DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 7/13/2026 has been entered. Claims 2-6, 8-19 and 21-24 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/13/2026, regarding the 112 rejections and 35 USC 103 rejections of Claims 2-6, 8-19 and 21-24 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for these reasons:
Regarding Applicant’s assertion that regarding the 112 rejections of claims 9-14 (Page 9), the examiner disagrees, pointing out that the dependent claims must go more into depth than the claim it depends on and if the claim being depended on depends a frame assembly, the dependent claim should be describing something further in detail within the frame assembly, not adding a kit for the frame assembly. This changes the scope of the claim.
Regarding Applicant’s assertion regarding Boldetti in claim 15(Page 12-13), the examiner disagrees, pointing out the adhesive is applied at the connecting points between the frame members which would be at the openings. Nonetheless, the examiner now teaches US Publication 2009/0101460 by Justham instead.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 35 USC 103 rejection of Claims 2-6, 8-19 and 21-24, have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the references being used in the current rejection. Note discussion of US Publication 2009/0101460 by Justham, below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 9, the preamble of claims 9 which depend on claim 6 is claiming a kit comprising a frame assembly, while claim 6 is claiming a frame assembly for a suitcase panel; It is unclear what claim 9 is actually claiming.
Regarding Claim 13, the preamble of claims 9 and 13 which depend on claim 6 is claiming a kit comprising the suitcase panel, while claim 10 is claiming a kit comprising the suitcase panel; It is unclear what claim 13 is actually claiming.
Regarding Claims 10-12 and 14, the preamble of claims 10-12 and 14 which depend on claim 6 is claiming a suitcase panel, while claim 6 is claiming a frame assembly for a suitcase panel; It is unclear what claims 10-12 and 14 are actually claiming.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 9-14, 21-22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 4813520 issued to Lin (Here forth “Lin”) in view of US Publication 2014/0291095 by Boldetti (Here forth “Boldetti”) and US Publication 2009/0101460 by Justham (Here forth “Justham”).
Regarding claim 6, Lin discloses a frame assembly for a suitcase panel (Fig 2 of Lin, the frame assembly is shown), comprising:
four support rods (Fig 2 of Lin, support rods 11-14 include 4 support rods on each side); and
four frame corner components, wherein at least one of the four frame corner components is a frame corner component (Fig 2 of Lin, four frame corner components 15 are on each side of the suitcase) comprising:
a first connection portion comprising an opening to receive an end of a first support rod of the four support rods (Fig 4 of Lin, first, second, third, and fourth connection portions 15 have an opening that can receive supports 11 and 13 and not shown are the receiving supports 15 that receive 12 and 14; the connection portions each have an opening where a support rod fits within on each end), and
a second connection portion comprising an opening to receive an end of a second support rod of the four support rods (Fig 4 of Lin, first, second, third, and fourth connection portions 15 have an opening that can receive supports 11 and 13 and not shown are the receiving supports 15 that receive 12 and 14; the connection portions each have an opening where a support rod fits within on each end),
wherein at least one of the first and second connection portions further comprises an aperture configured to allow access to at least a part of a respective support rod when the respective support rod is received in the opening of the at least one of the first and second connection portions (Fig 4 of Lin, first, second, third, and fourth connection portions 15 have an opening that leads to an aperture that can receive supports 11 and 13 and not shown are the receiving supports 15 that receive 12 and 14; the connection portions each have an opening that leads to an aperture where a support rod fits within on each end),
wherein each frame corner component is configured to connect two respective support rods so as to form a quadrilateral frame (Fig 2 of Lin),
wherein, for the at least one of the four frame corner components (Fig 4 of Lin, frame corner components 15), [Not taught: the at least one of the first and second connection portions further comprises applied adhesive at one or more contact areas adjacent to a respective aperture], the one or more contact areas being between an internal surface of a respective opening and a respective support rod that is received within the respective opening (Fig 4 of Lin, the outer surface of the support rods 11 and 13 contact internal surface of the respective openings of the connection portions 15; this concept is applied for all the support rods and connection portions); and
[Not taught: wherein the respective support rod and the at least one of the first and second connection portions are configured for the adhesive to be applied via the respective aperture to the one or more contact areas adjacent to the respective aperture when the respective support rod is received in a respective opening in an as-assembled position].
Lin does not expressly disclose adhesives between contact areas between the internal surface of a respective opening and respective support rod received within that opening.
Boldetti further discloses the at least one of the first and second connection portions further comprises applied adhesive at one or more contact areas adjacent to a respective aperture (Para 73 of Boldetti, the support rods 108 can be fixed within connection portions 158 at contact areas respective to aperture within the connection portions 158).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Lin and Boldetti before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the suitcase frame assembly of Lin to attach the support rods within the connection portions via adhesives at the contact areas, as taught by Boldetti, to advantageously prevent the connection portions and support rods from getting separated.
Lin as modified does not expressly disclose adhesive means to attach frame components
Justham discloses a similar frame assembly wherein the respective support rod and the at least one of the first and second connection portions are configured for the adhesive to be applied via the respective aperture to the one or more contact areas adjacent to the respective aperture when the respective support rod is received in a respective opening in an as-assembled position (Para 30 of Justham).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Lin as modified and Justham before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the suitcase frame assembly of Lin as modified have adhesives in the connection portions of the frame, as taught by Justham, to advantageously secure the frame parts together to prevent them from coming apart.
Regarding claim 9, Lin as modified includes all of the limitations including a kit comprising the frame assembly of claim 6 in a disassembled state (See the detailed description of the rejection of claim 6; the modified Lin includes all of the elements required in a kit to fulfill all the limitations before it is assembled).
Regarding claim 10, Lin further discloses a suitcase panel comprising:
the frame assembly of claim 6 (Fig 2 of Lin, the frame assembly is shown); and
a covering (Fig 3 of Lin, the covering assembly is shown),
wherein at least a part of the frame assembly is [Not taught: stitched] inside one or more sections of an interior side of the covering (Fig 4 of Lin, the frame assembly can be seen to be inside one or more section of an interior side of the covering).
Lin as modified does not expressly disclose that the frame assembly is stitched inside one or more sections of an interior side of the cover
Boldetti discloses a similar suitcase frame and panel that teaches wherein the frame assembly is stitched inside one or more sections of an interior side of the cover (Para 99 of Boldetti, the concept of sewing portions of the cover including stitching the frame assembly inside one or more section of an interior side of the cover are taught when stitching panels around the frame is taught to the modified Lin; the covering 102 comprises an inner lining 104 and at least a part of the frame assembly 12a-15a is stitched inside or underneath one or more sections of the inner lining of the covering).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify fastening method of securing the suitcase panels around the frame to use stitching. Such a modification only changes the fastener type which provides no change in function (see MPEP 2144.04 III). Further Applicant has not disclosed criticality for the claimed fastener.
Regarding claim 11, Lin as modified includes all of the limitations including wherein the covering comprises an inner lining and at least a part of the frame assembly is stitched inside or underneath one or more sections of the inner lining of the covering (See the detailed description of the rejection of claim 10, Para 99 of Boldetti and Fig 6 of Boldetti, the inner lining 104 and covering 102 can be stitched together).
Regarding claim 12, Lin further discloses wherein the covering is a fabric covering (Column 2 lines 25-27 of Lin).
Regarding claim 13, Lin as modified includes all of the limitation including a kit comprising parts for constructing the suitcase panel of claim 10 in a disassembled state (See the detailed description of the rejection of claim 10; the modified Lin includes all of the elements required in a kit to fulfill all the limitations before it is assembled)).
Regarding claim 14, Lin further discloses a suitcase comprising the suitcase panel of claim 10 (Fig 3 of Lin, the suitcase contains a cloth suitcase panels as seen).
Regarding claim 21, Lin further discloses a method of manufacturing a suitcase panel, comprising:
manufacturing a frame assembly for the suitcase panel according to the method of claim 15;
providing a covering (Fig 3 of Lin); and
[Not taught: stitching at least a part of the frame assembly inside one or more sections of an interior side of the covering].
Boldetti discloses a similar suitcase frame and panel that teaches stitching at least a part of the frame assembly inside one or more sections of an interior side of the covering (Para 99 of Boldetti, the concept of sewing portions of the cover including stitching the frame assembly inside one or more section of an interior side of the cover are taught when stitching panels around the frame is taught to the modified Lin; the covering 102 comprises an inner lining 104 and at least a part of the frame assembly 12a-15a is stitched inside or underneath one or more sections of the inner lining of the covering).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify fastening method of securing the suitcase panels around the frame to use stitching. Such a modification only changes the fastener type which provides no change in function (see MPEP 2144.04 III). Further Applicant has not disclosed criticality for the claimed fastener.
Regarding claim 22, Lin further discloses a method of manufacturing a suitcase, the method comprising manufacturing a suitcase panel according to the method of claim 21 (Fig 3 of Lin).
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Boldetti, and US Patent 7984797 issued to Bieber (Here forth “Bieber”).
Regarding claim 15, Lin discloses a method of manufacturing a frame assembly for a suitcase panel (Fig 2 of Lin, the frame assembly is shown), the method comprising:
providing four support rods (Fig 2 of Lin, support rods 11-14 include 4 support rods on each side) and four frame corner components (Fig 2 of Lin, support rods 11-14 include 4 support rods on each side), [Not taught: wherein each support rod of the four support rods comprises fiberglass], and wherein each frame corner component of the four frame corner components (Fig 2 of Lin, four frame corner components 15 are on each side of the suitcase)comprises a first connection portion and a second connection portion, the first connection portion and the second connection portion each comprising an opening configured to receive an end of a respective support rod, and wherein each frame corner component of the four frame corner components is configured to connect two respective support rods so as to form a quadrilateral frame (Fig 4 of Lin, first, second, third, and fourth connection portions 15 have an opening that can receive supports 11 and 13 and not shown are the receiving supports 15 that receive 12 and 14; the connection portions each have an opening where a support rod fits within on each end; Fig 2 and 4 of Lin shows that each frame corner component 15 can connect two respective support rods to form a quadrilateral frame), and further wherein at least one of the first and second connection portions of at least one frame corner component further comprises an aperture configured to allow access to at least a part of a respective support rod when the respective support rod is received in the opening of the at least one of the first and second connection portions (Fig 4 of Lin, first, second, third, and fourth connection portions 15 have an opening that leads to an aperture that can receive supports 11 and 13 and not shown are the receiving supports 15 that receive 12 and 14; the connection portions each have an opening that leads to an aperture where a support rod fits within on each end); and
connecting each of the four frame corner components with two respective support rods (Fig 2 of Lin),
wherein connecting each of the four frame corner component components with the two respective support rods comprises (Fig 4 of Lin):
inserting an end of one of the two respective support rods into the opening of the first connection portion (Fig 4 of Lin), and
inserting an end of another one of the two respective support rods into the opening of the second connection portion (Fig 4 of Lin),
wherein the method further comprises, subsequent to connecting a respective frame corner component with two respective support rods (Fig 4 of Lin), [Not taught: applying adhesive] through the aperture of the at least one of the first and second connection portions (Fig 4 of Lin).
Lin does not expressly disclose wherein each support rod comprises fiberglass.
Bieber disclose a similar suitcase frame and panel wherein each support rod of the four support rods comprises fiberglass (Column 3 lines 54-65 of Bieber, the support rods 12a-15 a can be made of fiberglass).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Lin and Bieber before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the suitcase frame assembly of Lin to have the support rods comprise of fiberglass, as taught by Bieber, to advantageously provide a strong support frame as fiberglass is a durable material.
Lin as modified does not expressly disclose connecting a respective frame corner component with two respective support rods by applying adhesive through the aperture of the at least one of the first and second connection portion.
Justham further discloses connecting a respective frame corner component with two respective support rods by applying adhesive through the aperture of the at least one of the first and second connection portion (Para 30 of Justham).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Lin as modified and Justham before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the suitcase frame assembly of Lin as modified have adhesives in the connection portions of the frame, as taught by Justham, to advantageously secure the frame parts together to prevent them from coming apart.
Regarding claim 16, Lin further discloses wherein at least one of the first and second connection portions of each frame corner component of the four frame corner components comprises an aperture configured to allow access to at least a part of a respective support rod when the respective support rod is received in the opening of the at least one of the first and second connection portions (Fig 4 of Lin, the first and second connection portions are at the ends of frame corner component have an aperture configured to allow access to at least a part of the support rods 11 and 14 when they are received in the opening of the connection portions 15).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin, Boldetti and Justham in view of Bieber.
Regarding claim 24, Lin does not expressly disclose wherein each support rod of the four support rods comprises fiberglass.
Lin as modified does not expressly disclose wherein each support rod comprises fiberglass.
Bieber disclose a similar suitcase frame and panel wherein each support rod comprises fiberglass (Column 3 lines 54-65 of Bieber, the support rods 12a-15 a can be made of fiberglass).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Lin and Bieber before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the suitcase frame assembly of Lin to have the support rods comprise of fiberglass, as taught by Bieber, to advantageously provide a strong support frame as fiberglass is a durable material.
Claims 2-5 and 17-19 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin, Bieber and Boldetti in view of 2012/0024649 by Lai (Here forth “Lai”).
Regarding claim 2, Lin does not expressly disclose wherein the opening of the at least one of the first and second connection portions comprises an internal protrusion configured to engage an external surface of a respective support rod when the respective support rod is received in the opening so as to maintain an end of the respective support rod in place.
Lai disclose a similar suitcase frame and panel that teaches wherein the opening of the at least one of the first and second connection portions comprises an internal protrusion configured to engage an external surface of a respective support rod when the respective support rod is received in the opening so as to maintain an end of the respective support rod in place (Fig 4 of Lai, support rod 10, first and second connection portion 20, internal protrusion 70; Internal protrusion 70 received support rod 10 and then becomes an internal protrusion of the connecting portion 20 when inserted within; the internal protrusion 70 is in the shape of a ridge; the ridge shape is formed along at least a section of an inner circumference of the opening of the at least one of the first and second connection portions 20 of the connection portion, the ridge shape is formed along at least 80% of the inner circumference of the opening of the connection portion; the internal protrusion are “integrally formed” meaning “connected together to create a single piece” on an internal surface of the respective opening of the at least one of the first and second connection portions 20).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Lin as modified and Lai before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the modified suitcase frame assembly of Lin to include an internal protrusion portion that attaches to the support rod and within the connection portions, as taught by Lai, to achieve a more stable connection (Para 27 of Lai).
Regarding claim 3, Lin as modified includes all of the limitation including wherein the internal protrusion is integrally formed on an internal surface of the respective opening of the at least one of the first and second connection portions (See the detailed description of the rejection of claim 2; Fig 4 of Lai, the internal protrusion are “integrally formed” meaning “connected together to create a single piece” on an internal surface of the respective opening of the at least one of the first and second connection portions 20).
Regarding claim 4, Lin as modified includes all of the limitations including wherein the internal protrusion is in the shape of a ridge (See the detailed description of the rejection of claim 2; Fig 4 of Lai internal protrusion 70).
Regarding claim 5, Lin as modified includes all of the limitations including wherein the ridge is formed along at least a section of an inner circumference of the opening of the at least one of the first and second connection portions of the connection portion (See the detailed description of the rejection of claim 2; Fig 4 of Lai internal protrusion 70 is shaped like a ridge and is formed along at least 80 percent of the inner circumference of the opening of the connection portion 20).
Regarding claim 17, Lin as modified does not expressly disclose a method wherein for at least one frame corner component of the four frame corner components, the opening of at least one of the first and second connection portions comprises an internal protrusion
Lai discloses a similar suitcase frame and panel that teaches a method wherein for at least one frame corner component of the four frame corner components, the opening of at least one of the first and second connection portions comprises an internal protrusion configured to engage an external surface of a respective support rod when the respective support rod is received in the opening, wherein inserting an end of the respective support rod into the opening comprises: inserting the end of the respective support rod such that the internal protrusion engages the external surface of the respective support rod (Fig 4 of Lai, the connection portions 20 have an internal protrusion 70 that engages an external surface of a support rod 10 and both the protrusion 70 and support rod 10 are received in the opening such that the internal protrusion engages the external surface of the support rod 10 when the rod 10 is being inserted into the opening of the connection portion 20; the internal protrusion are “integrally formed” meaning “connected together to create a single piece” on an internal surface of the respective opening of the at least one of the first and second connection portions 20).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Lin as modified and Lai before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the modified suitcase frame assembly of Lin to include an internal protrusion portion that attaches to the support rod and within the connection portions, as taught by Lai, to achieve a more stable connection (Para 27 of Lai).
Regarding claim 18, Lin does not expressly disclose a method wherein for each frame corner component of the four frame corner components, the opening of at least one of the first and second connection portions comprises an internal protrusion.
Lai disclose a similar suitcase frame and suitcase panel that teaches a method wherein for each frame corner component of the four frame corner components, the opening of at least one of the first and second connection portions comprises an internal protrusion configured to engage an external surface of a respective support rod when the respective support rod is received in the opening (Fig 4 of Lai, the opening of the connection portions 20 has an internal protrusion 70 that can engages the rod 10 when the rod 10 is received in the opening of the connection portion 20).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Lin as modified and Lai before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the modified suitcase frame assembly of Lin to include an internal protrusion portion that attaches to the support rod and within the connection portions, as taught by Lai, to achieve a more stable connection (Para 27 of Lai).
Regarding Claim 19, Lin as modified does not expressly disclose a method wherein the internal protrusion is integrally formed on an internal surface of the opening (See the detailed description of the rejection of claim 17; the internal protrusion are “integrally formed” meaning “connected together to create a single piece” on an internal surface of the respective opening of the at least one of the first and second connection portions 20).
Regarding claim 23, Lin as modified includes all of the limitations including wherein the ridge is formed along at least 80% of the inner circumference of the opening of the at least one of the first and second connection portions (See the detailed description of the rejection of claim 2; Fig 4 of Lai).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA KAVINI TAMIL/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/NATHAN J JENNESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3733 24 August 2026