DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-5, 9, 13 and 15-17 in the reply filed on 9/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 18-25, 27 and 29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the lithium metal powder". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as this claim depends upon claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chun et al. (US 5266098).
As to claim 1, Chun teaches a method for preparing a metal powder, in which an ultrasonic vibration is induced on a perforated membrane that is in contact with a liquid metal (col. 3 lines 32-60, Fig. 2).
As to claims 2-3, the metal is as claimed in col. 5 lines 63-67.
As to claim 4, the metal powder is in aerosol form in col. 2 lines 32-60 and as shown in Figure 3 using gas jest 74, for example.
As to claim 5, Figure 1 shows the powder being deposited directly onto a target.
As to claims 15-16, a piezo electric transducer is used to generate the ultrasonic vibration in the liquid metal that is in contact with the perforated membrane as shown in Figure 2, deposited on a substrate in Figure 1 or Figure 3 by spraying, col. 3 lines 32-60.
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ohtani et al. (US 2009/0317735 A1)
As to claim 1, Chun teaches a method for preparing a metal powder, in which an ultrasonic vibration is induced on a perforated membrane that is in contact with a liquid metal (para 0199, 0316, as shown in Figure 1.
As to claims 2-3, the metal is as claimed in para 200.
As to claim 4, the metal powder is in aerosol form para 0088.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun et al. (US 5266098) in view of Peng et al. (CN 109967750, citations taken from attached translation) and Zhuang et al. (CN 105336929, citations taken from attached translation).
Chun et al. does not teach using its process to make lithium powders. Peng has a similar process where a liquid metal is sonicated and made into a powder (abstract) and this metal is lithium in claim 3. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Chun to include lithium as one of its metals as taught by Peng as Peng teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such and it would expand the applications of the Chun method/apparatus. Chun does not teach the lithium as a part of a battery or cathode/anode when deposited.
Zhuang begins with lithium in solution that is then sonicated to an aerosol that deposits on a substrate used in a battery in Embodiment 1. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Chun and Peng to include the lithium in solution and substrates as taught by Zhuang in order to apply their method/apparatus to battery fabrication.
Claim(s) 5, 9, 13 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohtani et al. (US 2009/0317735 A1) in view of Zhuang et al. (CN 105336929, citations taken from attached translation).
As to claims 5 and 15-17, Ohtani et al. teaches the features of these claims except for depositing the particles on a substrate. Zhuang teaches a similar solution based ultrasonic process that deposits its droplet on a substrate to make a battery layer in Embodiment 1. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Ohtani to include depositing its particles on a substrate as taught by Zhuang in order to make battery layers.
As to claims 9 and 13, Zhuang teaches lithium and solvent in Embodiment 1.
Conclusion
KELLY M. GAMBETTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1718
/KELLY M GAMBETTA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718