DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 13 objected to because of the following informalities: in line 1, “applies” should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “first adhesive application unit” in claims 1 and 8; “die cutting unit” in claims 1-2, 5-6, 14-16, and 19; “debulking unit” in claims 4-7; “folding unit” in claims 10 and 17; “second adhesive application unit” in claims 11-13; and “ultrasonic bonding unit” in claims 15 and 18.
The limitation “first adhesive application unit” recites the generic placeholder “unit” coupled with the functional modifier “application” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 138, shown in figure 1, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “die cutting unit” recites the generic placeholder “unit” coupled with the functional modifier “cutting” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 170 and 172, shown in figure 1B, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “debulking unit” recites the generic placeholder “unit” coupled with the functional modifier “debulking” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 166 and 168, shown in figure 1B, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “folding unit” recites the generic placeholder “unit” coupled with the functional modifier “folding” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 288, shown in figure 6, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “second adhesive application unit” recites the generic placeholder “unit” coupled with the functional modifier “application” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 248, shown in figure 6, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “ultrasonic bonding unit” recites the generic placeholder “unit” coupled with the functional modifier “bonding” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 679 and 681, shown in figure 26A, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim limitations “thermal bonding unit” and “pressure bonding unit” in claims 15 and 18 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Applicant does not provide any structure defining a thermal bonding unit. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9, 12, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by VARONA et al. (US 2019/0290505).
Regarding claims 1, 9, 14, and 16, VARONA teaches a core former (SAP App 1; fig. 5), first adhesive application unit (adhesive 1; fig. 5), and a die cutting unit (para. 79) that is capable of performing the functions claimed.
Regarding claim 12, VARONA teaches a second adhesive application unit capable of performing the functions claimed (adhesive 2; fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VARONA, as applied to claim 1, further in view of MAVINKURVE et al. (US 2004/0254554).
Regarding claim 2, VARONA does not teach the die cutting unit comprises a die with a continuous cutting edge and first roller that rotates in coordination with the die. MAVINKURVE teaches an apparatus for producing absorbent core materials, wherein the die cutting unit comprises a die 503 and a first roller 505 that rotates in coordination against the die (MAVINKURVE; para. 66; fig. 6), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize such a die cutting unit in the apparatus of VARONA because opposing die and anvil rollers were a well-known continuous die cutting mechanism in the art.
Regarding claim 3, VARONA teaches a debulking unit (VARONA; referenced as “bulking unit”; paras. 9 and 224).
Regarding claim 4, VARONA teaches the debulking unit (rollers 520 upstream adhesive applicator 3, fig. 5) comprising a second roller which turns in conjunction with the first roller (fig. 5).
Regarding claim 5, VARONA teaches the debulking unit is position upstream the die cutting unit (VARONA; para. 98).
Regarding claim 6, VARONA teaches a conveyor between the debulking unit and the die cutting unit (VARONA; fig. 5; para. 98).
Regarding claim 7, VARONA teaches the debulking unit (rollers 520) comprises a second and third roller (fig. 5).
Claim(s) 8, 13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VARONA as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of PIANTONI et al. (US 2021/0145652).
Regarding claims 8 and 13, VARONA does not teach that the application unit does not apply adhesive to a channel portion of a form-on web. PIANTONI teaches another absorbent article manufacturing apparatus wherein the first adhesive application unit 9 does not apply adhesive to the channel portion of the absorbent article (paras. 54, 79, 85, 88, and 113), where it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize such an applicator as the applicator of VARONA so that adhesive material does not remain in the channel after application (PIANTONI; para. 21).
Regarding claim 15, VARONA does not teach an adhesive applicator or bonding unit downstream the die cutting unit configured to bond the form-on web to the cover web within the channels. PIANTONI teaches an ultrasonic bonding unit 14 located downstream of the die cutting unit that is configured to bond the form-on web to the cover web within the channels (PIANTONI; para. 92). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include such a bonding unit in the apparatus of VARONA in order to bond the form-on web to the cover to surround the absorbent portions.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 11, 17, and 19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest a folding unit as construed that can fold the form-on web around a portion of the core material.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: VAN INGELGEM et al. (US 2021/0161727) and BIANCHI et al. (US 2016/0175169).
/NICKOLAS R HARM/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/PHILIP C TUCKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1745