DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 were filed with the Preliminary Amendment dated 02/11/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/11/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 1-8 show sectional views, but do not include the required hatching (see 37 C.F.R. 1.84(h)(3)).
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
Side openings and insert of the housing (claim 6)
First connector (claim 9, claim 15)
Second connector (claim 9, claim 15)
Centralisers (claim 12)
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2015/0240600 (“Fripp”).
With regard to claim 1, Fripp discloses an inflow control device (Figs 7A-7B) for use in a well or pipeline (“wellbore” para [0028]), the inflow control device being configured to switch reversibly between an open state (Fig 7B) and a closed state (Fig 7A), or between a closed state (Fig 7A) and an open state (Fig 7B), the inflow control device comprising: a housing (210); a gate (216) moveable within the housing (210) between a closed state (Fig 7A) and an open state (Fig 7B); the housing (210) defining a first valve seat (at 221b) for receiving the gate (216) in a closed state (Fig 7A), and a second valve seat (at 221a) for receiving the gate (216) in an open state (Fig 7B), wherein the first valve seat (221b) and the second valve seat (221a) comprise one or more permanent magnets, or wherein the gate (216) comprises one or more permanent magnets (gate 216 has permanent magnet – see para [0053]).
With regard to claim 2, Fripp discloses one or more electromagnets (300; para [0064]: “magnetic member 300 may comprise an electromagnet”) arranged within the housing (300 is within the walls of the housing 210 as seen in Fig 7A and also seen in Fig 3A as an example), wherein a magnetic field generated by the one or more electromagnets (para [0064]: “produce a temporary magnetic field”) has a first polarity controllable by an electric current in the electromagnets, wherein the one or more permanent magnets (300) have a second polarity, and wherein the first polarity and second polarity have the same direction in a first direction of the electric current, and have an opposite direction in a second direction of the electric current (para [0064]: “provide an adjustable magnetic polarity”).
With regard to claim 8, Fripp discloses that the gate (216) defines two opposing faces (top face adjacent 221a and bottom face adjacent 221b) with substantially equal surface area, when projected onto a transverse plane of the inflow device (shown in Fig 7A; “substantially” equal area on 216 opposite faces).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2016/0177673 (“Merron”).
With regard to claim 9, Merron discloses a wireline mobile controller (see Fig 5), arranged to open or close an inflow control device (downhole tool 508 is an inflow control device: para [0004]: “Downhole tools may include packers for sealing zones, sliding sleeves operable to permit flow to and from specific zones, control valves for controlling and directing flow,”) installed in a well (para [0014]), the mobile controller comprising: a first connector (at 504) for electrically connecting (“electrical line” para [0037]; connector is connection of 504 to 502/506) the mobile controller to a wireline (506), and a second connector (connection point from 502 to 506) for mechanically connecting the mobile controller to the wireline (506); an electrical component (electromagnet 502), arranged to couple electromagnetically to the inflow control device (508) when the electrical component is electrically energised, and to open or close the inflow control device remotely (para [0004] discloses opening/closing inflow control device; electrically energized disclosed in paras [0037] [0038]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2016/0177673 (“Merron”) in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2018/0010446 (“Roberson”).
With regard to claim 12, Merron discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing centralizers for centralizing the mobile controller within the well.
Roberson discloses a mobile controller (620) connector to a wireline (622) within a wellbore and teaches that it is known in the art to modify the system to include centralizers (35, para [0035]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize centralizers, such as taught by Roberson, in the wellbore of Merron for the purpose of centralizing elements within the wellbore (see para [0027]).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2016/0177673 (“Merron”)
With regard to claim 13, Merron does not explicitly disclose that the electrical component comprises an electromagnetic transmitter, arranged to emit an electromagnetic pulse, and an electronic circuit to send an electronic signal to the transmitter for emitting the electromagnetic pulse.
Merron does disclose that the electrical component emits an electromagnetic pulse (by powering on and off, see para [0037], see also para [0028] disclosing using magnetic pulses). Merron further discloses varying the power source to produce various magnetic fields and signals using power electronics (Para [0038]).
It would have been a matter of obvious design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the power electronics of Merron comprise an electronic circuit and transmitter to provide the electromagnetic pulse because the particular electronic devices of the power electronics do not appear to provide any unexpected results.
With regard to claim 14, Merron (as modified in preceding claim 13) discloses that the electromagnetic transmitter and the electronic circuit are arranged to generate at least two electromagnetic pulses, wherein a first electromagnetic pulse has a different frequency than a second electromagnetic pulse (see para [0029] and para [0038]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2016/0177673 (“Merron”) in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2015/0240600 (“Fripp”).
With regard to claim 15, Merron discloses a method (method inherent in apparatus disclosed) of controlling inflow into a well (see Fig 5, downhole tool 508 is an inflow control device: para [0004]: “Downhole tools may include packers for sealing zones, sliding sleeves operable to permit flow to and from specific zones, control valves for controlling and directing flow,” installed in a well (para [0014]), the method comprising, providing an inflow control device (508) for use in a hydrocarbon producing well (para [0014]), the inflow control device (508) being configured to switch reversibly between an open state and a closed state, or between a closed state and an open state (para [0004]: “Downhole tools may include packers for sealing zones, sliding sleeves operable to permit flow to and from specific zones, control valves for controlling and directing flow,”) moving a mobile controller (502) through a bore of the well, wherein the mobile controller comprises a first connector (at 504) for electrically connecting (“electrical line” para [0037]; connector is connection of 504 to 502/506) the mobile controller to a wireline (506), and a second connector (connection point from 502 to 506) for mechanically connecting the mobile controller to the wireline (506); an electrical component (electromagnet 502), arranged to couple electromagnetically to the inflow control device (508) when the electrical component is electrically energised, and to open or close the inflow control device remotely (para [0004] discloses opening/closing inflow control device; electrically energized disclosed in paras [0037] [0038]), opening or closing the inflow control device (508) by electrically energizing the mobile controller (502) (see paras [0037] [0038]).
Merron discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing the inflow control device comprising: a housing; a gate comprising one or more permanent magnets and moveable within the housing between a closed state and an open state; the housing defining a first valve seat for receiving the gate in a closed state, and a second valve seat for receiving the gate in an open state, wherein the first valve seat and the second valve seat comprise one or more magnetizable portions.
Fripp teaches that it is known in the art to inflow control device for use in a well operating with a mobile controller (300) to include the inflow control device comprising: a housing (210); a gate (216) moveable within the housing (210) between a closed state (Fig 7A) and an open state (Fig 7B); the housing (210) defining a first valve seat (at 221b) for receiving the gate (216) in a closed state (Fig 7A), and a second valve seat (at 221a) for receiving the gate (216) in an open state (Fig 7B), wherein the first valve seat (221b) and the second valve seat (221a) comprise one or more magnetizable portions (see para [0038] of Fripp).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to an inflow control device comprising a housing; a gate comprising one or more permanent magnets and moveable within the housing between a closed state and an open state; the housing defining a first valve seat for receiving the gate in a closed state, and a second valve seat for receiving the gate in an open state, wherein the first valve seat and the second valve seat comprise one or more magnetizable portions, such as taught by Fripp, in place of the inflow control device of Merron, since the inflow control devices are known equivalents and the use of which would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7, 10-11, and 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Pat. No. 11,749,540 (“Merry”) discloses a flow control device with two seats and magnets. WO 2010/053378 (“Oevland”) discloses an inflow control device.
/JESSICA CAHILL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753