DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/10/2025 was filed before the first Office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Preliminary amendment
Acknowledgment is made of the preliminary amendment filed on 02/10/2025. Accordingly, Claims 1-4 are pending for consideration on the merits in this Office Action.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Expansion mechanism in claim 1;
expansion valve 70, Figure 1 and 0011 of Applicant Specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morimoto et al. (US20220194167A1) in view of Ye et al. (US20230339284A1)
Regarding Claim, Morimoto teaches a refrigerant circuit unit [a connection module 80 applied to a refrigeration cycle 10; 0027] comprising:
a refrigerant circuit [refrigeration cycle 10, Figure 3] including a compressor [compressor 11, Figure 3], a heater [heat exchanger 12, Figure 3;0045], an expansion mechanism [expansion valves 14a, 14b, 14d, Figure 3], a cooler [chiller 24, Figure 3;0096], and a channel module [connection module 80, Figure 1] in which at least a part of a refrigerant channel that distributes a refrigerant circulated in the compressor, the heater, the expansion mechanism, and the cooler, is integrally formed [where connection module 80 has body 81 that includes refrigerant flow path 82, Figure 6; 0027]; and
wherein the channel module includes a high-pressure side region [high-temperature-side flow path 82 a, Figure 6; 0231] provided with a high-pressure channel through which a high-pressure refrigerant flows [where high-pressure refrigerant flowing corresponds to the high-temperature side flow path 82a; 0231], a low-pressure side region [low-temperature-side flow bath 82b, Figure 6;0232] provided with a low- pressure channel through which a low-pressure refrigerant flows [where the low-pressure refrigerant flowing corresponds to the low-temperature side flow path 82b; 0232], and a partition [where a plurality of heat transfer inhibiting portions are formed in the body 81, Figure 6; 0228] that is provided between the high-pressure side region and the low-pressure side region to separate the high-pressure side region and the low-pressure side region [where each inhibiting portion 85 is disposed between the high-temperature-side flow path 82 a and the low-temperature-side flow path 82 b, and is formed so as to have lower thermal conductivity than the body 81, Figure 6; 0228].
Morimoto teaches the connection module [0200] may be configured by combining and integrating a plurality of blocks [0323] but does not explicitly teach a support plate that supports the refrigerant circuit.
However, Ye teaches a vehicular thermal management assembly [0004] including a support plate [annotated Figure 7] that supports the refrigerant circuit [where the support plate supports heat exchanger 5, cooler 6 and throttle element 61, annotated Figure 7] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e., providing support beneath cantilevered components.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Morimoto to have a support plate that supports the refrigerant circuit in view of the teachings of Ye where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e., providing support beneath cantilevered components.
Regarding Claim 2, Morimoto, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 and further teaches where the partition [inhibiting portion 85, Figure 6] is a slit [where each of the heat transfer inhibiting portions 85 has a groove shape space in which air exists, Figure 6; 0229] provided between the high-pressure side region and the low-pressure side region in the channel module [where each inhibiting portion 85 is disposed between the high-temperature-side flow path 82 a and the low-temperature-side flow path 82 b, and is formed so as to have lower thermal conductivity than the body 81, Figure 6; 0228;0231;0232].
Regarding Claim 3, Morimoto, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 2 and further teaches where the slit [heat transfer inhibiting portion 85] may be filled with a material [the inside of the heat transfer inhibiting portion 85 may be filled with a material having low thermal conductivity; 0314] but does not teach wherein a part of the support plate is inserted into the slit.
However, Ye teaches a vehicular thermal management assembly [0004] including a support plate [annotated Figure 7] wherein a part of the support plate is inserted into the slit [where the support plate bolts into the channel module, annotated Figure 7] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e., providing mounting support beneath cantilevered components of the channel module.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Morimoto to have wherein a part of the support plate is inserted into the slit in view of the teachings of Ye where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e., providing mounting support beneath cantilevered components of the channel module.
Regarding Claim 4, Morimoto, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 3 and further teaches where the support plate [refer to Ye as applied to claim 3 above] is made of a material having a heat insulating property [where the inside of the heat transfer inhibiting portion 85 may be filled with a material having low thermal conductivity; 0314].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Calderone (US20190039440A1) discusses a plate-shaped manifold for an HVAC assembly, Figure 2, including a high-pressure fluid path and a low-pressure fluid path, openings and a slot, Figure 5, where the manifold may be constructed via a plurality of flat or planar or formed stamped plates, 0032-0033.
/KEONA LAUREN BANKS/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763