DETAILED ACTION
The following is a first action on the merits of application serial no. 19/103046 filed 2/11/2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 2/11/25 has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “the one side of the first engagement element and the one side of the second engagement element implemented as an integrated component” as recited in claim 5 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
-On pages 3 to 4, paragraph [0010], the abbreviated figures in brackets (i.e, [FIG. 1]) should be deleted due to the presence of the unbracket abbreviated figures (i.e., FIG. 1.
-The title of the invention is not descriptive, the use of the term “Unit” as a title doesn’t seem to technically, accurately describe the invention. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The following titles are suggested: “Transmission Unit”, “Power Transmission Mechanism”, “Power Transmission Unit”, etc.. The title change may result in a slightly longer title, but the loss in brevity of title will be more than offset by the gain in its informative value in indexing, classifying, searching, etc., see MPEP 606.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al 20110111908. As to claim 1, Kim discloses a unit comprising (Figure 9 is being used as reference): an input element (extending from ENGINE, MG1 and MG2); an output element (OUTPUT); and a gear device including a first rotational part, a second rotational part, a third rotational part, and a fourth rotational part arranged in this order on an alignment chart (see annotated Figure below), wherein the input element is connectable to the first rotational part (via input from MG2) and connectable to the second rotational part (via input from Engine), the output element is connected to the third rotational part (via C2 to Output), the fourth rotational part is switchable between a rotating state and a non-rotating state (via BK1 to R2), the gear device includes a first planetary gear mechanism including a first rotational element (R2), a second rotational element (C2), and a third rotational element (S2), the second rotational element being disposed between the first rotational element and the third rotational element on the alignment chart (in Figure 9, C2 is shown on chart between R2 and S2), and a second planetary gear mechanism including a fourth rotational element (S1-1), a fifth rotational element (C1), and a sixth rotational element (R1), the fifth rotational element being disposed between the fourth rotational element and the sixth rotational element on the alignment chart (in Figure 9, C1 is shown on chart between R1 and S1-1), the first rotational part is implemented by coupling (as shown in gearing arrangement side in Figure 9) the third rotational element (S2) and the fourth rotational element (S1-1), the second rotational part is implemented by the fifth rotational element (C1), the third rotational part is implemented by coupling the second rotational element (C2) and the sixth rotational element (R1), and the fourth rotational part is implemented by the first rotational element (R2).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oba 9770971. As to claim 1, Oba discloses a unit comprising: an input element (21); an output element (70); and a gear device including a first rotational part, a second rotational part, a third rotational part, and a fourth rotational part arranged in this order on an alignment chart (see annotated Figure below), wherein the input element is connectable to the first rotational part (via C1) and connectable to the second rotational part (via C2), the output element is connected to the third rotational part (via R1 to 71), the fourth rotational part is switchable between a rotating state and a non-rotating state (via B1 to R2), the gear device includes a first planetary gear mechanism (50) including a first rotational element (R2), a second rotational element (CA2), and a third rotational element (S2), the second rotational element being disposed between the first rotational element and the third rotational element on the alignment chart (in Figure 3, Car2 is shown on chart between R2 and S2), and a second planetary gear mechanism (40) including a fourth rotational element (S1), a fifth rotational element (C1), and a sixth rotational element (R1), the fifth rotational element being disposed between the fourth rotational element and the sixth rotational element on the alignment chart (in Figure 3, Car1 is shown on chart between R1 and S1), the first rotational part is implemented by coupling (as shown in Figure 1 gearing arrangement) the third rotational element (S2) and the fourth rotational element (S1), the second rotational part is implemented by the fifth rotational element (CA1), the third rotational part is implemented by coupling the second rotational element (CA2) and the sixth rotational element (R1), and the fourth rotational part is implemented by the first rotational element (R2).
As to claim 2, further comprising: a first engagement element (C2); a second engagement element (C1); and a third engagement element (B1), wherein one side of the first engagement element is connected to the input element (side of C2 connected to 21), the other side of the first engagement element is connected to the second rotational part (side of C2 connected to CA1), one side of the second engagement element is connected to the input element (side of C1 connected to 21), the other side of the second engagement element is connected to the first rotational part (side of C1 connected to S1, S2), one side of the third engagement element is connected to the fourth rotational part (side of B1 connected to R2), and the other side of the third engagement element is fixed (side of B1 connected to 25).
As to claim 4, wherein three gear positions are implemented by changing two elements to be engaged among the first to third engagement elements (as shown in column 5, Table 1).
As to claim 5, wherein the one side of the first engagement element and the one side of the second engagement element are implemented as an integrated component (as shown in Figure 1, C1 and C2 share same outer periphery).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oba in view of Mellet et al 20150087464. Oba discloses first to third engagement elements wherein two of the elements are axially disposed outward of gear device (C1 and C2). However, Oba discloses the one engagement element radially disposed outward of gear device, not axially as recited.
Mellet discloses a unit having a gear device including first and second planetary gear mechanisms with three engagement elements (58, 60, 56) and shows that it is well known in the art to provide the elements axially disposed outward of the gear device (as shown in Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modify the radial position of the Oba engagement element into an axial position in view of Mellet to reduce the radial length of unit which increases compactness of unit and increases space within unit housing during assembly of unit.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-JP 4222302 discloses a unit including a gear device and shows that it is well known in the art to provide the gear device including a first rotational part, a second rotational part, a third rotational part, and a fourth rotational part arranged in this order on an alignment chart, wherein the input element is connectable to the first rotational part and connectable to the second rotational part, the output element is connected to the third rotational part, the fourth rotational part is switchable between a rotating state and a non-rotating state (as shown for example in Figures 1, 7 and 11). However, JP does lack the implementations of the rotational parts by the particular planetary rotational elements as recited.
Tdl
/TISHA D LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619 December 7, 2025