DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Pre-Amendments filed on Feb. 05, 2025.
Claims 13-22 and 24-27 have been canceled.
Claims 1-12 and 23 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-12 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ryu et al. (2023/0413225).
Regarding claims 1 and 23, Ryu discloses a method (200) performed by a first network node (see abstract, fig,13, element 1320, fig.24, element BS, paragraphs [0015], [0026], [0178], [0183], [0247] and its description), comprising: receiving, (S202) from a second network node, a message indicating a plurality of location reporting request types (see abstract, fig.24, element AMF/MME, paragraphs [0026], [0247], [0251] and its description); and reporting (S204) a location of a terminal device to the second network node, when a location reporting request type in the plurality of location reporting request types is satisfied (see abstract, fig.24, WD, BS, AMF/MME, paragraphs [0026], [0247], [0251-0252] and its description).
Regarding claim 2, Ryu further discloses wherein the message includes a first information element, IE, indicating a first location reporting request type (see paragraph [0110]), and a second IE indicating a second location reporting request type (see paragraphs [0066], [0110]).
Regarding claim 3, Ryu further discloses wherein the first location reporting request type is at least one of a change of serving cell and a UE presence in the area of interest (see paragraph [0065]); and wherein the second location reporting request type is at least one of the UE presence in the area of interest and the change of serving cell (see paragraph [0065], [0128]).
Regarding claim 4, Ryu further discloses wherein the first IE is a location reporting request type IE (see paragraphs [0040], [0110]); and wherein the second IE is an additional location reporting request type list (see paragraphs [0040], [0065], [0110], [0128]).
Regarding claim 5, Ryu further discloses wherein the second IE indicates one or more location reporting request types (see paragraphs [0065], [0110]).
Regarding claim 6, Ryu further discloses wherein the message includes a location reporting request type IE, including an enumerated value indicating a first location reporting request type and a second location reporting request type (see abstract paragraphs [0026], [0247], [0251-0252] and its description).
Regarding claim 8, Ryu further discloses wherein the message is transmitted via a next generation application protocol, NGAP, interface (see paragraphs [0251], [0283]).
Regarding claim 9, Ryu further discloses wherein the message is at least one of: a location reporting control message; an initial context setup request message; and a handover request message (see paragraphs [0065], [0128]).
Regarding claim 10, Ryu further discloses wherein the message is for triggering a location report when at least one of: the terminal device is in a connected mode; the terminal device is reconnected; and a N2-based handover happens for the terminal device (see fig.24, element WD, paragraphs [0065-0066], [0128]).
Regarding claim 11, Ryu further discloses wherein the first network node is in a next generation-radio access network, NG-RAN; and wherein the second network node is an access and mobility management function, AMF (see abstract, fig.24, elements BS, AMF/MME, paragraphs [0026], [0247], [0251] and its description).
Regarding claim 12, Ryu discloses a method performed by a second network node (see abstract, fig.24, element AMF/MME, paragraphs [0026], [0251] and description), comprising: transmitting (S302) to a first network node, a message indicating a plurality of location reporting request types (see abstract, fig.24, elements BS, AMF/MME, paragraphs [0026], [0251] and description); wherein the message indicates the first network node to report a location of a terminal device to the second network node, when a location reporting request type in the plurality of location reporting request types is satisfied (see abstract, fig.24, elements WD, BS, AMF/MME, paragraphs [0026], [0247], [0251-0252] and its description).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
When responding to this Office Action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
Conclusion
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Alison Slater can be reached on (571) 270-0375. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
UNITED STATES PATENT AND TRADEMARK OFFICE
/CONGVAN TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647