DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 40, 45, 43, 44, 46, 47, 48, 60, 49 and S1-S4. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The incorporation of essential material in the specification by reference to an unpublished U.S. application, foreign application or patent, or to a publication is improper. Applicant is required to amend the disclosure to include the material incorporated by reference, if the material is relied upon to overcome any objection, rejection, or other requirement imposed by the Office. The amendment must be accompanied by a statement executed by the applicant, or a practitioner representing the applicant, stating that the material being inserted is the material previously incorporated by reference and that the amendment contains no new matter. 37 CFR 1.57(g).
Claim Objections
Claims 17 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 17 and 18 appear to be duplicates.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 9 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4,862,977 (Barr et al.).
As concerns claim 1, Barr et al. discloses a modular fixed cutter drill bit (figure 1) for drilling an earthen formation, the drill bit having a central axis and a cutting direction of rotation about the central axis, the drill bit comprising: a bit body 12 configured to rotate about the central axis in the cutting direction of rotation, wherein the bit body includes a bit face 12a; a blade 18 extending radially along the bit face, wherein the blade has a leading side relative to the cutting direction of rotation, a trailing side relative to the cutting direction of rotation, and a cutter 14-supporting surface extending from the leading side to the trailing side (illustrated in figure 1), and wherein the blade includes a socket 22 extending from the cutter-supporting surface of the blade; a cutter element assembly 14 mounted to the blade and extending from a cutter- supporting surface of the blade, wherein the cutter element assembly comprises: a pod seated in the socket and fixably attached to the blade (figure 2); a cutter element 32 fixably attached to the pod.
As concerns claim 2, Barr et al. discloses the modular fixed cutter drill bit of claim 1, wherein the socket has an open end at the cutter-supporting surface and closed end distal the cutter-supporting surface (figure 2).
As concerns claim 3, Barr et al. discloses the modular fixed cutter drill bit of claim 2, wherein the pod has a longitudinal axis (figure 2) , a first end (at approximately 22 in figure 2), and a second end opposite the first end; wherein the pod includes a head 30 at the first end and a post 24 extending from the head to the second end; wherein the post 24 and a portion of the head 30 are slidingly disposed in the socket, and wherein the head 30 extends from the open end of the socket 22; wherein the cutter element 32 is fixably mounted to the head 30.
As concerns claim 4, Barr et al. discloses the modular fixed cutter drill bit of claim 3, wherein a cylindrical bore 34 extends from the leading side of the blade to the socket 22, wherein the cylindrical bore defines a seat that engages and cradles the cutter element (6:25-28).
As concerns claim 9, Barr et al. discloses the modular fixed cutter drill bit of claim 1, wherein the socket is disposed along the leading side of the blade (figure 1 and figure 2).
As concerns claim 12, Barr et al. discloses the modular fixed cutter drill bit of clam 1, wherein the cutter element consists entirely of leached polycrystalline diamond (see, at least 2:30 et seq.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6, 13-15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barr et al. in view of US 2010/0314176 A1 (Zhang et al.).
As concerns claim 5, Barr et al. discloses the modular fixed cutter drill bit of claim 3, wherein the pod has a front side relative to the cutting direction of rotation and a rear side relative to the cutting direction of rotation (figure 1 and figure 2); but lacks to expressly disclose wherein the head includes a recess extending from the front side of the pod; wherein the cutter element is seated in the recess of the head.
Zhang et al. discloses a modular fixed cutter drill bit having a pod with a front side and a rear side relative to the cutting direction of rotation (see figure 1) and a head (at 79 of support 25) including a recess extending from the front side of the pod; wherein the cutter element is seated in the recess of the head (see figure 4 at 79, also note figures 19A-E).
One of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing, would have obviously considered incorporating the configuration of the recessed head of Zhang et al. into the cutter devices of Barr et al. with a reasonable expectation of success, as this provides the desirable result of improving the cutting assembly and the support for the cutters (see, 0141-0143 et seq.).
As concerns claim 6, Zhang et al. discloses the modular fixed cutter drill bit of claim 5, wherein the recess of the head has a central axis oriented at an acute angle relative to the longitudinal axis of the pod (the angles and thicknesses may vary, see 0141-0143).
As concerns claim 13, Barr et al. discloses a modular fixed cutter drill bit for drilling an earthen formation, the drill bit having a central axis and a cutting direction of rotation about the central axis, the drill bit comprising: a bit body 12 configured to rotate about the central axis in the cutting direction of rotation, wherein the bit body includes a bit face 12a; a blade 18 extending radially along the bit face, wherein the blade has a leading side relative to the cutting direction of rotation, a trailing side relative to the cutting direction of rotation, and a cutter-supporting surface extending from the leading side to the trailing side (figure 1, and wherein the blade includes a socket 22 extending from the cutter-supporting surface of the blade; a cutter element assembly 14 fixably attached to the blade, wherein the cutter element assembly comprises :a cutter element carrier comprising a head 30 and a post 24 extending from the head, wherein the cutter element carrier is seated in the socket 22 with the head extending from the cutter-supporting surface (figure 2); a cutter element 32 fixably attached to the head, wherein the cutter element has a forward-facing cutting face (figure 1 and figure 2).
Barr et al. lacks to expressly discloses the cutter element disposed in a cylindrical recess in the head; nevertheless Zhang et al. discloses a modular fixed cutter drill bit having a pod with a front side and a rear side relative to the cutting direction of rotation (see figure 1) and a head (at 79 of support 25) including a recess extending from the front side of the pod; wherein the cutter element is seated in the recess of the head (see figure 4 at 79, also note figures 19A-E).
One of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing, would have obviously considered incorporating the configuration of the recessed head of Zhang et al. into the cutter devices of Barr et al. with a reasonable expectation of success, as this provides the desirable result of improving the cutting assembly and the support for the cutters (see, 0141-0143 et seq.).
As concerns claim 14, Zhang et al. discloses the modular fixed cutter drill bit of claim 13, wherein the socket has an open end at the cutter-supporting surface and closed end distal the cutter-supporting surface; wherein an internally threaded bore extends from the leading side of the blade to the socket; wherein a set screw is threadably disposed in the internally threaded bore and has a tip seated in a recess of the post (see the embodiments of figure 4, figure 5 and figure 6).
As concerns claim 15, Zhang et al. discloses the modular fixed cutter drill bit of claim 13, wherein the socket includes an annular seat; wherein the cutter element carrier has a radially outer surface comprising an annular shoulder that matingly engages the annular seat of the socket (see, figure 18A, figure 23B, figure 23C).
As concerns claim 16, Zhang et al. discloses modular fixed cutter drill bit of claim 13, wherein the cylindrical recess of in the head has a central axis oriented at an acute angle relative to a central axis of the post. (the angles and thicknesses may vary, see 0141-0143).
As concerns claims 17 and 18, Barr et al. discloses the modular fixed cutter drill bit of claim 13, wherein the head 30 extends at least 180° about the cutter element 32 (see figure 2, also see figure 8).
As concerns claim 19, Zhang et al. discloses the modular fixed cutter drill bit of claim 13, wherein the cutter element is brazed to the pod (see at least 0054).
As concerns claim 20, Barr et al. discloses the modular fixed cutter drill bit of claim 13, wherein a cylindrical bore 34 extends from the leading side of the blade to the socket, wherein the cylindrical bore defines a seat that engages and cradles the cutter element (6:25-28).
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barr et al. in view of US 2013/0015000 A1 (Zhang et al., hereinafter Zhang 13).
As concerns claim 10, Barr et al. discloses the modular fixed cutter drill bit of claim 9, wherein the pod has a longitudinal axis, a first end, and a second end opposite the first end (figure 2); wherein the pod includes a head 30 at the first end of the pod wherein the cutter element 32 is fixably mounted to the head 30.
Barr et al. lacks to disclose an elongate tab extending from the head to the second end of the pod; nevertheless Zhang 13 discloses a modular fixed cutter drill bit wherein a pod has a longitudinal axis, a first end, and a second end opposite the first end and an elongate tab extending from the head to the second end of the pod (see figure 4C, note elements 430 and 440, also see 24C).
One of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing, would have obviously incorporated the configuration of Zhang 13 into the modular fixed cutter drill bit of Barr et al. with a reasonable expectation of success, as this provides the desirable result of improving the retention of the cutter assembly in the pocket of the drill bit.
As concerns claim 11, Zhang 13 discloses the modular fixed cutter drill bit of claim 10, wherein the elongate tab is bolted to the blade (see, 24C).
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barr et al., as modified above, and further in view of US 2014/0326506 (DiFoggio).
As concerns claim 7, the combination discloses the modular fixed cutter drill bit of claim 5, but lacks to disclose wherein the head includes a window extending from the first end of the pod to the recess of the head, wherein the window is configured to provide visual access to the portion of the cutter element disposed in the recess of the head.
Difoggio discloses a modular fixed cutter drill bit wherein the head includes a window 172 extending from the first end of the pod to the recess of the head, wherein the window is configured to provide visual access to the portion of the cutter element disposed in the recess of the head (see at least 0034, the window here is any material transparent to radiation transmitted to a sensor 168, which can be used to ascertain a condition of the cutter, such as wear, etc., see 0038 et seq., and the material could certainly be “configured” to provide visual access if desired).
One of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing, would have obviously incorporated the window of Difoggio into the drill bit of modified Barr et al. with a reasonable expectation of success, as this would provide information as to the condition of the cutter.
As concerns claim 8, Zhang et al. discloses the modular fixed cutter drill bit of claim 7, wherein the cutter element is brazed to the pod (0054).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 5,678,645 (Tibbits et al.) discloses a mounting apparatus for locking an insertable stud cutter or slug cutter or fluid nozzle into a socket on a rotatable earth boring drill bit. The cutter may be readily removed and replaced without damaging either the cutter, nozzle or bit. The mounting apparatus is particularly applicable to cutters having a cutting disk of polycrystalline diamond or other superabrasive material mounted on a carbide supporting body.
US 2002/0096369 A1 (Glowka et al.) discloses a drill bit assembly for releasably retaining a polycrystalline diamond compact drill bit cutter. A cutter lock element engages one flat surface of the cutter to retain the cutter in its cavity. The drill bit assembly thus enables the cutter to be locked against axial and/or rotational movement while still providing for easy removal of a worn or damaged cutter.
JAMES G. SAYRE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3672
/JAMES G SAYRE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672