layers and wound in the opposite circumferential direction);
and a fourth partial amount of the partial strands of the winding, which corresponds to the first partial amount, the second partial amount and the third partial amount, is guided through the further intermediate layer and the inner layer(¶[0073]; Figs. 6, 9a; the first arc of sub-strand 9, of equal length, arranged in the sixth and fifth layers). It is noted that the open "comprising" and "at least one" claim language does not require the four recited partial amounts to constitute the entirety of the partial strands of the winding; the four arcs identified above satisfy every recited limitation.
Regarding claim 13/12, Reuter teaches the winding according to claim 12.
Reuter further teaches wherein the first partial amount and the second partial amount of partial strands are wound along a first main direction of the winding(¶[0070]; Fig. 8a; sub-strand 5, comprising the arcs of the first and third double layers, runs counterclockwise),
and the third partial amount and the fourth partial amount of partial strands are wound along a second main direction of the winding opposite to the first main direction(¶[0073]; Fig. 9a; sub-strand 9, comprising the oppositely arranged arcs, runs clockwise).
Regarding claim 18/12, Reuter teaches the winding according to claim 12.
Reuter further teaches wherein the winding corresponds to at least one first partial winding and/or a second partial winding(¶[0014], ¶[0039]-¶[0040]; Figs. 1a, 8b; the winding comprises a plurality of partial strands arranged at circumferentially offset starting points, e.g. partial strands 5 and 9 and partial strands 7 and 10, which may be connected in series or in parallel). This limitation is disjunctive; the teaching of at least one first partial winding is sufficient.
Regarding claim 19, Reuter teaches a component for an electric machine (¶[0008]; Figs. 1a-9a; stator 1) comprising:
a winding(¶[0008]; winding 4);
an annular lamination stack with a plurality of axially extending slots through the annular lamination stack configured to receive partial strands of the winding in a plurality of radially adjacently arranged winding layers(¶[0008]-¶[0009], ¶[0011], ¶[0047]; circular cylindrical laminated core 2 with slots 3 receiving connecting wires 20 in multiple radially adjacent layers),
wherein the winding layers comprise at least one radially outermost outer layer(¶[0070]; layer 1);
a radially innermost inner layer(¶[0070]; layer 6);
at least one intermediate layer arranged adjacent the outermost layer(¶[0021], ¶[0070]; layer 2);
and a further intermediate layer arranged adjacent the inner layer(¶[0070]; layer 5); wherein a first partial amount of the partial strands of the winding is guided through the inner layer and the further intermediate layer(¶[0066], ¶[0070]; arc 50 in the fifth and sixth layers);
a second partial amount, equal in number, is guided through the intermediate layer and the outer layer(¶[0066], ¶[0070]; arc 29 in the first and second layers; equal arc lengths ¶[0053], ¶[0055]);
a third partial amount, equal in number, is guided through the outer layer and intermediate layer(¶[0073]; the final arc of sub-strand 9 in the second and first layers);
and a fourth partial amount, equal in number, is guided through the further intermediate layer and the inner layer(¶[0073]; the first arc of sub-strand 9 in the sixth and fifth layers).
Regarding claim 20/19, Reuter teaches the component for an electric machine according to claim 19.
Reuter further teaches wherein the component is constructed as a stator or as a rotor of the electric machine(¶[0008]; Fig. 1a; stator 1; this limitation is disjunctive and the teaching of a stator is sufficient)
and comprises three windings(¶[0037]; Fig. 1a; the stator comprises three phases U, V, and W, each phase comprising a winding structured in the same manner).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over REUTER(WO2019/072471A1) in view of CAI(US2003/0214196A1).
Regarding claim 14/12, Reuter in view of Cai teaches the winding of claim 12.
Reuter further teaches that the number of winding layers is scalable to any even number (¶[0011]) and that, within the winding, all arcs have the same length (¶[0053], ¶[0055]).
Reuter does not explicitly teach wherein each of the partial amounts of the partial strands correspond to one fourth of a total quantity of partial strands.
However, in the analogous art of hairpin windings for electric machine stators, Cai teaches a four-layer winding formed of exactly two hairpin winding sets, a first set confined to first and second conductor layers and a second set confined to third and fourth conductor layers, the sets being joined between the second and third layers (¶[0021]; Figs. 8(a)-8(b), 10, 12).
Reuter and Cai are in the same field of segmented flat-wire stator windings and address the same problem of constructing multi-layer windings with manageable interconnection. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Reuter’s winding with four layers arranged as two double layers, as taught by Cai, because Cai teaches that the two-set, four-layer construction permits the winding sets to be easily connected, including by automated hairpin connection equipment (¶[0021]), and because Reuter expressly invites scaling the layer count to any even number (¶[0011]); in the resulting four-layer configuration, each of Reuter’s equal-length arcs constitutes one fourth of the total quantity of partial strands. The combination is the application of a known four-layer configuration to Reuter’s scalable winding scheme, yielding predictable results. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007).
11. Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over REUTER(WO2019/072471A1) in view of FUKUNAGA(US2021/0218306A1).
Regarding claim 21/19, Reuter teaches the component for an electric machine of claim 19.
Reuter does not explicitly teach wherein the electric machine is coupled to an electric axle drive for a motor vehicle, a transmission device, and a power converter.
However, in the analogous art of traction machines for electrically powered vehicles, Fukunaga teaches an electric rotating machine mounted on an electric-powered vehicle as a driving source, with a drive shaft of the vehicle coupled to the rotor to transmit output torque to drive wheels that propel the vehicle (¶[0033]; Fig. 1), and a power converter in the form of an inverter coupled to the stator winding via a high-voltage connector (¶[0034]; Fig. 1).
Reuter and Fukunaga are in the same field of stator windings for vehicle electric machines and address the same problem of providing traction drive power. Examiner takes Official Notice that electric axle drives for motor vehicles conventionally include a transmission device with reduction gearing between the traction machine and the driven wheels; this arrangement is notoriously well known in the electric vehicle art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ Reuter’s component in the electric-vehicle drive arrangement taught by Fukunaga, coupled to an electric axle drive, a transmission device, and a power converter, because Fukunaga teaches that such an arrangement permits the machine to serve as the driving source that propels the vehicle (¶[0033]), a predictable benefit of applying Reuter’s stator, with its increased winding cross-section and power capability, in a vehicle traction application. The combination applies a known drive-integration technique to a known stator with predictable results. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007).
Regarding claim 22/21, Reuter in view of Fukunaga teaches the component of claim 21.
Reuter does not explicitly teach wherein the electric axle drive is arranged in a motor vehicle, being silent as to vehicle installation for the reasons noted with respect to claim 21.
However, Fukunaga teaches the drive arrangement mounted on the electric-powered vehicle, with torque transmitted via the drive shaft to the drive wheels of the vehicle (¶[0033]; Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the electric axle drive in the motor vehicle as taught by Fukunaga, because doing so places the drive in torque-transmitting relation with the drive wheels so that the vehicle can be propelled, the predictable benefit identified by Fukunaga (¶[0033]).
Allowable Subject Matter
12. Claims 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and amended to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Regarding claim 15, the closest prior art of Reuter(WO2019/072471A1), Tang(US2021/0218305A1), Yang(US2021/0376680A1), Cai(US2003/0214196 A1), Neet(US2021/0159743A1), and Chen(WO2021/074563A1) does not teach or fairly suggest the serial interconnection sequence wherein "a first partial strand of the first partial amount is interconnected with an external connection" through "a last partial strand of the fourth partial amount is interconnected with a further external connection", in which both external connections are made to the partial amounts guided through the inner layer and the further intermediate layer, in combination with the remaining limitations of claims 12 and 15.
Claims 16 and 17 depend from claim 15 and are allowable at least for the same reasons; it is additionally noted as to claim 17 that the recited direction-reversing interconnection "within the outer layer", in combination with the serial chain of claim 15, stands in contrast to Reuter’s inner-layer reversal (¶[0070], ¶[0073]; Figs. 8a, 9a) and is not taught by the remaining art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Yang (US2021/0376680A1) teaches a continuous wave winding in which paired branches traverse all slot layers in opposite circumferential directions with coil spans alternating among short, full, and long pitch (¶[0028]-¶[0032]).
Tang (US2021/0218305A1) teaches a hairpin winding electric machine with four paths per phase arranged across paired radial layers H1-H4 and flexibly located terminal connections (¶[0031]-¶[0032]).
Neet (US2021/0159743A1) teaches a stator winding with end-turn pitches alternating between N+1 and N-1 and a transition end turn between outer and inner layer pairs (¶[0043]-¶[0045]).
Chen (WO2021/074563A1) teaches hairpin phase winding branches balanced between the slots of slot pairs by alternation of odd and even radial slot positions.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tulsidas Patel can be reached on 571-272-2098. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect. uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/MOHAMMED AHMED QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2834