DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Preliminary Amendment filed on 02/24/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-32 have been canceled. New claims 33-52 have been added. Claims 33-52 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 38 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 38 recites “the first FDQN” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Same rationales apply to claim 48.
Claims 50-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 50 recites “the network equipment” on line 2 and “network equipment” on line 4. It is unclear whether they are refer to the same entity or different entities. Dependent claims 51-52 have been reviewed and do not cure the deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 33-35, 37-40, 43-45, and 47-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fan (US 20230318942 A1).
Regarding claim 33, Fan teaches a method for a network data analytics function (NWDAF) configured to assist with application detection in a communication network, the method comprising: (Fig. 1)
receiving, from a consumer network function (cNF) of the communication network, an analytic request related to assisted application detection; (Fig. 1 and [0122]: the NWDAF consumer (e.g. NEF 14) invokes an analytics information request procedure or any other relevant procedure or sends an “Nnwdaf_Analyticslnfo_request” message or any other relevant message to the NWDAF 11 for requesting new application detection analytics information report or notification from the NWDAF 11.)
based on the analytic request, sending to a first domain name service (DNS) resolver associated with the communication network an exposure request for events related to fully qualified domain name (FQDN)-to-address mapping for application servers associated with applications; ([0116]: A PCF 12 defines Application Detection related PCC Rules, which take advantages of reverse DNS lookup, which is a DNS technique that determines the domain name from an IP address. [0158]: the NWDAF 11 invokes the new application detection information subscription procedure or any other relevant procedure or sends an “Npcf_EventExposure_Subscribe” message or any other message to the related PCF(s) 12 for subscribing new application detection related data from the related PCF(s) 12. [0136]: An application-identifier with wildcard or a list of application-identifier with wildcard (e.g. its value may represent an application, such as a URL, FQDN, etc.))
receiving from the first DNS resolver a first FQDN associated with a first application, in accordance with the exposure request; ([0176]-[0179]: The SMF 13 sends the PCF 12 the Nsmf_EventExposure_Notify message or any other relevant message to report the application detection report received from the UPF 10. [0136]: An application-identifier with wildcard or a list of application-identifier with wildcard (e.g. its value may represent an application, such as a URL, FQDN, etc.))
based on the first FQDN, determining one or more packet flow descriptions (PFDs) associated with the first application; and ([0176]-[0179]: The SMF 13 sends the PCF 12 the Nsmf_EventExposure_Notify message or any other relevant message to report the application detection report received from the UPF 10. Based on the application detection report received from the PCF 12, the NWDAF 11 performs data analysis and generates analytics results on new application detection. The analytics results on new application detection include at least one of the following parameters: DNN, S-NSSAI, the list of recommended new PFDs for new applications, the list of recommended new 3-tuple to be added to existing PFDs, and the list of recommended 3-tuple to be deleted from existing PFDs.)
sending to the cNF an analytic result comprising the one or more PFDs, in accordance with the analytic request. ([0183]: Based on the results from data analytics, the NWDAF 11 notifies the relevant service consumer(s) of the analytics result(s) by invoking a new application detection notification procedure or any other relevant procedure or sends the Nnwdaf_AnalyticsInfo_Notify message or any other message to the relevant service consumer (e.g. NEF 14) in order to report/notify analytics results on new application detection.)
Regarding claim 34, Fan teaches the method of claim 33.
Fan teaches wherein the analytic request includes one or more of the following parameters that define a filter for the requested analytic: area of interest (AOI); single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI); and data network name (DNN). ([0155]: the search key or the analytics filter information includes a SUPI, a DNN, or a S-NSSAI.)
Regarding claim 35, Fan teaches the method of claim 34.
Fan teaches sending to a network repository function (NRF) of the communication network a discovery request for DNS resolvers associated with the communication network, wherein the discovery request includes the one or more parameters that define the filter for the requested analytic. ([0155]: the search key or the analytics filter information includes a SUPI, a DNN, or a S-NSSAI. [0156]: The NWDAF 11 can also find the relevant PCFs 12 via a NRF, by invoking an Nnrf_NFDiscovery_Request service with the preferred target NF location or the TAI derived from area of interests.)
Regarding claim 37, Fan teaches the method of claim 33.
Fan teaches wherein determining the one or more PFDs based on the first FQDN comprises: determining an application identifier that corresponds to the first FQDN; and selecting the one or more PFDs based on their association with the application identifier. ([0175]-[0179]: this application detection report includes at least one of the following parameters: DNN, S-NSSAI, 3-tuple(s), Destination FQDN. 3-tuple(s) includes the protocol ID of the protocol above IP, the destination IP address and the destination port number. Based on the application detection report received from the PCF 12, the NWDAF 11 performs data analysis and generates analytics results on new application detection. The analytics results on new application detection include at least one of the following parameters: DNN, S-NSSAI, the list of recommended new PFDs for new applications, the list of recommended new 3-tuple to be added to existing PFDs, and the list of recommended 3-tuple to be deleted from existing PFDs. [0136]: An application-identifier with wildcard or a list of application-identifier with wildcard (e.g. its value may represent an application, such as a URL, FQDN, etc.))
Regarding claim 38, Fan teaches the method of claim 37.
Fan teaches wherein determining an application identifier that corresponds to the first FQDN comprises: sending the first FDQN to a network exposure function (NEF) of the communication network; and receiving from the NEF a response that includes the application identifier. ([0175]: this application detection report includes at least one of the following parameters: DNN, S-NSSAI, 3-tuple(s), Destination FQDN. 3-tuple(s) includes the protocol ID of the protocol above IP, the destination IP address and the destination port number. [0183]-[0192]: the NWDAF 11 notifies the relevant service consumer(s) of the analytics result(s) by invoking a new application detection notification procedure or any other relevant procedure or sends the Nnwdaf_AnalyticsInfo_Notify message or any other message to the relevant service consumer (e.g. NEF 14) in order to report/notify analytics results on new application detection. The NEF 14 notifies its Nnef_PFDManagement service consumer of the list of latest PFDs, which is updated based on NWDAF 11's analytics results on new application detection. The NEF 14 assigns an official PFD ID for each new PFD and allocates an application ID for the new PFD, and sends the SMF 13 the lists of PFD IDs with corresponding application IDs.)
Regarding claim 39, Fan teaches the method of claim 33.
Fan teaches wherein the cNF is a network exposure function (NEF) or a unit or sub-function thereof. (Fig. 1. [0119]: The NWDAF 11 performs data analytics and notifies subscribed consumers (e.g. the NEF 14) of its analytics results.)
Regarding claim 40, Fan teaches a method for a domain name service, DNS, resolver configured to assist with application detection in a communication network, the method comprising:
receiving, from a network data analytics function (NWDAF) of the communication network, an exposure request for events related to fully qualified domain name (FQDN)-to-address mapping for application servers associated with applications; ([0116]: A PCF 12 defines Application Detection related PCC Rules, which take advantages of reverse DNS lookup, which is a DNS technique that determines the domain name from an IP address. [0158]: the NWDAF 11 invokes the new application detection information subscription procedure or any other relevant procedure or sends an “Npcf_EventExposure_Subscribe” message or any other message to the related PCF(s) 12 for subscribing new application detection related data from the related PCF(s) 12. [0136]: An application-identifier with wildcard or a list of application-identifier with wildcard (e.g. its value may represent an application, such as a URL, FQDN, etc.))
subsequently mapping a first FQDN to an address for an application server associated with a first application; and ([0175]-[0179]: The application detection report includes at least one of the following parameters: DNN, S-NSSAI, 3-tuple(s), Destination FQDN. The SMF 13 sends the PCF 12 the Nsmf_EventExposure_Notify message or any other relevant message to report the application detection report received from the UPF 10. [0136]: An application-identifier with wildcard or a list of application-identifier with wildcard (e.g. its value may represent an application, such as a URL, FQDN, etc.))
sending the first FQDN to the NWDAF in accordance with the exposure request. ([0175]-[0179]: The application detection report includes at least one of the following parameters: DNN, S-NSSAI, 3-tuple(s), Destination FQDN. The PCF 12 forwards the NWDAF 11 the Npcf_EventExposure_Notify message or any other message to report the application detection report received from the SMF 13. [0136]: An application-identifier with wildcard or a list of application-identifier with wildcard (e.g. its value may represent an application, such as a URL, FQDN, etc.))
Same rationales apply to claim 43 (network equipment) because it is substantially similar to claim 33 (method).
Same rationales apply to claim 44 (network equipment) because it is substantially similar to claim 34 (method).
Same rationales apply to claim 45 (network equipment) because it is substantially similar to claim 35 (method).
Same rationales apply to claim 47 (network equipment) because it is substantially similar to claim 37 (method).
Same rationales apply to claim 48 (network equipment) because it is substantially similar to claim 38 (method).
Same rationales apply to claim 49 (network equipment) because it is substantially similar to claim 40 (method).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 36, 41, 46, and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan (US 20230318942 A1) in view of Rajput (US 20230090068 A1).
Regarding claim 36, Fan teaches the method of claim 35.
Fan does not explicitly disclose in response to the discovery request, receiving from the NRF an identifier of the first DNS resolver and a profile for the first DNS resolver, wherein sending the exposure request to the first DNS resolver is based on at least one of the identifier and the profile.
However, Rajput teaches in response to the discovery request, receiving from the NRF an identifier of the first DNS resolver and a profile for the first DNS resolver, wherein sending the exposure request to the first DNS resolver is based on at least one of the identifier and the profile. ([0004]: Producer NFs register with a network function repository function (NRF). The NRF maintains service profiles of available NF instances identifying the services supported by each NF instance. The terms “service profiles” and “NF profiles” are used interchangeably herein. According to the NF service discovery procedure, a consumer NF sends an NF discovery request to the NRF. The NF discovery request includes query parameters that the NRF uses to locate NF profiles of producer NFs capable of providing the service identified by the query parameters. [0036]: NF registration where the NF service producer is configured with an FQDN in its NF profile, registers the NF profile including the FQDN to NRF, and the NF consumer is required to have a DNS configuration for querying a DNS server to resolve the FQDN.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include above limitation into Fan. One would have been motivated to do so because in 5G telecommunications networks, a network function that provides service is referred to as a producer NF or NF service producer. A network function that consumes services is referred to as a consumer NF or NF service consumer. Producer NFs register with a network function repository function (NRF). The NRF maintains service profiles of available NF instances identifying the services supported by each NF instance. The terms “service profiles” and “NF profiles” are used interchangeably herein. Consumer NFs can obtain information about producer NF instances that have registered with the NRF through the NF service discovery procedure. As taught by Rajput, [0002]-[0004].
Regarding claim 41, Fan teaches the method of claim 40.
Fan does not explicitly disclose sending to a network repository function (NRF) of the communication network a request to register capabilities of the DNS resolver, wherein the exposure request is received based on the registering of capabilities.
However, Rajput teaches sending to a network repository function (NRF) of the communication network a request to register capabilities of the DNS resolver, wherein the exposure request is received based on the registering of capabilities. ([0004]: Producer NFs register with a network function repository function (NRF). The NRF maintains service profiles of available NF instances identifying the services supported by each NF instance. According to the NF service discovery procedure, a consumer NF sends an NF discovery request to the NRF. The NF discovery request includes query parameters that the NRF uses to locate NF profiles of producer NFs capable of providing the service identified by the query parameters. NF profiles are data structures that define the type of service provided (e.g., capabilities) by a producer NF instance. [0036]: NF registration where the NF service producer is configured with an FQDN in its NF profile, registers the NF profile including the FQDN to NRF, and the NF consumer is required to have a DNS configuration for querying a DNS server to resolve the FQDN. [0044]: NEF performs similar functions to the service capability exposure function (SCEF) in 4G networks.))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include above limitation into Fan. One would have been motivated to do so because in 5G telecommunications networks, a network function that provides service is referred to as a producer NF or NF service producer. A network function that consumes services is referred to as a consumer NF or NF service consumer. Producer NFs register with a network function repository function (NRF). The NRF maintains service profiles of available NF instances identifying the services supported by each NF instance. The terms “service profiles” and “NF profiles” are used interchangeably herein. Consumer NFs can obtain information about producer NF instances that have registered with the NRF through the NF service discovery procedure. As taught by Rajput, [0002]-[0004].
Same rationales apply to claim 46 (network equipment) because it is substantially similar to claim 36 (method).
Same rationales apply to claim 50 (communication network) because it is substantially similar to the combination of claims 43 and 46 (network equipment).
Claim(s) 42 and 51-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan (US 20230318942 A1) in view of Rajput (US 20230090068 A1), and in view of 3GPP (ETSI TS 129 510 V15.1.0).
Regarding claim 42, Fan and Rajput teach the method of claim 41.
Fan and Rajput do not explicitly disclose wherein the request to register capabilities of the DNS resolver is an NnrfRegistration Request message that includes the following information: an identifier of the DNS resolver (DNS-ID);an indication of support for exposure of events related to FQDN-to-address mapping; and configuration information for the DNS resolver, including one or more of the following: area of interest (AOI); single network slice selection assistance information (S- NSSAI); and data network name (DNN).
However, 3GPP teaches wherein the request to register capabilities of the DNS resolver is an NnrfRegistration Request message that includes the following information: an identifier of the DNS resolver (DNS-ID);an indication of support for exposure of events related to FQDN-to-address mapping; and configuration information for the DNS resolver, including one or more of the following: area of interest (AOI); single network slice selection assistance information (S- NSSAI); and data network name (DNN). (Page 11 5.2.2.2 NF Register: To register an NF in the NRF by providing the NF profile of the requesting NF to the NRF, and the NRF marks the requesting NF as available to be discovered by other NFs. Pages 34-35 Definition of NF profile: nfInstanceID, S-NSSAIs, FQDN, and DNN, etc.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include above limitation into Fan and Rajput. One would have been motivated to do so because 3GPP defines the technical standards/specifications for 2G-5G system which are used worldwide.
Same rationales apply to claim 51 (communication network) because it is substantially similar to the combination of claims 42 (method).
Regarding claim 52, Fan, Rajput and 3GPP teach the communication network of claim 51.
Fan teaches further comprising network equipment arranged to implement a consumer network function (cNF) configured to:
send, to the NWDAF, an analytic request related to assisted application detection; and (Fig. 1 and [0122]: the NWDAF consumer (e.g. NEF 14) invokes an analytics information request procedure or any other relevant procedure or sends an “Nnwdaf_Analyticslnfo_request” message or any other relevant message to the NWDAF 11 for requesting new application detection analytics information report or notification from the NWDAF 11.)
receive, from the NWDAF in accordance with the analytic request, an analytic result comprising one or more packet flow descriptions (PFDs) associated with a first application, wherein one or more of the following applies: ([0176]-[0179]: The SMF 13 sends the PCF 12 the Nsmf_EventExposure_Notify message or any other relevant message to report the application detection report received from the UPF 10. Based on the application detection report received from the PCF 12, the NWDAF 11 performs data analysis and generates analytics results on new application detection. The analytics results on new application detection include at least one of the following parameters: DNN, S-NSSAI, the list of recommended new PFDs for new applications, the list of recommended new 3-tuple to be added to existing PFDs, and the list of recommended 3-tuple to be deleted from existing PFDs.)
the cNF is a network exposure function (NEF) or a unit or sub-function thereof; (Fig. 1. [0119]: The NWDAF 11 performs data analytics and notifies subscribed consumers (e.g. the NEF 14) of its analytics results.)
the discovery request received by the NRF is based on the analytic request sent by the cNF; and ([0116]: A PCF 12 defines Application Detection related PCC Rules, which take advantages of reverse DNS lookup, which is a DNS technique that determines the domain name from an IP address. [0158]: the NWDAF 11 invokes the new application detection information subscription procedure or any other relevant procedure or sends an “Npcf_EventExposure_Subscribe” message or any other message to the related PCF(s) 12 for subscribing new application detection related data from the related PCF(s) 12.
the analytic request includes the one or more parameters that define the analytic filter. ([0155]: the search key or the analytics filter information includes a SUPI, a DNN, or a S-NSSAI. [0156]: The NWDAF 11 can also find the relevant PCFs 12 via a NRF, by invoking an Nnrf_NFDiscovery_Request service with the preferred target NF location or the TAI derived from area of interests.)
Conclusion
/ZI YE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455