DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made that the instant application is a National Stage of International application No. PCT/US2023/071775 (filed 08/07/2023), which claims the benefits of US Provisional Application No. 63/731,176 (filed 08/11/2022).
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
Specific deficiency – Nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences appearing in the drawings are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(d). All sequences longer than ten nucleotides or four amino acids referenced in the specification must include a SEQ ID NO and must be included in the Sequence Listing. MPEP 2422.02 requires, "that when a sequence is presented in a drawing, regardless of the format or the manner of presentation of that sequence in the drawing, the sequence must still be included in the Sequence Listing and the sequence identifier ("SEQ ID NO:X') must be used, either in the drawing or in the Brief Description of the Drawings." See MPEP § 2421-2422.
Sequence identifiers for nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences must appear either in the drawings or in the Brief Description of the Drawings.
See, Extended Fig. 2C, which has amino acid sequences that are not accompanied by SEQ ID NOs in the figure or in the specification.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
Replacement and annotated drawings in accordance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) inserting the required sequence identifiers;
AND/OR
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers into the Brief Description of the Drawings, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Drawings
The drawings of 02/11/2025 are objected to because the drawings contain nucleotide and amino acid sequences that are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(d) (See Ext. Fig. 2C). All sequences longer than ten nucleotides or four amino acids referenced in the specification must include a SEQ ID NO and must be included in the Sequence Listing. MPEP 2422.02 requires, "that when a sequence is presented in a drawing, regardless of the format or the manner of presentation of that sequence in the drawing, the sequence must still be included in the Sequence Listing and the sequence identifier ("SEQ ID NO:X') must be used, either in the drawing or in the Brief Description of the Drawings." See MPEP § 2421-2422.
It is noted that this office action comprises both an objection to the Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Disclosure AND the objection to the Drawings. Applicant need only either amend the specification at the Brief Description of the Drawings section OR provide amended drawings to overcome both objections. Applicant does not need to do both.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites the limitation ‘the engineered Notch ligand comprises a conservative amino acid substitution at a residue corresponding to residues 28, 107, 143, 194, and 206 as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 1 or SEQ ID NO: 7’. The claim is being interpreted as requiring a substitution at every one of the listed residues.
The specification teaches SEQ ID NOs: 1-12 are variations of DLL4, starting at residue 27. Thus, in claim 1 when referring to ‘residue 28’ of SEQ ID NO: 1, the claim is actually referring to the second residue of SEQ ID NO: 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 10-13, 19, 21, 23, 25, 27-28, and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1,13, 19, 21, 23, 25, 27-28, and 30 recite residue numbers corresponding to sites in SEQ ID NO: 1 or SEQ ID NO: 7. The specification teaches SEQ ID NOs: 1-12 are variations of DLL4, starting at residue 27. It is therefore unclear whether the residue number recited in the claim (i.e. 28, 107, 143, etc.) corresponds to the position of the residue within SEQ ID NO: 1 or 7 (e.g. residue 28 is the 28th residue in SEQ ID NO: 1 or 7) or if the position of the residue is relative to its position in DLL4 (i.e. residue 28 is the 2nd residue in SEQ ID NO: 1 or 7). Additionally claims 13, 19, 21, 23, 25, 27-28, and 30-31 depend from claim 1 without clarifying the relative position of the residues and thus inherit the deficiencies of claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
For purposes of compact prosecution, the claims are being interpreted as referring to the residue vis-à-vis the sequence of DLL4 (e.g. when referring to ‘residue 28’ of SEQ ID NO: 1, the claim is actually referring to the second residue of SEQ ID NO: 1). However, clarification in the claims is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-13, 19, 21, 23, 25, 27-28, and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zuniga-Pflucker et al (WO2019157597A1) in view of Luca et al (WO2021007573A1) (disclosed in IDS filed 02/11/2025).
Zuniga-Pflucker et al discloses a method of generating cells of the T cell lineage comprising culturing a sample comprising stem cells or progenitor cells with a Notch ligand conjugated in suspension support and isolating cells of the T cell lineage (See abstract and claim 1). The suspension support of Zuniga-Pflucker is a particle or microbead (See claims 2-3). The stem cells or progenitor cells are cultured with Notch ligand in a suspension in stroma cell free media (See claims 4 and 13). The stem cells are further cultured with the T cell co-stimulatory molecule VCAM (See claim 14). The stem cells are selected from hematopoietic stem/progenitor cells (HSPCs), embryonic stem cells, and induced pluripotent stem cells (iPSCs) (See claim 5). the stem cells are CD34+ or CD34+CD38-/lo HSPCs (See claim 6). The stem cells are CD34+ hematopoietic precursor cells that have optionally been differentiated from iPSCs (See claim 7). The Notch ligand of Zuniga-Pflucker is DLL4 (See ¶0007 and claim 8). The T cell lineage cells produced by the method can comprise progenitor T cells having phenotype CD34+CD7+ or CD7+CD5+ CD1a-. (See claims 9-10). Additionally, the T cell lineage cells can comprise CD4+CD8+ double positive cells, CD4+CD8+CD3+ double positive cells, CD8+CD3+ single positive cells or CD4+CD3+ single positive cells (See claim 12).
Regarding claims 1, 13, 19, 21, 23, 25, 27, 28, and 30: Zuniga-Pflucker et al discloses a method of generating a cell of the T cell lineage comprising culturing a sample comprising stem cells or progenitor cells with a Notch ligand conjugated to a suspension support and isolating cells of the T cell lineage. The Notch ligand of Zuniga-Pflucker et al is DLL4.
Zuniga-Pflucker et al does not disclose the Notch ligand is an engineered Notch ligand comprising a conservative amino acid substitution at a residue corresponding to residues 28, 107, 143, 194, and 206 as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 1 or SEQ ID NO:7 and further comprising at least one conservative amino acid substitution at residues 256, 257, 271, 280, 301, and 305 as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 1 or SEQ ID NO: 7.
Luca et al discloses engineered DLL4 proteins comprising SEQ ID NOs: 3 and 4 (See ¶14). The engineered DLL4 of Luca et al can be used in method of making a T cell resistant to tumor suppression by activating Notch signaling (See ¶14). SEQ ID NO: 3 of Luca et al comprises amino acid substitutions G28S, F107L, I143F, H194Y, L206P, H256Y (reads on claim 19), N257P (reads on claim 21), T271L (reads on claim 23), F280Y (reads on claim 25), S301H (reads on claim 27), and Q305P (reads on claim 30) compared to SEQ ID NO: 1 of the instant application (See alignment at end of office action). Thus, the DLL4 ligand comprising SEQ ID NO: 3 of Luca et al reads on an engineered Notch ligand comprising a conservative amino acid substitution at a residue corresponding to residues 28, 107, 143, 194, and 206 as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 1 or SEQ ID NO:7 and further comprising at least one conservative amino acid substitution at residues 256, 257, 271, 280, 301, and 305 as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 1 or SEQ ID NO: 7. SEQ ID NO: 3 of Luca et al further reads on claim 13.
SEQ ID NO: 4 of Luca et al comprises amino acid substitutions G28S, F107L, I143F, H194Y, L206P, H256Y (reads on claim 19), N257P (reads on claim 21), T271L (reads on claim 23), F280Y (reads on claim 25), S301R (reads on claim 28), and Q305P (reads on claim 30) compared to SEQ ID NO: 1 of the instant application (See alignment at end of office action). Thus, the DLL4 ligand comprising SEQ ID NO: 4 of Luca et al reads on an engineered Notch ligand comprising a conservative amino acid substitution at a residue corresponding to residues 28, 107, 143, 194, and 206 as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 1 or SEQ ID NO:7 and further comprising at least one conservative amino acid substitution at residues 256, 257, 271, 280, 301, and 305 as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 1 or SEQ ID NO: 7. SEQ ID NO: 3 of Luca et al further reads on claim 13.
Given that Zuniga-Pflucker et al discloses a method for producing T cells comprising a step of culturing T cell precursors with a DLL4 ligand and Luca et al discloses DLL4 ligands, comprising SEQ ID NOs: 3 and 4, which can be used to produce tumor resistant T cells, it would have been prima facie obvious, to substitute the DLL4 ligand of Zuniga-Pflucker et al with the DLL4 ligand of Luca et al, which can comprise SEQ ID NOs: 3 or 4, in the method of Zuniga-Pflucker et al, in order to activate Notch signaling during T cell production. One would have expected the DLL4 ligands of Luca et al to work equivocally with the DLL4 ligands of Zuniga-Pflucker et al, in the method of Zuniga-Pflucker et al because both Luca et al and Zuniga-Pflucker et al disclose DLL4 ligands that activate Notch signaling. Substitution of one element for another known in the field, wherein the result of the substitution would have been predictable is considered to be obvious. See KSR International Co. V Teleflex Inc 82 USPQ2d 1385 (US2007) at page 1395.
Regarding claim 2: Following the discussion of claim 1 above, Zuniga-Pflucker et al discloses the suspension support is a particle or microbead.
Regarding claim 3: Following the discussion of claim 1 above, Zuniga-Pflucker et al discloses the stem cells or progenitor cells with the Notch ligand are cultured in suspension.
Regarding claim 4: Following the discussion of claim 1 above, Zuniga-Pflucker et al discloses the stem cells are HSPCs, embryonic stem cells or iPSCs.
Regarding claim 5 Following the discussion of claims 1 and 4 above, Zuniga-Pflucker et al discloses the stem cells are CD34+ or CD34+CD38-/lo HSPCs.
Regarding claim 6: Following the discussion of claim 1 above, Zuniga-Pflucker et al discloses the stem cells are CD34+ hematopoietic precursor cells.
Regarding claim 7: Following the discussion of claim 1 above Zuniga-Pflucker et al discloses the cells of the T cell lineage are progenitor T cells.
Regarding claim 8: Following the discussion of claim 1 above, Zuniga-Pflucker et al discloses the stem cells or progenitor cells are human cells and the proT cells have the phenotype CD34+CD7+ or CD7+CD5+CD1a-.
Regarding claim 10: Following the discussion of claims 1 and 7 above, the cells of the T-cell lineage are CD4+CD8+ double positive cells, CD4+CD8+CD3+ double positive cells, CD8+CD3+ single positive cells or CD4+CD3+ single positive cells.
Regarding claim 11: Following the discussion of claim 1 above, Zuniga-Pflucker et al discloses the stem cells or progenitor cells are cultured in stromal cell-free media.
Regarding claim 12: Following the discussion of claim 1 above, Zuniga-Pflucker et al discloses the stem cells or progenitor cells are cultured with VCAM1.
Regarding claim 31: Following the discussion of claim 1 above, SEQ ID NO: 3 of Luca et al has 100% similarity to SEQ ID NO: 3 of the instant application. Furthermore, SEQ ID NO: 4 of Luca et al has 100% similarity to SEQ ID NO: 4 of the instant application. See sequence alignments at the end of the office action.
Conclusion
/MARISOL ANN O'NEILL/Examiner, Art Unit 1633
/ALLISON M FOX/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1633
Sequence Alignments
Qy (SEQ ID NO: 1) vs. DB (SEQ ID NO: 3 of WO2021007573A1)
Query Match 97.1%; Score 2128; DB 1; Length 374;
Best Local Similarity 97.1%;
Matches 363; Conservative 3; Mismatches 8; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 SGVFQLQLQEFINERGVLASGRPCEPGCRTFFRVCLKHFQAVVSPGPCTFGTVSTPVLGT 60
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 SSVFQLQLQEFINERGVLASGRPCEPGCRTFFRVCLKHFQAVVSPGPCTFGTVSTPVLGT 60
Qy 61 NSFAVRDDSSGGGRNPLQLPFNFTWPGTFSLIIEAWHAPGDDLRPEALPPDALISKIAIQ 120
|||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||
Db 61 NSFAVRDDSSGGGRNPLQLPLNFTWPGTFSLIIEAWHAPGDDLRPEALPPDALISKFAIQ 120
Qy 121 GSLAVGQNWLLDEQTSTLTRLRYSYRVICSDNYYGDNCSRLCKKRNDHFGHYVCQPDGNL 180
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:|||||||||||
Db 121 GSLAVGQNWLLDEQTSTLTRLRYSYRVICSDNYYGDNCSRLCKKRNDYFGHYVCQPDGNP 180
Qy 181 SCLPGWTGEYCQQPICLSGCHEQNGYCSKPAECLCRPGWQGRLCNECIPHNGCRHGTCST 240
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||: |||||||||
Db 181 SCLPGWTGEYCQQPICLSGCHEQNGYCSKPAECLCRPGWQGRLCNECIPYPGCRHGTCST 240
Qy 241 PWQCTCDEGWGGLFCDQDLNYCTHHSPCKNGATCSNSGQRSYTCTCRPGYTGVDCELELS 300
|||| ||||||||:|||||||||||||||||||| ||| |||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 PWQCLCDEGWGGLYCDQDLNYCTHHSPCKNGATCHNSGPRSYTCTCRPGYTGVDCELELS 300
Qy 301 ECDSNPCRNGGSCKDQEDGYHCLCPPGYYGLHCEHSTLSCADSPCFNGGSCRERNQGANY 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 ECDSNPCRNGGSCKDQEDGYHCLCPPGYYGLHCEHSTLSCADSPCFNGGSCRERNQGANY 360
Qy 361 ACECPPNFTGSNCE 374
||||||||||||||
Db 361 ACECPPNFTGSNCE 374
Qy (SEQ ID NO: 1) vs. DB (SEQ ID NO: 4 of WO2021007573A1)
Query Match 97.4%; Score 2134; DB 1; Length 374;
Best Local Similarity 97.3%;
Matches 364; Conservative 2; Mismatches 8; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 SGVFQLQLQEFINERGVLASGRPCEPGCRTFFRVCLKHFQAVVSPGPCTFGTVSTPVLGT 60
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 SSVFQLQLQEFINERGVLASGRPCEPGCRTFFRVCLKHFQAVVSPGPCTFGTVSTPVLGT 60
Qy 61 NSFAVRDDSSGGGRNPLQLPFNFTWPGTFSLIIEAWHAPGDDLRPEALPPDALISKIAIQ 120
|||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||
Db 61 NSFAVRDDSSGGGRNPLQLPLNFTWPGTFSLIIEAWHAPGDDLRPEALPPDALISKFAIQ 120
Qy 121 GSLAVGQNWLLDEQTSTLTRLRYSYRVICSDNYYGDNCSRLCKKRNDHFGHYVCQPDGNL 180
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:|||||||||||
Db 121 GSLAVGQNWLLDEQTSTLTRLRYSYRVICSDNYYGDNCSRLCKKRNDYFGHYVCQPDGNP 180
Qy 181 SCLPGWTGEYCQQPICLSGCHEQNGYCSKPAECLCRPGWQGRLCNECIPHNGCRHGTCST 240
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||
Db 181 SCLPGWTGEYCQQPICLSGCHEQNGYCSKPAECLCRPGWQGRLCNECIPHPGCRHGTCST 240
Qy 241 PWQCTCDEGWGGLFCDQDLNYCTHHSPCKNGATCSNSGQRSYTCTCRPGYTGVDCELELS 300
|||| ||||||||:|||||||||||||||||||| ||| |||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 PWQCLCDEGWGGLYCDQDLNYCTHHSPCKNGATCRNSGPRSYTCTCRPGYTGVDCELELS 300
Qy 301 ECDSNPCRNGGSCKDQEDGYHCLCPPGYYGLHCEHSTLSCADSPCFNGGSCRERNQGANY 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 ECDSNPCRNGGSCKDQEDGYHCLCPPGYYGLHCEHSTLSCADSPCFNGGSCRERNQGANY 360
Qy 361 ACECPPNFTGSNCE 374
||||||||||||||
Db 361 ACECPPNFTGSNCE 374
Qy (SEQ ID NO: 3) vs. DB (SEQ ID NO: 3 of WO2021007573A1)
Query Match 100.0%; Score 2197; Length 374;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 374; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 SSVFQLQLQEFINERGVLASGRPCEPGCRTFFRVCLKHFQAVVSPGPCTFGTVSTPVLGT 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 SSVFQLQLQEFINERGVLASGRPCEPGCRTFFRVCLKHFQAVVSPGPCTFGTVSTPVLGT 60
Qy 61 NSFAVRDDSSGGGRNPLQLPLNFTWPGTFSLIIEAWHAPGDDLRPEALPPDALISKFAIQ 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 NSFAVRDDSSGGGRNPLQLPLNFTWPGTFSLIIEAWHAPGDDLRPEALPPDALISKFAIQ 120
Qy 121 GSLAVGQNWLLDEQTSTLTRLRYSYRVICSDNYYGDNCSRLCKKRNDYFGHYVCQPDGNP 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 GSLAVGQNWLLDEQTSTLTRLRYSYRVICSDNYYGDNCSRLCKKRNDYFGHYVCQPDGNP 180
Qy 181 SCLPGWTGEYCQQPICLSGCHEQNGYCSKPAECLCRPGWQGRLCNECIPYPGCRHGTCST 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 SCLPGWTGEYCQQPICLSGCHEQNGYCSKPAECLCRPGWQGRLCNECIPYPGCRHGTCST 240
Qy 241 PWQCLCDEGWGGLYCDQDLNYCTHHSPCKNGATCHNSGPRSYTCTCRPGYTGVDCELELS 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 PWQCLCDEGWGGLYCDQDLNYCTHHSPCKNGATCHNSGPRSYTCTCRPGYTGVDCELELS 300
Qy 301 ECDSNPCRNGGSCKDQEDGYHCLCPPGYYGLHCEHSTLSCADSPCFNGGSCRERNQGANY 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 ECDSNPCRNGGSCKDQEDGYHCLCPPGYYGLHCEHSTLSCADSPCFNGGSCRERNQGANY 360
Qy 361 ACECPPNFTGSNCE 374
||||||||||||||
Db 361 ACECPPNFTGSNCE 374
Qy (SEQ ID NO: 4) vs. DB (SEQ ID NO: 4 of WO2021007573A1)
Query Match 100.0%; Score 2195; Length 374;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 374; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 SSVFQLQLQEFINERGVLASGRPCEPGCRTFFRVCLKHFQAVVSPGPCTFGTVSTPVLGT 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 SSVFQLQLQEFINERGVLASGRPCEPGCRTFFRVCLKHFQAVVSPGPCTFGTVSTPVLGT 60
Qy 61 NSFAVRDDSSGGGRNPLQLPLNFTWPGTFSLIIEAWHAPGDDLRPEALPPDALISKFAIQ 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 NSFAVRDDSSGGGRNPLQLPLNFTWPGTFSLIIEAWHAPGDDLRPEALPPDALISKFAIQ 120
Qy 121 GSLAVGQNWLLDEQTSTLTRLRYSYRVICSDNYYGDNCSRLCKKRNDYFGHYVCQPDGNP 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 GSLAVGQNWLLDEQTSTLTRLRYSYRVICSDNYYGDNCSRLCKKRNDYFGHYVCQPDGNP 180
Qy 181 SCLPGWTGEYCQQPICLSGCHEQNGYCSKPAECLCRPGWQGRLCNECIPHPGCRHGTCST 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 SCLPGWTGEYCQQPICLSGCHEQNGYCSKPAECLCRPGWQGRLCNECIPHPGCRHGTCST 240
Qy 241 PWQCLCDEGWGGLYCDQDLNYCTHHSPCKNGATCRNSGPRSYTCTCRPGYTGVDCELELS 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 PWQCLCDEGWGGLYCDQDLNYCTHHSPCKNGATCRNSGPRSYTCTCRPGYTGVDCELELS 300
Qy 301 ECDSNPCRNGGSCKDQEDGYHCLCPPGYYGLHCEHSTLSCADSPCFNGGSCRERNQGANY 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 ECDSNPCRNGGSCKDQEDGYHCLCPPGYYGLHCEHSTLSCADSPCFNGGSCRERNQGANY 360
Qy 361 ACECPPNFTGSNCE 374
||||||||||||||
Db 361 ACECPPNFTGSNCE 374