DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-3 and 5-11 in the reply filed on 12/08/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vanevery [WO 2016089452] in view of Sun [US 20170291856].
Claim 1: Vanevery teaches a thermal spray method [title] where the method comprises spraying feedstock particles [0016], by arranging a spray unit from a base material [e.g. Fig. 4]; subjecting the feedstock powder to atmospheric plasma spraying to form a thermal spray film on the base material [0004; 0013] and supplying a liquid together with the feedstock particles [e.g. Fig. 4], wherein the liquid can be water [claim 11], and the water supply location is a distance between a plasma forming nozzle and base material [e.g. Fig. 4]. However, Vanevery appears to be silent about teaching the distance between the spray unit and the base. Sun is provided.
Sun teaches a solution precursor plasma spray of ceramic coating [title], wherein the distance between a nozzle and base is about 25-500 mm [0036]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide this distance range since Sun teaches this distance is operable for plasma spray of ceramic coatings, wherein the spray distance can affect the coating characteristic, such as thickness, density, and roughness [0043]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the distance between the nozzle and the base as result effective variable to optimize the coating characteristics.
Sun further teaches ceramic particles can includes yttria [0021]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art provide yttria as feedstock particles since Sun teaches it is already known in the art to provide yttria in solution based plasma spray deposition.
As for the location of the water supply, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the ratio of the location through routine experimentation since Vanevery teaches how water is deliver to the feedstock impacts the characteristics of the coating [0017; 0032].
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the rate the amount of water is supplied to the feedstock particle through routine experimentation since Vanevery teaches how water is deliver to the feedstock impacts the characteristics of the coating [0017; 0032].
Claim 2: it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (See MPEP 2144.05.I).
Claim 3: it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the rate the amount of water is supplied to the feedstock particle through routine experimentation since Vanevery teaches how water is deliver to the feedstock impacts the characteristics of the coating [0017; 0032].
Claims 5-6: it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the ratio and distance of the water supply location through routine experimentation since Vanevery teaches how water is deliver to the feedstock impacts the characteristics of the coating [0017; 0032].
Claim 7: Vanevery teaches there is at least four water supply nozzle which is arranged at intervals and opposing from each other water is supplied from four direction [Fig. 6]. As for the angle of the nozzles being 90 degrees intervals, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to design variety of different arrangements of the water supply to the plasma nozzle so as to optimize the amount of water supplied to the fed feedstock particles to the base.
Claim 8: Vanevery teaches that six nozzles can be provided [Fig. 6], although Vanevery does not explicitly teach eight nozzles, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the arrangement of the nozzles in order to adjust the rate of liquid supplied to the fed feedstock particles.
Claim 9: Vanevery teaches the water supply nozzles is fed from a line [Fig. 5], which it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that outlets of lines are generally provide in circular shape. As for the size of the orifice, Vanevery teaches adjusting the size of the injector affects the speed of the liquid injector [0032], therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the size of the orifice as result effective variable through routine experimentation to achieve a desired speed of the liquid.
Claim 10: Vanevery teaches the particle size is a result effective variable that can be optimize through routine experimentation [0032].
Claim 11: Sun teaches a thickness of a yttria spray coating can be up to 500 micrometers (um) [claim 8], where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (See MPEP 2144.05.I).
Conclusion
/MANDY C LOUIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718