August 21,2026
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 43-61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 1. 43, 47, and 52-53, Applicant defines a “plurality of linear portions”. But then later defines that the “plurality of linear portions” includes “a first arc portion formed in a shape of an arc and a second arc portion formed in a shape of an arc that intersects the first arc portion.” It is not clear how a structure can be defined or described as being “linear” but also has an “arc portion”? The word “linear” is defined as “of, relating to, resembling, or having a graph that is a line and especially a straight line : straight”. It appears Applicant should have defined the structure as - - wherein the pressure-receiving member comprises a plurality of linear portions and a plurality of first and second arc portions that form a mesh-shaped support surface formed by the elastic member, and wherein the plurality of second arc portions intersect the plurality of first arc portions - -. Also, defining that the “arc portion” is “formed in a shape of an arc” is redundant. If it is an “arc portion” is it not “arc shaped”?
The aforementioned problems render the claims vague and indefinite. Clarification and/or correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 43-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MIZOI et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0278698 A1) in view of Machael et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,332,851 B2).
MIZOI et al. teach the structure substantially as claimed including a vehicle seat comprising: a seat frame including left and right side frames disposed laterally apart from each other; and
a pressure-receiving member 30 disposed between the left and right side frames, the pressure-receiving member configured to support an occupant; and,
wherein the pressure-receiving member includes an elastic member having elasticity (see paragraphs [0107-0108] where the “support member 30” is described as “[0107] As shown in FIGS. 3 to 5, the support member 30 is a plate-shaped elastic support member that supports the buttocks of the seated occupant, bridges the front connecting frame 23 and the rear connecting frame 24, and can be bent in the up to down direction in response to (following) the motion of the seated occupant. [0108] The support member 30 has a mesh shape, and has a plurality of mesh holes 30a and 30b penetrating therethrough in a direction orthogonal to a support surface of the support member 30. Specifically, the support member 30 is a planar body having a mesh shape and made of an elastic resin material, and is also referred to as an elastomer panel.”), and wherein the pressure-receiving member 30 comprises a plurality of linear portions that form a mesh-shaped support surface formed by the elastic member (see Fig. 3), but does not teach that the plurality of linear portions includes a first arc portion formed in a shape of an arc and a second arc portion formed in a shape of an arc that intersects the first arc portion.
However, Machael et al. teach the concept of creating a mesh support member 86 that includes first, second, and third arc portions intersecting linear portions; wherein the plurality of linear portions comprises a straight portion extending straight in a front-rear direction or an up-down direction of the seat; wherein the straight portion intersects the first arc portion; wherein the straight portion intersects the second arc portion; the third arc portion having a third center different from a second center of an arc forming the second arc portion, wherein the third arc portion intersects the straight portion.. (see Fig. 3 above). As for claim 46, a first center of an arc forming the first arc portion and a second center of an arc forming the second arc portion are capable of being located outside of an area occupied by the pressure-receiving member. Such a feature is nothing more than design choice since the location of specific straight or arc shaped portions of the mesh are features that are determined by the manufacturer. It would have been obvious and well within the level of ordinary skill in the art to modify, the pressure-receiving member, as taught by MIZOI et al., to include first and second arc portions intersecting linear portions, as taught by Machael et al., since it would increase the flexibility of the pressure-receiving member 30.
As for claims 48-51, MIZOI et al., teach that wherein the pressure-receiving member comprises a pressure sensor configured to detect a seated state of the occupant, and a lateral wire extending in a width direction of the seat, wherein the lateral wire is disposed in a close proximity of the pressure sensor; wherein the pressure- receiving member comprises a longitudinal wire perpendicular to the lateral wire and extending in a front-rear direction or an up-down direction of the seat; wherein the pressure sensor is disposed in a close proximity of an intersection of the lateral wire and the longitudinal wire; and further comprising a duct 52 configured to deliver air from the blower toward the occupant side, wherein the pressure-receiving member comprises a lateral wire extending in a width direction of the seat, and a longitudinal wire perpendicular to the lateral wire and extending in a front-rear direction or an up-down direction of the seat, and wherein the pressure-receiving member has a through hole 2ac and 2ad into which the duct is inserted, the through hole formed in a close proximity of an intersection of the lateral wire and the longitudinal wire
Claims 52-61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MIZOI et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0278698 A1) in view of Machael et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,332,851 B2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform the method of manufacturing as recited as this would be the normal and logical manner of assembling the device as taught the combination of references discussed above.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it teaches structures and concepts similar to those of the present invention .
/Rodney B White/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636