DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the sloping roof must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites wherein “the weight of the packaging system is reduced from 40% to 75% relative to comparable modules”. Comparable modules are relative and it is unclear what the weight range would be for comparable modules. Therefore, the limitation is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-9, 12-14, 19-20 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schiltz (US-11174095-B1).
Schiltz discloses:
1. A reduced weight packaging system (10) for industrial equipment (Fig. 1): a first module (30) defining a baseplate; and a second module (14) superimposable on the baseplate, the second module defining an interior where the industrial equipment is to be housed during operation (Fig. 1), wherein at least a first portion of the first module is made from a wood-based material and wherein the second module is made from the wood- based material (col. 1, ll. 1; col. 4, ll. 42 – col. 5, ll. 17).
2. The packaging system of claim 1, wherein the wood-based material comprises mass timber (col. 4, ll. 42 – col. 5, ll. 17).
3. The packaging system of claim 1, wherein the first module is entirely made of mass timber (col. 4, ll. 42 – col. 5, ll. 17).
5. The packaging system of claim 1, wherein the weight of the packaging system is reduced from 40% to 75% relative to comparable modules made of metal, concrete or both (depending on the module).
7. The packaging system of claim 1, wherein the first module comprises a number of cavities defined in part by beams (36) transversely positioned relative to a longitudinal axis of the packaging system (Fig. 1).
8. The packaging system of claim 7, wherein the beams are distributed to structurally support mounting points of the industrial equipment to be housed in the interior defined by the second module (Fig. 1).
9. The packaging system of claim 7, wherein respective bottommost portions of the cavities are closed by a panel (Fig. 1) lined with a geomembrane (col. 4, ll. 67- co. 5, ll. 3).
12. The packaging system of claim 1, wherein the industrial equipment comprises turbomachinery equipment (intended use).
13. The packaging system of claim 12, wherein the packaging system further comprises a third module (16) superimposable on the second module (Fig. 1), the third module defining a plenum (between 44) to convey a flow of main air to the turbomachinery.
14. The packaging system of claim 13, wherein the third module further comprises venting equipment (20) to convey venting air to the interior defined by the second module.
19. The packaging system of claim 14, wherein the third module comprises panels (Fig. 1) formed of cross-laminated timber (col. 6, lines 60-62).
20. The packaging system of claim 19, wherein at least some of the panels of the third module have at least one access opening (20), wherein the access opening is each closable with a respective plug obtained from a respective panel of the at least some of the panels of the third module, the respective plug being pre-cut from the respective panel to a desired shape of the access opening or the access door (the opening is capable of being plugged).
22. The packaging system of claim 1, wherein the industrial equipment is selected from the group consisting of turbomachinery equipment, electrical grid equipment, energy storage equipment, power-to-X equipment, energy decarbonizing equipment, hydrogen production equipment and a combination of two or more of said equipment types (intended use).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schiltz (US-11174095-B1) in view of Ramon et al. (US-20190135487-A1).
Schiltz fails to teach wherein the first module comprises a hybrid structure further comprising a second portion of concrete.
Ramon teaches that it is known in the art to manufacture a module with a hybrid structure further comprising a second portion of concrete (par. 0032).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have manufactured the module with concrete in order to strengthen the module.
Claim(s) 6, 10, 15-18 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schiltz (US-11174095-B1) in view of Sirowatka (US-20150225114-A1).
Regarding claims 6, 10, 11 and 21, Schiltz teaches all the claimed limitations as shown above but fails to teach a monocoque structure with cross laminated or glue laminated timber, wherein some of the panels of the second module have a liner arranged to provide acoustic attenuation and/or thermal insulation.
Schiltz teaches that it is known in the art to manufacture a wood module with cross-lamination (par. 0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have manufactured the module with cross lamination in order to improve the properties of the module and in order to better protect contents of the module. The modified structure would be monocoque and a have a liner that provide at least some thermal insulation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have manufactured the laminate with glue, in order to secure layers together and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Regarding claims 15 and 16, the modified system of Schiltz teaches all the claimed limitations as shown above and a panel configured to define a sloping roof disposed at a topmost portion of the third module (Schiltz, col. 4, lines 35-41), the panel lined with a membrane to further define the sloping roof (Sirowatka, par. 0031), wherein the sloping roof has a slope ratio in a range from 10:1 to 3:1 (depending on the slope that the module is placed at).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have to have manufactured the laminate to be water resistant, in order to better protect contents of the module and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Regarding claims 17 and 18, the modified system of Schiltz fails to teach wherein at least some of the panels of the second module have at least one of the following: an access opening or an access door, wherein the access opening or the access door is each closable with a respective plug obtained from a respective panel of the at least some of the panels of the second module, the respective plug being pre-cut from the respective panel to a desired shape of the access opening or the access door, wherein a periphery of the respective plug having a respective seal so that the interior of the second module comprises an airtight interior.
Sirowatka teaches that it is known in the art to manufacture a package system with an access opening (58) or an access door, wherein the access opening or the access door is each closable with a respective plug obtained from a respective panel of the at least some of the panels of the second module, the respective plug being pre-cut from the respective panel to a desired shape of the access opening or the access door, wherein a periphery of the respective plug having a respective seal so that the interior of the second module comprises an airtight interior (intended use).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have manufactured the module with openings, in order to connect panels together and such a modification would be the use of a known connection structure to manufacture a packaging system.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY R ALLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733