Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 12, 16-17, 37-39, and 48-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brankov (WO2021/116026A1).
With regards to claim 1, Brankov discloses a decorative floor covering (i.e., an article having a longitudinal axis and a transverse axis that is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis) comprising a multilayer printing substrate (i.e., substrate) having a first side, a digitally-printed section located on an adhesive layer (i.e., a printed image) positioned on the first side of the substrate, wherein the digitally-printed adhesive layer comprises registration marks (i.e., at least one identifier), and an embossed in register (EIR) layer wherein the digitally-printed adhesive layer is positioned between the EIR layer and the substrate, wherein the digitally-printed adhesive layer is depicted as a pattern and the EIR layer is depicted as having a corresponding pattern that is aligned with the pattern of the formed image along the longitudinal axis and the transverse axis (Brankov: Figs. 1-6; para. [0020], [0025]-[0028], and [0038]). It is noted that the phrase “corresponding pattern that is aligned with the pattern of the printed image along the longitudinal axis and the transverse axis” is rather broad, given that the claim does not specify how the patterns “correspond” (i.e., as best understood, the claim is met, since the patterns of the printed image and EIR layer are both located as a part of a same article, the patterns having a longitudinal axis and a transverse axis). In addition the phrase “the at least one identifier indicates the corresponding pattern of the EIR layer and a spatial location of the corresponding pattern of the EIR layer relative to the at least one identifier” is rather broad, as technically, any identifier on the same laminate as a patterned EIR layer has “at least one identifier” which “indicates the corresponding pattern of the EIR layer and a spatial location of the corresponding pattern of the EIR layer relative to the at least one identifier” (i.e., as a spacing or distance between the at least one identifier and pattern is measurable).
With regards to claim 6, the printed image of Brankov is itself a layer of ink (i.e., and not a discrete sheet or foil onto which an ink is printed) (see above discussion). Alternatively, the overall decorative floor covering of Brankov is formed continuously (i.e., and therefore, not including a discrete sheet or foil).
With regards to claim 12, the at least one identifier is formed as an embossment (i.e., as best understood from the present specification, embossments are optically capturable to permit alignment of the pattern of the printed image with the corresponding pattern of the EIR layer) (see above discussion).
With regards to claim 16, the pattern of the printed image comprises a geometric pattern (i.e., as technically, any pattern is a geometric pattern, as any pattern has a geometry) (see above discussion)
With regards to claim 17, the at least one identifier comprises a plurality of identifiers spaced two-dimensionally (i.e., implies spacing which is conducted at least along a longitudinal axis, or in other words, in a direction having a component extending along the longitudinal axis) (see above discussion).
With regards to claim 37, Brankov discloses a decorative floor covering (i.e., an article having a longitudinal axis and a transverse axis that is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis) comprising a multilayer printing substrate (i.e., substrate) having a first side, a digitally-printed section located on an adhesive layer (i.e., a printed image) positioned on the first side of the substrate, wherein the digitally-printed adhesive layer comprises registration marks (i.e., an identifier), and an embossed in register (EIR) layer wherein the digitally-printed adhesive layer is positioned between the EIR layer and the substrate, wherein the digitally-printed adhesive layer is depicted as a pattern and the EIR layer is depicted as having a corresponding pattern that is aligned with the pattern of the formed image along the longitudinal axis and the transverse axis (Brankov: Figs. 1-6; para. [0020], [0025]-[0028], and [0038]). It is noted that the phrase “corresponding pattern that is aligned with the pattern of the printed image along the longitudinal axis and the transverse axis, wherein the identifier identifies the corresponding pattern of the EIR layer and a location of the corresponding pattern of the EIR layer relative to the identifier” is rather broad, given that the claim does not specify how the patterns “correspond” (i.e., as best understood, the claim is met, since the patterns of the printed image and EIR layer are both located as a part of a same article, the patterns having a longitudinal axis and a transverse axis) or how the identifier “identifies” the corresponding pattern of the EIR layer (i.e., as best understood, the claim is met, since the identifier is located on the article, and therefore, it may be used to identify the article, which contains the corresponding pattern of the EIR layer relative to the identifier). In addition the phrase “the at least one identifier indicates the corresponding pattern of the EIR layer and a spatial location of the corresponding pattern of the EIR layer relative to the at least one identifier” is rather broad, as technically, any identifier on the same laminate as a patterned EIR layer has “at least one identifier” which “indicates the corresponding pattern of the EIR layer and a spatial location of the corresponding pattern of the EIR layer relative to the at least one identifier” (i.e., as a spacing or distance between the at least one identifier and pattern is measurable).
With regards to claim 38, the identifier is formed as an embossment (i.e., as best understood from the present specification, embossments may be captured non-optically) (see above discussion).
With regards to claim 39, the identifier is formed as an embossment (i.e., as best understood from the present specification, embossments are optically capturable) (see above discussion).
With regards to claim 48, Brankov discloses a decorative floor covering (i.e., an article having a longitudinal axis and a transverse axis that is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis) comprising a multilayer printing substrate (i.e., film) having a first side, a digitally-printed section located on an adhesive layer (i.e., a printed image) positioned on the first side of the film, wherein the digitally-printed adhesive layer comprises registration marks (i.e., at least one identifier), and an embossed in register (EIR) layer wherein the digitally-printed adhesive layer is positioned between the EIR layer and the film, wherein the digitally-printed adhesive layer is depicted as a pattern and the EIR layer is depicted as having a corresponding pattern that is aligned with the pattern of the formed image along the longitudinal axis and the transverse axis (Brankov: Figs. 1-6; para. [0020], [0025]-[0028], and [0038]). It is noted that the phrase “corresponding pattern that is aligned with the pattern of the printed image along the longitudinal axis and the transverse axis” is rather broad, given that the claim does not specify how the patterns “correspond” (i.e., as best understood, the claim is met, since the patterns of the printed image and EIR layer are both located as a part of a same article, the patterns having a longitudinal axis and a transverse axis). In addition the phrase “the at least one identifier indicates the corresponding pattern of the EIR layer and a spatial location of the corresponding pattern of the EIR layer relative to the at least one identifier” is rather broad, as technically, any identifier on the same laminate as a patterned EIR layer has “at least one identifier” which “indicates the corresponding pattern of the EIR layer and a spatial location of the corresponding pattern of the EIR layer relative to the at least one identifier” (i.e., as a spacing or distance between the at least one identifier and pattern is measurable).
With regards to claim 49, Brankov depicts its article rolled on a rolling apparatus (i.e., formed into a roll) (see above discussion).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brankov as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Pervan (US2010/0092731A1).
With regards to claim 2, Brankov an article according to claim 1, the article further comprising a layer of adhesive disposed between the substrate and the printed image (i.e., the image itself is printed on the adhesive layer) (see above discussion). Brankov does not appear to disclose its substrate as comprising a fiber core.
Pervan discloses a wood fibre-based building panel and including a substrate comprising a fiber core, wherein the panel further comprises a layer of adhesive disposed between the substrate and an upper layer. Pervan further notes that, in the field of decorative materials, fibreboard is the most common known core material (Pervan: para. [0007]-[0009]). Pervan teaches that such fibrous materials are easy to form and compress, recyclable, and are easily mixed with wear resistant particles (i.e., wood fiber cores, as best understood, have improved wear resistance) (Pervan: para. [0047] and [0052]-[0055]). Brankov and Pervan are analogous art in that they are related to the same field of endeavor of decorative building materials. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have selected a wood fiber core material for the substrate of Brankov, as such materials are among the “most common” in the field, and further, a person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make such a selection in order to provide easier processing, recyclability, and improved wear resistance (see above discussion).
With regards to claim 3, Brankov discloses its adhesive as comprising a radiation-curable polyurethane adhesive (i.e., a polyurethane reactive adhesive) (Brankov: para. [0017]).
Claims 4-5, 7-9, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brankov as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Klackmann-Schneider et al (US2017/0144427A1).
With regards to claim 4, Brankov discloses an article as applied to claim 1 above (see above discussion). However, Brankov does not appear to disclose its printed image as comprising a film and an ink printed thereon.
Klackmann-Schneider is directed to a printed resilient floor covering comprising a printed UV curable ink layer relocated on a support film (i.e., a film and an ink printed thereon) (Klackmann-Schneider: abstract; para. [0002]; claim 1). The UV curable ink taught by Klackmann-Schneider is capable of controlled curing, which enables the achievement of a degree of crosslinking which has improved durability and scratch resistance (Klackmann-Schneider: para. [0011]). Brankov and Klackmann-Schneider are analogous art in that they are related to the same field of endeavor of decorative articles. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have formed the printed image of Brankov from a combination of a film and a UV curable ink as taught by Klackmann-Schneider, in order to improve the durability and scratch resistance of the article of Brankov (see above discussion).
With regards to claim 5, the ink taught by Klackmann-Schneider is UV curable (see above discussion).
With regards to claim 7, the ink may include a water-based acrylate (i.e., water) (Klackmann-Schneider: para. [0034]).
With regards to claim 8, the printed image includes adhesive (see above discussion).
With regards to claim 9, the printed image has a first side facing the substrate and an opposite second side, wherein the article does not comprise a layer of adhesive on the second side of the printed image (i.e., as the adhesive is, instead, on the first side) (see above discussion).
With regards to claim 10, a person of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to have applied a UV curable layer (i.e., scratch coat) on a side of the EIR layer opposite the substrate, in order to improve the durability of the formed article (see above discussion).
With regards to claim 11, a person of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to have applied a UV curable layer (i.e., wear layer) on a side of the EIR layer opposite the substrate, in order to improve the durability of the formed article (see above discussion).
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brankov as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Küffner et al (US2017/0361952A1).
With regards to claim 13, Brankov discloses an article as applied to claim 12 above, the article comprising at least one identifier (see above discussion). However, Brankov does not disclose its identifier as comprising a barcode.
Küffner is directed to a partially embossed blank comprising a printed bar code (Küffner: abstract; para. [0023]). The bar code of Küffner can be read by a first sensor to produce a signal which is sent to a computer, enabling control and adjustment of the feed distance of the blank during processing (Küffner: para. [0024]-[0027]). Brankov and Küffner are analogous art in that they are related to the same field of endeavor of printed articles. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have formed the identifier of Brankov as a bar code, in order to enabling control and adjustment of the article of Brankov during processing (i.e., the bar code facilitates readability of the identifier) (see above discussion).
With regards to claim 14, the bar code may have, for example, a rectangular form (i.e., a 2D barcode) (see above discussion).
With regards to claim 15, the 2D barcode may be a data matrix or QR code (see above discussion).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and they are found persuasive. Applicant has explicitly defined the meaning of the term “film” in the claim (i.e., and therefore, an interpretation such that the present claims and specification contradict cannot be taken). Therefore, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn.
The remainder of Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not found persuasive.
Applicant cites to the Examiner’s statement that, with respect to the claims “the claim[s] [are] met, since the identifier is located on the article, and therefore, it may be used to identify the article, which contains the corresponding pattern of the EIR layer relative to the identifier”. Applicant’s rebuttal is “Applicant respectfully disagrees with this assertion”. Applicant states that “the claim expressly recites that the identifier indicates the EIR pattern itself” based on the claim language “indicates the corresponding pattern of the IER layer and a spatial location of the corresponding pattern of the EIR layer relative to the… identifier”. Technically, Applicant’s argument is incorrect, as use of the identifier to indicate that the EIR layer is a part of the same article is, in fact, indicating “a spatial location of the corresponding pattern of the EIR layer relative to the identifier” (i.e., indicating that, spatially, both the pattern of the EIR layer and the identifier are a part of the same article). Moreover, it is still maintained by the Examiner that since a distance between the identifier and pattern of the EIR layer exists, a spatial measurement (i.e., determining a spatial location) of the pattern to the identifier, is still possible by the structure of Brankov, and therefore, the claims are met. Further, as best understood, the structure of Brankov is that of the claimed invention according to the present specification – it is unclear what structural difference Applicant is attempting to claim, specifically.
Applicant argues that Brankov’s registration marks are used in production stages downstream of its article, and Brankov forms cuts by reference to the registration mark. Applicant argues that since Brankov’s registration marks are used for this function, they cannot be considered to indicate a corresponding pattern of the EIR layer. This argument is not found persuasive as the argued functions are not mutually exclusive. The registration marks of Brankov are capable of both providing a reference for cuts, and being used to indicate the location of (or use in the process of spatially measuring the location of) a pattern within its EIR layer.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.W./
Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/MARIA V EWALD/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783