DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 & 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miller et al. (US PG Pub 2014/0300676; hereafter ‘676).
Claim 1: ‘676 is directed towards a method of creating a modified design on a surface (title and abstract), the method comprising:
providing a tool and an industrial robot configured to perform relative movements between the tool and the surface (a tool attached to a gantry system configured to perform relative movements between the tool and the surface; see Fig. 3);
providing a digital model of the surface, the digital model including a candidate profile of the surface (see step 410, Fig. 4);
providing a candidate path for the relative movements based on the candidate profile (an undistorted 2D image is provided which provides a candidate path for the print module, 415, Fig. 4);
providing a candidate design to be created on the surface based on the candidate path ((415, Fig. 4)
determining an actual profile of the surface (¶ 50-52);
providing a modified path for the relative movements based on the actual profile (¶s 50-52);
modifying the candidate design to provide the modified design to be created on the surface based on a deviation between the candidate path and the modified path (¶s 50-52); and
controlling the industrial robot and the tool to create the modified design on the surface using the modified path for the relative movements (step 435, Fig. 4).
Claim 2: The candidate design is a candidate image and the modified design is a modified image (415 & 420, Fig. 4).
Claim 3: The candidate image comprises a plurality of pixels (candidate image is displayed on a computer thus has a plurality of pixels).
The coating device is a printhead (¶ 8) and the image is modified by a computer to provide a distorted image (420, Fig. 4).
‘676 does not explicitly state that the modifications of the candidate image to provide the modified image includes adding one or more pixels to the candidate image.
However, it is reasonable to presume that modification of the image by the computer of a pixelated design includes adding and removing pixels to the undistorted image to provide an image which is larger in some regions and smaller in other regions as desired.
Claim 3: The candidate image comprises a plurality of pixels (candidate image is displayed on a computer thus has a plurality of pixels, see Figs. 7-8).
The coating device is a printhead (¶ 8) and the image is modified by a computer to provide a distorted image (420, Fig. 4).
Thus, it is apparent that the modifications of the candidate image to provide the modified image includes adding one or more pixels to the candidate image.
Claim 4: The one or more pixels comprises a plurality of pixels arranged in a line of pixels (the distortion is displayed on said computer and thus is a plurality of pixels in a line of pixels; Figs. 7-8)
Claim 5: The candidate path and the modified path are a print line along the cylinder (i.e. in a common plane).
Claim 6: The line of pixels is transverse of the plane (See Figs. 7-8).
Claim 7: The creation of the modified design on the surface includes applying a coating medium to the surface (an image is printed by applying an ink to the surface; ¶ 33).
Claim 8: The method of ‘676 teaches performing the steps for individual body shapes that will distort the candidate image different based on each individual body part the article is worn on and thus teaches the claimed steps on a second surface.
Claim 11: The candidate path and the modified path lie in a common plane (no reference point has been defined and therefore a plane can be chosen that is common to both paths).
Claim 12: The creation of the modified design on the surface includes applying a coating medium to the surface (435, Fig. 4; ¶ 33).
Claim 13: The method of ‘676 teaches performing the steps for individual body shapes that will distort the candidate image different based on each individual body part the article is worn on and thus teaches the claimed steps on a second surface.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/24/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regards to applicant’s arguments that the term “robot” or “industrial robot” appear nowhere in ‘676; the Office does not find this argument convincing because there is no ipsissimis verbis test (MPEP §2131) and instead the requirement for anticipation is the elements must be arranged as required by the claims wherein each element is interpreted with the broadest reasonable interpretation. For example, “industrial robot” does not have a special meaning in the art nor has applicant provided a special definition in the specification. Thus, the broadest reasonable interpretation of “robot” is based on the common understanding of the terms in the art which includes “a device that automatically performs complicated, often repetitive tasks” (see Merriam-Webster Dictionary) or “a mechanism guided by automatic controls” (see Merriam-Webster Dictionary) and “industrial” includes “of or relating to industry” (see Merriam-Webster Dictionary).
Thus, it is apparent that the tool of ‘676 which automatically performs complicated and repetitive tasks by depositing distorted patterns of material on a substrate for industrial purposes such as consumption reads on an industrial robot.
In regards to applicant’s arguments that ‘676 does not disclose providing a candidate path for the relative movements based on the candidate profile because ‘676 does not use the word “path”; the Office does not find this argument convincing because there is no ipsissimis verbis test (MPEP §2131) and as provided in the prior action and above, ‘676 provides a desired undistorted pattern which relates to a distorted pattern and thus there is both a candidate path and a modified path used by the robot to produce the coating.
In regards to applicant’s argument that ‘676 does not teach a candidate path and a modified path and instead only teaches one; the Office does not find this argument convincing because ‘676 teaches a first candidate path (the desired design) and then a modified path (the distorted design) as discussed above.
In regards to applicant’s argument that ‘676 does not claim 3 is not anticipated because the Office’s analysis is an obviousness rationale; the Office does not find this argument convincing because the analysis is not an obviousness rationale but instead a statement of fact based the disclosure of ‘676 which teaches that image is distorted to print a desired image and states that when practicing the process there are sections which are compressed and sections which are necessarily expanded which in turn provides the necessity of adding one or more pixel to the candidate image as discussed. This is a statement that the step is inherently present and applicant has not addressed this.
In regards to applicant’s argument that the rejections of claims 8, 11, & 13 identify no disclosure in ‘676; applicant is advised that ‘676 provides the teaching as a whole.
In regards to applicant’s argument directed towards the rejection of claim 11; the Office does not find this argument convincing because as discussed above, ‘676 teaches the two claimed paths and as discussed in the rejection, the candidate path and modified path fall in the same plane because one can chose a plane that reads on this given that no reference point has been defined.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/James M Mellott/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759