Restriction
2. In the response, filed 6/8/2026, applicant has elected to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 1-12 and 34. Claims 13-20 and 38 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner (see 37 CFR 1.142(b)), as being drawn to a non-elected invention. Applicant is required to cancel non-elected invention in the next correspondence.
Art Rejection
5. Claims 1-12 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, U.S. pat. Appl. Pub. No. 2023/0308903, in view of Karampatsis, U.S. pat. Appl. Pub. No. 2023/0217360.
Per claim 1, Kim discloses a computer implemented method for a network data analytics function (NWDAF) configured to assist splitting of artificial intelligence/machine learning (AI/ML) operations between a user equipment (UE) and a processing network that are operably coupled via the communication network (see par 0143, 0181), the method comprising:
a) receiving, from a network function (NF) or an application function (AF) associated with the communication network, a request for a processing entity (PE) performance analytic associated with the processing network (see par 0244), wherein the processing network comprises a plurality of PEs, e.g., network endpoints/nodes (see par 0144);
b) obtaining information from the UEs and the PEs, e.g., network nodes (see par 0144);
c) computing the PE performance analytic based on the obtained information, e.g., NF load analytics, network performance analytics (see par 0247-0248); and
d) sending the computed PE performance analytic to the NF or AF, in accordance with the request (see par 0256).
Kim does not explicitly teach that the obtained information includes communication performance between the PEs in the processing network. Karampatsis however discloses a typical NWDAF that collects communication performance from PEs in the processing network in order to derive the analytics (see Karampatsis, par 0050-0051).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize such data collection of communication performance between the PEs in Kim because it would have enabled generating network performance analytics by the NWDAF (see par 0247-0248).
Per claims 2-3, Karampatsis teaches that the performance analytics includes prediction of communication performance between UE and PE in the processing network (see par 0067).
Per claim 4, Kim teaches splitting AI/ML operations between UE and the processing network including offloading computation-intensive operations to network endpoint, i.e., PE, while performing privacy and latency sensitive operations at the UE (see par 0181). On the other hand, Karampatsis teaches that the analytics comprises recommendation for one or more PEs to provide service at the UE location (see Karampatsis, par 0070).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to recognize that the recommended PEs would be used to implement the split AI/ML operation (see Kim, par 0181).
Per claims 5-7, Kim teaches that the request for the PE performance analytic includes analytics identifier (see par 0246).
Per claim 8, Kim teaches the NF or AF comprises NEF coupled to AI/ML server (see par 0224).
Per claims 9-10, Karampatsis teaches sending to NF or AF a subscription request for PE information related to the requested PE performance analytic (see par 0090-0091), and receiving from the NF or AF a notification including information in accordance with the subscription request (see par 0095).
Per claim 11, Karampatsis teaches that obtaining PE resource availability that indicates processing resource available at the PE, i.e., identifying PE capable of providing performance data (see par 0124).
Per claims 12, Kim teaches computing PE performance analytic based on information obtained from one or more NFs of the communication networks (see par 0144, 0248).
Per claim 34, Kim teaches utilizing and configuring NWDAF to assist implementation of splitting of AI/ML operations between UE and processing network (see par 0144, 0213).
Conclusion
/Viet D Vu/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455
7/6/26