DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s)1-12 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NOKIA et al. "Tracking Area of interest in RRC inactive state" 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3#100 R3-182612, 25 May 2018 (2018-05-25), chapters 8.12.1, 9.3.1.65-9.3.1.66, hereinafter, ‘Nokia’.
Examiner note: Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claims must be given the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Consider Claim 1, Nokia teaches a method performed by a first network node, comprising: receiving, from a second network node, a message indicating to stop location reporting associated to a plurality of areas of interest (chapters 8.12.1, 9.3.1.65-9.3.1.66): The AMF (corresponding to a second network node) initiates the procedure by sending a LOCATION REPORTING CONTROL message to the NG-RAN node (corresponding to a first network node). On receipt of the LOCATION REPORTING CONTROL message the NG-RAN node shall perform the requested location reporting control action for the UE. The Location Reporting Request Type IE indicates to the NG-RAN node whether to report UE presence in the area of interest; or to stop reporting UE presence in the area of interest. The Location Reporting Request Type IE indicates the type of location request to be handled by the NG-RAN node. AS show in the table, Area of Interest List IE shall be present if the Event Type IE is set to the "Value" Start UE presence in the arca of interest. Area of Interest List IE includes Arca of Interest Item IEs, each of which includes arca of interest defined in 9.3.1.66. Area of Interest Cancel List IE shall be present if the Event Type IE is set to the "Value" Stop UE presence in the area of interest. Area of Interest Cancel List IE includes Area of Interest Cancel Item IEs, each of which includes reference ID to be cancelled (corresponding to receiving from a second network node, a message indicating to stop location reporting associated to a plurality of areas of interest).
Consider Claim 12, Nokia teaches a method performed by a second network node, comprising: transmitting to a first network node, a message indicating to stop location reporting associated to a plurality of areas of interest(chapters 8.12.1, 9.3.1.65-9.3.1.66): The AMF (corresponding to a second network node) initiates the procedure by sending a LOCATION REPORTING CONTROL message to the NG-RAN node (corresponding to a first network node). On receipt of the LOCATION REPORTING CONTROL message the NG-RAN node shall perform the requested location reporting control action for the UE. The Location Reporting Request Type IE indicates to the NG-RAN node whether to report UE presence in the area of interest; or to stop reporting UE presence in the area of interest. The Location Reporting Request Type IE indicates the type of location request to be handled by the NG-RAN node. AS show in the table, Area of Interest List IE shall be present if the Event Type IE is set to the "Value" Start UE presence in the arca of interest. Area of Interest List IE includes Arca of Interest Item IEs, each of which includes arca of interest defined in 9.3.1.66. Area of Interest Cancel List IE shall be present if the Event Type IE is set to the "Value" Stop UE presence in the area of interest. Area of Interest Cancel List IE includes Area of Interest Cancel Item IEs, each of which includes reference ID to be cancelled (corresponding to receiving from a second network node, a message indicating to stop location reporting associated to a plurality of areas of interest).
Consider Claim 23, Nokia teaches an apparatus for a first network node, comprising: a processor ; and a memory, the memory containing instructions executable by the processor (The Examiner notes that the hardware features are anticipated implicit features underlying the process/method), whereby the apparatus for the first network node is operative for: receiving, from a second network node, a message indicating to stop location reporting associated to a plurality of areas of interest(chapters 8.12.1, 9.3.1.65-9.3.1.66): The AMF (corresponding to a second network node) initiates the procedure by sending a LOCATION REPORTING CONTROL message to the NG-RAN node (corresponding to a first network node). On receipt of the LOCATION REPORTING CONTROL message the NG-RAN node shall perform the requested location reporting control action for the UE. The Location Reporting Request Type IE indicates to the NG-RAN node whether to report UE presence in the area of interest; or to stop reporting UE presence in the area of interest. The Location Reporting Request Type IE indicates the type of location request to be handled by the NG-RAN node. AS show in the table, Area of Interest List IE shall be present if the Event Type IE is set to the "Value" Start UE presence in the arca of interest. Area of Interest List IE includes Arca of Interest Item IEs, each of which includes arca of interest defined in 9.3.1.66. Area of Interest Cancel List IE shall be present if the Event Type IE is set to the "Value" Stop UE presence in the area of interest. Area of Interest Cancel List IE includes Area of Interest Cancel Item IEs, each of which includes reference ID to be cancelled (corresponding to receiving from a second network node, a message indicating to stop location reporting associated to a plurality of areas of interest)..
Consider Claim 2, Nokia teaches wherein the message comprises a first information element, IE, indicating to stop location reporting with a type of UE presence in the plurality of areas of interest (for the sake of brevity please see chapters 8.12.1, 9.3.1.65-9.3.1.66 in the context of the rationale stated of above).
Consider Claim 3, Nokia teaches wherein the first IE is a location reporting request type IE(for the sake of brevity please see chapters 8.12.1, 9.3.1.65-9.3.1.66 in the context of the rationale stated of above).
Consider Claim 4, Nokia teaches wherein the message comprises a second IE indicating a first area of interest of the plurality of areas of interest; and wherein the message comprises a third IE indicating a second area of interest of the plurality of areas of interest(for the sake of brevity please see chapters 8.12.1, 9.3.1.65-9.3.1.66 in the context of the rationale stated of above and Information elements listed in the table).
Consider Claim 5, Nokia teaches wherein the third IE indicates one or more areas of interest(for the sake of brevity please see chapters 8.12.1, 9.3.1.65-9.3.1.66 in the context of the rationale stated of above and Information elements listed in the table).
Consider Claim 6, Nokia teaches wherein the second IE comprises a location reporting reference identifier to be cancelled; and wherein the third IE comprises an additional location reporting reference identifier list(for the sake of brevity please see chapters 8.12.1, 9.3.1.65-9.3.1.66 in the context of the rationale stated of above and Information elements listed in the table).
Consider Claim 7, Nokia teaches wherein the message comprises a fourth IE indicating the plurality of areas of interest(for the sake of brevity please see chapters 8.12.1, 9.3.1.65-9.3.1.66 in the context of the rationale stated of above and Information elements listed in the table).
Consider Claim 8, Nokia teaches wherein the fourth IE comprises an additional location reporting reference identifier list(for the sake of brevity please see chapters 8.12.1, 9.3.1.65-9.3.1.66 in the context of the rationale stated of above and reference identifier ).
Consider Claim 9, Nokia teaches wherein the message is transmitted via a next generation application protocol, NGAP, interface(see figure 8.12.1.2-1).
Consider Claim 10, Nokia teaches wherein the message is a location reporting control message(see figure 8.12.1.2-1).
Consider Claim 11, Nokia teaches wherein the first network node is in a next generation-radio access network, NG-RAN; and wherein the second network node is an access and mobility management function, AMF(see figure 8.12.1.2-1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20200196298 A1 teaches stop location reporting – see at least figure 4.
Location Reporting Control message that initiates the periodic location reporting (step 2). This message may also contain the periodic location information, the LCS QoS, and so on. In an US US 20060293066 A1 teaches in paragraph 0073-0074 the RANAP Location Reporting Control message includes a Periodical Reporting Criteria information element (IE) having the following fields
In an effort and bona fide attempt to advance prosecution, Applicant is reminded to (1) Examine the references in their entirety. The cited sections are indicated to merely assist the Applicant in understanding the Examiner's position and should not be used as substitute for reading the entire reference for other relevant details. (2) Carefully review the references cited on the PTO 892 when considering a response to avoid previously presented references on the 892 being applied in subsequent office actions. Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. SEE MPEP 2141.02 [R-5] VI. PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS: A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984) In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 1201,73 USPQ2d 1141, 1146 (Fed. Cir. 2004). >See also MPEP §2123.
/CHARLES T SHEDRICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646