DETAILED ACTION
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-3, 5-12, 14, 16-20 & 22-24 are pending and rejected.
Claims 4, 13, 15, 21 & 25-31 are canceled.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are:
“a grasper drive system… to drive motion of the tissue grasping device” in Claims 1-3, as described in Para. [0028] of Applicant’s specification.
“a control system configured to… control the grasper drive system” in Claims 1 & 5, as described in Para. [0061] of Applicant’s specification.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 12, 16-17 & 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Asherov et al. (hereinafter "Asherov") (US 2023/0355232).
Regarding Claim 1, Asherov discloses a system (Fig. 1A, 100; [0097]) comprising:
an elongate flexible instrument (Fig. 1A, 102; [0098]);
a tissue grasping device (Figs. 1A & 13, 101; [0098]) including a helical needle (Figs. 1E & 13, 116 wherein 116 is helical; [0112] & [0115]) extending from a distal end of the elongate flexible instrument (101 extends from a distal end of 102; see Figs. 1A-B);
a grasper drive system (Fig. 13, 1208; [0114]) coupled to the tissue grasping device ([0114]) to drive motion of the tissue grasping device ([0163]);
a sensor system (Fig. 13, 1302; [0163]) coupled to the tissue grasping device ([0164]); and
a control system (circuitry; [0187]) configured to receive sensor information from the sensor system ([0187]) and control the grasper drive system in response to the received sensor information ([0191] & [0192]).
Regarding Claim 2, Asherov discloses the system of Claim 1. Asherov further discloses wherein controlling the grasper drive system includes providing an actuation signal to the grasper drive system ([0193] & [0194]).
Regarding Claim 3, Asherov discloses the system of Claim 1. Asherov further discloses wherein controlling the grasper drive system includes adjusting a setting of the grasper drive system ([0195]).
Regarding Claim 5, Asherov discloses the system of Claim 1. Asherov further discloses an instrument system (Fig. 12, 1200; [0112]), the instrument system in communication with the control system ([0187] & [0188]).
Regarding Claim 6, Asherov discloses the system of Claim 5. Asherov further discloses wherein the instrument system is at least one of a suturing system, a biopsy system ,a treatment system, or an ablation system (Fig. 12, 1200 is a suturing assembly; [0112]).
Regarding Claim 7, Asherov discloses the system of Claim 5. Asherov further discloses wherein the instrument system is configured to initiate a procedure based on the received sensor information ([0187] & [0188]).
Regarding Claim 8, Asherov discloses the system of Claim 1. Asherov further discloses wherein the elongate flexible instrument includes an endoscopic imaging system ([0107]).
Regarding Claim 9, Asherov discloses the system of Claim 1. Asherov further discloses wherein the tissue grasping device is cannulated (Figs. 7B & 13, 110A of 101 comprises 705 of 700 of 1302; [0164] & [0168]), and a component of the sensor system extends within the tissue grasping device (Fig. 7A, 702; [0168]).
Regarding Claim 12, Asherov discloses the system of Claim 1. Asherov further discloses wherein the sensor system includes a pressure sensor (Figs. 7A & 13, 710 of 700 of 1302; [0164] & [0168]) configured to detect a change in fluid pressure in a lumen extending through the tissue grasping device ([0170]) as the tissue grasping device penetrates tissue ([0171]).
Regarding Claim 16, Asherov discloses the system of Claim 1. Asherov further discloses wherein the sensor system includes an electrical sensor (Figs. 9A & 13, 910 of 1302; [0164] & [0177]).
Regarding Claim 17, Asherov discloses the system of Claim 16. Asherov further discloses wherein the electrical sensor is configured to detect a change in an electrical property as the tissue grasping device penetrates tissue ([0180]).
Regarding Claim 22, Asherov discloses the system of Claim 1. Asherov further discloses wherein the sensor system includes encoders in the grasper drive system (Fig. 1A, 121A; [0109]).
Regarding Claim 23, Asherov discloses the system of Claim 1. Asherov further discloses wherein the tissue grasping device includes a slidable elongated core (Fig. 1E, 115 wherein 115 moves longitudinally; [0125]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11 & 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asherov et al. (hereinafter "Asherov") (US 2023/0355232) in view of Romley (US 2014/0343576).
Regarding Claims 10-11 & 24, Asherov discloses the system of Claim 1. Asherov fails to explicitly disclose wherein the helical needle is a first helical needle and the tissue grasping device includes a second helical needle; wherein the tissue grasping device comprises a straight needle and the helical needle is wrapped around an axis of the straight needle; and wherein a slidable sheath extends around the tissue grasping device.
However, Romley teaches a system (Fig. 1, 2; [0087]) comprising:
an elongate flexible instrument (Fig. 1, 16; [0088]);
a tissue grasping device (Fig. 1, 12; [0088]) including a helical needle (Fig. 29, 32 of 6; [0091]) extending from a distal end of the elongate flexible instrument (see Fig. 1);
a grasper drive system (Fig. 1, 50; [0088]) coupled to the tissue grasping device to drive motion of the tissue grasping device ([0095]);
a sensor system (Fig. 1, 41; [0093]) coupled to the tissue grasping device ([0093]);
wherein the helical needle is a first helical needle (Fig. 29, 32 of 6 is helical; [0091]) and the tissue grasping device includes a second helical needle (Fig. 29, 32 of 10; [0091]);
wherein the tissue grasping device comprises a straight needle (Fig. 29, 30 of 60; [0091]) and the helical needle is wrapped around an axis of the straight needle (see Fig. 29); and
wherein a slidable sheath extends around the tissue grasping device (Fig. 4, 58; [0099]).
The advantage of the multiple tissue grasping needles is to provide greater flexibility in which tissues are folded and/or fastened together (Romley; [0115]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to someone with ordinary skill in the art to modify the tissue grasping device as disclosed by Asherov, to include the additional tissue grasping needles as taught by Romley, to provide greater flexibility in which tissues are folded and/or fastened together (Romley; [0115]).
Claims 14 & 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asherov et al. (hereinafter "Asherov") (US 2023/0355232) in view of Duindam et al. (hereinafter "Duindam") (US 2013/0204124).
Regarding Claims 14 & 18-20, Asherov discloses the system of Claim 1. Asherov fails to explicitly disclose wherein the sensor system includes an optical sensor configured to detect a change in a parameter of reflected light as the tissue grasping device penetrates tissue; wherein the sensor system includes an optical fiber sensor; wherein the optical fiber sensor is configured to detect a change in strain as the tissue grasping device penetrates tissue; and wherein the optical fiber sensor is configured to detect a change in shape of the tissue grasping device as the tissue grasping device penetrates tissue.
However, Duindam teaches a system (Fig. 1A, 100; [0030]) comprising:
a needle (Fig. 1A, 110; [0030]);
a sensor system (Fig. 1A, 120; [0032]) coupled to the needle ([0032]);
wherein the sensor system includes an optical fiber sensor ([0046]);
wherein the optical fiber sensor is configured to detect:
a change in a parameter of reflected light as the tissue grasping device penetrates tissue ([0048]);
a change in strain as the tissue grasping device penetrates the tissue ([0048]); and
a change in shape of the tissue grasping device as the tissue grasping device penetrates the tissue ([0047]).
The advantage of the optical shape sensor is to efficiently and effectively control the trajectory of the needle (Duindam; [0011]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to someone with ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensor system as disclosed by Asherov, to include the optical shape sensor taught by Duindam, to efficiently and effectively control the trajectory of the needle (Duindam; [0011]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
West et al. (US 2024/0415377) teaches an endoscopic tissue grasping system and method.
Guerrero et al. (US 2024/0156446) teaches a transcatheter device for repairing a leaflet of a heart valve.
Purcell et al. (US 2023/0225865) teaches an apparatus for mitral valve chord repair.
Favreau et al. (US 2021/0068812) teaches a suturing closure scope with alternative needle orientation.
Comee et al. (US 2021/0068811) teaches a suturing device with a sensor-controlled locking mechanism.
Fischell et al. (US 2019/0374220) teaches an apparatus for approximating and securing tissue.
Saadat et al. (US 2014/0350412) teaches an apparatus for delivering a biological compound to an infarcted tissue.
Ream et al. (U.S. 5,972,012) teaches a cutting apparatus having an articulable tip.
/STEPHEN FLOYD LONDON/Examiner, Art Unit 3795