Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3,8,-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, it’s unclear what is intended by the parentheses around “ P1”, “P2” and “ P1:P2”.
Claims 2-3,8-10 have the same problem as claim 1.
Claim 10 is vague and indefinite because it’s unclear how the claim further limits claim 1 which already recites that the first plant protein is pea protein alone.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fondaco ( 2022/0279811 in view of Schimoler ( 2020/0029613).
For claims 1-3,5,6,7 Fondaco discloses plant-based frozen confection comprising fat in amount of 1-15%, sugar in amount of 10-30% and .4-10% plant protein comprising soy protein and fava bean protein in a weight ratio of 1:1 to 1:4. ( see paragraphs 0009,0015,0016)
For claim 4, Fandaco discloses the frozen confection has an overrun of 50-150%. ( see paragraph 0027)
For claim 8, Fandaco discloses the first protein which is soy is in amount at least .18 to no more than 2%. ( see paragraph 0011)
For claim 9, Fandaco discloses the amount of fava protein is at least .4% to no more than 3%.
Fandaco does not disclose pea protein as in claims 1 and 10.
Schimoler discloses frozen confection comprising plant protein. The preferred plant protein is pea protein. Schimoler discloses that the protein should enable the creation of a fine microstructure where the average bubble diameter is between 20-200 microns. ( see paragraphs 0018,0048)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the soy protein in Fandaco with pea protein disclosed in Schimoler as an obvious matter of substituting one ingredient for a known alternative that performs the same function. Schimoler discloses both soy protein and pea protein can be used in frozen confection and pea protein is preferred. Fandaco discloses the combination of soy protein and fava protein maintains the microstructure of the frozen confection and Schimoler discloses that pea protein enables the microstructure. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to do the substitution when desiring to avoid soy which is a known allergen. One skilled in the art can use pea protein in the amount and ratio used for soy protein because both are known to be used in frozen confection.
Conclusion
September 22, 2026
/LIEN T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793