Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 5/9/25 and 1/13/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims both describe the susceptor as comprising a smooth section “through which” the gas mixture flows. However, the specification and drawings do not show a vented susceptor. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-15, 20-21, 26-27 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 2020-0079084 (BAE ET AL) in view of JP 2005-197275 (FUTASE ET AL).
Regarding claim 14: The BAE reference discloses a method of depositing a film on a substrate including atomizing a raw material solution into a mist, mixing the mist with a carrier gas, placing the substrate on a susceptor, supplying the gas mixture to the substrate to form a film by thermal reaction and discharging the gas mixture through an exhaust. See Figure 1 and Reference list for 11 (carrier gas),13 (mist generator), 110/120 (susceptor and substrate), 14 (mist supply), 20/21 (heater). It is recognized that the reference does not specify the surface roughness of the susceptor. However, the FUTASE reference discloses that the inside surfaces of a ceramic CVD reaction chamber have a surface roughness of less than 200um. See claim 1 for surface roughness of less than 5um. The surface roughness is small so that foreign material particles do not form on the substrate during film forming. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the surface of the ceramic susceptor of the BAE deposition chamber to have a low surface roughness as described in the FUTASE reference. One would expect the prevention of foreign particles on the deposition surface, i.e. low defects.
Regarding claim 15: The FUTASR reference discloses a surface roughness of less than 150um. See claim 1.
Regarding claim 20: The BAE reference discloses an apparatus for depositing a film on a substrate including atomizing a raw material solution into a mist, mixing the mist with a carrier gas, placing the substrate on a susceptor, supplying the gas mixture to the substrate to form a film by thermal reaction and discharging the gas mixture through an exhaust. See Figure 1 and Reference list for 11 (carrier gas),13 (mist generator), 110/120 (susceptor and substrate), 14 (mist supply), 20/21 (heater). It is recognized that the reference does not specify the surface roughness of the susceptor. However, the FUTASE reference discloses that the inside surfaces of a ceramic CVD reaction chamber have a surface roughness of less than 200um. See claim 1 for surface roughness of less than 5um. The surface roughness is small so that foreign material particles do not form on the substrate during film forming. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the surface of the ceramic susceptor of the BAE deposition chamber to have a low surface roughness as described in the FUTASE reference. One would expect the prevention of foreign particles on the deposition surface, i.e. low defects.
Regarding claim 21: The FUTASR reference discloses a surface roughness of less than 150um. See claim 1.
Regarding claim 26: The BAE reference discloses a susceptor for use in depositing a film on a substrate including atomizing a raw material solution into a mist, mixing the mist with a carrier gas, placing the substrate on a susceptor, supplying the gas mixture to the substrate to form a film by thermal reaction and discharging the gas mixture through an exhaust. See Figure 1 and Reference list for 11 (carrier gas),13 (mist generator), 110/120 (susceptor and substrate), 14 (mist supply), 20/21 (heater). It is recognized that the reference does not specify the surface roughness of the susceptor. However, the FUTASE reference discloses that the inside surfaces of a ceramic CVD reaction chamber have a surface roughness of less than 200um. See claim 1 for surface roughness of less than 5um. The surface roughness is small so that foreign material particles do not form on the substrate during film forming. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the surface of the ceramic susceptor of the BAE deposition chamber to have a low surface roughness as described in the FUTASE reference. One would expect the prevention of foreign particles on the deposition surface, i.e. low defects.
Regarding claim 27: The FUTASE reference discloses a surface roughness of less than 150um. See claim 1.
Regarding claims 29 and 30: The BAE reference discloses a method of depositing a gallium oxide film on a c-plane sapphire substrate including atomizing a raw material solution into a mist, mixing the mist with a carrier gas, placing the substrate on a susceptor, supplying the gas mixture to the substrate to form a film by thermal reaction and discharging the gas mixture through an exhaust. See Figure 1 and Reference list for 11 (carrier gas),13 (mist generator), 110/120 (susceptor and substrate), 14 (mist supply), 20/21 (heater). It is recognized that the reference does not specify the surface roughness of the susceptor. However, the FUTASE reference discloses that the inside surfaces of a ceramic CVD reaction chamber have a surface roughness of less than 200um. See claim 1 for surface roughness of less than 5um. The surface roughness is small so that foreign material particles do not form on the substrate during film forming. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the surface of the ceramic susceptor of the BAE deposition chamber to have a low surface roughness as described in the FUTASE reference. One would expect the prevention of foreign particles on the deposition surface, i.e. low defects. While the specific rocking curve peak, foreign substance density and film thickness distribution are not disclosed, adjusting the film forming method (gas flow rate, gas flow angle, temperature, etc.) are known ways to optimize the deposition film.
Claims 16-19, 22-25 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 2020-0079084 (BAE ET AL) in view of JP 2005-197275 (FUTASE ET AL) further in view of JP 2016-027636 (ODA ET AL).
Regarding claims 16-17, 22-23 and 28: The BAE/FUTASE combination discloses the method/apparatus as disclosed in the above 103 rejections. It is recognized that the reference does not disclose the difference height of the susceptor and substrate surfaces. However, the ODA reference shows that it is known to provide recesses in the susceptor surface. The size and shape of the recess is adjustable, i.e. shaped to the substrate, deep enough so the substrate is embedded, etc. See description of Figures 9 and 10. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the depth of a recess in the susceptor. One would be motivated by the expectation of securing the substrate on the susceptor as described.
Regarding claims 18-19 and 24-25: The BAE/FUTASE combination discloses the method/apparatus as disclosed in the above 103 rejections. It is recognized that the reference does not specify the angle of the susceptor surface and gas flow. However, the ODA reference shows that it is known to adjust the susceptor angle for deposition to optimize uniformity of the film. See claim 5. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the susceptor angle in the BAE method/apparatus. One would be motivated by the expectation of adjusting the uniformity of the film.
/ELIZABETH E MULVANEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785