DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sanderson EP 0232056.
Regarding claim 1, Sanderson discloses a welding system (fig. 1, 4) comprising an evacuatable welding chamber (27; pg. 15 ln. 1-3), an electron beam gun (3) connected to the welding chamber (fig. 1; chamber not shown), a control system (22, 24, 39, 40, 42-45) to modify the direction of an electron beam generated by the electron beam gun (abstract; pg. 14 ln. 10-20; pg. 15 ln. 20-34; pg. 18 ln. 13-19) and a detector for acquiring X-ray images (66; page 20, lines 13-19; claim 13), wherein first and second X-ray sources are positioned proximal a weld site within the welding chamber (pg. 20 ln. 6-12; the tube 65 is multi-segmented, see fig. 4 and fig. 1 61 and 59; claim 14), the first X-ray source emitting X-rays in a first direction through the weld site and the second X-ray source emitting X-rays in a second direction through the weld site, the first and second directions being substantially orthogonal to each other (the tube 65 is circular therefore there exists at least 2 segments which generate x-rays in two orthogonal directions).
Regarding claim 2, Sanderson discloses wherein the second X-ray source is positioned orthogonally to the first X-ray source (the tube 65 is circular therefore there exists at least 2 segments which are orthogonal).
Regarding claim 3, Sanderson discloses wherein the control system is configured to synchronize acquisition of X-ray images of the weld site by the detector with periodic generation of X-rays by the first and second X-ray sources (pg. 20 ln. 1-19; claim 13; the control system controls the electron beam which is also used to generate x-rays on the x-ray source therefore it is synchronized).
Regarding claim 4, Sanderson discloses wherein the first and second X-ray sources are responsive to an incident electron beam to generate X-rays (pg. 20 ln. 1-19; claim 13).
Regarding claim 5, Sanderson discloses wherein the first and second X-ray sources are formed from Tungsten (pg. 20 ln. 1-19).
Regarding claim 7, A welding system according to claim 1, wherein the first and second X-ray sources comprise at least one inclined face so as to direct X-rays through the weld site (pg. 20 ln. 1-19; claim 13; annular surfaces are inclined).
Regarding claim 11, Sanderson discloses wherein the weld site comprises materials capable of penetration by low energy X-rays (pg. 20 ln. 1-19; claim 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 8-9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanderson EP 0232056.
Regarding claim 6, Sanderson does not specifically disclose wherein the first and second X-ray sources are positioned 1 to 5mm from the weld site. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to recited range (1 to 5mm) through routine experimentation and optimization. The Applicant has not disclosed that the range is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected/significant result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another range. Indeed, it has been held that mere range limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the of the claimed invention to have wherein the first and second X-ray sources are positioned 1 to 5mm from the weld site in the system of Sanderson for the purpose of optimizing image resolution.
Regarding claim 8, Sanderson does not explicitly disclose wherein the detector comprises at least one input located within the welding chamber and at least one detector element located outside the welding chamber., however, it has been judiciarily determined that rearrangement of parts has been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04.IV.C). Rearrangement of parts is insufficient to establish patentability over the prior art of record unless it changes the operation of the device in some unexpected way. Since this device appears to operate in a similar manner to the prior art device, the rearrangement of parts is not of patentable significance.
Regarding claim 9, Sanderson does not explicitly disclose wherein the detector comprises one input associated with the first X-ray source and another input associated with the second X-ray source (a detector, see claim 13, implies some input(s) but does not discloses that each input is associated with each segment of the tube which generates x-rays), however, it has been judiciarily determined that rearrangement of parts has been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04.IV.C). Rearrangement of parts is insufficient to establish patentability over the prior art of record unless it changes the operation of the device in some unexpected way. Since this device appears to operate in a similar manner to the prior art device, the rearrangement of parts is not of patentable significance.
Regarding claim 12, Sanderson does not specifically disclose wherein the weld site has a thickness in the range 1 to 3mm. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to recited range (1 to 3mm) through routine experimentation and optimization. The Applicant has not disclosed that the range is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected/significant result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another range. Indeed, it has been held that mere range limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the of the claimed invention to have wherein the weld site has a thickness in the range 1 to 3mm in the system of Sanderson for the purpose of ensuring the site is imageable by the x-ray source.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanderson EP 0232056 in view of Lampert US 3602686.
Regarding claim 10, Sanderson fails to teach wherein an apertured shim is positioned between the input and the weld site.
Lempert teaches wherein an apertured shim (fig. 2 79, 81) is positioned between the input and the weld site (col. 5 ln. 8-15) for the purpose of ensuring the imaged area is the portion which has been welded (col. 5 ln. 8-15).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein an apertured shim is positioned between the input and the weld site as taught by Lempert in the system of Sanderson for the purpose of ensuring the imaged area is the portion which has been welded.
Contact Information
/RICHARD O TOOHEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884